Four Seasons Hotel

schnauzie, no choice if it is a timing issue. If it is your ideal wedding venue, might as well pay a bit more than to regret later on. :p

Paid my deposit with FS already =) so relieved, one less thing to worry about.

Btw, anyone done PS in USA before? My fiance is there on business and I'm thinking of joining him 2do the PS. But I don't wanna engage a photographer from Singapore coz that'll be very expensive since we have to pay for their airfares and accomodation. So thinking of getting a local american photographer. But have no idea where to start looking =(

Hi Cheerygal,
yup, i got Jasvy contact and T-dragon, some pple have gd and bad comments on them so dunno which i shld choose also.Thanks for the suggesting, at least i know wat can be dun, me dun like designing esp with a blank card.
The quotes i have last yr was the same as urs,which the lastest price increase was last yr dec.But i have a 5% discount on top due to signing at the bridal show.:P

hi Beary:

Congrats! I am looking forward to putting down my deposit so that I can get this issue of location out of my way!

I never thought planning a wedding can be this stressful! Even thinking of where to SPEND money can be such a headache! :p

After the hotel, gotta headache over BS...then guest list etc etc....wah...thank goodness only have to do it once.. (Hopefuly!!! "cross fingers & toes)

Hi Beary,

Congrats! Since your fiance is there on biz, maybe some of his biz frens may know which local photographers are good. It is better to ask the locals than to do the entire search by yourself.

Hi Joel,

U got your invites really early. Guess u still hv time to choose the printer. Heard some comments fr both too. Anyway, if u r careful enuf to check thoroughly & chase them for stuff, guess it is ok. Tats wat I did. If u want to save the hassle of deciding wat design for the front of your blank card, u can just print sentence such as "Invitation to Wedding Celebration of .....". It can be quite simple & nice.

Hi Bcube,

Initially, I felt quite stressful too but slowly came to enjoy it. Just relax. Maybe it is better for u to list down all the things u need to do first & pluck a date to each item. Then, just wk accordingly to the dates will do. In this way, u wont feel so stressful. Enjoy!

Hi Bcube,

I so agree with you. I also felt super stressed about the whole wedding preparation. But feel much better after deciding the venue. A bit less stressed at least.

Hi cheerygal,

Will ask FH to ask his local colleagues then. Thanx =)

Hi cheerygal,

Thanks for the advice. I really need to do that. To add on to the stress, I am planning these all on my own. Fiance not in town... : (

Am going with girlfriend to visit BS this sat. Anyone have any comments about Ted Wu/Sillouette??

Hi Beary,

Congras! =) Happy to know that there is any FS bride like me.

Will you be making your wedding gown in Singapore and bring it over to USA for photo-taking?

Hi Bcube,

I have been to Sillouette. I quite like their gowns. I met up with one of their designers, caleld Minda. She is good. She knows what I want when I tell her about my dream gown.

I have been to Ted Wu's show last year. Sorry but can't remember much about his gowns already. =(

I am still looking around for a Bridal shop right now. Will drop by at Kai this week. Impressed with his gowns after going to his wedding show on Sun.

To all,

It's great to be able to share my joy with all of you here. =) It's definately not easy planning your special day. Sometimes, I feel that some people don't understand why do we have to get so stressed up about our wedding. Only 2 of my good friends are able to understand (1 is married and another one waiting impatiently for her boyfriend to propose!)

I felt stupid when someone told me it's tacky going for wedding shows. Oh my.... here I was thinking the best way to check out a designer's gowns was by going to his show =P

Anyway, I pick up a lot of points from all of you here. Especially Cheerygal, who is kind enough to share her experience with us here =) Thank you!

Hi Ahcapp,

yup, think i'm buying my gown here in spore and bring it over 4the PS. But I only have less than 2 months to decide on a gown, so thinking of getting a not very exp,OTR gown just for the PS. Will get a more proper one for the AD. Any idea where I can find nice OTR gowns thats reasonably priced? or maybe a bridal that rents out the gown.

Like u, I've also heard comments that it's tacky to go for wedding shows!! but if we don't see the designer's works, how can we decide? i think only fellow brides really know how much stress we're under with all the searches and decisions to be made.

I'd also like 2thank cheerygal for being so kind and pass a lot of tips and info here. Altho her wedding passed already, she still take the time to visit the forum n answer all our questions. Thank you!! =)

Hi Titania,

Sent. Think FS has 2 themes - normal wedding (with lots of flowers) & Moulin Rouge. For the 2nd theme, the table linen is in black if I m not wrong. FS does nt have the type of theme variations which hotels like PanPac is offering. U can check with them.

