Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
yeah, tris...i tot so too...cos for me, i attended 2 weddings there before...one with buffet dinner....another was a dinner...generally, the food is still quite reasonable given the price...but the spoilt fish is definitely unacceptable....i'm sure no one wants anyone to remember their wedding with the spoilt fish...although minor, for me, i'll remember....u know wat i mean??

yup...i tik we shd all feedback to our respective coordinators and get them to ensure...

For those who booked FRF.. did anyone change or add any dishes outside the given menu?? If yes, which dishes? and what dishes you added?

Roland> I have added 1 more dishes to make it a 9 course dinner. Most prob, will have deep fried scallops wrapped with yam.

hihi can share what dishes you all have tried and which are highly recommended?? just want to hear some views from those who've really tried the food there. so far the only time i've eaten in FRF is at its wedding show... thanks!

hihi... sorry i've gotten a lot of questions to ask as i'm very very clueless right now...

i just went to this thread
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/502866.html?1195531094

and i know that in my FRF contract there's also some clauses about the organizers (whoever signing the contract i think) are reliable to pay for any damage whatsoever etc in the hotel premises... well, something along that line.

so far any FRF brides have problem like puke on the carpet or spilled food etc that FRF demanded compensation?

or any of you really dirtied the ballroom or guest room, but were safe from being demanded a sum of compensation?

also, anyone actually disputed with FRF coordinator and removed such clauses from the contract?

just wanting to clear my doubts... hope some of you do have the answers. once again, thanks a lot!!!

sweetheavens, i tik u have to be very clear on the specific clause and how the clause is worded...technically, if the spills or watever is done in the course of your wedding and since it's accidental, u shd not be made to pay unless u do sth deliberate like setting off fireworks within the ballroom and caused dirt, stain, damage to the ballroom which requires cleaning...

however, if anyone managed to get FRF to waive the clause, it could be a case by case basis...anyhow, i tik u do still need to read the clause carefully and clarify with them before u sign the contract cos u don't want ur wedding to turn ugly cos of that...

although i'm not definitely not a lawyer or expert on such things, but i may be able to help...if u can just email to me the wording of the specific clause....

Hi sweetheavens,

i had the same worry last time cos i wont be able to control wat happen in the ballroom thus i did check with my coordinator on this. He advise me that spillage in the ballrooms will not be bear by us cos it will be hard to determine whether the accident was caused by our guests or their service staff.However we will need to be responsible for any damages to the hotel room.This is quite safe so long you dun let ur drunk frens into the room and vomit all over the carpet.replacing of carpets/furnitures in the hotel can be very expensive thus the hotel has to hold us responsible.Hope this helps

i think th food standard for FRF is generally good, or else why would so many of us booked the hotel? i went for my fren wedding this year at FRf and food taste good, from most of the feedbacks, that's why i booked it too.

Think there will bound to be some off days or some not so good tasting dishes, imagine the cooks has to prepare for almost 30tables, which means 30 fishes, standard cant be all the same, we are not robots.

Think also there are some bad eggs that are just out to bad mouth the hotel, maybe becos of personal issues or others.

all brides/groom to be holding banquet there just enjoy your day and hope 80% of feedbacks are good lo.

thank you Grace and Shan!!

wow JL & CC... there sure will be bad eggs!

i just heard something very terrible from my colleague only 20 min ago...

last night she rushed to a wedding dinner after work and this morning i was asking her how's the dinner and she told me something very terrible happened... someone at her table bite a piece of glass when eating the ee-noodles, and spitted it out. it's quite big piece of broken glass... at least around 1-1.5cm across... the whole table was horrified and asked to see the banquet manager (without harassing the wedding couple cos want them to be able to really enjoy their own wedding).

first he said he'd come back with an explanation, and excused himself.

then he came back and asked if the guest cut herself, etc... and give his namecard saying that if there's any medical condition, do not hesitate to call him.

then later he came back with a bottle of wine for the guest that almost ate the piece of glass... my colleague said maybe he still the case not properly settled so trying to make it better...

