For All dog lovers

Minibeanie,

Yeah, my frd was telling me the same thing, not good for the baby he said.. but i think we will still insist on the dog, anyway she is also our daughter mah hehe

minibeanie,
it's ur dog, don't let anyone make the decision for you. be fair to the dog as well. babies and dogs can go together. just need to put in more effort in keeping the hse clean and introduce ur bb to ur dog.

i hv heard of amazing stories of doggies looking after their bb owners. also, i'm sure ur kid would be happy to have a dog to grow up together with.

Hi mag,
Yalor, how can we don't want our dog just becos of baby right? So unfair to our dog... they are living things too... they behave like babies too right? So, no way I am going to give away my dog for the sake of my baby...

Hi shane,
I totally agreed with you... moreover, I realized my dog loves babies... so should not be a problem lor... & next time when baby grow up, can teach him to loves animals too right?

Minibeanie,

Actually there are many ways to train yr doggie according to yr parents concerns lor, like dun allow doggie to enter yr baby's room or maybe in the nite just put doggie in the kitchen to sleep and not in the baby's room etc.. shldnt be a prob

minibeanie

hey tell you something, my Mango seems to be friendly to anyone who comes into my home leh... hehehe good or bad huh...

Hi mag,
Actually now my dog sleep with us in our bedroom... in her own bed lah... but when baby arrive, baby will also sleep with us in our room... but I don't like to confine my dog in the kitchen or don't allow her in my room leh... like so poor thing...

Mango is friendly now maybe she is still a puppy lor... but I think friendly dog is better than an unfriendly dog right? All who go to your house will love her...

Minibeanie,

wah! yr doggie got bed ah!!! hehehe... try to train her sleep outside lor... try lah... i think i will not change my mind on having Mango sleeping in the kitchen... can save trouble between parents in law and us next time :P

Hi mag,
since now your Mango is already sleeping in the kitchen, then should not be a problem for you lor... mine had been sleeping with us for sometimes and it will be hard to ask her to sleep in the kitchen lor, at nite she will bark for our attention one...

hi shane, yes that was what i was trying to put across to missuskoh, but i din dare to be too straightforward hehhehe....coz afterall i dunno how fussy is per per loh... :P

mag, u ask about lao sai. that has nothing to do with fussy or normal eaters. it is coz SUDDENLY changing ur dog food will create an imbalance in ur doggie's disgestive system. they are not like us, can eat nasi lemak for one day, then change to chicken rice the next day easily. for doggies, u have to change the food progressively. e.g. mix 1/4 of new food with 3/4 of old food. increaing it to 1/2 1/2 2 days later....then eventually replacing with all new food.

u asked if its good to be friendly to all strangers in the house..hehhee...this is up to individual preference.
it's cute to meet a dog that is friendly to you. but for me and FH, we prefer dogs that are wary of strangers, and loyal/responsive only to owners. that's why we got a sheltie.
shelties are suspicious of strangers by nature. i remember once when our friends came to visit, they love dogs. when i let prince out, he happily bounce out, but when he saw strangers in his home, he started barking and barking at them. refused to go near them. only when i talked happily to them, treat them as frieneds and there were a lot of laughter, after 10mins then he warmed up. even so, when my friend gave him food, he warily approach him, took the food, and ran towards me to eat it. it's very cute loh, both me and FH quite happy in fact hehhehee....each to his own lah...
toy dogs like maltese/poodle/shitzu will tend to be more receptive and friendly to strangers.

Hi mag,
Actually I am very interested to go... but now with a big tummy, don't know whether my hubby allow me to go anot? Are you going??

Binbin

thanks for replying my questions
do u feed yr doggie with greenies (its a kind of hard, chew and eat food)? my frd bought Mango one that day, small one cost $1.50. she said its for teeth cleaning and clear their bad breath. Mango loves it! Thinking of getting a pack for Mango, and distract her when i leave home to work everyday :P if not i afraid tat she got nothing to do and start to cry when no one is ard :P

Hi mag,
She don't bother one... she just sleep lor and don't disturb us... but the other one will come and disturb us lor...

Here is her pic, hopefully can upload now...
34921.jpg

Hi mag,
She like know that hubby and I having our private time and she just don't bother lor... maybe big girl now... if puppy, sure very kpo one...

minibeanie

yr doggie soooo silky fur.... soft and smooth... my mango fur a bit to dry the groomer said.. need to use conditional, soften the fur.
how old is yr doggie?

Hi mag,
Yup, her fur is very smooth... next month after her birthday, she will be 6 yrs old...

Her ears look like butterfly wings hah? When her fur is even longer, her ears look like waterfall leh... very beautiful... but recently we cut her hair until very short...

