Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
netfinity! i just realised we same hotel, same bridal studio, same ballroom, and your wedding date is my best friend's bday!! keke~ :P not same coordinator though~

initially i cannot figure out why we need a table of all the BTBs info... till now still haven't figured out, but still, being in the festive mood of sharing, i wanna contribute to it! :D

Nick: sweetheavens
AD Date: 19 april 2008
FRF Venue: venus
Coordinator: carol
Solemnization Venue: home
BS: my bridal room
AD PG/ VG: friends
Love Nest: punggol
Multiply ID: ttvk

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL BTBs!!! Especially all 2008 brides, have a wonderful AD!!!

sweetheavens> carol is on duty on 5 Jan? tt's gd to hear tat cos she is my coordinator and tt day is my actual day.. hope she can oversee the whole process since she is in the loop of all my stuffs..

Yea Tris! I think she'll be there to see that things will go smoothly for your banquet, dun worry! :D

cos we did ask her for appropriate timing to meet her as i'm off work at 6pm in jurong and dun always get to knock off on the dot, so it's difficult to rush down and meet as she told me b4 she work on weekdays only and usually in office hours... unless certain late evenings or weekends require her attention, then she'll be in and we can meet her up on those dates. and this saturday is one of those dates...

congrats Tris!!! have a wonderful wedding day and a blissful marriage!!!

of course to all BTBs of FRF too!~ (including me!!)
kao_wedding.gif

netfinity - Have u find manage to find another JP? U may want to check out Mr Tan Kian Huay. Not sure if he is engage to help you. He is one of my company directors and I understand that he is also a JP.

Sorry... unable to give you more info on his contact.

He is quite a nice, humble and cheerful guy. I intend to invite him to be mine too.

just a side track.

i saw the news on newspaper last night. furama riverfront table is from 669 onwards while furama cityfront is from 678 onwards. wonder how come furama city is more expensive than furama riverfront. it also say about the prices increase as well as the angbao people should try to give. it seem like $100 per person is just nice for that... i believe this price of 669 doesn't speak for all the ballroom inside this hotel. imagine for those who is taking venus ballroom and the guest uses the rate of 669 for each table, then the wedding couple i going to have a hardtime for the whole dinner.

michael i totally agree with u! when i look at 669 i was like OMG wat if everyone comes with AP of 70 bucks?! 669 is exclusive of GST wor!! so misleading...

ya same as me. i had took up the venus ballroom and after all the taxes and the service charge, it add up to about 800. now after the newspaper story last night, i am so afraid that quests will use that as the rate for my wedding dinner. imagine each just give u 70 then in the end u had to top up $100 for each table. 10 tables = 100. my had about 47 tables so 47 x 100 = 4700...whoo take quite a lot of $$. it enough for me to go for a short trip to bangkok or this money can be used for my honeymoon in japan....

I have read the article too and find it misleading. They even say 669 is inclusive of GST and service charge. This applys to the smaller ballroom and is not a good representation for the hotel. I am scare next time my guest give ang bao base on this rate.

hai.... right now i am so disturd by this news. mine dinner is 3 weeks away and i think furama had done a very bad job by giving that figure. it didn't take into account of those who took the Venus ballroom. they should as least say that that figure is for the smaller ballroom and they should also give the figure for the all the ballroom.

i think either the hotel didn't give the journalist the correct information or the new centre make a mistake on their part.

another thing is that by giving a lower rate, ppl will tend to ask the hotel for a quote and hence the increase of business for them. we would usually look for something lower, affordable and overall is satisfactory. furama riverfront fits the description of it.

netfinity> You may wish to consider Mr Chan Kai Yau as ur JP. I've engaged him for my ROM recently... quite a good experience. He is very professional and humourous too. If you want, i can email his contact to you.

Finally, I have signed my contract with Albert. Now only have to wait to choose my WG & wait for my date for PS and den I'm able to relax till my AD. Hope my banquet goes well for me.