Hi Ahcapp & Beary,

U are most welcome! Would love to share your joy.

hi bcube,
think all brides suffer from varying degrees of stress...i am feeling the heat too as i count the days... think both me and my hubby-to-be give up liao (my face has broken out in pimples!!)... will be getting a wedding planner....

1 of my evening gown is from ted wu. he is quite a nice guy with a keen eye for details. his assistants are also very helpful people. u should drop them a visit... think u will like them.

hi cheerygal,
nice to read your post everytime cos they always have useful hints. sigh... if only i am as cool and organised... i also have a timeline but in the end, also never meet target because of this and that and then i just get stressed out!

hi ahcapp,
i also love going for wedding shows. who says it's tacky? most times, u can pick up ideas for your gowns.

hi beary,
if u can, try to get the gown from US. i went to NZ for PS before and seriously, it is a GREAT chore getting the gowns onto the plane... and if u are lugging it yourself without your hubby-to-be, think it will be even more tiring!!

Hi Pisduck,

So as not to stress out my frens, family and ourselves, we have also just engaged a wedding planner. who r u plannin to engage?

feel as though we just given away one big boulder! ;)

hi schnauzie,
i have a name in mind but have not fixed it yet. who is yours? can pm me or if convenient, provide me details here? so, how is the service so far?

Hi Cheerygal, tks for the info and the photos! Their soo pretty! Do u know where i can get to see the moulin rouge table setting? Sounds nice but I need to know if it is appropriate for a wedding.

Hi Pisduck,

Sometimes it is good to engage a wedding planner to help out so u need not feel so stressed. But, at least your hubby helps too. For my case, my hubby left almost everything for me to decide. So, I sourced for everything & get him to approve & pay for them. Quite fun but stressful tho cos I was new to all these at tat time too.

Now come to think of it, I did enjoy the entire process. My hubby even suggested tat I wk as a wedding planner. hmm...worth considering.

Hi Beary,

Agree with Pisduck. It is kind of troublesome to get the gowns up the plane by yourself unless u fold them nicely in a big luggage bag & check it in. But, hope tat it will get lost.

Hi Titania,

U r welcome!
I think FS has the pixs to show u. Not sure if they hv the table setting done up for u to see. The last time I saw it was during FS bridal show. Nice tho but elderly pple dun really like black for wedding. Good if your folks are not superstitious.

hi cheerygal,
my hubby also quite "hands-off" because of work. at the current moment, it is like "a-one-man-show". Quite taxing esp since i have a project dateline in june. (same month as my wedding!)

agree with your hub, leh. think u will make a good planner... u sound so experienced.... somemore u sound like u really enjoyed the process...maybe do as sideline first then when make big bucks can convert full-time. heehee....

Hi pisduck,

Agree. Everyone is busy with wk. With wedding coming up, it makes it even worst.

Yah, me thinking of doing it as a sideline 1st. Once it is more stable, will then quit my job. But, 1st got to understand their duties. Maybe u would like to share wat u expect fr your wedding planner.

Also, hv u done your PS? Care to share with me your photos? My colleague is getting married this Nov & thinking of getting WG fr BV.

hi cheerygal,
actually, at the moment, i have only 1 requirement for my planner... someone whom i can throw all the actual day co-ordination to so that i can just concentrate on looking pretty. ha! dun want to have to stress while i am doing make-up eg whether table arrangements are ok, helpers are here yet, projector is working, etc etc...

did my overseas PS only. have not done the local PS yet...
if u want, just give me your email addy and i can send u the link for some of the pics i uploaded...

Hi Titania,

I saw the Moulin Rouge layout that day when i visited FS for the first time. The seat covers are all in black. Table cloth is the shimmering red/black cloth (sorry dont know the name). It looks rather dramatic! BUT only thing is the old folks might not be too happy coz lots of black lor. The reception table in the moulin rouge theme looks alot better than the whie ot gold theme though.

Perhaps you can call them and ask them to call you when there is a wedding with this setup. They are rather accommodating.

Hi Beary,

Like the rest said, it might be a good idea to get a OTR gown in US. But then again, the problem is will you have the time to get it altered in time for your photo shot?

