Four Seasons Hotel

hi ahcapp,

Dun worry...u still hv quite a bit of time to source for your BS.

It is 70% not 60%. I didnt ask how much to pay for each xtra card cos I didnt take xtra ones fr FS. To play safe, u can ask more cards fr FS stating tat the no. of tbles may increase. I told them I may need to take up to 32 tables so FS gave me 70% of 320.

erh...think no need for tip. I find tat FS handles the entire event really well. So, there is nothing to worry. If u hv anything in mind xtra tat u feel like doing, can just let FS knows. They are quite flexible & willing to help out. If u hv your own wedding favour, would suggest tat u send them to FS a day before & get them to arrange for you on the AD. Tat was wat we did.

Hi Cheerygal,

Can I also take a look at your wedding pics when they are ready? What wedding favours did u have? Does FS provide alternatives other than the chocolates? And for the cake that they have on stage, is it true that they only have 2 colours? (ie. the red or light orange flowers in between the cakes)?

hi cheerygal,
thanks for the info. wow... a few days only to print the cards? i thot that it was like 1 month...
249228.gif

did u source for the projector yourself? any contacts? also, if we sourced the projector ourselves, do we need to rent the screen from FS of is it FOC?

Hi J&J,

Sure, gimme your email add first. Our wedding favour is a small latte mug. FS only has chocolates. Not sure if FS has other colours for the cake. We chose red so dun bother to see the rest. Think it is not light orange, it is champagne colour.

Hi pisduck,

Yup, printing is quite fast. The only slow part is in deciding wat to print. The printer will show u some printing samples. If u can decide on the spot then everything can be done within 5 wkg days.

I didnt use the projector cos dun like the video thingy. The use of the screen is FOC.

Hiya cheerygal,

So glad that Mon is over. =) Did u celebrate V Day /w your hubby?

I was busy reading the threads on the BS on Sun. What a headache! =( It's like there are sooo many to choose from, even though I am already narrowing down to those non-pushy ones. N those photographers for the photoshot and actual day.

We might be side-tracking a bit from the thread here, but who is your photographer? Anyone to recommend?

It really seen like I am learning something new here every day for my wedding. Oh my... =)

Hi J&J,

Have u confirmed with FS? When is your wedding? =) Care to tell us?

Taking about cakes. I already told FS that I don't want to fruit cake and want to change it to a chocolate cake instead. I know we are supposed to deep-freeze it and eat a bit on our anniversary every year. But we are not into fruit cake. So we plan to eat up the whole cake by ourselves on our wedding nite! hahahaha =P

Hi cheerygal
Thanks in advance. my email add is [email protected]

AhCapp
Yes, have already confirmed with FS. Dinner will be in Nov05.
For the cake, do u mean they can change without additional charge?

Hi AhCapp,

We didnt celebrate V Day yesterday cos will be celebrating our 1 mth wedding anniv which is a few days after V Day :p

Agree. There are far too many BS. Are u looking for those all-in-one BS (Sophia, Milan, etc.) or those tat specialised in gown designing (e.g. Ted Wu, Divine Couture, Silverlining, etc.)? Probably, this will help u to narrow down your choices.

U mean my PS or AD photographer? My PS photographer only tie up with my BS so he dun do shoots for other BS wedding couple.
U can choose either fruit cake or chocolate cake. We had chocolate cake cos my hubby loves chocolate. We share the cake with our 2 close frens the next day after the wedding. But, didnt finish it.

Hi J&J,

I think they shouldn't charge me extra just because I want a chocolate cake instead of the fruit cake right? =P FS didn't talk about extra charge when I asked about the chocolate cake. Since I really don't like fruit cake, I really want to go for chocolate cake =D Yummy!

Just out of curiousity, can I ask which bridal shop did u go to? Looking around now, so don't know which ones to go to yet.

Hi Cheerygal,

No offence to those who chose those all-in-one BS, but I am looking into those specialised in gown designing. But not too expensive though. I have yet to look at the kind of gowns and charges from Silverlining. Wull check out the thread on the other topic at this website soon. Will be calling up Divine Couture soon. Ted Wu might be too expensive for me.

