Four Seasons Hotel

Roidana, haha i missed that out too till i asked my fiance and we checked out the letter. In the end, we have decided to forgo the soft drinks, even if ten people order the soft drinks it does not amount to $150. The other menu is really tempting too, there are waffles, yummy! Its good to hear that you have settled everything; now its time to relax and enjoy the festive season before the solemnization! Which bridal place are you with? I'm still looking for MUA and we still have not settled the rings. I also cannot decide if my knee-length dress is good too. Any suggestions?

Astrogirl, the prices are like what i posted earlier: there is the $45+++ per pax and the $50+++ per pax menus. This comes without free-flow of soft drinks and requires a min of 30 persons. With free-flow of soft-drinks it is $50+++ and $55+++ per pax if i am not wrong.

Hi tayes,

FH is of view to go ahead with including soft drinks in the menu... he feels it's a little funny that our guest comes in, hang around and not offered soft drinks immediately... guess it's a personal preference...

I am with Bridal Concept, mainly coz of their service... take your time to look for a bridal studio, the ROM package is usually included FOC...
I got my own full length dress (converted my ROm package dress to dress for bridesmaid.. )Knee length dress is nice too, it's really up to you, as long as you feel good in it! That's most important...

As for the rings, depends on where you get it from, some places require you to wait 1-2 months for the ring (they say have to custom make from xx country etc..), and another 1 week for engraving. You may wan to work backwards on the timeframe.. coz your's in Mar 06 yeah? so better start with the rings now... happy planning, it's fun!

my apologies for the late reply. hv not been checking out the internet lately. work and other commitments has bogged me down... and felt that weekends are really short nowadays.... and there's not enough time for a proper break... sigh.... when will the next holiday be?

how are you ladies doing? busy prep weddings?

hi josl,

how are you? not really bz with HM lah... its over liao... no more happy holidays... but hengz... i went b4 the ngyuen hanging... we went to surfer's paradise and melbourne city. 5 days each. its a great place to visit...

you did the trial march? good for you. what time did your MUA come? seems like the walk-in was pretty short isn't it? i counted its about 30 steps if its 1 step/sec...

thanks for the compliments! yes, she was really beautiful that day... after 12pm... the show was over in a flash.... and its now married life.... hiaz... kekeke... uploading pics now... will show when ready... no worries...

hi astrogirl,

i gave my wedding itinerary to eugene 3-4 days before AD. no point giving it too early cos chanegs are bound to occur... even to the last minute... he fwded the copy to his colleagues in the respective depts... so each had a printout on the briefing...

no need to make copies for all staff... our rehearsal started ard 5:30pm and ended ard 6pm. its quite chop chop... but u gotta ensure your itinerary is well detailed... so its like just simulating the itinerary writeup on AD.

wrt to songs, we've passed them the burned cds (containing 1st and 2nd walk-in and 1st dish presentation) to the sound tech on the AD (pls make a backup copy). the coordination is pretty quick as they know what to do. the songs are played from a control room behind the stage by the sound tech and coordinated by comms set from the banquet ops mgr. at the starting of rehearsal, just passed them the cds (must be clearly labelled with the purpose of song- e.g. 1st track- 1st walk-in, 2nd track- 1st course presentation etc). on your part, provide the timing (i.e. which sec of the track) for the 2 songs to open ballroom doors. thats gd enough and settles the song thingy. and yes, do get a cd to play some music during the reception. FS provides light music if you wanna used theirs.

astrogirl,

yes, u'll need to hv 2-3 rehearsals on the AD. its all done within half an hour or so. of cse the MCs must go thru their script beforehand.

-> on my first rehearsal, we ironed out the music timing and other problems. had a fast run thru also.
-> on my 2nd, we had a full scale which simulates everything for the evening. right up to the speech and champagne popping.
-> on my 3rd, we had a quick one to finalise any last minute thingy. else, u can be assured that FS will deliver an excellent job for you. and yes, your helpers for the evening must be involved too.

i dun know which hotel only let the couple rehearse once. thats bad. no worries... your FS choice is a wise one.

