Four Seasons Hotel

Hi Cheerygal: Thanks for the pics! You look so lovely! And yes I called FS already.

AhCapp: My first choice for Jan '06 already taken! So now falling back on second choice. Am going down this sat to take a look. But I have sort of already decided on FS. Asked ard and everybody said good things abt it.

Anyone has any good coordinator I should look for?

Hi Beary,

Guess it should be ok. Dun think it will be too cramped. Mine stated max. 32 tables & we got all filled up. Not tat cramped tho. Still got space to walk around.

Hi Pearly,

Sent. Check your email.

Hi cheerygal,

I hope so...coz crescent ballrm is much smaller than FS ballroom. going down 2FS later this evening...do u think its worth it to wait till there's a bridal show or shld i just placed my deposit now? the date i'm looking at is not in high peak period and i'm actually quite flexible about it. so not a problem there.. but i'm worried they'll increase the price...it's already very expensive..

Hi cheerygal,
thanks !!
can you send me the contacts for emcee and the 2-man guitar team as well. It would be nice to have live music during the wedding..

Hi Beary,

If u r not in a hurry, can try waiting for 2/3 mths to see if they hv any bridal show coming up. Maybe u like to check when is the last time FS increases its price. When I booked mine in Oct 03, they just increased. At tat time, heard fr a coordinator tat their last price increased was 5yrs ago. But, they increased again somewhere end of 04 or early 05. Nt sure if they will increase again so soon.

Akoyo,

ok, will send u the contacts. BTW, which emcee are u referring to? Professional emcee? I only engaged the english speaking emcess. Got my colleague to be the chinese one. But, think my colleague dun mind to freelance as well.

Hi cherrygal Y FS btb,

Can you share wif me how's FS payment terms like? I know the deposit is 4k, how abt their payment for balance? is it a breakdown series of payment like 10%,10%,20% of expected bill for 3mths ahead of ur AD & balance after checkout?

Normally are white seats cover thrown in?

Hi Bcube,

My coordinator is Mr Ho. =) Of the 3 meetings we had with him, we are very pleased with him. But I am sure all the coordinators at FS are good ^_^

Hi Beary,

I was also trying to wait for the bridal show. =P But for me, I am determined to get the venue settled so that I can move on to the next item on my plan (i.e the wedding gown search) So after 3 meetings with FS, we made our booking.

But maybe u want to take cheerygal's suggestion and check check first =P

Hi Cheerygal, thanks for your pics. Your red evening gown v nice. u look good. did they give a choice of colours for the roses?

Mr Ho is nice although i didnt manage to get him as my coordinator. Mine is Eugene. He is ok.

Hi bumbee, sent! Guess FS is not into fighting for wedding banquet mkt share. They wanna remain exclusive tats why they normally dun give freebies.

Hi biba,

My deposit is $3k. Balance is payable when u checkout of the suite after your wedding. White seat covers are not thrown in for free. FS charges $3+++ for each seat cover.

Hi Pearly,

Tks!
Yes, they hv diff colours for the roses. Mainly, pink, white, champagne, red, etc. Mine was Eugene too. He is good & very helpful. Dun need to worry.

Hi cheerygal and ahcapp,

After the discussion with FS, i have to say that they really lived up to their reputation of being difficult when it comes to bargaining. But what really disappoint me is the harsh treatment that I get from them! Its really disappointing after hearing so many nice things abt FS service from all the gals here..When I asked to exchange some of the items in the package that I don't need, what I got was a scolding. I wasn't even asking for free stuffs! If they can't do the exchange, then there's no harm in telling me nicely and being polite to their customers. The coordinators also told me some things but when I called again to clarify, they denied that they said anything. I didn't intend to pursue the matter, figured i should just let it go. but then it was even hinted that I made the whole thing up.

I just don't understand. I really expect a much better service from FS. I was ready to sign up for a weekend dinner but now the whole thing kinda put me off. Really disappointed... any advice?

Hi Beary,

May I know who did u speak to? Tats strange.....We never encountered such bad experience before. I met 2 coordinators before signing up & they are very friendly. They definitely allow exchange of items. Initially, I wanted to make do without the wedding favor so my coordinator suggested some items for exchange. Maybe when u called them to clarify, would be better if u can quote the person who make such claim.

