Four Seasons Hotel

Aiyah, we were the one to give the hotel the green light to serve anything for our guests. We were thinking, how much cocktail can people drink right? In the end, people ordered orange juices like no body's business. Actually i was so sad is also because these people are all my own friends, so i was kind of disappointed lah. That's why, is really unnesscary to be so generous with cocktail, apart from this, our wedding was really FANTASTIC though, FS service & standard is really awesome.

The last time I ask them about flower, they said Red Roses are standard, other flowers seems like seasonal or you have to pay extra for it.

chopperpiggy

ah i see... yep can't give guests full bar one. Sure will abuse. No definitely didn't doubt the standard and service of FS.

Erm... red roses standard? sounds boring to me. Sigh... i'll check with my co-ord.

cutiephinphin,
I rem someone used yam roses before....i'm sure you can request for roses of other colours if you don't mind roses.... I love roses!! But it want to do something special, def have to top up.

antakusuma,
hey, i haven't thought abt the corks flying around! thot that it'll be something diff to have champagne with guests for toasting....
I thought there is free flow of both soft drinks and mixers (which are a mixture of hard liquor with soft drink)
so far, i've only seen ppl drinking soft drinks, wine and beer...hardly see any orders for mixers at all....

chopperpiggy,
oh dear, i can understand how you must have felt....i think some ppl forget that wedding is a celebration of love and the union of the couple...they just go to banquets with the intention of making their $$ worth it... hope you are over it now

i get your point on the cocktail part too....think we'll just limit soft drinks for cocktail then to allow alcohol (if any) after the start of the meal...better not to drink on empty stomach...

chopperpiggy,
how is the bill for the beer settled? did you take a certain amount of beer or charged per glass?

Oh, we didn't go for barrel cos our guest are mainly wine drinker, so we went for per glass. Then at the end of the night, the hotel will show you a list of items chargeable to your balance bill, but can sign card before we check out on the last day.

No worries, you can think about alcohol consumption later

I already not thinking about it lah but just thought it's worth sharing!

hey btbs

I've just emailed my co-ord. From his email, i believe it's just roses or gerberas despite asking about other flowers besides roses. He said roses for clean look. Choice of deep rose (popular), pink, white, yellow, orange.

Sigh... so guess it's roses then. But I'll not take red roses. Like he said popular.

hi chopperpiggy

sigh... yep i don't really like roses. I've decided on my color theme so might take a champagne color rose if they hv it or maybe decide on the rose color closer to date. Who knows I might get red too afterall it's a dark color & will start out better then the rest. Especially on the candlestands.

oic, don't worry too much on these little detail, enjoy every single preparation. Oh yes, remember to march in very very slowly cos the walk way was very short and we walked sooooooooo fast until people gonna slow us down, so embarrasing.

thank you gals so much for sharing....

cutiephinphin,
red roses might blend in real well if your colour theme is towards the darker shades....

chopperpiggy,
yeah, we'll worry abt the details when the date is nearer...now gotta decide on the schedule and the guest list...major headaches!
the aisle is so short ah? how long do u estimate you and your husbands walked for?
its something that you and your husband and your guests will have a deep impression about your wedding
you guys must have looked cute at that time!

oh really? haha :D Erm maybe we will be walking fast too coz too nervous liao. hee...

I'll definitely be making sure we're enjoying the process lah. That's important to me too.

Well i'm still having a headache with my march-in songs & songs for the dinner.

The band wanted us to choose our own songs for more personalized touch. We had spent like 6 - 7 weekends liao and we still can't finalize just 22 songs. hee...

As I'll be doing my solemnization before the dinner, really having a BIG headache with the march in song for that.

yah, the aisle was really short cos mine was crescent ballroom, so it's small & short and we look like "ah siao" loh! I think we were like rushing for MRT that kind until our friend signal us to slow down, by then too late liao, we were close to the stage already......

Understand those detail can be quite stressful, just try to have some fun songs for your band too, so that your whole dinner wont be just lovey dovey songs.

Sorry, my wedding over liao but I am still hanging around here..........hehe..........kaypo

chopperpiggy,
i think its nice that you still come here and give us advices...cos you've been through it and know what to look out for and I'm thankful for it...
i gotta take note then...cos i walk quite fast and am using the crescent ballroom too....

we haven't decided if we want a band and haven't even touched on songs we want to use....our wedding prep is at a standstill except for your bridal attire....