Hi sgwestie,

do u mind sharing with me ur AD itinerary? Coz I'm not really sure what to include in it and how detailed it shld be.. my email is [email protected]. my AD is next yr and my coordinator is Georgette. Hope she'll b as good as eugene... do u think FS will allow us to have a rehearsal one day before the AD? Coz I was worried that our helpers will not have a clear picture of what will happen if the rehearsal is done in such a short time of just a half hr before the reception since some of them will be coming from overseas and may not be familiar with how weddings are done here... so many worries actually..sigh...

Thanks, sgwestie

Geo actually told me tat i don't have to start my rehearsal b4 6pm. I dun wan that actualli. I prefer your arrangement, sgwestie. I want the rehearsal to start at 5.30pm and at least 2 to 3 times, depending on the situation. If start too late, any problem i cant rectify on time then how? too risky...

Hi Astrogirl,

Think u have the same worries as me... I also think the rehearsal should be done early, the earlier the better to make sure that any problems can be solved on time.. Is ur coordinator georgette also? when's ur wedding if I may ask? =)

Yep, Georgette is my coordinator.

My wedding is on 10 feb 2007. I've paid the deposit last week to book the date already.

When's urs, Beary?

hi tyes,

congrats on your upcoming event at windows east. it is a wonderful place!
we love the whole decor, ambience service and food. dun worry abt the weather. things will turn out fine. wrt cake, do check with your coordinator. if they dun allow, may i suggest alternatives like unity candle or something... but hmm.. dun think they will let you release birds for good luck... like in the Visa ad... kekeke...

on the ballroom, nothing beats making a trip down personally. i'm sure you'll be 'wowed' by the ambience... its really pillar free and in the right shape to ensure full viewing by all guests.

hi tyes,

i really dun mind if FS give me a treat at one-ninety if they're watching this thread.... keke... :p nevertheless, i'm here to share my experience. at least i hope your wedding can be as smooth as possible.

hi count,

when is your big day? is he shooting after the overseas trip? i'm sure you're in excellent hands.

count and tyes,

my wifey submitted about 5 pics to SG bride folks. they chose our pics from a monthly submission by other couples. we're indeed very happy abt the feature. in fact, i was notified by my colleague about the pics when i was in brisbane airport boarding domestic plane. haha!

tyes and rodiana,

yes, they do provide water free flow. coffee and tea are also the same. that should resolve your drinks concern. if there are really guests who ordered soft drinks, should be a small bill of say.. $30?

we booked a room for our ROM ceremony. better as it wasn't that rush for us. and better still... we get a place to relax after the event w/o rushing home.

rodiana,

relaz... no worries since your prep are almost done. do plan your seating, speech, music etc now if you want... and stay beautiful! cheers!

hi beary,

ok. let me desensitise the program details and i'll email it to you.

hi beary and astrogirl,

ok. before we comment on geo's planning of 6pm... what are both your cocktail recep timing? work back at least an hour from there. prefably, the rehearsal shouldn't last more than 20 mins... unless you've fireworks and parachute jumpers coming in... get what i mean...

check with geo on the briefing time by the FS banquet team. the brief is ard 10 mins and then u can start the rehearsal. like what i said, u guys must have everything ready... cds etc.

if your helpers and you guys want to come down earlier... i guess 5pm should be fine. hv your own rehearsal... can be w/o music... just go thru full sequence once or twice... as the ballroom should be almost ready then. just remember to factor in time for changing of clothes and cool down time. you wun want your mind to be kept busy by details on AD. Its your day! thus planning is impt...

hi tayes,

you may wish to consider fairy's inc (for the wedding bands) and olive suite (for the tea dress). they're beautiful. folks there are also wonderful! gd luck!