Hi Beary,

I met up a a coordinater before, and he told me to wait for a bridal fair coz my wedding still far, i told him to call me when there is a fair but he din. I manage to get to know abt the fair oni abt 2 weeks before the bridal fair and i got another coordinater.He wasnt that friendly also wonder is it the same person.
But if u like that place dun let that person spoilt ur mood, get another person to help u, thats wat i did.When i decided to downgrade i email my coordinator and she called me the day which was nice of her to ask me .

Hi cheerygal & Josl,

Actually the current coordinator that I liase with now is the 2nd one from FS. I felt the 1st one was rather indifferent. I don't blame him la, maybe thats just his personality. Not sure if its the same person that Josl had before. So I requested for a change in coordinator coz I read a lot of good reviews about her in this forum.

Like cheerygal, I also wanted to make do without the wedding favour. when I met her yesterday,she did suggested some items for exchange but I wanted to think 1st before agreeing. Today I called to ask if they can be changed to something else other than the one she suggested. thats when she got so irritated and bluntly told me that from now on no more exchange is allowed! and rattled on about how i was making things difficult and complicated for her. i was really taken aback that I just kept quiet for a few seconds. talk about awkward silence...

Can I ask u gals, how long do you usully spend talking to your coordinator during your meetings? my meeting lasted about 45 minutes but the coordinator seemed rather unhappy about it. She said that the one and a half hour spent talking to us yesterday was not exactly short. but we were there for only less than an hour..not sure how she can say its one and a half hr...but even if the meeting did last that long, she shouldn't be upset with us right? after all, this is our 1st time meeting her so we have lots of questions to ask..

I really do like the place and like Josl said, I shouldnt let 1 person spoilt my mood. but i dont feel very nice to ask for another coordinator to help me. dont mean to be choosy in the 1st place..
Maybe she was in a bad mood or PMS. or maybe she's upset bcoz yesterday we didn't sign up on the spot. or maybe bcoz I dressed so casual yesterday that she thinks there's no way I can afford FS and just wasting her time. but whatever the reason is, no apologies offered so far..Guess I have to bear with it or find another hotel =(

Forgot to add, other than this particular bad experience, i do feel that overall the service in FS is good. From the doorman, front desk staffs even the waitress, all are very friendly and helpful. we were looking at the ballroom yesterday when one of the staff approached us and offered help, even congratulated us for the coming wedding. really nice and sweet of her.. think her name was Sue.

Hi Beary,

oh dear! Luckily, I didnt met up with these 2 coordinators. For my case, since we signed up during the bridal show, we just chat with Mr. Ho for a while. Subsequently, we met up with our coordinator to finalise the contract, AD table settings, etc. Each session took abt max. 1/2hr. We didnt request for change of wedding favour before signing up. Only brought it up when we met to discuss abt the AD table setting. Overall, we didnt ask for much plus didnt make drastic changes to the package. Maybe tats why the treatment is diff. We feel tat our coordinator is really helpful. He gave in to most of our request & even gave us candles for every table & tealight candles at reception area without us asking for them. This was quite a surprise for us.

I agree with u tat she shouldnt be so rude considering that u are the customer & didnt understand most stuff cos this is the 1st time tat u are doing this. Heard quite a lot of good feedback abt her. hmm....I suggest tat u feedback to FS Assistant Director of Catering, Mr. Ho. Tell him tat u are really keen to hv your wedding at FS but was upset by the way u r treated. I hv his contact if u need it. Maybe he can help u since he has more authority. He can be your coordinator too.

Agreed with u. Their service is really good. I remembered tat on the day we were supposed to checkout, I called the front desk to inform tat our checkout would be delayed for a while cos need to shift quite a bit of stuff into our car. She immediately called the porter up to help us. We really had a wonderful time.

If u can get pass this bad stage, think the rest will be fine. U will definitely have a nice experience too.

Hi cheerygal,

I didnt make any changes to the package either since basically they don't allow changes. The only thing that is allowed 2b changed was the wedding favour. Thats how i get the scolding anyway...

would u mind forwarding me Mr. Ho's contact? not sure if i should feedback to him tho..don't wanna prolong this matter.really upsetting. I realize a wedding may just be another job for the coordinators but its a once-in-a-lifetime thing for us. It'll be nice if they can share our enthusiasm but if not, I guess I shouldn't let anybody's attitude spoil it.

