For All dog lovers

Xiaohei is roaming ard my block.. During feeding time, i just bring his food down and search for him..

I still hesistating whether to call spca or not, cos i am afraid he will be put to sleep.

Magdalene,

We did consider bringing him home, but my jrt is quite possesive. After we fed and sayang xiaohei, xiaobai went home and tore the table cloth.. I guess he is jealous. Now i feed xiaohei without xiaobai presence..

My hubby says xiaohei looks like a rottweiler...(the eyelid brown color type)this breed not allowed in hdb rite??

la_la

hehee.. ur xiaobai sounds so bratty..hahaha.. so cute.. ya there is a certain height and weight limit for HDB flats.. and if it is around the size of a rottweiler, i don think its allowed.. but maybe for fostering purposes can.. check it out... and btw, where do u stay? i'm pretty sure if the poor dog continues to roam abt for a few more days, pple will definitely call SPCA..

Morning Everyone!

i just find this website, www.thepetportal.org

someone there is trying to conduct a basic grooming training lessons for pet owners like us!

I'll like to conduct a small scale grooming demo for you guys. But I'll like to know the number of people who are interested and also the preferred date and time. I do need someone to "lend" out his/her house to conduct this demo....

I'll like to know the response before we'll discuss the details further...

Pls provide details
U can PM me personally)

Your name:
HP or email:

Your dog name:
Breed of dog:
Sex of dog:

A small amount of fee will be needed to buy some groomign materials but rest assure that it will be kept below $10...

If time permits, I will perform basic grooming (ear, nail, sanity and underpaw) for your loved ones.

The dateline for registering will be 5 Dec 2003. Demo is likely to be conducted on one of these weekends
6-7, 13-14 or 20-21 of Dec. This will also help to neaten up your doggies before Christmas.

If response is good, another one will be conducted before Chinese New Year (Jan'04).

Do let me know if you wish to include any topics to be discussed so that I shall be able to get ready some reading materials for you guys.

See you.

if anyone interested, can just register first and start PMing yr details to her! Cheers!

lala

this is one of the centre for homeless animals i think,

AVA
Address: Centre for Animal Welfare & Control, AVA. 75 Pasir Panjang Rd, Singapore 118507 Telephone: 6325 7625 Facsimile: 6473 3687 Email: [email protected]

Noah's Ark Natural Animal Sanctuary (NANAS)
Their aim at NANAS is to provide a safe and secure home for their animal residents where they can live out their lives in happiness and eventually, die with dignity. Email: [email protected] Telephone: 9792 0771

Hoep tat these two companies can help u

Hey guys!

I need to know does the groomers u go to use collars to restrict dogs on the grooming table and while bath in the basin??
Has it always been such practice???

magdalene, usually bathtime no collar to restrict but grooming table will depend.. some do some dun.. why leh? so u've gone to sylvia's place for grooming already?

Mag,

Hehehe ... actually no leh ... I didn't see yr posting but I just scrolled up & read liao

The one my sis has does not come with the frame. It is something like this:

37773.jpg

When u've finished imprinting your doggie's paw, it sits nicely inside the tin. But if you want, u can take out the clay & frame it yourself oso ... cheaper that way

Soupie,

i had made a appointment with Sylvia mid of next mth, but yesterday went to this newly opened grooming shop at Sembawang, have a first timer offer for this week, i will want to try this shop this saturday, but they restricts owners to enter the room but its actually fully see thru room lor, and having collars while doggie is on the table and in the basin. So i want to noe more abt the restrictions, isit the usual practice anot. They say unless the dog is wounded previously or hard to hander, then owner can go in to assist the groomer.