Hi sgwestie,

Our AD is in Nov 2006. Had our minds set on FS but the guest list was too huge. Our parents needed at least 35 tables so had to book Shang instead. Yes, we'll be doing our PS after Heng comes back. Think his skills are amazing! If u don't mind, could i take a peek at ur photos tt were taken by Heng and at FS? My email addie is [email protected]

Wah... u seem like a real expert from wedding bands to dresses and the whole programme. Must ask FH to be more hands-on too! =)

Hi Astrogirl,

My AD is July 22, 2006. 7 months left and still so much preps to be done...

Hi Sgwestie,

Thanks so much 4ur advice.. FS advised me that the cocktail reception can only start at 7 pm and not earlier, coz originally I wanted it to start at 6.30 to make sure the dinner won't end very late.. So I guess the briefing and rehearsal will start at 6 then..

Hi, xins! My proposal is based on the old price before the recent price increment. I would think it's better for you to obtain the quote directly from FS in case there's other changes which I'm not aware of. You may email Ms. Georgette Ong at [email protected] for the quote.

Hi Sgwestie,

Glad you are in here as our "inhouse advisor".. hhaha... and thanks for being so upcoming with your experiences, especially for us jittery brides to be...

Still thinking abt the the inclusion of soft drinks. Will it be a little strange if my guest arrive, and they are not served softdrinks immediately?

As for my AD, still 11 months away, so it's taking a back seat for awhile. Reno's giving me headache for now.. sigh...

hi count,

shang is an excellent venue too! it really has the garden ambience on the premise and grandeur in the hotel. great choice!

yeah, i just dip my hand slightly more into the prep. took it as a once-off show. no NGs... thus didn't want to screw up. btw, based on stories heard from my friends... brides will start complaining for the rest of our hubby lives once there are some screw-ups during AD.... kekeke... its true... :p

hi beary,

7pm is perfectly fine. if your dinner doesn't end with a dance, then it should finish ard 10:30-11pm. as sat is a weekend, your guests will start arriving ard 7:30pm-8pm.

as what u mentioned earlier, brief and rehearsal can begin ard 6pm and end at 6:30pm. but u may not be able to attend as you're doing your make-up and changing into your gown. thus leave the task to the groom, bestman and helpers. just stay beautiful and come down to smile and entertain guests during cocktail recep. that will be your only tasking.

hi rodiana,

no worries!
my exp is FOC and no FS commission... haha...

its true... talkin abt jitters... my wife and i really had butterflies in our stomach when standing at the ballroom door prior to walk-in. but prior to 2nd walk-in, we're confident folks liao... keke...

my comments on soft drinks? no worries abt your guests not getting drinks. during your discussion with FS, inform them that if your guests request for soft drink, then get by glass. but not as part of package cost.

similiarly, at chinese weddings, guests are not served with soft drinks during the dinner per se, but they request from the wait staff. its the same thing. relax, just make the prior arrangement with FS and your guests will be fine. i dun think there will be guests who are unhappy if they dun see soft drinks. moreover, the wait staff will ask them what they wanna drink during the event. so if they say soft drink, it'll be served in a jiffy. even at cocktail recep, there ain't a big group of soft drinks glasses ready. this is to prevent the fizz from dying out.

Sgwestie,
U deserve a pat on the back! There is another guy at the Shang thread as well who is very involved. Must tell FH to buck up!

Yep, seems tt 2nd march in is less tense. Have noticed at a number of weddings tt the couple is most tense during the 1st march in and the mood visibly lightens up during the 2nd march in. In any case, u 2 are lucky to have it at FS! Must enjoy ur blissful marriage life! ;)

Hi again Sgwestie,

Like you said, most prob I won't be able to attend the brief and rehearsal. That's why I'm worried..hehe..must tell FH to start paying attention! =P Actually, I was thinking to have a short rehearsal the day before, so that I can attend it. Not sure if FS will allow that tho..