but nevertheless, the whole table of guests were horrified. they barely touched the dessert and keep stirring around to check if there's any broken glass inside. terrible right?

so i asked her where is this horrible place... and she said it's something riverfront. i asked if it's FRF and she said yes... i was like OMG, i'm holding my dinner there. *faintz*

i hope nothing like this happen at my own wedding dinner!!! *prays*

to be fair to all parties involved....my take is dat there are isolated cases of lowered quality of food & services which is dependent on individual situation....food tasting not up to standard is fine since all have diff expectation however ingredients which are not fresh are totally unacceptable esp seafood such as fish & prawns.....out of d question...

to be fair to those that are kind enuff to share their experiences....in my humble opinion....should not judge them as bad eggs as individual reading tis comments shd decide for themselves hw much their intention is to read into the comments....cheers~~~~

wah sweet heavens...

so scary for the guest...a piece of glass!faint.
act they shd highlight to the host, so that mayb they can demand some compensation from the hotel.hehe

Stnov thanks. just sharing it... actually i haven't signed my contract that's why i asked about the compensation for damage liability thingy... but i'm determined to hold my dinner there and don't want such bad comments to affect me. i really wish mine would be one of the nicer nights at FRF =)

bad eggs? haha... i think whoever who lead to this situation may be called a 'bad egg'? my colleague was saying their were speculating that the plate of noodles were already put in plates and someone broke a glassware beside it and quickly clear it up without thinking much and some of the broken glass got into the noodles?? she didn't like it that the manager said he'd be back with an explanation but he only came back to show some concern without giving a reason why the glass is in the noodles. what is he trying to cover up?? i guess such instances make the guests kinda worry about going there again, and the staff that portrayed the image that way would be considered a 'bad egg'?? dunno *shrugs* i've seen not-very-nice things happened at banquets too but some places they can handle it better... but like i've said, i won't want to be too much affectd. i just wish and hope and pray and beg that mine will be a smooth-sailing event.

aiyo... typed so much on this. Stnov i've nothing against your opinion k? just my own assumption and perception... but i always get too long-winded. keke~

Shan yea that's why i asked the colleague if she told the couple but she said they didn't. i hope they'd highlight to them after the dinner and at least let the management knows so they could come up with some form of compensation. and even if not, they could at least know to be more careful and watch out for stuff like that in future...

I have been to FRF wedding before and my experience have ben gd even during their Wedding Show when they are expecting abt 400-500 guests. Their food is up to standards.

Now I am so shocked to hear that Glass is found in the food!!!!!!! OMG!!!!!!!!!! This is definitely not acceptable! And since we have booked this hotel , we just pray that nothing of this sort happens during each n everyone's wedding...I urge everyone to highlight this issue when you are there for FT/any other discussions.... To give them the awareness that everyone outside here is watching them. If they do not provide gd service, we can us the power of mouth to "ruin" them! whahaha

I think something is not to be taken lightly lo. I think wedding is a lifetime thing and I am sure no one would want thier wedding dinner to be affected by this things... guests will surely complain and it will not reflect gd on us!

Something to be sure is that even 6 Star Hotels may not provide gd service! I have been to RH & Conrad.... Everyone would think its gd rite??? But its not the case.RH service is no gd. Conrad food is not nice too... So do is it mean they do have any supporters?? They are ppl who go sign with them too... So what to say?It's v subjective seriously... how fishy is fishy... how not fresh is not fresh?? Who can make a definitely answer to this question???

I always believe that nothing is perfect, including a wedding. If there are no major hiccups then I think its fine already. Just have to remind and remind and to create awareness!

Thanks for those nega feedbacks as we know they are working and we know each area to pressurize them!

Last but not least, FRF PERSONNEL PLS STAND UP & LISTEN WELL & LISTEN HARD, SO MANY OF US HAVE SIGN UP WITH YOU AND SUPPORTS YOU. IF YOU CAN SEE THIS MSG, PLEASE PLEASE DONT THROW OUR FACE!