I'm enjoying planning for the wedding...sure am going to miss all these after my wedding...

haha... yes chopperpiggy. Precisely don't want all lovey dovey that's why having such a headache. Any idea of fun songs? English ones.

I'll be collecting my wedding cards from the hotel this week. It's a bit early (event in Dec) but coz i'm sourcing for printers and they request to look at the card so might as well just collect everything lah.

And chopperpiggy... you're welcome anytime... there's nothing that states only BTBs...

hehe, actually i miss my wedding lah, so tat's why i am still kaypo-ing here. ...
However, I hope BTB will not make the same mistake we made, beverage, march in ... etc

Actually i also don't remember our song list! I only remember my 2 march in song, "Looking through your eyes - LeAnn Rimes" "love will keep us alive. by eagles" THe rest was from them, i am super lazy person, so i let them decide my son list..............hahaha........hopeless hor!

hihi chopper... ermm, my BS got no more time schedule for me, so PS is the be shot by July cos they need to send bk taiwan to develop the pics and all, btw, mine is JWN.. and also, choose the pics ma, so i okay one la, so long i got time to slim dwn a little and do some dental touch up can le.. wahhahah... ermm, toking abt the themes, i still dun knw wat i wan le, im thinking of doin something romantic and princess style leh, so maybe will decide on my gowns then decide on my theme with FS.. Btw,when must we decide on the themes? and also the invites and all arh? i also super lazy type, so wanna chop chop get things settled before i forget everything..

Btw, did u all had a VG and PG? i already booked my PG, jus tt i need to look for VG nw.. any gd recommendations? and also, anyone opt for the montage to be played during the wedding or? cos my cord tell me tt they wil provide projector but the rest of the equipment is to be borne by the pppl tt do the set up.. Then also, did FS let u choose a list of songs or we can provide all songs ourselves? and is the sound system gd?

lam> try substance film. Pricey but if u want to go all out Yang is really quite good.

cutie> i walked down to 3 songs. Waiting For an Angel (Ben Harper) for my ROM. Such Great Heights (Iron and Wine) for my first walk in, and also You Shook Me all night Long (AC/DC) for 2nd walk in. U can hear all the songs on my multiply site!

Or u can consider Breathe In BReathe Out (Mat Kearny).

i dunno if this helps. heh...

I have a playlist for my wedding can share with you if you want. but dunno if ur band can play all the songs.

Hey ladies,
wanna check with you all...do you have a problem with your relatives not fixing the number of ppl turning up for your reception?? Eg you informed them that you've say, 4 seats for them but cos they have a big family, say 4 kids (including teenagers)...then they cannot confirm the number of ppl turning up?? am I making sense here? how do you deal with this?

Jac> When is ur wedding again? for me, my relatives only confirm like the very last week. ask ur mom to help. My mom was very helpful, cos i gave her pressure also. say tht i am inviting my relatives over my own friends. And if they not coming, they need to give me time to invite other pple. cannot last minute.

antakusuma,
my wedding is on 28th Dec...some time away...but it seems really complicated when i'm dealing with the guest list.......there is limited seating capacity in Crescent ballroom, so that's one area of concern....so your relatives confirmed during the last week...did that give you sufficient time to invite other ppl...but then again, if i invite ppl to fill up space at the very last min, its seems very obvious that they r invited just for that....

I'm interested in holding my wedding banquet at the Four Seasons ballroom. Will anyone be able to share their detailed wedding package or provide some tips on what to look out for?

hi Gingerbread,

i had my wedding in mar08. i had the issues of relatives comfirming their no too. Parents always say cannot ask becos pai say.. i managed to settle it after numerous reminders to my MIL n parents.. i explained to them the rationale that it will b wasteful and embarassing if the table is empty. furthermore, relatives tables are always at the front so is difficult for FS to keep in a case whereby there r too many empty seats.

hi Jac> yes i know wht you mean. its the headache of wedding lor. I think u just need to pressure ur relatives to revert. Give them a deadline. mebbe ask them to confirm in late october... by then there is still time to invite other guests and not look like its a last minute invite. Everything will straighten out one dun worry. now u must worry about optimising urself. stay out of the sun, stay pretty, hydrated, go for facials...