BTW, my relatives & hubby's relatives are very happy with our dinner venue, however, after reading the post by michael on the cost per table ad posted on the papers, I'm quite worried it will affect us too as we hope our ang baos are able to help us cover the cost. Let hope it would be too subjective to our guests. Although mine is at Mercury, but adding up, it's definitely more den S$669 after all the charges & taxes. Hope all of the staffs from FRF that do visit this forum will do something about it after reading our posts in order to be fair to those who have signed contract with FRF.

Hi ALL,

I'm facing some issue after my marriage this Dec. I will be living with my hubby @ his house till we get our flat (BTO). But the problem is, my hubby's family are babysitting a girl since she's baby now she's 17. They treat her like family. But the girl is very rude and disrepesctful to everybody. Since I step into his family, guess she scare other will take away her status in the family which happen when my hubby's niece was born 2 years ago.

The girl pinch & beat his niece secretly when noone is watching my hubby happen to saw a few times but didn't voice out as his family is quite protective to the girl as not their own ma until recently my hubby's nephew is born and attention is switch to baby boy den the girl stops her behaviour & treat the baby boy very good so that she regain her stands. Well... she didn't like me since I get to know her, & she always do things behind their back to harm me or hurt me. Recently, she gets my hubby's niece to scold me which I ask the niece why she so naughty den she told me the girl ask her to do it, well a 3 years old little girl will definitely tells do wat others tell her as she cannot differentiate from right & wrong but she will also tell the truth when question.

I have no idea when she will leave & go back to her father but before she leave, I will need to face her till I get my flat.

P.S: She's very scare of my hubby cos he's very fierce & my hubby is the only one that scold her since young as she treat my MIL like maid and servant, thus she turns to hate him & now she's turning all her hatred towards him to me, as I'm not really his family member so no matter wat I said oso no use. My hubby cannot do anything although she scare him cos she's very cunning (know how to make use of ppl) & his family are very defensive towards her as she are able to turn the family to hell which happens before. & she lives, eats all on my hubby's family w/o contribute except her father every month S$300 to my MIL.

This may sounds like TV drama but it's true. Please advice me what I should do.

Hi Babylon,

Sorry to hear abt your plight. I think your hubby's family is too kind, thus the ungrateful girl can manipulate and bully everyone.

In a way, it's lucky that the girl is scared of your hubby. I would assume your hubby knows her true colour as well? Is it possible to discuss your concerns with your hubby? If it is eally unbearable,perhaps you guys can rent a place on your own and live there until your new flat is ready.

Of course this will be additional expenses but why not if it brings you peace of mind and make yourselves happier. Either that, or you can move in with your own parents first?

wah...... then the photo montage done by video academy will have problem liao. no wonder jonny told me to test their system. he told me that a couple complain that the song is too soft to be heard and it had to be with the PA system furama is using. the photo montage song is in MP3 format. i guess this had to be sort out asap if not more will experience the same things

congrats stnov, pskin and tris! wishing you all a lifetime of blissful marriage!! :D

babylon oh dear the gal is so mean! how come they can be so nice to someone who's not even related for so many years and let her almost 'bai chi bai zhu' at their place?? $300/mth is very little! for most it's just a basic rental fees with no meals provided and may still have to pay additional for bills! really she's too spoilt and your hubby's family are too nice to give in so much that now she's able to totally manipulate them and not even worry about being exposed by you or your hubby who know what's going on behind the scene... tsk!

i agree with Ashley that you should discuss with you hubby and if possible, rent a room etc outside instead of staying together and putting up with all her nonsense. do u know how much longer do u have to wait for your BTO? is it possible for him to move to your parents' place instead of u moving in to his??

netfinity is it?? wow i better check out all the details abt the hotel from ballroom, theme, wedding favors, invitation cards to PA system this weekend when i'm there to sign my contract. need to settle as much things as possible now... no time to waste!

anyway my PS pics not with me yet... still waiting for the layout etc and confirm for the album etc, b4 i can lay my hands on the softcopy. when ready i sure will share in my multiply one! :D

Ayukie i think i do have some pics taken when i met carol a couple of months back, but i have to find them first... keke~

Hey Bang,
Would like to be part of the list =)

Nick: sya0ran
AD Date: 24-May-08
FRF Venue: Mercury
Coordinator: Halim
Solemnization Venue: ROM (05 Nov 2007)
BS: DiGio
AD PG/ VG:
Love Nest: CCK
Multiply ID: tiana

Hi babylon,

I am sorry to hear this. But in real life this things do happen. I tink it would be gd if your HB can inform his parents abt this and insists that all this is true.

