Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date

My wedding is on 19 Sept. We selected the theme 2 weeks ago by looking at the photos. If u want, u can come to view the decor for my wedding on the AD. The manager said that mine is the first wedding at NA after the 7th month. Think there's no wedding in the 7th month.

Hi Nov Bride,

Eh, there's no particular theme as I've chosen Steffi (dunno whether spelled correctly or not) as the florist. NA had 2 florist and the themes 'bubble', 'garden', etc are by another florist.

I've chosen Steffi as they can do an arch/canopy at the main entrance of the ballroom. It looks like the entrance for a church wedding though I'm not a Christian/Catholic. I've seen this arch/canopy in NA when they are setting up for one wedding the other time when I went down to collect my invitation cards and find it very pretty and unique as I've never went to one like this.

I've chosen red rose and tea-lights for the table center piece and aisle. For stage setup, it will be wrought iron panel with hanging bouquets & tea-lights.

The 2 VIP tables will be using gold table cloth with gold sash tied to the chairs. The remaining guest tables will be using peach table cloth.

They have new wedding favours which includes 3/4 keychain designs. I like one of the keychain design and initially wanna have that for my wedding favors. However NA said that the order will only come in after 20 Sept so I'm not able to get them.
So in the end, I've chosen the mini bear as my wedding favour.

Heard from my friend that NA is going to change its name to something like Furama RiverFront by end on this month. Have you heard anything about this? I tot they just change the name to NA not long ago?

Hi Hiphip

Hello... me also deciding the theme now... from ur description, i think i saw something like that and like them too.. u mean it is not call bubble theme by steiffi? I just noe that the decor i like is by steiffi... but i was still wondering what to tell my cordinator the theme by steffi is call what?? if ur theme, can we change all to red roses? that time i see one is white flowers... u ask steiffi liao? i like the arch too at the entrance but the stage looks quite bare... what ice craving did u choose? Any recommendations? My coordinator say have dove instead of swan.... what else huh?? can't image the dove looks like wat??? tks for sharing.... congrats to you!

hi hiphip,

ya, heard about the change of hotel name from one of the staff when i called to ask about collection of wedding cards. Not sure what to do now as i have already printed my inserts, will talk to my coordinator when hes back from leave.

Wow, you must be looking forward to your wedding rite? Congratulations

I have also chosen the mini bear as wedding favours, since have new ones maybe i will request to take a look :p

Well, hope you can provide some feedbacks after your wedding k, thank you.

Hey NA brides,
Yes, it's confirmed that NA has changed its name to Furama Riverfront. Was told Furama hotel and NA are currently managed by the same boss, dat's y the change in name now. I'll holding my wedding in NA in Dec, wonder if the change in name will cause any problems to my guests leh, abit worried.

btw gals, wanna check with u if u have gone for the food tasting? I've decided to forgo it. Any advice on the good food in terms of taste and presentations, which i can choose for my menu? Any pictures will be greatly appreciated though.

Thks in advance.

Dear hiphip,
Congratulation 2 u! Ur big day is just a week fm now! Excited??? Start counting down?
Jus2 chk with u, is e theme u hv chosen e 4th theme? (Sorry, I dun know e name of e theme). My wed is Jan 05 with NA too!

Dear Fiona,
Have u print ur wedding cards yet? U can consider printing the location of the hotel as well then e guests will not get confuse!
Oh, I hvnt go for my food tasting yet! It will be end of this month!

Adeline,
Luckily haven print leh. if not i gotta incur additional cost for admendments.

ok, kindly update me on the food after ur food tasting ok? Thks in advance.

Morning Fiona,

Not a prob. Will update you. When is your food tasting? By the way, have you found the suppliers for printing cards, wines & actual photography yet????

I forgo the food tasting, cos we cannot find a common date which both families are free. Yap, I have found the printers and photograper. If u need the contacts, drop me ur email addy here.

MayLim, Adeline,
I dun think the theme I've chosen is the 4th theme. Decor by Steffi dun have a theme one, from what I understand from the co-ordinator. The 4 themes are from another florist according to him.

MayLim,
Yah, I think they use white flowers for the arch. Have request to be changed to red roses but the co-ordinator said the flowers for the arch cannot be changed. Too bad. I agreed that the stage looks quite bare but anyway I'm not too fussy lah. Instead, if too many things on stage, will be very cramp and the decor will be fighting the attention from the couple? As for the ice craving, the co-ordinator didn't ask us what we want so I tot by default one. Since now u mentioned there's swan or dove, think I'll ask my co-ordinator ...

Hi nov_bride,
My co-ordinator called me jus now regarding the change of name. It'll be effective in Oct so my wedding not affected. He said for those couples who have printed the wedding cards, the hotel will reimburse them the cost. So u dun have to worry loh. Ur co-ordinator is Halim?

Hi Fiona,
U can refer to my previous post on my menu. During the food tasting, the food tastes good (except the first dish). The chicken flu is still active but jus get confirmation from my co-ordinator that I'll still get the roast chicken. Dunno where they get the chicken from as initially they get from Malaysia. Another question that I need to ask them ...