Hi Beary, hmm if its the same her, quite surprised loh. She replys my email promptly but maybe if she pulls a long face behind the comp i wun know lah. I find her quite alrite leh.Going to meet her next wk to discuss abt the wedding and choose my wedding cards.Its my second time meeting her, first was bridal show which was quite fast as we know wat we wanted. Next week is the 2nd time, i dun know how long that will take

Hi Beary, i think u should speak with Mr Ho. Initially, FS assigned us with one coordinator but i didnt feel very comfortable dealing with him. So my hubby called Mr Ho to complain. Mr Ho got Eugene to handle our account, and on the day we met Eugene, Mr Ho came by to apologized again and chat for a bit.

Josl - When is your AD?

Hi Beary,

I see. Guess it very much depends on who u deal with. Some coordinators can be more flexible than others.

Sure, I will email u his contact tonite. Dun hestitate. U should definitely feedback to him so he noe tat he got such staff. I m sure he doesnt want this to affect FS's reputation. Even Pearly did tat too.

I agree tat most coordinators just treat wedding as just another job. Not all share our enthusiasm. For my case, my coordinator, Eugene is hving his wedding this mth so we do share his enthusiasm throughout our planning & discussion.

If all these still dun wk out, then I suggest u put it aside first. Since ur wedding is quite a long way more to go, can look around for another venue. If not, wait till FS has a bridal show then sign up. Think by then, they should hv forgotten abt this.

was reading the post. like cherrygal, i am surprised that some of u had had bad experiences.

so far, i have only praises for FS. just had my food tasting last week and i must say that eugene is such a joy with talk and work with.
260941.gif

to recount my experience...
i requested for eugene to pass me some egs of MC speeches and wedding cards during my food tasting. i had initially thot that he would simply pass it to the restaurant staff to pass to me. but, he actually stayed after his working hours to meet up with me. after that, when my mother-in-law requested to see the ballroom, he kindly agreed, without any sign of resentment or anything! This made me kindda embarrassed since i knew that he is getting married soon too, and hence would have many things to do other than to work OT, entertaining us.

and the food tasting was great. when we commented among ourselves that we did not really like the style used to cook the jellyfish. one of the service personnel heard it and she immediately feedback to the cook who served the same dish again in another 2 different styles for us to choose.

and when we informed the cook that we did not really like the taste of a particular mushroom used in one of the dishes, he promptly came up with the suggestion of using a different kind of mushroom. because we did not know how this new mushroom looked like, he quickly said that he would go back to the kitchen for a sample mushroom. and know what? when he returned, he had actually repeated the dish again with the new mushroom he suggested.

add that to the fact that all the people who served us that day were all so polite and kind, we must say that we are really impressed with the level of their service.

Hi Pisduck,

Great to noe tat u had a good time with FS! Totally agreed with u. FS staff are so attentive & friendly. Yes, Eugene does wk quite long hr I think. He oso met up with us after our food tasting to hear our comments. BTW, do u noe when is Eugene's wedding? Tot he went on leave oledi. Maybe I shall drop him an email to congrat him. :p

hi cheerygal,
his wedding is in late march, early apr... i think. he will be on leave the week after next if i am not wrong.... so, if u want to congratulate him, grab the chance quick.

Thanx for all ur comments. I'm glad mine is an isolated case & none of u had bad experience with FS. anyway i'm going ahead 2place my booking with them, irregardles of who's going 2coordinate the wedding. i figured i'll only have 2meet her 2 more times, nearer to the date and the AD. Just a bit sad coz I cant plan this happily with the coordinator like the rest of u gals...I only hear praises about her, even told her that when I just met her. wonder why she changed that day...hhhmmmm..

Cheerygal,
sorry i forgot 2give u my email address. [email protected]
Thanx a lot.. =)

Hi Pisduck,

okie. Tks!

Hi Beary,

Tks! Will email u his contact tonite. So, u are going to sign up with the lady coordinator? hmm...maybe u give Mr. Ho a call first & then sign up with him instead. It is up to him to decide who he wants to assign you to. Maybe he decides to take it up himself :P

Hi Cheerygal,
Thanks for sharing your photos with me. U looked fabulous in your stunning red gown! Ur day gown is sexy too! Hm...think i am quite firm on booking with FS (though the price is steeper than most of the other 5* hotels)...:p

Josl, my AD is Sept 29. Should be doing the food tasting in June.
Cant wait actually. I suppose your food tasting sometime next month?

