Four Seasons Hotel

Hi AhCapp,

Thanks dear!
Glad to hear that your photo selections went on great and that you managed to keep everything within your budget! But, does that mean that it was within the package?

It is definitely good to know that you are taking it nice & slow with your wedding preparations. You still have quite some time left to your AD and you already have got quite a few things done already.

I am going to email you some pictures of how the wedding favours turned out.
Check your email, ok?

i'm new here and would like to find out if FS actually has a garden or courtyard setting to host solemnisation? Pls recommend me any nice coordinator that you have met.

Hi Qin,
I think there is no garden or courtyard setting for solemnisation at FS. They have two function rooms, the Windows East and West at the 20th storey with great views; that is where the swimming pool is.
This is what I found out abt two months ago, dont know if there was any changes. Hope this helps.

BTW, anyone having their solemnization there next year? Mines in March!

sorry for the late reply. Oh thank you so so much for responding to my query!!! huggies.

I have made reservation for 17Mar07.

Astrogirl, the downpayment/deposit is $4000.00???????

Ah Capp, many thanks...I am kinda feeling jittery, because i m weighing at 68kg....just lost 5kg for the past 3 weeks.... still moving on. I have been suffering from terrible migraine..and the painkillers which docs gave me all are down the drain...i am immuned to the drugs. Specialist gave me steroids. And this somehow increased my appetite and made me balooned to 72kg!! scarry hor? Sigh.I have only 6 months to go..from now...to lose till 54kg (my original size). *slap forehead*

Which month normally do i have to check into a bridal shop for my gowns? Is the 6th month before my wedding date sufficient?
I so happened browsed a magazine recently, and fell in love with a laced gown, with a satin sash tied like a ribbon/bow. Very simple, yet elegant and sweet... I thought of getting a bridal shop to maybe design/taylor-made something like that...Do you think the bridal shops accepts bride's own design?

hiya Cheryl Sue,

Sorry to know that you have been feeling down due to your weight. Whatever u do, u need to remember to keep your body in the best and healthy condition. =)

Your wedding is in Mar 07. U can slowly slowly check out all the bridal shops already. They might tell u the u are still early. So nevermind then and just go to a bridal shop each week and try on all the gowns u want.

Don't mind that I recommend the bridal shop I went to, Jawn Happy Ever After =) They are good with custom made gowns. Worksmanship also good. Yes, u can bring your design to your designer and discuss with him what you like. He'll might make some alterations here and there to your design to suit your body and to enhance your body features =) See, no worries!

Hi Cheryl!
Don't worry too much yah? there is still sufficient time to lose weight!
i think 1 year before the wedding is a good time to check out the bridal shops!

was the date your first choice? Have you paid the deposit yet?

Hi Cheryl,

Can start browsing all bridal shops already.... choosing a bridal shop is also quite a decision... and take your time to try on their gowns... ususally they will let you try 3-5 gowns...

If you are going for all in one bridal shops, rem to bargian for more photos.

Have you settle for fourseasons yet?

Hi Roidana,
Wow, New years day will be your special day! Are you doing your AD on the same day too? Which room have you decided on? My guess is the Windows East, they say most people take the East room, me included. Will you be having lunch/high-tea/dinner?

Hi tayes,

My ad is 4 nov... also FS....

yeah, you're right... windows east... will be having hi-tea.. as thatsuits the solemnisation timing..
how abt you? best bet is that you took the windows east as well!

Corkage charge cant be waived for FS. Wonder how many bottles of wine we need to order for 25 tables... anyone can help pls? 1 bottle can serve how many pax?

Hi Astrogirl,

If you want to buy the red or white wine from Four Seasons, you only need to let them know which type of wine you want. Then, on that day, you only need to pay for what is consumed by your guests. Are you thinking of getting the wine from Four Seasons or still getting your own?

Back again. Thanks Roidana and all, will heed your advice bout the bridal shops....

I got my own make up and hair stylist already...
Also, thinking whether I should use my own florist or not... Coz ROM, I actually had it by the beach with a simple dinner reception. So, that time, i already fell in love with the make up, hair and florist, and am thinking of getting their help again. But I heard from friends,if these 2 things are already determined..then if i go take the bridal shops's packages, we are a bit at the losing end.

Anyway, have start making phone calls...and emails... checking out their quotes, services...

Till then.....

Back again. Thanks Roidana and all, will heed your advice bout the bridal shops....