Adeline,
I got my weddin card inserts printed at HiTech. Service good, cheap and fast. Let me know if you want their contact.

I didnt know that Steffi is different from the 4 themes... tot that we have to choose one of the themes but the flowers from different suppliers. Think I blur liao...hehehehe....will check with my coordinator again.

Dear Fiona: OK, can you please email me the info? My email address is [email protected]. Hey, since you forgo the complimentary food tasting, can ask the coordinator to change it to something else! heheheheh....:P

Dear hiphip: Can you email me the contact as well? My email address is [email protected]. Err...can share with us the photos of your wedding setting of the entrance & ballroom after your wedding? I tot of going down to take a look on your AD but my coordinator is on leave now and I dun think it will be nice for me to just go down like that lor....anyway, dun want to disturb you on your big day! Yes, MayLim is correct....there will be ice craving of swan etc on the stage as well!

Hi hiphip,

Thanks for the info. Ya, my co-ordinator is Halim, hes quite a nice man actually. Might be going down to view the deco on your wedding nite if i can make it. Dun really like the new name though but no choice lah, jst hope the guests wnt be confuse and go to Furama Hotel at Chinatown instead :p

Hi HipHip

I oso want red roses... more romantic... can we join force to request for red ones? u mean all must be white colour? i will try to ask them again... hope they can... like red leh.. how? ke ke... hope they can help us....

Hi nov_bride,
Yah, Halim is very nice man, always trying his best to meet our requests. Have you go for your food testing? Your wedding is in November? Which date? You will have to tell your guests which and where the hotel is loh. In fact, when I tell my friends NA, they never heard of this hotel b4! Now change to a totally different name evem worse liao!

Hi MayLim,
I've checked w my co-ordinator. The flowers used in the arch and for my stage are all fake white/cream roses. Not possible to change to real flowers as the cost very high. But he said he will try to ask Steffi if can change to red roses (fake). When's your wedding?

Dear hiphip,

Oh, the roses are all fake ones huh? I tot real ones leh & actually tot of peach colour roses as they look nice as well....hehehehe....Overall, does it looks good with the fake roses?

Hi Adeline,

Sad to say, that time when i saw the arch, didn't see very close at the flowers. But I remember the overall feeling and look very pretty. At that time, I didn't know the flowers are fake one. So should be ok lah.

Dear hiphip,

Thanks for the info. Me too....I didnt take a very close look @ the arch, flowers etc as well. Dat's why I couldnt remember leh....:P

hi hiphip,

went for food tasting earlier this month already, my in law like the food :P Ya lor, thats our worri, have to tell the guests its at Havelock road where the niteclub is :o) wana see the keychain wedding favour you talk about, have yet to call Halim, quite busy these days. Your co-ordinator also Halim? Gal, do share your views after your big day hor, thank you very much.

Will change the flowers for stage and arch to fake red roses.

Hi nov_bride,
my co-ordinator is Halim also.

Hi Adeline,
Sorry, didn't read email. Have replied you liao.

I'm on leave tomorrow onwards and will be very busy tomorrow onwards to prepare for my big day. Also will go for my honeymoon the day after my wedding. Hence, I'm afraid I won't be able to come here until when I come back which is after 7 Oct. Will still pop in to give my feedback when I'm back.

All the best to your preparations and weddings for all NA brides.

To all NA brides, need you guys advise...

1. When do we have to start sending out the wedding cards?

2. My AD is 4 months from now. What are the things I need to do/prepare from now? Worried that I have missed out something on the last minute leh! Sob Sob Sob

well well well, guess i not the only one. i almost fainted when i heard the news from Halim. i 2 had print my card. good thing... they will reimburse us

hiphip, i will try to pop by this sun to view your theme

by the way, has anyone seen the new card? how many design to choose from? any changes to the size of the new cards? i worried my new insert cant fit into the new cards

HI hiphip

How long did it take to print your cards? How much? Is it cheaper than Jasvy Marketing
(recommended by my coordinator - Jenny)How many inserts are we entitled for each card? I have quite a few details to add in eg : map / and shuttle pick up timings for my guests.

Im a March 05 bride with NA. Freaked me to find out that NA has changed their name to Furama Riverfront. Fear that my guests will get confused and mixed up with the existing Furama Hotel in Chinatown. Any idea if the exterior / interior of teh hotel is going to change as well? Frankly NA sounds better than Furama..haaizz..what to do, have already signed up with them.

Do they still have chocolates as their wedding favours? What other new ones are there?

Thanks!!!

Mine will be in mid nov this year.

Just choose the theme for the dinner 2 days ago. I chose the bubble theme. The flowers i chose will be pink gerberas and red roses.

My coordinator is Selest, she's really very very nice. Very pleasant working with her.

Have you gals went for food tasting already? My family complain till mad.... Their food presentation is not so nice, doesn't look classy at all.