See what can they and cant let this girl do watever she want ah.. Later the whole hse would b chaotic.

Anyone has Video Academy montage ready and can share with us?

Hubby and I did our own montage cos we are unable to supply Video Academy with what they need ie. jpegs in at least 1 MB.

i don mean that academy video will have problem but i think if the PA sysytem is not working properly, i think our video montage will have problem. that y jonny told me to test their PA system.

i have my photo montage with me but i cant upload it onto the net. not sure what format they used.

i went down to mercury ballroom yesterday to test the system and everything went well. Had played my cartoon animation and cartoon montage.. No problems with that too..

*massage massage Tris*

okies... that doesn't sound very right... =X but nvm lah, just hope u can relax and have a wonderful BIG DAY of yours on the 5th!! if i'm there at 3pm to meet carol, will i be able to catch u later? LOL~

all the best!!! :D

Hi Ashley,
Why does Academy Video need at least 1 mb in jpeg? i though give them the required number of photo will be enough?

Hi Michael,
Did you try to play the montage with your home PC? Are they just trying to smoke through?

TNP, 30 Dec 07

Tough to get hitched in Singapore

WHEN you attend a wedding dinner next year, think twice before you seal that hongbao.

The money you put in may not be enough for the bride and groom to recover the cost of their wedding celebrations, let alone have a little extra for their honeymoon.

Yes, young couples planning their dream weddings are finding themselves priced out of their dreams.

For example, the going rate for a year-end Saturday wedding dinner next year at the Mandarin Oriental is $1,088 per table.

Add to that the 10 per cent service charge and 7 per cent goods and services tax, and it's a whopping $1,280 for a table of 10 guests.

So your $100 hongbao, while considered generous this year, may fall a little short next year.

Many young couples, who have already felt the pinch of sky-high property prices, are now facing a squeeze on another front - ever-rising wedding banquet prices.

Checks by The New Paper on Sunday found that the 2008 weekend prices for most of the five-star hotels exceed $1,000 per table, with prices at dream venues such as Shangri-La, The Fullerton Hotel and Ritz-Carlton starting from over $1,200.

DREAMS COMPROMISED

The daunting combination has pushed some couples into abandoning dream homes in developed estates to take up available units in new towns like Sengkang. Now, they must also make compromises - or even set aside - their plans for a dream wedding.

Ms Jaslyn Chew, 27, wanted to have her wedding banquet at the Marina Mandarin.

But the price of a weekend wedding at the hotel - $988 nett per table for Saturdays, and $958 nett per table on Fridays and Sundays - was too steep.

So the couple will hold their wedding dinner on a weekday in October instead. The cost? $788 per table.

Said the civil servant: 'We decided to take a weekday because the weekend price is out of our league rather than (have it at) a hotel we don't like.'

Similarly, MsLynnette Chia, 28, had planned to have her March banquet at a top hotel.

Now, she and her husband will hold their wedding banquet at the Pioneer Springs restaurant at Mount Faber Safra.

As they had booked early, they will pay only $599 nett per table for a Saturday wedding.

Said MsChia: 'My dream was one of the bigger hotels like the Marriott or the Hyatt, but after I saw the prices, I thought, forget about hotel.'

The couple, who have a combined monthly income of more than $5,000, are also paying for their executive condominium at La Casa in Woodlands, which they bought for $380,000 two years ago.

Said Ms Chia: 'I keep telling myself, don't end up in debt. If a one-day wedding makes me suffer three to four years of loans, forget it.'

Still searching for their dream home and wedding are Mr Christopher Chew, 29, and his fiance Ms Michelle Law, 26.

The couple, who have been dating for six years, are holding off their customary dinner as they are unable to get a HDB flat.

Said Mr Chew: 'We've been trying to get a flat since early this year in all the HDB balloting. But the results are so disappointing.'