I got my own make up and hair stylist already...
Also, thinking whether I should use my own florist or not... Coz ROM, I actually had it by the beach with a simple dinner reception. So, that time, i already fell in love with the make up, hair and florist, and am thinking of getting their help again. But I heard from friends,if these 2 things are already determined..then if i go take the bridal shops's packages, we are a bit at the losing end.

Anyway, have start making phone calls...and emails... checking out their quotes, services...

Till then.....

Aleixis, u mean i dun have to tell georgette how many bottles i nid beforehand issit? actual wine bill will be based on actual day consumption only?

Cheryl:-
Actually, if you already have your own MUA and hairstylist, you can speak with the bridal shops, and maybe try to change their std 4 makeup and 2-3 hair dos to more photographs perhaps? Can be discussed.

Astrogirl,
You do not have to tell george how many bottle you need before hand. Just choose 1 red wine and 1 white wine from their list. They will serve only your chosen wine.
You pay for what your guest actually consume, after the dinner.

Hi Roidana,
You got it right, its at Windows East too, and we are also doing hi-tea! Have you decided which menu you are getting? We are undecided to include soft drinks,its additional charge of $5 per pax. Are you having the seats theatre style? So many questions, hope you dont mind sharing.

Its now a month to your ROM, and less than a year to your AD! Are you excited? I have seen the ballrooms in FS, they are really pretty! Will hope to hold the banquet there, but AD will be at least 2 years later.

FS gave me a wine list for banquet. Only have the following listed for red wines. Which would you all recommended? Anyone tried? Does FS allow us to try before deciding on which we want? Thanks!

1)Torres, Sangre de Toro - Spain
2)Tyrell Moore’s Creek, Cabernet Sauvignon –Australia
3)Santa Digna Cabernet Sauvignon – Chile
4)Kendall Jackson Collage Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot – United States
5)Calina Reserve, Carmenere – Chile
6)Cape Mentelle, Cabernet / Merlot - Australia

hi astrogirl,

we just had our wedding at FS. with the help of my bestman who was au fait with wines, here is the general guide.

->wines from s. america- a little spicy due to the soil conditions.
-> can choose btw US or Aust wines. we tried kendall jackson and tyrell moore's. we chose tyrell moore's finally as its cheaper and taste as gd as kendall also. but its really up to individual tastebuds. do note that all the wines offered are table wines... meaning for normal drinking only... not the premium stuff... so your guests will not have much of a diff after 4-5 glasses...

btw, u can also try them by buying from supermarkets. all my guests had gd comments from tyrell moore's wine (red/white) also.

gd luck!

hi ty,

my ROM was held at windows east also with a hi-tea buffet. first of all, do u have many young kids there? if they form a gd porportion of your guest, then u may consider adding it into your costs.

i personally find soft drinks is optional as there is coffee/tea and water. btw, with the food offered, i dun think soft drinks is a gd combi. so u may want to skip it. if the guest want to drink soft drink, u can still order by glass.

we had theatre style seating instead of round tables. this way, u can hv guests interacting. i had previously made posting on this. u may want to search for my comments in FS thrad for more details. cheers!

hi sgwestie,
Hehe, I think you were the one who shared with me photos of your ROM at FS some time in Sept in a ROM thread, and many thanks for your help! It helped us decide on the venue.
i realised from the ROM photos you showed me and Nov photo in Sg brides home page were the same! Your wife is very sweet and pretty, and both of you look compatible! Once again, congratulations!

hi josl,
Ya, i think so, haha, hope i didnt get it wrong! Lets see what sgwestie says.
How about you, when is your AD?

Hi tayes,

I have yet to decide on the menu.. but my menu has soft drinks included in the menu.. yours is different?

Nope, we are only having a cosy ceremony with 30 people, so i will be seating them in 4 tound tables. they will stand for my solemnisation, afterall, it wil be over in say.. 20mins?

Yeah, it's abt 3 weeks to me ROM, but have been leaving things into the hands of the competent guys at FS! hope you hold your AD there too. After such a long hotel search and corresponding with so many coordinators, FS services beat the rest hands down

Do hold on to your dates if you do have one in mind.. they go fast in the auspicious months

hi josl,

great to see you! not only its wonderful, there's only 1 phrase to say about FS service... that is.. 'you're in good hands'... and its true!
let me share with you the reason why i said that... and its from a groom's perspective... in a brides forum... keke...

let's put it this way... FS's customer service is really par excellence... no doubt abt it. thruout my whole wedding prep with them, every intricate detail, whining, request, last minute changes, what-have-you were accomodated by Eugene and his team. What really impressed me most was during the AD rehearsal. And I guess brides will not be able to see this (as most of you will be busy getting ready).