I chose the keychain as the wedding favour. What did u all chose?

As for their card, think oni have 2 designs, one is in off-white, the other in pink. I request to take 1/2 of each, pink one for relatives, white one for friends.

hi Xuan,
Did u take down pics of the food? How bad is the food presentation? I din go for any food tasting,so abit worried how the food presentation and taste will look like.

My co ordinator is oso selest. chose the garden theme, and as for the wedding favour, chose the heart shaped candle in the metal container.

did u check the address printed on the new cards? the havelock is mispelt..it was spelled as havlock...the e is missing.

I went down Novotel for a wedding dinner on Monday. Food presentation is nothing great. Few dishes are nice. But i tink over all is still ok. To me every wedding dinner taste about the same. So i too already reserved Novotel for my Wedding next year May. Seabass fish is fresh, but they cut it b4 serving to your table so the fish look 'messy'. Pls remind them not to cut the fish till it is served on the table. Desert : Sago pearl in yam paste sucks! Please don't take that as well. Lingzhi Mushroom is nice!!! The Ee fu noodle is nice as well and crisy chicken is good! No frozen chicken smell at all.

Cheerios.........

Fiona:

Nope i never take down the photo but i was so flared up after seeing the chicken.... looks worst than the presentation by chicken rice store. Cos we select the Herbal chicken, so it's like chicken rice 'bai zhan ji'... all white white and no garnish at all....

Wow... couldn't take it at that moment in time and we called Selest immediately... She ask the chef to tok to us but the chef keep defending himself....

But anyway, we complain again to Selest few days ago, she say she will tok to the chef again. Hope she can help us with it.

I Bless u:

I was at Novotel on monday too and Selest brought us to view the deco of the ballroom... Quite nice... I choose exactly the same theme but change the flowers and the col of the table cloth. The table cloth on Mon was pink right? I change to white cos Selest say looks more classy.

Their wedding favours quite good already, alot of selection, Suntec one oni got 1 kinda keychain.... something similar to Apollo one also...

Xuan,

I did not notice the table cloth Haha :p
Anyway that monday deco is call' Grander' I find it too simple and bare..probably will be looking other designs till the time comes. You should change to crispy chicken...is good. Just a suggestion of mine ;)

Yup... have request to change to roast chicken during food tasting...

No leh... selest say it's bubble glass or something like that.... We request for the stage to have a drape from so that the stage wun look empty....

u really think it's too bare har.... i dunno leh... cos my FH got no comments on Hotel deco... Oh no.... how....

Then Selest also prmise to add fresh flower to the chair of the VIP tables.

I request the bubble glass to have more flowers as the one on Mon has pink rose petals and oni a few pcs inside each glass.... i opt for red ones... more outstanding...

Xuan,

Eh farni, the captain that nite told me is Grander. My friend dun even know what theme it is, haha..she forgot liao. She just point to Selest the design she wants. Btw, when is your wedding??

I bless u:

Dunno leh.... It's the 1st deco in Selest presentation folder.

Is ur friend abit on the plump side one? Sorry for asking hor. Just in case, it's the wrong/ different ballroom.

Mine is on 13 Nov 2004, feel free to join us at the cocktail recept

Xuan,

Ya...she's on the plump side one. 3rd fl venus ballroom. Did u saw me??? I wearing a turquoise tube dress with a blue shawl :P heeeeee!

Welcome Lim...

Yup i think is by Steffi....

I think that's the oni deco with bubble glass... i always wanted something with candles n flowers petals so i chose this one....

Hope that the red rose petals will brighten up everything...

Selest say she will add a pink drape to the stage to make it looks better.

As i will be holding my Solemization on the dinner itself, they will also prepare the tables n chairs with deco for me....

Hehehe... that day i was actualli very very tried, never notice u leh... hahaha... oni say the bride running around like very busy

Xuan..

Haha! yaya the bride very busy that day! Told her to relax. Hey i will also have my solemization on the dinner after 1st march in! Would like to see your pics of the solemization on the stage once it's over.

Sama sama as me lor....

Will try to post it for u to see.... cos my AD photography is actualli using Digi cam and he will burn all the photo in CD for us... We also have a DVD of videography for that day....

Wow hengz.... Bird Flu over finally my wedding i can expect a full chicken with leg n head and not those frozen kind.

Dear Fiona & all NA brides....

Just to share with you guys....we went for the food tasting last night & overall was good! The service was very impressive & all of us did enjoyed the dinner very much.

Adeline:

Ya pls share with us the dishes that u've chosen cos I dunno why that day when we went for food tasting, the food was not nice at all. Maybe the chef in bad mood that day

What about the food presentation? Nice?
We complain to the chef that day on the food presentation, hopefully he has already made some adjustment.

Did the waiter served u all on individual plate?
The 1st few dishes, i didn't have a chance to look at the dish cos he served us on our plate but later I ask him to leave the whoel thing on the table then i realised that the presentation is bad.