Chopperpiggy> i also miss my wedding... sigh after all the stress i wanna do it again!

Hmm,
seems like I gotta be the 'bad guy' - cos I think some of my aunts will be like 'aiya sure got space' so they'll bring their entire family when they are allocated lesser seats....will just finalise the guest list first and then worry abt all that at a later date...

antakusuma,
yeah, its a good suggestion to ask them to revert in Oct....
and yeah, I'm staying out of the sun, trying to cram in facials, spas amidst of my stressing work.....

Hi TSM,

I recently paid my deposit at Four Seasons for their wedding package for 2009.

We too are interested in holding our wedding banquet at the Four Seasons Ballroom...

Our co-ordinator is Mr Ho Mun Hoong who is the director of catering and conference services.

We are thankful that he is assisting us in our planning because being the person in-charge, we find it easier to negotiate as he is in the position to do so...

Taking the weekend package, we are paying $998 +++ for the deluxe menu.
The package includes:
- 9 course chinese dinner or 4 course western dinner or buffet
-free flow of drinks & mixers (4 hrs)
*Mr Ho is flexible on the timing
- 5 tier wedding cake with (genuine top layer given to the couple)
-heart shape chocolates (favours)
-invitation cards (managed to get his agreement to give us more if we need to)
-wedding guest book
-2 night stay with complimentary breakfast
-french champagne and chocolate as a welcome token
-wedding march in music
-wedding decorations (>8 floral stands, center pieces per table and reception area)
-seat covers for all chairs
-champange pyramid
-parking coupons (>20% if needed)
-waiver of corkage for hard liquor
-complimentary trial dinner for 8
-western/asian supper amenity

Four Seasons are pretty strict on their free perks etc.. But their service and ambience really tops it all up!

Have you met any of their co-ordinators?

My personal feel is to really let them know your concerns and needs. They really pride themselves in offering good service and attention to minute details. As mentioned by other BTB or brides that have chosen Four Seasons, their banquet generally sailed on smoothly with minimal hiccups.

My HTB and I have not asked for much yet because at this point of time, it's still too early to really enquire about extras perks such as a room for our helpers because such things really depends on the availability at the moment. But Mr Ho has assured us that he will try his best to meet our needs.

I guess some areas to look out for is with regard to the beverages. That is one area which I think will cost us the most considering that Four Seasons doesn't give free beer or wine.

Another area that my HTB and I are particular about is the service rendered to our guests. We had his assurance that we'd have 1 banquet helper assigned to each table so that our guests won't get frustrated when they need assistance. We also managed to come to an understanding that if you have any VVIP guests (eg: bosses, relatives) that needs special attention to be paid to, we can just let him know and he will take care of it.

Hope its not too lengthy.. If you like, you can always PM me!

Cheerios!

Hi Shiner,

Thank you for your very comprehensive write up!!! Appreciate it lots!

I've met one of their co-ordinators, and the deal sketched to me is not unlike yours.

I'm just a bit concerned about the fact that alcohol and wines are not factored in to the cost of the menu.

But, that said, I really like the atmosphere and decor. I went down yesterday to take a look at the wedding set up for one of the wedding couples in the Ballroom. They chose the red/black theme and it was gorgeous. The stage was very nicely draped with gold cloth which matched the chandaliers and general furnishing. So the entire atmosphere was very grand and posh.

Any comments on the quality of the food though?

I'm looking at a March 2009 date. Yourself?

hi tsm

firstly i'm not sure what you mean by your concern that the alcohols & wines aren't factored in the cost of the menu. There is a beverage list attached in the package for your consideration. I think the main hotel packages comes with free flow of soft drinks and some hotels offer complimentary beer. But most 5stars do not do offer complimentary beer nowadays unless you've signed with them during some bridal show in which you'll get complimentary beer or wines for the number of tables confirmed.

As for quality, service, and food, etc if you look up the earlier posts of this thread, you will see compliments etc on the weddings that were held in FS. I think it would be of help to you if you take the time to read the earlier posts. A lot of your queries will also be answered in them.

Cutiephinphin,

Thanks for your clarification. Perhaps i was not clear enough, so let me elaborate. I believe the standard Four Seasons package does not include complimentary beers and wines, which is what you have referred to.