I will to know if your PS photographer is one of those famous ones. =) Because there are too many to choose from, even if they are tied up with the BS. Some seen to be very famous, like Utopia or Andrew something? So I also don't know who is who and who is good.

Hi AhCapp,

Same as me. I prefer BS tat specialised in gown designing. I was from Silverlining. He specialises in low-back gowns. His style is quite similar to Divine. I just sent u my PS pics so u can see roughly how his design is like. Silverlining MTM package is about $4k+. Divine one is abt $5k+.

My PS photographer now specialises in commercial shoots but he still does PS for Silverlining. U can't engage him if u are from other BS. U can check out the various threads & make appt to see their portfolio as well as have a chat with them. Most imptly, u should be comfortable with the photographer.

Hi AhCapp,

Mine BS is Silhouette. U can go down and have a talk with them. Very friendly people and they are not pushy at all. No worries.

hi cheerygal,
thanks for the link. your gown looks really good on you and both u and hubby look great in the pics. u must like your gown a lot cos i can see that it is really the signature style of silverlining.
250372.gif

i am a bit greedy... gee... do u have any pics of your actual day at Four Seasons to share as well? i am curious as to how the set-up of the place is like.

Hi Pisduck,

Tks! I love my gown a lot.

Yes, I hv the AD pixs but need sometime to upload them. Will email it to u once done.

Hi cheerygal..

Would u mind sharing your pics with me as well? am considering to hold my wedding in july '06 at FS too but really not sure where 2start =( just called FS and spoke to Billy Yap. meeting him this sat to view the place. any advice you can share with me will be really really appreciated..

Hi Beary,

Sure, no prob but can only email to u next wk. Will upload them this weekend.

Your AD is still a long way more to go so can take your time to decide. The 1st meeting with FS is just to view the place & check out their prices. U neednt confirm with them on the 1st meet-up. If u decide to hold your wedding at FS, then arrange for a 2nd meet-up to settle the package. Afterwhich, FS will contact u to settle your wedding stuff when your AD is closer.

Hi cheerygal..

thanx for replying.

Can I just ask u, FS will assign a wedding coordinator 2every couple rite? coz the person i'm meeting tmr is billy yap, think he's the catering manager or smth.

then when do we bargain for extras? is it after we placed the deposit or before?

I'm thinking of holding a wedding lunch on a saturday coz its more affordable. but i'm not sure how ppl here will perceive it. do ppl generally think a lunch is kind of 'cheap' or shld i go for a weekday dinner?

its so confusing....

Hi Beary,

Yes, one wedding coordinator to every couple.

Normally, u bargain for xtras before u place the deposit & confirm the contract. Once u place the deposit, it will be quite hard to get more stuff fr them.

One of my fren had a Sun wedding lunch and feedback fr frens is that they dun give as much ang bao as they do for dinner. Unless, your lunch is much much cheaper than dinner. BTW, how much is the lunch package? Is there any price diff b/w weekend lunch & weekday dinner? For dinner, most pple will still give the same amt of ang bao regardless whether it is a weekday or weekend dinner.
Mine is a weekday dinner. From the ang bao amt I collected, I can say that I would still receive the same amt if I held it on a weekend.

Hi cheerygal,

I'm having my wedding at Four Seasons at the end of the year. Could you share with me your AD photos at Four Seasons? I would like to see the set-up and the american red roses you had used for your wedding. I'm considering red roses too. Do the roses come in other colours? Thanks!
Email:[email protected]

Hi Cheerygal,

Thank you for the link. =) You look very sweet in your gown. Now I finally know what you all mean when the gown is low back. I think I will have to skip silverlininig as I am not daring enough for low back.. hehehehe.. I think my back got too many pimples already.. hehehehe...

My favourite picture in your album is no. 4 ^_^

Hi J&J,

Thanks for the recommendation. Will call them up tomorrow to try to fix an appointment =) Hopefully can something I am looking for without going having to go thru too many bridal shops.