During the AD rehearsal, we had a short break whereby myself and helpers would meet up with Eugene and the Banquet Ops team. What really impress me after the handover by Eugene was that.... everybody... right from the Banquet Ops Mgr to the Sound Tech... had a copy of our wedding itinerary on hand... and they went thru it whole earlier! All of us were seated ard the sofa at the foyer end having a quick briefing with a proper round of introduction by FS team. The briefing on the evening program by FS was customised according to our itinerary when the Banquet Ops Mgr discussed it. They were truly professional and could even clarify some potential problems by reading from the itinerary earlier. Talk abt experience! All we had to do was to listen and answer the questions they asked. At that moment in time, I realised my AD dinner jitters were really unncessary.

Really, FS brides-to-be, you guys made a right choice by hosting your dinner in FS. Although its slightly more expensive than some other hotels, its every penny well spent.

hi astrogirl,

you're welcome. btw, my FS pic links are in the earlier postings. let me find the link and paste it again. hang on a while...

hi josl,

aiyo... why say i busy? ... me now giving friendly advice to all FS folks. no commission some more leh...

hi roidana,

you can opt for the basic hi-tea package. its more than adequate.. in fact, its a sumptous spread! if you go to one-ninety and kpo the buffet, you'll roughly know what you getting for also...

as an alternative to theatre style seating, 30 pax for 4 round tables is good also. i've seen the config before. however, standing for 20 mins is worth a re-consideration again. i suggest that your guests be seated during the solemnisation. however, they, on cue by your emcee, will rise and applause during your entrance and completion of certificate signing. its makes the whole mood better n happier... and avoids 'tired legs' situation...

my 2 cents worth...

hi ty and josl,

yeah, thats us on the homepage earlier. we had 2 pictures shown by SG Brides webby team. Quite suprised as we were in Aust on honeymoon when my colleague called. In fact, I was just abt to board a domestic plane... haha....

tyes, no worries abt helping you choosing the venue... since i've recived 5% of your $4k deposit as commission from FS.... haha... just joking!
we hope you guys have a gd FS experience too.

my wifey is now smiling cheekily after readin your compliments. thanks! now i have to hold her down before the compliments floats her away... haha... i guss ngiap heng did an excellent job for us. he really captured the environment and mood well to produce such good pictures for us. cheers to ngiap heng too!

hi sgwestie,

u are bz wat,long time did come in n chat already.
Bz with ur HM..which part of OZ did u go to?

I was there at the rehearsal actually, did the trial march in also.

ur wife looks v young n sweet ar, u also actually.Got pics to show a not from AD wedding, nice to see how other pple wedding at the same place is.

Hi, sgwestie!

What time did you pass your wedding itinerary to the person-in-charge? Do we need to make copies for all of the banquet staff?

What time did ur rehearsal start and end?

When did you actually pass your selected songs to the person-in-charge? Can we go thru the songs with him the day before rather than at the last min on the AD? cos we may need to tell them when to start playing the songs, when to open the doors for march in, etc...

Sorry, sgwestie!

How many rehearsals did u haf? Wat abt MCs? Do they rehearse say at least 2 to 3 times with the selected songs in the background & slideshows etc to familiarize with the sequence/programme? Some hotels only let the MCs rehearse once only and tat's very bad, not prepared enuff.

Wow, suddenly so many messages; its good to know, keep the FS thread alive!

Hi Roidana,
The price they quoted us was 45+++ for the basic menu, and it excludes the soft-drinks. With the soft-drinks free flow it would be 50+++. Ya, its true that there are no kids in my guestlist, so perhaps like sgwestie mentioned, we will skip the soft-drinks. You can consider that too roidana. We have the same number of guests; something small and intimate is nice! We probably will get the theater style since i was thinking of having a walk-in thingy. I hope it doesn't rain on that day, that way you can go out and see the beautiful view! Are you getting a room there for the weekend too? Its good to hear that the FS team is great, it is one load off my mind.