I can't think of any bridal shop which does OTR. Those bridal shops I have been to are for MTM. But I know that Jawn Happy Ever After, have gowns for rental as well. Sorry but don't know the price and whether if they will just rent out one gown or not. But you can call them up at 67361178 and check check =)

So glad to know that I am not the only "tacky" bride-to-be going to wedding shows to see the gowns. Yes, I must agree with pisduck that it's a great way to see different gowns.

Can i ask all of you here about AD photography? I am currently looking for one right now. The one which quotes me is $950 for 10 rolls (colour + black & white) How much does yours cost?

Also, I heard that we can drop by at FS to take some photos during our photoshot (not the actual day) I remembered that I can only do so at the Club21 linkway. But was told by someone that I can actually take photos at the grand staircase leading to the ballrooms as well and at the rooms at 25 floor or something. If I can take such photos during my photoshot, I will have one less thing to worry about on my AD. Any ideas?

Hi Cheerygal and Pisduck,
I'm afraid I may not have the time to source for the gown there and then alter it if it doesnt fit well...I'm only going for 2 weeks. Also dunno how is the price like for WG there..
Pisduck, when u did ur PS in NZ, did u engage an sg photographer or was it a local photographer from NZ?

Hi Ahcapp,
Thanx for the info. will call them to check =)

Hi AhCapp,

If i dont recall wrongly, they mentioned something about wedding couples not being able to take photos at the hotel, unless it is during their AD. YOu may wish to call and check with them.

Hi Aleixis,

I also remembered that I was told that I can only do so at the linkway where Club21 is. I can only take photos at other places in the hotel only on my actual day. But I heard from someone a different thing...

Hi Beary,

Maybe it's a good idea to rent a OTR gown here in Sg and bring it over. This way you will have time to get it altered and you can have some control over the gown. I am scare that you might not be able to find a gown in US in time for your photoshot since you are only going to be there for 2 weeks.

hi ahcapp.
my AD photography is Ruey Loon. But, I requested for the digital package....think he might have an analog package as well but i am not sure... you can always visit his website for more details.

yep, i also heard that we can go to FS to take album pics but i have not found out more details on that yet...maybe u can give your co-ordinator a call. (think mine is on leave now...)

hi beary,
i engaged a local photographer cos i am not sure who's good in NZ. Also, my photographer was really nice... he helped us org everything... from make-up to hotels to transport.
if u want to look at the pics, can always drop me your email.

Hi Cheerygal, thanks for the infor, juz came back from genting hee, tot can have a better HM but nahhh...:P

Hi Ahcapp,
U can take pics at FS, i juz took mine there on Mon. U gotta inform ur coordinator first before u go down, i also went to the linkway to take a few pics also. Another place will be the poolside at level 20.:P

Hi josl,

Thanks. Besides the Club21 linkway, you also took pictures at the grand staircase and the poolside right =) Cool. Will check with FS before I go for my photoshot. This will definately help because I am trying not to squeeze so many things to do on my AD. =)

Hi pisduck,

Thank you. Will check that out as well. Looking for photographer is not a very interesting job I think. Looking for bridal shops and banquet venues are more fun! =P

Hi Ahcapp,
basically , i can take pics in the public areas, but u will have lotsa pple looking at u when u take the pics.:P

Hi Cheerygal,
have u heard of the printing company name Kentrich? Heard they are quite gd and not that pricey, how much did u pay for all the invites, did u print on a insert or straight on the card?

Hi Pisduck,

I see. If tats your req, u neednt engage a wedding planner. Just get a close fren who is good in coordination to do all these for u. Tats wat we did.

oh, u still want to do local PS. Done your studio PS? Here is my email. [email protected]. Tks in advance!

Hi AhCapp,

I engaged a freelance photographer for my AD. He is good & experienced. Even did special effects for my final photos. All digital shots. He took more than 500 pixs for us. My $480 package comes with 300 printed photos with white borders, a photo album & all negatives back in CD-ROM. Even my fren who is a photographer commented tat he is good.

Hi diminished_sixth,

Sure. Just sent. Same as me. We used to decide b/w FS & Conrad too.

Hi Joel,

Nope, didnt heard of Kentrich. I paid around $160 to print 215 invites. It includes a silver colour hot-stamping on the front cover & normal text in brown colour on the inside of the card. Didnt do an insert cos the design we chose already has a cover in front. So, with a insert inside, it looks a bit funny & got too many pages to flip....basically, u will hv a front translucent piece, the actual card & an insert with the details. U can check with the printer. They can show you the samples.