Cos the one i go actually let me enter their room and no collars needed (usually i am the first customer everytime)

magdalene, oic... i usually only go to sylvia.. she's fine with u hanging around to see her groom.. especially for first time customers
but i think after that if u're regular can leave it to her.. cos ur doggie would be less figidty and she'll handle them better.. hehe usually we leave our doggie with her and go tampinese mall to shop and makan and then go back abt 2 - 3 hrs later.

soupie

My hubby and i dun have a car, so i will need sylvia to come to my place, and she chrgs quite high lor, :P i dun mind bring Mango to the groomer pet shop personally everytime (not far from my place) without using their FOC transport, and always be the first customer of the day, so the groomer can have more energy and focus on her.

magdalene, ohhh.. me too.. dun have car but still prefer to bring frosty to her place lor hehe.. yah.. she's not cheap.. but so far i still find her the best among all the groomers i've been.. sometimes i will hand itchy and try new groomer but always end up not happy with the results.. so always go back to her again.. i like the way she handle our doggie, professional..like the style she cut for my doggie and she's very frenly can chit chat.. and after grooming if i'm still not satisfied with certain areas she'll touch up.. she provide more personalized service lor.. other groomers i dare not say cos dunno wat they'll do to my doggie hehe :P

soupie

We always stay in the pet shop watch the groomer to his grooming the whole time, so tat we can see wat is going on. Thats y i not so scared abt groomer ill treating Mango, But i staying in Yishun, realli a bit too far from Sylvia's house, so will prefer to let her come to my place lor.

And further more, rite now Mango actually onli needs a trim at the bottom body area and not touching the upper body furs, cos we wana keep her furs long, so paying such high price for minor cut may not be a need rite now.

But will want to try sylvia when Mango's fur is long enough to shape wat we want her to have

mag,

2 paws? That will have to depend on the size of your doggie's paws lor .... but even if can fit, I think it'll be difficult to print leh ... how to put doggie's paws so close together???

soupie

hehehe no lah, actually my hubby is interested to buy her a companion, let them get marry, and have offsprings
He always wanted to have two dogs in the house

mag,

Can meet next week? Cos i need to get the thing from my sis, then can pass to u. I'll let u know again?

Oei, if u let your doggie have babies, then it's not only 2 dogs liao leh .... dun tell me u want to give away or sell away the pups ah ...

pegsfur

ok, u let me noe again

Onli thoughts now for the pups lor, but can u dream abt the fun part when u try calling Mango's name and her pups come running following behind her running to you??? very warm feeling lor

I don't think a good idea to breed your dogs- cannot guarantee you'd keep both parents AND all the babies. I think alot of info on websites about this issue...

Anyway, I have a problem

I adopted a very timid 2 yr old dog (everything good except cannot be too fierce to her) who's paper-trained.

She stayed at my mum's place (where there's another dog) while my place was done- almost no pee/poop accidents.

Moved to my new place and I bought her a "tray" to contain her urine so it doesn't leak past newspapers and flow along the floor (she urines big puddles at a time). New place, new tray- she didn't understand and did on the floor. Asked the previous owner- she had used a tray before but highlighted the dog had problems understanding the tray when first introduced too.

So scolded the dog (usually catch her in-the-act or just after cos keep close eye), carried her over to correct spot but even if she's halfway pooping, she holds in all in and trembles.

Leashed her to her area- enough space for her to lie one side with food & water, next to her is her newspapers... but she's:
1) Holding it all in cos she thinks all peeing/ pooping is not allowed- until really 24hrs can't take it- huge loads come out... too much for the newspaper area given- half is on it, the other half is out. I don't know whether to praise or scold, cos I praise first, let her go... and then when cleaning up, behind my back she poops a few more remmants on non-newspaper area.
2) Avoid going on the newspapers cos she doesn't like to be next to the big mess.
3) Sometimes when we let her off the leash, she gets so excited she runs towards us... and then releases uncontrollably (due to too much load, not as submissiveness).

Now I'm trying using playpen only:
1) again 1 side bedding with water & food, 1 side newspapers. I praised her even when she pooped on the bedding (cos she created a swimming pool in the tray with her overload of pee), let her out as reward to encourage her to go more often instead of her current phobia... and she poops a few remmants again behind me while I'm cleaning up. Never scolded her just played with her... and then when she starts sniffing my floor wanting to go, I bring her to her playpen and she holds it all in AGAIN!
At this rate 24hrs one go, very bad for her bladder, and she's restricted cos I dare not let her free run of the home the way she sometimes sneaks a few poops/ uncontrollable poops, only when I know her bladder is not uncontrollably full. At night before sleeping she goes back in playpen, so quite distressing for us to see her always penned up.

But we are determined to paper-train her using tray underneath (it's concealed liao, but she can of course feel it), next method I'm thinking would be crate training.