Morning All, Just to announce after 5 days of waiting and 10 hours of intensive labour, Tiddy has given birth to her last puppy at 7:30am. It was extremely tiring and stressful for her. We got really worried when the 1st puppy had not appeared 3 hours after the water bag burst. With the assurance of our vet we waited and the first pup came at 1:30am. It was one long pup. No wonder it took so long. 2nd pup was born breach, Tiddy took abit too long to deliver it, it came out limp and weak. But thank God we managed to revive it quickly. It's now active and noisy. The 3rd came quickly. We had to wait abit for the 4th one. Last pup took a good 3 hours. She was tired so she went to sleep for a while. But the last pup had the same problem as the second one. It was the weakest since it's stayed in the womb for such long period, it took a while to revive her. I;m just worried for Tiddy she is still refusing food. I have brought her for a walk after the last pup to expel all undigestable placentas. She was excited about it but she is still rejecting food. It's been a long nite, me going to Zzzzzzzzzzzz for a while before clearing up. Will load a picture of tiddy and pups soon. : D

Morning everyone!

Do u believe tat if my mango shave off all her fur, regrow her fur, it will get all curly instead of the straight fur she's having rite now? this is wat the groomer told me, but my frd said i kana cheated :P
34955.jpg

hi monica!!! CONGRATS!!! wow, must be so exciting and stressful, but so satisfying...
happy for you and Tiddy, hope she gets back to normal soon! awaiting for ur pups pics..

mag, ur mango so cute hahahahhahahahha!!!!! u did the collage?

minibeanie,
will be gd for bb and dog to be separate first when bb first arrive. bb might be weak still. it will be gd to start trg ur dogs to sleep away from u from now on. for the one that is barkish, try to do it gradually, like leave her in the kitchen w/o u in sight for a few hrs progressively till she is not barkish and can sleep alone in the kitchen. dogs are like human, they can adapt to changes, they just need time.
it's better to train her now then to remove her the moment bb come, that's worse for her.

i think will be gd for u to do preparation work now for the arrival for bb. there are many issues to see to. preampt them and make live easier for u, ur dogs and ur parents/inlaws. some pple might think it's ok and they'll manage but somehow, things don't go as plan and they feel they can't handle the dog with the bb and in the end the dog suffer and gets sent away.

so sit down and think how dog will affect bb and how u want to run ur life with ur bb and dog together and start making the changes now. it will defnitely benefit u and family in the long run.

my dogs also sleep in the kitchen. i only let them sleep with in my rm in their own beds occasionally, it's like a bonus to them. i also do this cos i don't 1 my dog to feel the pinch when he got to move to the kitchen when i have bb.

mag,
it's gd for dogs to be socialised. but of cos too much of a gd thing is a bad thing hee hee. mango is very friendly cos she is still a puppy. and it's a gd thing. this will prevent behaviour pbm like being very sticky with u and barking at strangers. cocoa is also well socialised but too much already. he can go off with anyone ha ha... but it's alrite with us, we r happy as long as he's happy. not to worry abt dogs not being attached. bonding needs a long time to cultivate. over time mango will know u're her family and she'll stick to you but she will still be friendly with other ppl cos she is well socialise. a well socialised dog is more fun.

my 2nd dog is very timid. i think he wasn't well socialised when young (i got it from somebody) so he doesn't play with other dogs but lucky he is ok with humans. so he's very sticky. he just follow u ard but doesn't play with cocoa. and his quiet nature also makes it hard to play with him, like fetch and teach tricks, not ez also. hopefully i can try to change him over time.

binbin,
try to socialise prince abit more. since it's in the nature of sheltie then not to worry he will become too friendly. cos barking at strangers is not very ideal as sometimes when u bring prince out, he might bark at pple and pple might get scared esp children. and humans being humans can have all sort of reactions. socialising him will let him know that it's ok to have other humans beside u and family and other dogs ard and not be scared of them. this is just my opinion for ur reference, like u said, to each his own

Hi shane,
But can't dogs and bb sleep in the same room? My dog is those very pamper type, u know like those mum mum girl.. and she like us to cuddle her... so I think will be hard on her lor.. moreover, I feel very hard pain if ask her to sleep in the kitchen... I can't bear myself to do it leh...

Minibeanie

I think have to be fair to yr baby too lor.. dog can be trained not baby know... have to draw a clear line between baby and doggie mah... If anything happened to yr baby (TOUCHWOOD) i think u wont feel good even more rite

Must be patient with yr doggie if she is sad over not able to sleep with u lor, she will learn.

Hi mag,
But it is so unfair to my dog lor, cos I have her first one what... but maybe when I see my baby, things will change hor? But still feel sad if my dog has to sleep in the kitchen lor...

Minibeanie

I noe its going to be hard but this time, its not to matter of who comes first my dear. Baby is still more important then doggie.. maybe u will understand when you try to deliver him/her(painful!!!)
hehehe Have to give and take leh, just take it tat u have given lots of attention to doggie liao, now is yr baby's turn to have all yr love and care! 60% for baby, 40% for doggie

minibeanie

And its would be better tat u train yr doggie b4 baby comes, if not she might realli thinks tat its the baby u love not her, then u will be in more trouble..

