Four Seasons Hotel

FS brides,

I have some questions here maybe you gals can help me.

I had just picked up the invites (postcard style). For those who had chosen this design, do you print directly on the card inself?

Im holding my solemnisation the day itself at the foyer before dinner commences. What time do you recommend? FS suggested cocktail at 7pm and dinner at 730pm. If solemnization at 630pm will it be very rush?

My AD in Feb. For you gals, do you have to call FS to arrange for your food tasting and choosing of colours yourself? Or they will reming you when the time comes? I very kiasu.. scared very rush so I took my invites for prining already.

Hey Cutiephinphin, sorry for the late response. I went for the white and gold theme, not very exciting but it was the safest option as we didn't want any of the colours to clash with our outfits. Hope this helps.

Hi Dreammy, FS do remind you but its also best to be proactive yourself so that you leave lots of time for planning. Some things which I left out, was prompted by FS but overall, there is really not much for you to do as they do everything, including "holding your hand" on the AD.

Hi dreamy

I'm also using the postcard style and I printed directly on the card. I love it actually and it looks just as nice & classy. Did it in gold color which is the theme I want for my wedding.

I'm also having my solemnization at the foyer before the dinner with just friends and relatives. Doing my solemnization at 7pm. Cocktail at 7.30pm and dinner starting at 8.15pm. Guests to be seated by 8pm. For those coming for the solemnization, i told them to be here at 6.30pm.

If you're using a JP, it won't take very long. My JP told me the whole process will be abt 20 mins and I buffered 30mins for everything. And so far from what I know, the JPs are rather punctual so you don't need to worry abt delays.

Abt the finalizing of details & food tasting etc, FS will actually give you a call. But I emailed them before that to check when will they be planning etc so that I can also prepare myself. No harm asking them and their service is so good that they will just reply you on whatever your queries are promptly.

Can always post your queries here and see if the other brides can help in any way.

Fruitchick, thanks for your response although ya it is indeed late that I've forgotten asking you this question :P

Hope you're enjoying married life and hope you had a good honeymoon if you had gone for one.

Have anyone managed to have less than 25 tables in the Four Seasons ballroom but still able to get them at the lowest tier menu price?

Hi Ewan,

It depends on which ballroom you are booking. Mine was held at the Crescent Ballroom and the minimum was 12 tables but you could have less than 12 so long as the total of the menu u choose comes up to a minimum of at least the lowest tier menu added up in total for 12 tables.

Just to share that we were quite disappointed with Four Seasons after holding our wedding recently there. The food was not fantastic as compared to other hotels like Hilton. The service provided by the Banquet manager was also disappointing. played wrong song, sudden stopping of food flow, etc. However, the good thing was the nice decor of the ballroom, nice red and white wines and probably the suite breakfast room service.
If you are thinking of having a wedding here, make sure you are very loaded as they are very rigid and stingy with discounts & waivers.
Imagine I wanted to book a room for my overseas guests and they only give me $3-$5 off. My guests ended up staying at Hilton. waiver of liquors are a definitely no no.
Do look around first unless you are very sure!

Hi Fruitchick and Jac,

I may not be able to hit the min required no. of tables so am asked to go to the next tier of menu. was hoping to be able to negotiate as the other hotels i have spoke to is very flexible to the min tables requirements w/o even the need for top ups. so i'm still abit torn.

Hi Pony,

Am surprised to hear abt your experience. Did you feedback to your coordinator? Any compensation given? The biggest reason why I am attracted to FS despite the expensive price and rigid way of working was their rave reviews on their service. Yeah, they even wanted me to pay for the helper's room if I needed one.I can imagine how much they would have wanted you to pay for your guests.

hi ewan_faye,
how many tables are you looking at?
its difficult to negotiate with FS because their requirements are more or less fixed..

Hi pony,
like Ewan, i'm very surprised to hear abt your negative experience at FS cos i have experienced excellent service from them throughout my planning...my wedding is not over yet, so i have yet to experience the service where it matters the most....but i do have absolute confidence in my co-ord in FS

Just a note, FS is a really high end hotel with a very good reputation and as such, their rates reflect that accordingly.....

Hi Jac,

I'm currently looking at about 22 table. Yup, I agree that more of their requirements are more or less fixed esp stuff like alcohol and projector. So far the co-ord is not too bad. But I have heard from the forum that Lewis is a more negotiable co-ord.