THANK YOU!

yup i've heard that some 5 or 6 star hotels... you only pay for the ambience and the many-starred venue... very very expensive, but the food really sucks. i'm not sure where, but i've heard...

i'm sure this incident is just an isolated case but yea, i guess FRF staff should realise that these days we BTBs share info via such portals so they better always do a good job (as best as they can lah) in case a little mistake get blown up over such forums and many many many more ppl will get to know...

with the incident posted above, i dun mean to tarnish or anything... but i guess we should all let our coordinator know how this night means so much to us and pls don't allow such unpleasant incidents to happen on our one and only wedding night!!

can you imagine just now when we were having lunch, my colleague was saying she kinda fear eating now cos she worry she'll find glass bits in her food?! yea i guess maybe she's just being paranoid, but OMG! that's not the kind of lasting impact i hope to make on my guests...

so yea, i wish and hope that all goes well, for all of us who'll be having our banquets in FRF sooner or later. all the best!

haha shining hoshi & sweetheavens...

i ever told my coordinator loh that there is this thread in singapore brides forum.that time got a negative feedback ma, so i question him haha but gana shoot back by him.in a gd way la, i dun blame him, he sort of "enlighten" me haha he know abt the forum but he doesnt read it, he say where got time! but he didnt deny the possibility that their marketing dept may b reading la afterall this is the job of marketing/PR dept ma.
i feel that no matter how they comfort us by saying it wont happen or they will do their best but theres no gurantee abt wat will happen on that day. can only hope its just minor hiccup loh..so long every guest go home happily i will be happy

my turn to be cheong hei...

WAT?!! glass?? this is the first time i've heard of such thing...somemore from FRF...i mean, of cos i dun deny that there are definitely places with better food and ambience than FRF...not forgetting that all of us have different tastebuds..to some, the standard for FRF may be good...to some, it may not be good...well, like they all say, to each his own...

no matter wat and whether ur tables are the max of the ballroom, whether big or small ballroom, the food and service standards shouldn't differ too much since they represent the same hotel...

well, personally i have attended FRF wedding show before and 2 weddings there before also...the food is not too bad lah considering the comprehensive package and price of the package...

but i do tik that we need to remind the coordinators once and again that it's ur big day and i'm sure they wouldn't want their reputation to be tarnished...i mean, they shdn't be complacent just cos so many ppl r getting married there...

however, the BTB of FRF shdn't be so afraid of that also...i mean, it really could be the "bad eggs" but it also be just isolated cases...but then again, sometimes it could also be exaggerated cases...u know how stories go here and there at times...

i tik the only thing u can do is pray....remind ur coordinator...

haha...on a light note, maybe shd just hint to Albert a bit on this....since he's the director...he shd be able to look into this whole thing properly cos it's definitely a concern for FRF BTB...

oh is it?i didnt know albert is the director leh! u mean he is the biggest there ah???keke

i will think try to maintain a gd relationship with the coordinators, they r the one doing our coordinating and handing over to the banquet manager, if we can get them on our side, then naturally they will go the extra mile for you ba...
oh god since when i bcome so positive haha...
dunno dun dare to think negatively or else bcum depressed haha...since sign liao then must b positive le haha

yea i've heard the negative stuff, but i'm trying to stay positive since i've already negotiated, gotten my date, and going to sign the contract. i'm determined to hold it at FRF and have a wonderful banquet... and i hope everyone at FRF can help me make my wish come true

Sweetheavens, you took Mercury Ballroom ma??? Haha...

I also hope FRF wont let us down lo... Albert is the Director Of Sales & Marketing..Hopefully FRF will have more positive comments coming from Brides here....

Let's work hard ma!

Shan, yes...Albert's the director of Catering and Conventions...in other words, he's in charge of the whole thingy...so good for those who r with him...rest assured that his service is very good...but of cos those who are under his coordinators, dun fret...they r of cos as good as him....

sweetheavens, looks like we both in same situation...i'm going to sign mine soon...

dun worry...i believe that FRF will not let us know..cheers!

Ya lo!!!!!!!! FRF BUCK UP man!!!!!!!!!!!! Your New ear Resolution shd be to improve on your Hotel Food & Service Quality!!!!!!!! We are supporting you!!! DOnt let us down!