Another question: I was thinking of getting a cake for the event, do you think FS will allow me bring it in? Has anyone done it before?

sg westie,
Happened to pop in and realise u used NH too! I'm using him for my AD next year as well. Could i have a peek at ur photos pls? Btw how did u manage to get ur pictures on the Singaporebrides website? Interesting ;)

My email addie is [email protected]

After hearing all the wonderful comments everyone has of FS team, i really want to hold the AD there! I really like the grand ballroom, with the windows and all, but we have about 15 tables, that means got to take the Cresent ballroom. Anyone can share with me photos of the two ballrooms? Keke, maybe that would help me decide if we want to increase the number of guests...

Hi josl,
Oh ya, i just read the older posts and realised yours was earlier this year! Congratulations! Can share with me photos at [email protected] ? Thank you!

Hi sgwestie,
Welcome back from your honeymoon! Maybe you should ask FS to give you more discounts for helping to promote!
Just curious, did you know the pple running sg brides? How do they choose the photos everymonth? I was wondering if it was random.

Thanks Roidana!

Hello ladies...
Haven't confirmed the reservation, because FS cannot confirm the prices still.
Apparently, the brochure and the initial call from the wedding specialist stated that the price is valid through 1st quarter of 2007 seems be not accurate.. Just as I emailed them with my details to confirm my date and asked for the deposit payment mode and amount, one of the team called me to inform, that their price is still not confirm..and that they are looking at the upward trend. So, pending for more info.

Also,hubby just told me, his folks would like to meet up with my folks to discuss on the wedding dinner matters...which I am totally clueless..(pai seh..me makan Ken-tang / potato) It seems, if bride needs xx table, can let the groom side know..and bla bla gonna discuss bout who pays... heee..Gonna be interesting and eye opener for moi!

Hi Cheryl!

just realised that you will be married one day before me. I am planning to have my AD on 18th Mar ;) wat a small world.

wow u r doin the qi qin thingy already. we r lookin at somewhere next feb. my parents needa compile a list hehe

Hi schnauzie! Urs on 18 mar 2007 yah? i did consider this date before too... but din take it in the end cos i wan a sat.

btw, better confirm quickly cos prices may increase anytime, u nber know when. if u confirm now, price will be as wat is stated in the proposal. cos Georgette did told me before that the prices stated in proposal are valid til end mar 2007. but of cos if u confirm after they increase their price, then u gotta pay the new price. This is wat other hotels do usually as well.

me going to confirm asap too...

tayes, good idea to exclude soft drinks, as we are not inviting kids.. which means that there are no drinks included in your menu? and all drinks (including tea / coffee etc) has to be ordered on a per glass basis?

Hi Cheryl,
You're going to enjoy your "ti qin" session... it's basically a session where the folks meet to "negotiate"haha.... chinese customs vary, depending on both family's beliefs and requirements...

hey astrogirl..
my mum wants a sunday tts y. ;) similar to cheryl, i also heard the same thing tt the price is not confirmed yet. think if u want to put down the deposit can also but it will be at the new price which is yet to be revealed.
y don u check with georgette?
cheryl, who r u working with?

Hi Roidana,
I went to check the letter of agreement that they sent, it says it will include freshly brewed coffee and a selection of fine teas. But if anyone really wants soft drink then it will be ordered individually, and according to their barlist its $5 per glass of soft drink. Gosh, thats really expensive!
I would think that for hi-tea just coffee and tea would be sufficient for most. Hopefully they provide ice water too. That way can save $5 per person! Comes up to about 150 for all, and that money can be used for the stay or something...
Have you settled all other stuff like dress, MUA and photography? Me still looking for MUA.

i did asked georgette before. she said that i'll be paying the stated price in the proposal if i confirm before any increment in price.

Tayes, oh yeah! it does include freshly brew coffee and fine tea! *muddle headed* i didnt even bother to read the menu properly.. hee... thanks for pointing that out!

for me, i wont be having kids in my guest list, so am seriously considering whether to include softdrinks or not. Maybe you shd also consider your guest list and see if soft drinks are really necessary. afterall, for that $5 extra, we can upgrade the hi tea menu to a much better menu....

Dress and photography, already settled... MUA, me using the trial makeup that my bridal package offers... so seems like mostly in place, just wait for the day to come

i signed the contract for my wedding dinner with Georgette last evening already. she'll be basing on the old price cos i reserved the date and told her of my intention very early.

just to let u all know, the price has increased. for those who haven confirmed, hope tat u would still be able to get the old price, if not gotta pay the new price.