Hi Cheerygal,
i also think shld juz print straight on the card, coz of the translucent paper, dun want to spend so much on the printing also. $160 seems quite a reasonable price.:P

Hi Beary,

My photographer is Edwin from i-Werks. U can find good reviews from FBO forum. Forgot to mention.... My package comes with a free A2 size collage as well. Think his package is $500+ now. I can email u his contact if u r keen.

Hi Joel,

One cons of printing directly on the card is tat once the name is written wrongly, u will waste a card. So, u must be more careful. The price is reasonable. If u dun wan the hot-stamping for the front, then total amt is $110 max.

Hi Cheergal,

Just to check.
Do u have any video montage during your dinner? Is it kinda funny to have the screen at the side of the ballroom?

Hi dey,

Nope, didnt do the video thingy. Dun think so. Most of the weddings I went to are like this too....the screen are all at the side.

Hi Cheerygal,

Thanks for the AD photography reommendation! I will ask my FH to take a look at it. =) It's his turn now to contribute to our big day. hehehehhe...

Hi Cheerygal,
i called kentrich today and i got a quote of 200 cards for $70 think havent include hot stamping. The lady quite nice they are suppose to knock off at 6pm, but she willing to wait for my until 7pm if needed.:P

Hi Bcube,

I'm like u, been scratchin my head over venue. I had went down FS last weekend (haha..saw ah-du & frienz walking down club21 boutiq)! Meet co-ordinator, I agreed she is nice & prof enuf to give advise on wine consumption & other extras that most couple may not even need.
But IMO, i feel that FS is a little small(so if u have 25tables,it'll be an ideal place to wed), esp. the recept foyer, even the FS ballroom is very packed once 30tables are up. The deco is nice, the card designs(4 selection) exclusive too. But the security rather tight,esp. u'll need key to lift etc. To others, maybe it'll be gd esp.terrorist. But if my relatives or gal frienz need to see me in my suite,they can't come up personally straight away. Gd & bad lar.
Have seen the suite too. There's a common toilet for guests & a personal inside the bedroom. The bedrm is separated from the living. To compare, it's smaller than Shang's premier rm, as Shang's toilet is superb big...*wink*. Overall FS is very english,european layout. For those who love such, will fall in love wif FS definitely.

I too went to Raffles that day. Meet Sharul, he's juz very jovious & direct tho. Clique wif him well. Wow, they've got lots variety of favours!!*salivate*. & I believe they will discuss wif couple & come up wif the theme that suits.So no each will be the same.It depends on wat u wan.
Raffles has a heritage feel. The lobby discribes it. The Lawn is awesome & there's a big fountain in another compound. A place to take pictures if you wld like during free time on AD. The only thing, my HB think otherwise is: the place a little 'mazy', esp. it link to shops...too many corridoors & easy get lost,perhaps we hv no sense of direction!(watsmore the building looks all the same to me,all white wif unique doors). The courtyard suit has a distance to the ballrm on 2nd flr, not so convenient compare to some. The lift a little slow & imptly, the reception area comes wif fan(HB can;t stand heat lar!!) & open. In case, it rains, it may affect the cocktail as rain may splash in.
But the ballroom looks elegant,victorian tho it does not hv high ceiling,but the overall layout matches the setting! Sharul is quite flexible in throwing some freebies if it's within his means.

As i hv a min of 30guests, both venue may not be idea after viewing.(even i tot of cutting my list to 250 to go for Raffles, but HB have too many 'minus' pts for it)

Hope this helps u in reference. But u really need to pop by to see the venue personally coz visual is more impt. & if u can meet eye to eye wif the co-ordinator. Both place are best to hold an intimate wedding.

Hi biba,

Maybe I can help u in these 2 areas. I held my wedding at FS with 32 tables (max). Not as packed as u think. Still got room for us to walk around to take pixs.

As for the suite, the key to access each level is very exclusive. Cos u dun want non-staying guests to wander around the room level. Wat FS did is they asked me if they can just direct/allow my guests to visit me on my AD or prefer them to call us 1st before sending them up. We gave them the go ahead to send our guests up themselves. So, all my frens got no prob visiting us in our suite.

My suite is much bigger than the normal suite cos got an upgrade so the bathroom, bedroom & living room areas are quite big. I had no prob entertaining more than 10 guests on my AD in the suite.