Hi Beary,

Wedding lunch is less formal and more relaxing. That's how I feel. Less tiring since it'll leave the evening free for u and your husband!

I think the most important is to work out what you and your future husband are looking for in a wedding banquet, and don't forget your budget. Just my 2cents worth.

Hmm... this thread is pretty quiet on weekends hor =P

Hiya Beary,

How was your meeting with Four Seasons yesterday? Hope everything went well =) Can I ask how many tables and which ballroom are u interested in?

Hi camellia,

Sure. Will email u the link once I upload the pixs. The roses do come in other colours, like pink & champagne.

Hi AhCapp,

Tks!
If u dun wan to "lu" too much, can get the designer to add a piece of organza netting at the back so your back will not be so bare. :p

Hi cheerygal,

I am still looking around for bridal shop ah. Only been to one last sat. Another one this sat. It's not that easy hor. Started my "homework" for my gown already. How did u just chance upon Silverlining? Was it recommended by a friend?

Can't wait to see your wedding dinner pictures ah =)

Hi AhCapp,

Yah. Looking around is not easy. I didnt look around & compare prices. Happened to see Silverlining design in bridal mag. Coincidently, hubby's cousin fren (our PS photographer) is a close fren of Jit (Silverlining's boss cum designer). Met up with Jit & signed on the spot...cos he is friendly, not pushy & we like his style

Sent u the link to view my dinner pixs.

hi cheerygal,

thanks for the link. have seen the pictures and really like the red roses.
now, i am in a dilemma... not sure if i should choose red roses or settle for the pink roses that i initially wanted. *decisions, decisions*

about the cake i have 1 ques... does it mean that if i choose pink roses, i would get a cake with pink roses or are the red roses fixed?

feeling the heat now cos wedding is only about 3 months away. YIKES!!
251876.gif

Hi Cheerygal,

thanks for the link. you are so pretty le... you look like one of my friends, who is a Korean..
may i know who is your coordinator??

Can i know how is the bridal room look like?? hehee.. do you have any pics snapped in the bridal room?

Hi Pisduck,

Maybe u can get your coordinator to show u the set-up with pink roses & u compare it with mine. From there, u can decide which one.

The cake will have the same flower.

U will feel even more excited & nervous when coming closer. Will always worry tat u will miss u something :p

Hi shirley,

Tks! A lot of pple say I look like a Jap. My coordinator is Eugene.

My bridal suite is diff fr the one FS is offering. I got an upgrade tats why. Didnt take pics leh. sigh! Got it in my mobile only.

Hi everyone...

Cheerygal and AhCapp, thanx for your reply =)

my meeting with FS last sat went pretty well. Couldn't see the crescent ballroon though coz there was a birthday party for a 7 yr old kid! imagine...

anyway, i spoke to billy and he was quite nice. He showed me the Windows East & West and we love it!! But those 2 rooms are pretty small. My estimated no of tables is 12-15. So can only use the crescent ballroom.

Still cant decide whether to hold a wedding lunch/dinner. Lunch is definitely cheaper. the thing is both me and my fiance are indonesian, so we have to hold 2 weddings, here and in jakarta. so budget is really an issue...What we worry is although lunch is cheaper, the angbao we'll get in the end may be much lower than wat we'll receive if its a dinner. So in the end the lost may be higher if we hold a lunch...

Hi Beary,

wow! Birthday party for a kid at a hotel ballroom!!! Wat a luxury!

I guess most pple will give abt $60 for lunch. How much is FS luncheon wedding? For eg. FS lunch is $70/pax. Then, your estimated losses is $1.5K (for 15 tables). U can use this to gauge. Of course, it is not 100% accurate. Hope this helps. :p

Hi Beary,

What? A birthday party for a 7yr old kid?? Oh my.

I didn't have the chance to see both Windows East & West. But heard it's really nice. Anyway, when I first saw the Cresent Ballroom with the lights on, I had tears in my eyes! Really. I didn't exaggerate a bit.

Anyway, I have since switched over to the Main Ballroom bc my no. of tables has increased from 12-15 to 18-20.