Hi mag,
I mean will sure love baby more than doggie, but still find it hard to do it lor... maybe we pamper her too much liao... She is also the type to get jealous easily... so we are really worry if baby arrive, what are her reactions lor?

mag,
u know something? Nowaday, whenever I bring back baby stuffs we bought and put them in one of the room, she will go in and inspect... and nowaday she will go in that room and sleep on the cushion... maybe she can sense something lor...

Hi shane,

I understand the logic of the firm treatment. In fact, we are quite firm in her training and manners, so Per Per is really well behaved most of the times.
We've tried letting her starve last time when she started rejecting dry food. But she is really stubborn. She'll just eat a little bit everyday to sustain, then start vomiting gastrit juices frequently. After a few weeks of struggle, we gave in and started to mix her food.

In fact, my FIL who feeds her and spends most time with her at home is the one who can't bear to see her in that state.
*sigh* Will see how. We'll prob start giving her only wet food soon and hope for the best. I dun think I want to resort to cooking for her.
If she again bu zhi hao dai, then no choice got to starve her till she relents liaoz.

Congrats to Monica and her dog! You'll hv so much fun watching the dogs grow up, like I had with mine,

Minibeanie, I think after you deliver, you'll think differently, but dun worry too much abt it. Dogs adapt very quickly. Per Per sleeps outside my room in her bed usually, but when her Daddy is out of town, I put her on my bed on Ikea's breakfast table to keep me company. (She fits juz nice on the table) After Daddy came back, I tot she won't want to go out, but she adapted very fast, din even make a fuss.
Another suggestion, you can start practising your dog. Let your dog sleep with you, when the dog is sound asleep, carry the dog outside. Hopefully it'll get used to sleeping outside by the time your baby arrives.

Hi missuskoh,
My dog is different, your dog don't sleep in your room every nite, but mine does... every nite, after we switch off the tv, close the window, she will come out under the sofa and walk straight to our bedroom and into her bed to sleep already...

And she is always so alert one, she will never be sound asleep, even if you thought she is sound asleep, when you walk closer to her, she will wake up... how to carry her outside?

Hi mag,
I also don't know... but she usually don't behave like that... she will not go into that room and sleep one loh... but everytimes I will ask her "Baby where?" Then I will point to my tummy and show her "Baby here..." Then she will smell my tummy area...

mag,
chewy bone is ok to give every day, cos they just chew on it and not all is eaten. but for greenies better don't give too often, i think 1x a week is ok. cos i heard greenies not too gd also. no concrete evidence but just read abt it when i surfing net for doggie info.

btw, now ur doggie is puppy, try to start brushing her teeth, so that she will get used to it. it helps to keep her teeth clean and gum healthy, hv fresher breath also

beanie,
no hard and fast rule whether dog and bb can sleep in same room or not. for me, maybe the first few mths should avoid. after bb grow up, body stronger than dog and bb sleep same rm should be no prob.

yes, things might change when u bb arrives. all ur attention will be on ur bb. i can understand how u feel abt ur dog. i love my dogs very much also. to the extent of i not sure if i can cope if have bb or not. will be 10x more work with a bb and dogs ard cos got to keep both of them and hse very clean.

so like mag said, just compromise, for the welfare of every1, put every1 in their rite places. actually it's not cruel to let doggy sleep in kitchen. both my dogs sleep in kitchen. but i give him gd environment with light and fan if hot. got bed somemore. i'm sure ur dog don't mind as long as u still love her as much as before ur bb came.

minibeanie,

Sooo sweet leh yr dog, have u even have any babies ard for family gaterings in yr house? wats her reaction? maybe u can try kay kay carry a baby into the house and tell her it 'baby here' see how she reaction.

shane,

Oh yeah yesterday i just bought a baby toothbrush and graze preparing to bruch her teeth one of the days, but a bit scared scared leh :P

this morning i gave Mango half a piece of chewy bone (given from hubby's cousin) cousin told me to cut in half dun give too much but feels a bit shape at the cut edge after cutting, gave to her anyway.. now abit worried abt her, duno if she will hurt herself with it whiel chewing anot

Hi mag,
We even have friends who bring their newborn baby to my house and let her sleep on the sofa... her reaction are very cuious to see such a small baby and I think she love the baby very much... cos she keep on looking at the baby... and when the baby is gone, we will ask her where is baby, and she will go to the main door there and look for baby.. and also look out of the window and on the sofa too... so cute and sweet..

Hi shane,
Maybe I should try lor... I think my hubby sure don't want our doggie to sleep in the same room with the bb one... so maybe I let him settle the problem lor... since I will be very busy taking care of the bb...

minibeanie

So i guess its ok for her to be ard with the baby
but like wat Shane has advised, the main concern is actually the health condition of the baby upon contact with the dog's fur and stuff, especially the first few mths lor.