Hi Ewan_Faye, my co-ordinator is Meng Wen. If you are considering a weekend wedding, generally the minimum guarantee is non-negotiable regardless of menu price. Mine is a wedding lunch, and I'm taking the Crescent Ballroom.

I thought service was their no. 1 too that is why I paid and expected what I should expect. I even reflected to their director. Probably I was just unlucky. wishing you all every luck!

Hi Pony,

really sorry to hear about your bad experience. hope that the rest of the FS brides will not have a similar experience. After all there is a reason why we are paying a premium to FS. Hope you have got a good explanation from the Director.

hi all, can i chk with u, i tried to do a video montage of pics with windows movie maker, but when i tried to play on my TV, i cant view leh.. was wondering if the projector can view this format? hw would we knw if the CD that we burn, can be viewed? anyone can advise? tks alot.. my weddin in jan09, im preparing nw...

ermm, hi guys... i jus had my food tastin today...was a bit disappointed leh... i expected the food to be nice lor.. but not all the menu is nice leh... somemore some is very salty lor.. some very bland lor... waliu.. i told the chef, im very disappointed straight... then i change a few of the menu... tomolo im gg to call my cord and chk with her if i can arrange for another food tasting for the changed items.. cos i seriously dun like lor... presentation is very nice, but food is not superb as the good reviews i heard lor... so sad... somemore i dint take the deluxe menu leh...

Hi lam,

i tawt the food from Jiang Nan Chun should be very good..n i was tinking abt taking the superior menu.sigh,now this is abit worrying... hopefully the food will turn out better after you changed the items. do you have to top up for the change in items?

ermm, ya lor, i also tot it was superb after hearin nice reviews over it thats why i chose this hotel over the rest... but was a little disappointed lor... ermm, my cord hvent told me if i need o top up, but i shd think no need ba... i opt for the superior menu too.. changed 3-4 dishes.. guess i will meet my cord next week to discuss the themes and retaste the changed dishes.. wil let guys know after my second tasting.. but the second tastin only a small portion for me and hubby..

hi guys, i jus came bk from my food tastin seond round yesterday... it was great lor... cos the first round of tastin was handled by the assistan chef, tt why the taste is diff... yesterday mine was cooked by the head chef lor.. no wonder... it was jus nice... im so relieved.. and i have his assurance that he wil be the one handlin my dinner instead of the ass chef... so happy... all the changed dishes is so much nicer...

hi wildwood, no, i dun have to pay cos i met up with my cord for lunch together and we taste only a small portion for 3 of us, also to discuss the theme and all.. cos i was really disappointed with the 1st round few dishes, so i request a 2nd time food tasting only for 3 dishes but small portion... somemore its a meet up with my cord, so i guess its complimentary lor... u went for ur food tastin too? i chose the superior menu and changed some dishes from there..

lam,
my AD is Dec09.. food tasting wldnt be so soon.. i got abit concern abt the food when u mentioned abt what you encountered..

hi gals .. i am still deciding if we wanna have our wedding dinner at 4S .. my bf loves the ballroom ..
Ginny attended to us last week.. she seems nice and very experienced.

only thing is the alcoholic drinks which has no waiver of corkage .. may i know how many bottles of red wine u gals planned per table? ..
i estimate about 1 bottle per table .. i wonder if it is too conservative?

Iam,
it was good to hear that the main chef is still doing a great job...
i feel a bit of pressure after giving out my invites to my relatives and they were like 'oh FS is very good. Food is very good!'
so was so relieved to hear good feedback from you!

hi jac, dun worry ba... i think the food wil be jus as great so long the main chef is doin it! thumbs up.. urs is before mine ma? mine is on the 16 jan 09..

jinah chong,

as for the wine thing, i guess it depends on your guests, whether how many of them really drink...

lam, do you happen to know how many main chefs are there in FS?

hi, i think main head chef shd be only one pax,then there are assistant ard ba.. dun worry, i think it will all be good when its our turn...

hi FS brides and BTBs,

does anybody have copy of FS's wedding package? my bf n i are stil looking at a late 2010 ROM but i wanna start preps early. can you give me feedback about perks in FS package? favours? flowers? decor?

hi jac , ermm, i jus received the confirmation letter from my cord, to sign and acknowledge the details...ermm, my GDL and An Chuan is next mth so haven done all the stuff... heheh... hven finished with the montage and decide on march in songs and all too... headache la.. so many things to go too... table plannin also headache..some last min cant make it.. got to replan too.. shag...

urs comin ya, all prep done liao? wat theme u deicide on? can share with us ur pics after ur AD? i chose black/gold and red/black theme...