Anyone has a good Jazz band to recommend? Is Compass Entertainment any good?

Hi dollie,

U r most welcome! Tks! Great! Another FS bride-to-be. Congrats!

Hi Pearly,

I have 2 Jazz band contacts but not sure if they are good. Maybe I can email them to u & check it out yourself.

Hi schnauzie,

Abt the menu, guess there is nothing called popular or not. It very much depends on your budget. Most pple tend to opt for the most basic one to minimise losses. Your guests will not know if ur menu is the higher end one before they decide how much ang bao to give. They tend to give based on the rating of the hotel. Wat u can do is to take up the basic package first & then decide to swap dishes or do a top up at a later stage.

Hi All!

I am stressed!I went to FS for a look see on sat and I must say the ballroom is rather cosy and nice...though the foyer is a tat small i feel....

However, today I receive call. Another couple ready to put deposit down for my date!!! How how?? I have not even seen any other hotel yet?!! Stressed! My other option is Shangri-la..but i have not even seen it yet. Appt with Shang this sunday.

Stress liao. AM so afraid that if I forgo my tentative booking, I will lose it and kick myself..but I cannot decide within two days and not having seen any other ballroom. Plus my fiance is not in town and poor him havent an idea how the ballroom looks like!! How ah??

: (

Hi Bcube,

U neednt worry abt the foyer. The size is ok, nt tat small as wat u think. If it is a bit crowd, your guests will automatically go into the ballroom earlier so u can start your dinner early too.

U can try asking FS to keep the date for u till this Sun after u view Shangri-La ballroom. I hv been to Shangri-La ballroom before. It is totally diff fr FS. Shang's one is way too big if u r looking at abt 30 tables. Their min. for weekends is 35 & 55 for Tower & Island ballroom respectively. Their ballroom looks more oriental with chinese paintings. Whereas, FS ballroom is more victorian/english & give a more romantic feeling. It is really up to indiv preference. Hope this helps.

hi bcute,
i agree with cheerygal.
she made a very impt point about the number of guests. like u, my hubby was very interested in shang. but after doing a calculation on the number of guests, we realised that we could barely make 25 tables for a weekend package. hence, FS became our natural choice.

Hi cheerygal & Pisduck,

Thanks for the advice. I was thinking about the table number problem. Am more comfortable with 25 Table min....i think i will change the date for my wedding lor...sigh sigh...

What are your opinions on Raffles Hotel? Have not been to their ballroom. Any comments?

: (

hi bcube,
think raffles hotel is really nice, too.
however, the last time i checked up on them, i understand that the reception area is "open-air" i.e. no air-con. but, u could always request for a function room for reception.
think it all boils down to which place u are more comfortable with. my personal view is that both four seasons or raffles are great choices.

Hello cheerygal,
I juz collected my wedding cards, care to share where u had ur printed, not much choices i took the ones with the leaves. And i realised that the price raised up so much, its 838 for fri, sat and sun now for the deluxe menu woah..

Hi Bcube,

Cant give u my opinions on Raffles Hotel cos never been there for wedding before. Like wat Pisduck said, the recept area is non air-con, comes with fans only.

I agree with Pisduck, with your table nos., both FS & Raffles are great choices.
Probably, u get your hubby to view both ballrooms as well & then decide.

Hi Joel,

I had mine printed by Jasvy. FS shld hv given u Jasvy's contact as well. They are friendly but have to be very careful when u check the draft for errors. They are quite careless so got quite a few mistakes. Do check thoroughly b4 confirming.

I took the ones with the leaves as well. Wat I did to make it looks diff is to print a pic/cartoon with both our names on the front of the plain card. Then print the details inside. Jasvy has the samples to show you. All my frens commented tat my invite look very nice & unique. :P

Yup, FS increases their prices quite a bit recently. When I booked mine in Oct 03, they oledi increased once. Think this is the 3rd time FS increased the price. It is better to get married early. If not, got to end up paying much more. Guess wat.... My fren had her wedding in FS 5yrs ago & paid $550/tble only, include all liquor consumed.