She's aware the newspapers are her poop/pee area cos it IS scented with her poo/pee.

Very headache...

Another thing:
anyone enrolling for training with their dogs? Thinking of some training... she's not very smart compared to my other dog at mum's place but better temperament.

clarify: she poops immediately after pee... her pee takes up a full opened ST newspaper area, her poop also another... quite a big area. She's a corgi only.

Was brainstorming possibly increasing her playpen size cos with bedding, she only has space for 1 opened newspaper for both pee/poo (I cannot change it that fast in-between her peeing and her pooing). Any ideas pls?

MTMTMT

For me to train my dog, i put papers all over the playpen, no beddings for her to sleep, onli sleeping on the papers, keep her there overnite. After abt 1 month plus, she got used to poopoo and shishi on newspapers.

After tat we introduce her the cage as a toilet, the tray underneath covered with papers. Now she noes she have to go there to do business already

hi mtmtmt,

That means your corgi has no problem with newspaper initially? The problem only surfaced when u put the tray rite?

What i used to do to avoid my dog's urine from flowing out is I fold the ends of the newspaper & make it look like a 'tray'. Of cos dun fold too big lah, just maybe abt 2 or 3 cm around all sides so that she will not think the newspaper is a funny thing & dare not step in to pee. It works pretty well. Maybe u can try this method?

ah mag,

Ok, will let u know when we shld meet next week

Yeah, it'll be a very warm feeling when u see all the pups running around .... but, u forgot abt the pee & poo? 1 mango maybe can cope, imagine if 5 pups = 5 x pee & poo! Then the medical fees leh? The 3 boosters required for puppies, food & supplements, toys? Aiyoh, i think hor, u better consider carefully b4 breeding Mango. Then if u can't cope liao, u'll consider giving them away or sell them away. Then u'll see Mango very sad cos suddenly all her babies disappear .... then worse, if the owners not good, kena abuse then even more sad rite? It's a whole lot of chain reactions .... pls pls pls consider carefully ok? Hahaha ... I abit loh soh here but it's for the doggie's welfare lah

i have a question that i need some feedback. Should i bring my shih tzu for sterilisation? My initial intention was to prevent the risk of testicular cancer and decreases the incidence of prostate disease.

But as the time drawer near to the surgery date, i am thinking did i make a right decision. Can anyone advise? Thank you very much!

I think 2 dogs may overwhelm... cos I have a 9-yr old dog at my mum's place, then adopted this dog needed to bring her home from previous owner's place immediately (instead of delay awhile to bring my own place when ready)... suddenly 2 dogs in 1 home cannot take it ah! Fur multiplied by 2, not just pee/poo... all the allergies came up. Overwhelming, plus 2 dogs dun get along and food competition (1 eats faster than the other so will try to steal food, must separate), and urine MARKING (the other dog doesn't like another dog around will deliberately mark the newspapers FIRST before the other).

Dogs lifespan is rather long, with puppies it'd be "extended"... sometimes job change, relocation, sickness, all that... very hard to make sure even 1 dog will DEFINITELY be taken care for his/her life.

Now 1 dog in my mum's place, 1 dog here at my place- both humans and dogs can breathe better, phew!

Pegsfur, good suggestion about the newspaper but I thought tray easier in future... just the training part must grind teeth and persevere. Mag I think I'd try the whole newspaper whole playpen in few days if she still fails to release timely, cos she does know newspaper for her to eliminate on and she's very clean don't want her to get confused which portion... now I think she's FEARFUL of eliminating at all... so must over-ride that, sigh

doremon,

I guess it's the right decision, in terms of health ... But though I know abt the benefits of having our dogs sterilised, but I can't bear to put my Coalie under the knife leh ..... I'm oso in a dilemma ....

Btw, why are u having doubts leh?

Hi dor, I believe in sterilization- males and females. Supported by alot of research online.

Esp for males, w/o neutering MAY be the cause of some behavioral problems

I found this! Hmmm, makes sense!
"Ob #2 - - dogs do not pee and poo at the same location . They will pee at corners of structures or at the foot of a tree but they will not poo at the same spot. For a start I put newspapers to demarcate two areas - one for peeing and the other for pooing and I placed them close to each other. My dog knew which to choose for what purpose. When it has learnt to do her business on the papers at the two locations, I have all the papers overlapping each other and eventually graduating to one loaction only.