He added that prices on the resale market are 'a bit crazy' now, so they are not considering buying a resale flat.

In the meantime, the couple are planning a special venue to register their marriage in March next year: Onboard the Singapore Flyer.

Said Ms Law: 'We aren't planning to hold the customary so soon because we can't get a flat. So we wanted to make the ROM memorable.'

They are hoping to hold their dinner around December next year, or even in early 2009.

But, as they wait, prices are sky-rocketing.

The New Paper on Sunday checked with 11 hotels about their wedding package price changes from this year to next.

Hotels like Marina Mandarin, Holiday Inn Park View, Furama Riverfront and Ritz-Carlton Millenia have raised their prices by about 5per cent or less.

Chijmes, Shangri-La and Furama City Centre raised their prices between 5 and 10 per cent.

At hotels like Pan Pacific, Swissotel The Stamford and Marriott, banquet packages have increased on average by more than 10 per cent.

Only InterContinental Singapore is not changing its wedding package prices next year. But that's because it had raised prices by about 15 per cent in April after relaunching its new ballroom.

The reasons the hotels gave for the increase are the higher cost of food, labour, rental and oil. The GST hike and exchange rate fluctuations were also taken into consideration.

And many of the hotels would likely be raising prices again in 2009.

Ms Lydia Lim, director of marketing communications of Holiday Inn Park View Singapore, said the hotel has seen couples who do away with extras to save money.

'For example, we have couples who might not wish to have free-flow of beer during the banquet and ask for a discount,' she said.

Still, there are couples willing to splurge - in particular, those who go for luxury hotels.

Ms Melanie Teo, senior events manager for weddings at the Shangri-La, said the hotel's two ballrooms are already fully booked for wedding banquets between September and December next year. Bookings for next year started as early as 18 months ago.

Ms Evelyn Yo, director of public relations at the Ritz-Carlton, said weddings at the hotel have been getting more lavish.

But are guests' hongbaos keeping up? Hotels say that most guests are aware that prices have gone up.

But Ms C Yang, marketing manager of Starworth, which runs events at Chijmes, said some couples have told her that the value of red packets have not risen to match the increase in banquet prices.

Added Ms Julie Lock, assistant marketing communications manager at Furama City Centre: 'Many are not aware of the rising 'market rate' for red packets.'

Ms Teo of Shangri-La Hotel said she knew of a couple whose relative gave a $100 hongbao, but took four family members to the wedding.

'There was another couple who received an $8 red packet for the banquet they held at the hotel,' she said.

'My advice would be to call the hotel where the banquet will be held and enquire. This will give you a better gauge of how much to give.'

http://justwoman.asiaone.com/Just%2BWoman/News/High%2BLife/Story/A1Story20071231-43123.html

netfinity-all u need is to give them the song that u like to be played and leave the rest to them. as for the captions, i do give them but i do it when i was over there.

lim&huang-don worry they do a good job. i got mine and was satisfy with it.

thanks peeps for ur well wishes.....we had a realli enjoyable day for our wedding due to sporting frens who realli chip in heaps of help & fun....=)

Academy did a great job wif our photo montage and Johnny is realli nice & helpful....=)

however FRF made a blunder over our wedding dinner and we are realli upset over it as we are caught in a bad situation & made us being labelled us poor hosts in form of our guests in which they do not feel the seriousness of the situation and think that it's nothing major.....shall not lament too much over it here....hope u peeps have great fun for ur wedding......=)

yea congrats Stnov!!!

can share what happened?? so that future couples can take note??

hope all is well now and still glad that overall u had an enjoyable day. have a blissful marriage! :D

all I can say will be neber ever trust dat u are in total good hands despite repeated assurance dat one can give....our mistake is trust them totally & we did not double check on the details furbished thus causing lotsa embarassment in form of our guests due to insufficient seatings available......=(

Hey Bang,
Can i trouble u to update these for me.. Thanks alot ya.. I only left to source for my Videography/Photography..

Solemnization: Church of the Holy Trinity
BS: Sattine Bridal Couture
Love Nest: Punggol