I'm not sure if other 5-Star hotels do not offer complimentary beers and wines. Admittedly, I haven't done in-depth and detailed study on the wedding packages of all 5-star hotels as I have just started looking. But the other ones which i am interested in, i.e. Raffles and Marriott do offer that in their packages, so that is the basis of my comparison.

Yup, will look at previous posts of this thread.

hi tsm

my advice will be for u to do a calculation on the total cost of the banquet if you can. So that you will be able to make a better decision on the venue taking into considering the cost, the location, the service, the function room etc.

Some hotels have incorporated the price of that 'complimentary' beer into the package.

Anyway from my calculations, FS isn't as expensive as what is perceived comparing with like Ritz, Oriental, Conrad, similar category. So do your research.

Hi Cutiephinphin,

Unfortunately, Ritz, Conrad and Fullerton have a minimum number of tables which I can't meet. So for me it's between Four Seasons and Raffles. But agree that whatever 'complimentary perks' must already be incorporated in the price of the package.

I've tried to do a calculation on the total cost of the banquet. With 2 bottles of wine per table and a 30 litre barrel of beer, it'll come up to 1300 nett based on entry level menu.

On a separate note, I haven't read the previous posts, but what were the other hotels you were looking at besides Four Seasons?

TSM> banquet food is greeeaat, my family said even better than the food tasting day. The supper they serve you in the room after the dinner is also yummylicious.

Expect a premium if u go for hotels like Four Seasons and those in its league... it will definitely be a bit more expensive ah. but the value is definitely there.

lovexiaolongbao,

Thanks! My mum kept querying whether the banquet food is nice etc. That'll certainly tip the balance for us.

Hi TSM,
Regarding the food at FS, all that I've heard is that the food is fantastic esp the Jiang Nan Chun...My sis caters food from FS for her house parties and she also had very good experiences with them. She was full of praises for their food and services. To quote her "if this is what FS can for me at my house, you can imagine how much better they'll be at home ground" This single phrase stuck with with and when I visited FS for the 1st time, i was sold!

At that time, i was considering bet FS and Raffles (East India Room) and Fullerton (Straits Room). While I love the decor of the Straits room, the service of the co-ordinator at Fullerton turned me off... the East India room at Raffles didn't wow even after we went to view a wedding that was about to take place. I thought I rem reading something abt Raffles not having complimentary alcohol too...do double check on this...and the service provided by the co-ordinators at Raffles pales in comparison to my co-ordinator in FS...

so in the end, great food and (more importantly) good service made FS the choice for us...and no regrets since then even though our planning at FS hasn't started yet...jus that am so assured we're in good hands each time i received a prompt reply from my co-ordinator at FS (I pester her for the tiny details :P)

hi tsm

the venues I enquired with are those that I stated earlier. But I only viewed Ritz Carlton and I didn't like the function room. I went FS for my site inspection & my bf just liked the function room + my coordinator is so professional that we had no further doubts. The appts which was made with the other hotels were canceled as we had no doubts FS was what we wanted.

I enquired with Fullerton too. But didn't arrange for an inspection as the Straits room would hv been too small. I wanted everyone to be comfortable.

Well i can only say if you know abt FS, you'd know that they are known for their service, quality & professionalism.

Cutiephinphin>> My bf is posted overseas so that poses a bit of a problem for me. Can't wait for him to come back before deciding because by then the dates which we are looking at would be gone. I think the Four Seasons Ballroom would be comfortable for about 22 to 25 tables (which is what i'm looking at). Agree with you that comfort for guests is v important. thanks for sharing!!

Jac>> thanks for sharing!! My parents and ILs are v particular abt food, so that's really really helpful!

You gals have been a great help!!! Will have to discuss with my HTB and parents and ILs.

BTW, i took some pictures of the Ballroom with the red and black theme. Do let me know if you gals want to have a look at them. (though i must say that the photos do not do justice to the set up!!)

tsm

please show us the photos. A few of the btbs are thinking of our color themes now. Pictures will definitely be helpful. Do you hv a multiply a/c? MOst of us hv one. So we can share our wedding process & preparations too.

I've just set up a multiply account. my user ID is teohszemin. It's pretty barren. But I think you should be able to see the photos.

Hi TSM,

I've yet to try the food but based on the past reviews and the testimonials stated in the above threads, I believe they must be excellent!