Ob #3 - - dogs also do not pee and poo at the same time. As I wanted only one toliet for all doggy businesses, I would clear the mess before the second business came. I did that so as to compensate for the loss of the 2 locations that most dogs by instinct would prefer.
Whenever I cleared the mess, I would leave some scent of it behind for tracking back to this location. As the days went by, I managed to do without the scent. "

Ok, she needs more newspaper area then, my playpen not big enough though must buy more gates.

MT, is she as timid when she was with her previous owner? how long has it been since u adopted her and how long has she stayed at ur mum's place already?

trying to analyse ur situation.. ur doggie being very timid already.. may be even more confused when u move her from ur mum's place to ur new place... and guess in her state of confusion, she will feel less secure and may not be getting all the 'right' signals from u.

i think wat u can do now is to be really really generous with ur praise.. give treats if she pee at the rite place.. dun care whether leaking or not... she may need a longer time to adjust since she has moved yet to another place and somemore her character is so timid.

doremon, that is wat's bothering me.. that's why until now i still haven't sterilize my doggie.

Hi soupie, I adopted her end-Sept, then moved from mum's place to mine end-Nov, yah she's mild nature all along, so think you're right- too many changes very confused (she's not very bright either heheh).

I still support sterilisation, my 9 yr old was spayed as soon as was allowed, my newly adopted dog I will spay when she's more settled down. It shouldn't scar them untowardly- think it bothers us humans more...
share with you very sad story, my painter (who claimed he was a dog trainer in NS time) said his friend breeds dogs and he was wondering why all the little pups had rubberbands tied to their tails... he found it amusing and NOTHING WRONG with that. I was so upset
Being civil can only stay calm and tell him it's very painful, try tying a rubberband to his finger... yet he persists that sending to surgery is the same thing but more expensive! Humans ahhh... sometimes alot of screws loose in their heads.

Better to sterilise your own dog to save them... *touchwood* if your dog should one day have to go to another owner, you don't have to worry so much. Eg. my dog's previous owner was so worried she thought I would breed the corgi/ sell the corgi.

MTMTMT

Try to prise and treat everytime she poo & pee, she might just feel tat its good to poo & pee cos she gets to eat treats
I do tat every now and den

Soupie

Yrs is male maltese still can think and think, but mine is female, have to decide fast leh.... duno how... a friend told me tat having her sterilize during her puppy stage can cause growing stage retard...anyone noes abt these?

There's actually a pet shop owner suggesting to let Mango breed and he will buy all her puppies under an agreement, and he will microchip the puppies before he sells. Any comments??

MTMTMT

How come will have rubberbands tie to tail leh??

BTW, the rubberband i use to tie my maltese fur went missing this morning, any idea if she realli eaten up the small rubberband need to see vet bo???

Hi mag, my 9yr old is female... sterilising while still a baby means her internal reproductive system not formed yet- will remove incompletely, no good. So sterilising some time after the 1st heat is just nice usually.

*cringes at the pet shop suggestion* Then Mango become breeding machine, and you definitely have no control over treatment of the pups.../ who it goes to... abandonment of purebreds not unheard of.
But decision is yours lor- what's your motivation for it?

MTMTMT

I believe tat after her becoming a mum, she will be calmer and even more good temper.

But after reading the comments given by all u gals, i will tell my hubby abt the disadvantages, maybe sterilize both dogs if i will get another one

Hi Mag,
In some breeds the pup is born with bunnytail and/ or the bunnytail becomes the "standard". When pup is NOT born like that which is very often too... some people feel it's ugly and needs to remove tail... so they either dock it/ cut it/ tie a rubberband.

Sometimes cruelty you have no control over is painful enough, but if your own dog somehow breeds and the pups are abused (tie rubberband is one example only, abuse can be other forms too, not to mention may be abandoned by new owners!), it's kind of like perpetuating abuse. Just my opinion lah, no need to take it

Hi Mag,
this I dunno about dogs whether become mums will be good temper... but I know my next-door neighbour a lady screaaaaaamss at her kids so loudly I can hear her, yikes. (errr dunno how to insert shocked face and then laughing face... heh).