If I can just ask, did your wife came down in her wedding gown during the cocktail reception to entertain guests? Coz during a few of the weddings that I've attended, the brides didn't come down until very very near to the 1st march-in. I really want to mingle and spend more time with my guests tho..

hi sgwestie,

My MUA came early but was doing my sis makeup, so i could still catch some time to go down n see wat was happening during the rehersal and trial march in...yeah everything was over in a flash...

i leave u with this lovely ladies here, drop me a line when ur pics are ready.

Hi Beary,

I am also a FourSeasons bride and my AD was end October05.

On your question on brides coming down to mingle, i did just that. My solemnisation was supposed to start at 7:45 pm. I asked my MUA to target to finish my make-up and hair by 7:15 pm so that i could come down by 7:25 pm to mingle around and talk to the guests. I felt that it was great because then i had more time to talk to my friends and relatives before the dinner started. Didnt have much time to talk to friends during and after the dinner. In the end, my solmenisation started at about 8:05 pm so i had a good 30 mins mingling around, taking photos with the guests, etc.

Personally, i really enjoyed myself during the cocktail reception. THe bride will obviously be the centre of attention especially when you walk into the foyer in your wedding gown and everybody's eyes will be on you.

Hi Aleixis,

So glad to hear that there are brides that actually come down during the cocktail reception =) I agree with you that most probably during and after dinner there wont be much chance to mingle. Now i'm just thinking whether I should straight away wear the WG or shld I wear another gown or EG during cocktail and change to WG for the march in...

Would u mind sharing with me your pics? I'm still searching for AD photographer and videographer.. Which BS are u with? hehe..sorrie 4e endless questions..=P

hi count,

thanks for your compliments!
i appreciate that. my wife and i agree that its such a relieve after the first walk-in. 2nd was a breeze... maciam like a veteran. we pray that u guys also hv a wonderful marriage life ahead! let's add to the marriage stats for 2005!

haha... so the shang guy and myself are giving your FH the pressure eh? dun rush him into the swing of things. take it slowly...

hi beary,

aiyo... u're another one that is asking FH to starting cranking up... i pressure leh... wait they come and find me how??? hahaha... :p

dun worry abt the brief and rehearsal. if the ballroom is empty on the eve of your AD, then i think its possible to come and hv a quick walk thru. but i'm not sure if they gonna on the lights and aircon just for you... expensive leh... keke..

cont...

cont...

beary, on the actual day, you'll check-in ard 12-1pm. u guys will be tired out. go hv a bath and take a rest. ard 4pm, you can start having your make-up. as a sidetrack, u may wish to order some sandwich platter (slightly expensive) ard 5pm for you and hubby plus the helpers to fill the tummy before dinner. dun make your helpers go hungry though...

ard 5:30pm, yr hubby can go down for the brief and rehearsal. during the brief, i was totally impressed by FS banquet team service standard that i knew my wife and i were in safe and gd hands for the evening. no more jitters and worries abt screwups from the planning stage. afterwhich, the rehearsals will wrap up your hubby's prep. u just smile and stay beautiful for the nite.

as a guide, make sure your helpers are aware of their roles and duties before AD. 2nd, u guys must ensure all relevant materials (e.g. music cds, laptop etc) are available beforehand. 3rd, PRACTISE the walk-in. its a must! when u go dating with your FH, hold him (by his arm or hand) and do a slow walk of ard 30 steps at 1 step/sec. let him lead you and u imagine your free hand holding on to the gown. then smile and wave at the crowd. this practice is impt as it'll prevent him from pulling you (i.e. walking too fast). but find some quiet corner to practice... if not police will come and find you guys... haha...

on mingling, yes! pls come down and mingle soon after the recep started. you're the beautiful princess for the nite and everybody wants to hv a glimpse of you... and pics taken also. your interaction is impt as you may not hv time to mingle with all guests during dinner time. you can actually ask your hubby to come down slightly earlier to hold the fort while you complete your make-up and dressing. if your hubby has went to entertain folks liao... then get your maid-of-honor or bridesmaid to escort you from the room (she will be able to help hold the train and do the misc. stuff on your behalf).

hi josl,

wah... lovely ladies.... haha.... me so fortunate to be a ladies man... kekeke.... but online only leh... haha... :p

ok, will put the link for you once ready. we just collected the cd from photohub today evening. converted the pics from traditional negatives which ngiap heng took. ard $90 for the conversion... hiaz... heart pain ah.... :p

beary,

i dun think u wanna change that many times for such a short period. it'll be quite stressful...