I feel that you and I are in the same boat. Guess what, I will need to hold my 2nd wedding dinner in HongKong! hahahah No kiding you.

My reason for choosing lunch was the following:
1) We both wanted a small, informal wedding. So lunch seen like a suitable choice.
2) I wanted something different, so that's why thought of lunch.
3) Lunch will leave me to be free in the evening
4) If I were to go for dinner, with 18-20 tables, I am too big for the Cresent Ballroom; but yet too small for the main ballroom since the minimum no. of tables required is 25.

I can understand what cheerygal and you mean when it comes to the angbao. So why don't u do the budget carefully, list down what are the options out there. Discuss with your fiance again before committing anything =)

If budget is an issue, how about other hotels which have slightly cheaper dinner banquet? Did u get to look at other hotels?

Oh Beary,

Did u get to check out the price of the wedding dinner? How much per table? I just want to know out of curiousity. =P

Don't limit yourself to just lunch if you want to have dinner. Compare prices with other hotels. =)

Hi Cheerygal,

Thank you for the link! =) I only can glaze a few pictures at home now because my dial-up is really s...l..o..w. Will continue to admire your pictures this weekend when I go to my joker's place as he has broadband.

Your cake is really pretty. Is it real? However, the prettiest is still the bride lah! ^_^

Cheerygal,

Thanks for the beautiful pics. Now I am very convince that FS will do a good job for my AD in June
By the way.. which photographer did u engage for your outdoor and studio? Saw some snapshots of your wedding album and they look nice...

Hi Cheerygal,

Thanx for the input. ur right, the lunch is abt $70/pax. I was worried some ppl may not know that FS is a 5 star hotel, given its location and rather small entrance =P so some might give even less than $60.

Thanx for ur pics too! u look gorgeous!!!

hi AhCapp,

The price for the dinner at FS is $768+++ for weekday and $838+++ for weekend. its definitely too expensive for me.. Checked out other hotels too but most are around that price range. Most hotels just increased their prices in 2004 =(

Did u checked the lunch prices at other hotels? and if i may ask, what makes u decide on FS?

hi Cherrygal, thanx for sharing your pics, u r a GORGEOUS bride. I'm also having Eugene as my coordinator... after seeing your pics, i know i can leave it to him to do a good job for my dinner in DEC. thanx for sharing.
So will be going for honeymoon soon?

Hi dey,

U neednt worry. FS staff are really professional & helpful. Just relax & enjoy yourself on your wedding dinner.

My photographer is Lionel from Ace-pix. He specialises in commercial photography...only doing bridal photography for my BS.

Hi Beary,

In fact, FS pricing is higher than a normal 5-star hotel. Guess not everyone knows tat. It is the younger generation tat knows better. Anyway, there are definitely pple who will give much lesser. This is something tat u hv to be prepared for regardless where your wedding is held. I have guests who gave less than $60 for my wedding dinner as well. Luckily, I got quite a lot of frens who gave $200 each. :p

Wow! FS increased their prices again. They oledi increased once during the time when I booked mine in Oct 03. It is better to hold wedding early cos hotel keeps on increasing price like nobody biz whereas ang bao collected may not inflate as time passes. sigh!

Guess wat...my fren had his wedding at FS 5yrs ago & his price per table is $550 only after taking into all liquour consumed. So cheap rite? And mine is oledi close to 2x of his.

U can check out Marriott luncheon. If I m not wrong, their lunch package is quite affordable...about $500+. It is a 5-star hotel too.

Hi watashi,

thanx!
Eugene is a nice person to work with. Flexible & helpful. BTW, Eugene is having his wedding dinner at FS next mth.

Not so soon. Hubby just started a new job 3mths ago so cant take leave now. Will go honeymoon either in Jul or Dec. But, will be going to HK for a short trip in end May. :p

cheery gal..I saw that there is a huge floral arrangement at the back of the stage .. do u pay extra for that or it is part of the decoration in the package?

Hi cheerygal..

My coordinator is Eugene too. Good, i think he can get things done well.

oh i see.. you got an upgrade for you bridal suite.. that's mean you top up money to get a better bridal suite?