Hi Iam,
hmm, i haven't received the confirmation letter from my co-ord...or maybe i did but i def didn't sign and acknowledged it :P
I'm just done with my GDL, now just gotta settle the emcee script and some other minor stuff...more or less done i think....
we're getting red and black theme.....
yeah, sure will share pics with you after my wedding...do u have multiply? but i think i'll get my pics only abt 2months after my wedding....will u pls share yours with me too?

hi jac , ya, my mutiply ID is klycsspl.... ermm, my EG ir red/bk so i cant take red/bk for the theme, only vip table red/bk, the rest is gold/bk , otherwise i will be lost in the crowd lor... hehehh... ur BS is which one? wah, urs only few more days lor... so excited for u... me everyday also cant sleep well lor... plannin for this and that, somemore honeymoon trip not plan yet lor.. shag..

Hi Iam,
my BS is Silhouette. what abt urs?
yeah, mine is coming up in a few more days, been doing so many errands these days, am so tired! u take care not to tired yourself out!
Merry Christmas!

hi jac, miine is Julia.... ya, so excited hor... me GDL and An Chuan after Jan... so stil can nua a while... hehe...u take care too! merry xmas!

I just signed with 4 seasons and have Regina Tan as my manager. I've seen many places including Amara Sanctury and St Regis but they all pale in comparison in terms of service. I must say that Regina gives a very reassuring vibe with her prompt responses that are straight to the point. I think you will want to be stress free when it comes to planning these things and last thing you want is to have a coordinator (even if the ambience is great)who is impatient, disorganised, unable to understand basic instructions and slow in responses which I've experienced with Amara Sanctura especially (of which I'm still terribly upset with).

Will keep you posted after my wedding is held next Oct.

Hi hi!

Could someone send me a copy of the 09 wedding package please? my email: [email protected]

Am looking at lunch weekend package in Oct 09 and visiting Raffles and Goodwood in next 2 weeks. Just visited Legends @ Fort Canning and not too keen although the coordinator was super on.

Many thanks!

can anyone share with me the packages with Four seasons? Is there any additional perks u gals manage to bargain with them? I'm currently consider grand hyatt vs Four seasons

Hi Hui,
Not sure if 2010 pricing is out yet though.
But was told that 2010 package will be abt 40 or 50++ on top of 2009 pricing.

Ghenglai, BTW how did you find Goodwood vs Four Seasons?

Ladies which bridal studios did you sign up with?

Hi Fleur Fleur,

Four Seasons's service was almost impeccable, Lewis brought us to visit the ballrooom, explained everything to us right from the how pretty the place looks with the natural light from the windows (which I agree with him because I'm having a lunch,) to the lifts to bring the elderly right to the doorstop of the ballroom. Needless to say, their banquet setting and package is classy and sophisticated. Just that beer is not included in the package.

If you sign up with them by end of Apr 09, there's a free sponsorship of 24 bottles of wine for 20 tables! Very attractive! Do note that wedding between Jul and Dec 09 will incur additional $40++ per table.

After the ballroom, he sat us down at the cafe and explained the time frame we will work towards i.e. 3mths, 1 mths and 1 wk from the wedding date. He put us at ease and made us feel like everything will happen perfectly on our wedding day. He was also quite flexible and agreed to let me have my tea ceremony and solemnization in the ballroom at no additional charge.

Now for Goodwood:- I chose it because I've been having buffets there with my parents since young. But I have to admit that the coordinator was a little less refined than what I would have expected. I didn't really have a good feeling after leaving perhaps because Four Seasons set a high standard. But the coordinator was quite flexible in pricing such as allowing me to change my wedding cards for wine and all and giving me a special rate if I decide to have my solemnization at the poolside.

Conclusion for me: Between Goodwood and Four Seasons, I'll pay the extra $100 to $150 per table for Four Seasons. I'll be visiting ACM and Raffles and should be making my decision by end of Jan 09!

Lai,

the free sponsorship of 24 bottles of wine for 20 tables u mentioned is for weddings before July 09 isit??

also, how come wedding between Jul and Dec 09 will incur additional $40++ per table? is the $40++ referring to the wine?