Nice to hear that you're a March 09 bride... I'm planning mine in September 09.

I agree with you that the ballroom size fits snugly for 22-25 tables which coincidentally is what I am looking at as well!

Have you noticed that the ballroom doesn't have 1 main door entrance? Did your co-ordinator give you any ideas on how you and your HTB can do your march in?

Also, do you mind sending the pictures please? My email is: [email protected]
Unfortunately, I don't have a multiply account

I agree with cutiephinphin, Jac & lovexiaolongbao that the amount you are paying for the food, deco and service etc is really worth it despite them not throwing in the free barrel of beer and/or wine.

I actually asked for a quotation for beer from APB. It is much cheaper to get it from them (approximately $500 plus) however Four Seasons will charge corkage for the beer. So it mounts up to be the same. We are keen on purchasing wine from them because I heard that some hotels who give free wine per confirmed table offer wines that are of poorer quality... you know, the kind that tastes slightly diluted (I figured out that's why they are able to give it for free!).

As mentioned by cutiephinphin, some hotels already factored the free beer into their pricing. Moreover, Four Seasons will be able to
advise you on the type of wine that goes well with the food it serves.

I've received feedback on the amount of alcohol consumed. Some were saying that if the wedding falls on a weekend, the consumption rate will be higher.. In view of this, I'm considering not to serve alcholic drinks during the cock-tail reception... What do you think?

Has anyone tried or have comments on the cocktail reception ideas that Four Seasons offer? Eg: fondue, peking duck, ice bar etc...

Cheerios!

Hi Shiner,

Didn't speak with my co-ord abt the entrance. But, I believe Shang also doesn't have 1 main door entrance for the march in. At a wedding in Shang, my friend and her husband marched in from 2 separate doors before joining up at the aisle. I thought it was pretty nice.

I haven't really thought about the cocktail reception yet, though i would personally still serve wines. I'm not sure whether it is feasible to limit the number of bottles served during the cocktail itself. Might want to check with the co-ordinator to see if this has been done in the past and what was the feedback like?

I saw a martini bar setup at the Crescent Ballroom last week. It was pretty cool. But I suppose that would be to cater to guests who REALLY love their drinks!

I'll send the photos to you later this evening.

Hi shiner,
WE're most prob going to take the strawberry ice bar. Saw the setup once and the strawberries look tempting and setup gives a unique feel....I think its fine not to serve alcohol during cocktail.

I think the martini bar is cool too but the alcohol might increase costs significantly.

Im considering four seasons for my dinner. Can you gals help to give me some feedback?

Im thinking of doing solemnization at the outdoor area on the 20th floor where they have 2 small east & west rooms. But each room can only fit in 6 tables. Would it be weird if i separate guests into the 2 rooms for dinner after the solemnization. So total 12 tables?

hi dreammy

do you have any pictures of the outdoor area on the 20th floor? Will there be any rental charges for your solemnization if it's held there? Honestly speaking, I don't think it'll be nice for you to separate the guests into 2 rooms. Moreover it'll be difficult for you and in the end, you might not be able to be a good host.

Crescent Ballroom is good for 12 tables. I think you can safely consider that. I'm having mine there.

Hi dreammy,

I may be doing my solemnisation at the Window East or West room (which fits about 90 people) and will be having my reception after that in the main ballroom. I agree with cutiephinphin that you can use the Crescent ballroom after the solemnisation.

Hi all, I just joined this forum. I'm a FS BTB getting married this Dec. With regards to flowers, I remember my coordinator mentioned that orchids are included as well (other than gerberas & roses).

With regards to printers - does anyone know if FS ties up with any specific printers? How much does printing usually cost?

Hi SCL

I'm also a FS Dec bride. Which day are you?
Ok thanks for the note on the flowers. Will see how the combi goes. Meanwhile, if you took or will be taking any photos of the set ups, please share with us here. TIA

Btw did you have to pay extra for the window east?

U don't need to wait till you get the cards before enquiring on the printers. In fact I already asked for the list of printers. They are recommended by FS as they've worked on quite a number of FS cards but they aren't affiliated nor are they contracted by FS.

I don't exactly remember the list but Jasvey is one of it.

cutiephinphin,
any idea what is the estimated cost of printing of the invites?

SCL,
yeah, i'm interested as to whether you paid extra for the window east room for solemnisation too.