Hi ladies .. and one guy.. haha...

I totally agree that the bride shd come down to mingle with the guest b4 the dinner starts... after all, it's all eyes on the bride! and when everyone's nicely done up and still sober, pictures will turn up really nice...

moreover, if you guys are going to decorate the froyer... y not stand around and enjoy the decor with your guest? For me, i am really keen to mingle with me guest on that day... and thank these people for coming on time!

With regards to the rehearsal, George convinced me that the FS staff are organised and well trained, and 1-2 run thrus will be more than enuf... DOnt know if this is true.. SGwestie?

Personally, i thought of rehearsing 1 (at most 2 times) and leave the rest to them, since they are so confident!... would want to focus on enjoying the night instead.. hahaha...

Hi Sgwestie,

Thanks again for ur advice!! it's such a relieve to have somebody here to share experience and advice.. =)

Ladies, enjoy ur wedding preps! Actually I really enjoy doing all the planning that I don't want the AD to come and end so soon! hee.. btw, is anybody with BlushBlush?

hi rodiana,

georgette is absolutely right. u can be rest assured abt the support FS provides. 2 runs will be more enough. meanwhile, your focus is to enjoy this planning thingy... cos as what beary mentions... it'll be over in a flash...

happy planning ladies!

Hi sgwestie,
Thanks for all the suggestions, you have been of great help!

To everyone here, enjoy the prep and also the upcoming holidays!

Astrogirl
We did not use any dry ice, bubbles or any flower petals.

As for the projector, we did not use FS's. We source on our own.

As for the beer, we ordered a 30 litre barrel. It lasted us more than half the dinner. As it was the last few dishes, we asked the waiter to serve by glass.

sgwestie,

when you rented the projector form outside, does FS help in the set up? how much did you pay for it and hoe powerful is your projector (in lumans)?

the FS screen is pretty big...

Hello everyone, just pop by to say Merry Christmas, and enjoy the long weekend!

Roidana: Its now a week to your solmenization! All set? Please share with me how it goes, look forward to hearing from you!

My wedding is in Mar 2006, suddenly feel that time is moving faster than I can handle. Been cheking out my guest list again so that I can collect my invitation cards soon.

Can I all of you here...

1) I will like to serve my guest wine. But I know nothing about wine. Will it better to source my own wine with an outside supplier and pay Four Seasons the corkage? Or should I just choose the wine being supplied by Four Seasons?

2) I will also like to source out for a projector too. Can I know where do you rent your projector from?

Thank a lot for your help! Merry Xmas!!

Merry christmas to all of you out there..

Ty, yeah, it's a week and the conference services people there have been great. Have not been planning much though, got to look into more details this week!

Im goin to be a four seasons bride! meeting eugene for the first time this saturday to sign the hotel contract. any advice on anything to look out for? saw the contract he sent me...looks normal.

alexis, sqwestie and other FS brides/grooms: care to share your pictures with me? my email add: [email protected]

thanks alot!

Hi Schnauzie,

Welcome! i have had a pleasant experience with the FS staff so far...

As for the contract, just make sure all you have negotiated for is written in the contract..

Ah Capp,
Cant rem how much the corkage FS is charging me, but i did a prelim analysis, realised that it may be cheaper to just buy wine from them. Plus, saves the hassle of searching for yr own wine too?
As for the projector, me also no ans.. where's sg westie? :p