I think there are complaints abt Albert b4 man...so I still feel so what he is hte Direcotr you do something wrong sure gena say by everyone of us one ah! So they beta pull up their socks man... haha.....

3 cheers for FRF!!!!!

yup, cheers for FRF...

definitely he would also have complaints just like any coordinator cos everyone's expectations diff...but i tik if we got complaints abt anything at all, just feedback to ur respective coordinator...i'm sure they want to survive in this industry as long as they can so they'll do sth abt it...

Ya lo!!!!!!!! weall support FRF to the end man! FRF pls pls pls do not let us down okok???? Let's pray hard for the next BTB who wedding is soon!

as wat my coordinator says...they wouldnt want to destroy the hotel reputation cos they also wan a nice resume and not everyone turn off by the name FRF haha

I'm sure there are always good and negative feedback for every hotels. Just want to share my experience with FRF (my coordinator was the director too). I had my ROM there recently, and was given a complimentary stay.

All went pretty ok except that I woke up the next morning with red, itchy and swollen patches on my arm!! I'm shocked that the bed has bed bugs! I complained to the staff at the recept, all she did was only a 'Sorry'. Didn't even bother to offer some form of medication. I wrote a complain mail to the coordinator. After a few email correspondence, he got his staff to reply that they could not find anything in their room. But bed bugs can't be seen by naked eyes in the first place mah! Even said that I could have got it outside the hotel. They should experience it themselves to know how unbearable the rashes are.

Really infuriating! So I thought of sharing this unpleasant experience in this thread. I feel as if they're telling me that 'too bad lor'. I spent money there and end up feeding my blood to bed bugs. And I have to wear long sleeves every day till I recover cos the patches are really an eye sore. Luckily I've done my PS already.

Anyway, good luck to you gals out there!
Hope you'll have a pleasant experience there, unlike me.

I just had mine yesterday at Venus. All credit goes to Carol and team. You guys did a fantastic job. From the banquet staff to the AV team even those folks who fixed up the decor, you guys were so pleasant to work with. And what i like most is that the warm smile on every staff face despite working under tight schedule. My guests had only good words for you. Food was excellence, service was immaculate! FRF Rocks! keep up the good work!

sweethavens.....no worries...no offence at all....after all tis is an open forum & everyone are entitled to their own thots.....=) guess most imptly will be for FRF not to be too complacent & compromise on their service & standard....to be reasonable we are not expecting heaven wif d amount we are paying but of cos thr shd b a min std to attain to.....

congratz once again handsome....glad dat everythg went on well for u....no more necessity for sourcing info on net liaoz still so active at night huh....kekekeke....

Stnov, the best moment was counting money after everything finished. I can't believe i actually went to bed at 4am. wahahahahahaah.... Imagine, just watching the stacks of notes piling up each time an ang pao is opened....

Seriously....i find carol has lots of initiative and pro-active. Good news for those served by her.

Quite disappointed to see the recent rise in number of complaints against FRF. How they really buck up and do a good job for everyone holding their wedding with FRF.

ya right handsome.....counting $$$ shiok....then paying for banquet even more shiok rite....kekeke

how i wish my coor will be as nice as her....crossing my fingers & toes man.....

Ryan....guess it's inevitable ba....rest assured that they are checking tis forum periodically.....of cos dats provided they are willing to uphold their reputation.....

congrats Handsome...show us some of ur AD pics leh...hehe...just being a bit kapoh...:P

amari02, u really very poor thing...i feel for u cos i'm the type that has sensitive skin...a little bit will kena rashes or breakout...

so who's the next BTB here??

handsome,

congrats to u....glad to hear tat everything went well....

all frf btb,

i tink we mus have confident with the hotel tat we have signed with....

i guess everybody have their own expectation..so cant compare loh

hi, we visitd their ballroom last wk. Overall is okey just that the ceiling of mercury ballroom is quite low. My height is 168cm. What's your comment? Is the ceiling too low for me? My husband like the ambience there as juz beside the swimming pools.