For All dog lovers

Mag,
How much u bought ur maltese for? Baby is local cross so no cert but cost me $800, felt a bit cheated at first.. but seein her so cute (like furball).. still brought her home..

Tomidia,

Mango is from Australia, no cert too, cost $680. The pet farm did give us import docs for proof tat she is from Australia lor.

You bought her from pet shop or pet farm? Mango is from Seletar Farmway, The Animal Resort.

Pet farm.. at that Pasir Ris Farmway...cant rem the name of the farm already...

hehee.. maybe next round I can go to Seletar Farmway already..

Tomidia

Seletar Farmway onli have one Farm, maybe u can go pasir ris farmway check first be4 going to seletar. Cos for me, seletar is very near my area so we went there first. But actually already saw Mango cute cute liao, but we also went to Pasir ris on the same day but couldnt find anything we liked. So the next day, we went back to seletar to get her. :P

From wat i heard abt pasir ris farmway thru the taxi driver is tat the dogs there are easily above 1K. So our Mango was considered quite cheap lor.

My Mango birthday date 4D 3rd prize last nite! but opened from the back to the front!!! SO ANGRY!!!

yesterday when i reach home let her out, clearing her newspaper, she went shitting in my living room! I spank her butt many times and put her back in her fencing and she continued her business there! So angry!!

hi mag..
sorry din see ur question about food until now. how many mths is ur doggie? the guide is feed 4 times a day when VERy young. 3 times a day betw 4mths to 8 mths(?). and reduce when he grows. usually 1 yr plus can feed only once liao, but depends on the owner. and when we say 2 or 3 times, it also depends on the amount of food you are feeding him, and what kinda of food it is. some pet foods have a lot of nutrients and proteins and they may advice u to feed less coz the doggies need less of it. the reason why puppies you need to feed more regularly is coz they have small tummy/stomach so they cannot store food well. only when they grow into adulthood (1 yr or more) than can feed them less TIMES. if you are feeding your puppy about total of 1.5 cups of food for 3 times a day now (1/2 cup each), then when u change to twice a day, it should be about 3/4 cups each time.... for my 9 mth old sheltie, i am feeding him Canine Caviar twice a day, 1/2 cup each....in betw may have treats.

hi mag, ur doggie shit in ur living room ah? maybe she cannot control herself yet, dun be mad. did you spank her imm after u catch her doing the wrong thing? or else no use she will not know what hit her. hehehe... and u are lucky she continued her business after u put her in the right area. some doggies just stopped. when she DID do it yesterday, you must remember to reward her and sayang her for doing it right. positive reinforcement will work better for doggies.... good luck!

hahaha... Binbin

I too mad to praise her for shitting in the rite place at that time leh.. hehehe... but she super ON abt me asking her drink water wan leh... tats the best i trained so far! so proud still! :P

binbin

oh i did spank her butt while forcing her head to her poopoo and kept saying NONONONO!! :P correct rite? But she didnt seems to be sad wan leh...:P

mag...

ya.. have been sick for abt a month oredi... getting better after went to see doc.. hehee... my doggie oso sick just went to see doc oso.. aiyo!!! $120 ah!!! mine only $32.. ahhahahhaa....

it really takes a lot of patience to toilet train them.. hahaha.. but aft tat, u can enjoy life.. ahhhaa..

as for the food part, my mum will pour onto her bowl and she will ration the food herself lor. sometimes she can finish in one go and other times she can take 2 to 3 small meals.. but we don like her buffet style.. cos dono whether the food will lao hong or not.. hehehehe. but bo bian.. she is used to it liao... and btw, she's a home dog too!! nv goes out but she can stay very slim cos she exercises at home with her ball ball... its torture to us leh!!!

MiniBeanie..

Acutally its a anniversay gift from my hubby lor... he wanted dog also lor... so we agree to go see see look look first... then decided to get Mango

Crayon,

All my friends came to see her over the weekend, said she is under nourish leh.... i better feed her more of the dry food :P

Shane,

Mango has more or less know tat she needs to go back to her area to poopoo and urine already! she will run back to the kitchen and do business on the papers sticking out of the fencing lor! SO CUTE!!!

btu there were 2 occasions that she urine just beside my hubby's magazine and on my
doorstep carpet

hi mag, hehhe she prob mistook the mag and carpet for newspapers..
wah, she sounds smart, learn fast. for us, Prince is still staying at MIL place, so we gotta retrain him again when we move over to our new place. coz now his playpen is lined with newspapers, so dunno whether he knows how to aim or just luck. we asked his mum to reduce the newspaper space but she dun wan. and anyway we are not owners of the hse so we cant say much. next time will have more time to train at our own plc.

undernourish ah? how much u feeding her? did u feel her ribs, are they too prominent or just right with the correct layer of fats?

Hi Binbin!

my frds say shldnt feel so much of her ribs lor...not much fats actually :P onli Do Ren Mi Fa So leh.... :P and they say she very small lor...

Will feed her more dry food and yesterday my frd bought her 'dog chocolates' used it to train Mango how to sit. Now she noes liao!!! SO Happy!!

34835.jpg

hih! hehhee do re mee fa so ah? can even count?!!
aiyah she is a puppy what of course small size lah. there's dog chocolates? hhhmmm....read that normal chocolates are sometimes lethal to doggies. so no wonder they invented dog chocolates.. :P

EEErrr......hi magdalene. I am quite against breeding by ppl like us. we do not know enough about the dogs' breed, temperament, detailed health, and hereditary diseases. it is a disservice to the breed if we anyhow breed. though a dog may appear okie to us, that is no reason to encourage breeding just because they appear okie to the amateurs like us. it may kill the breed in the long run if things go wrong. another reason to discourage you from this is giving birth may make ur mango age faster. if u do not know the advanced and complicated nutritional care needed for pregnant and lactating mother dogs, it will put her health, as well as the puppies health, at risk.

sorry if i sound a bit harsh.
but i am very concerned about this phenomenan. a lot of ppl are anyhow "breeding" their dogs, not knowing enough about it. for me, even though mine is a male Sheltie, i will never think of breeding him coz i can never be sure if he has something inside him he will pass on to his younsters. and i am not 100% sure he is PURE sheltie with a long line of pure sheltie ancestors, so i do not wish to "pollute" the breed if u know what i mean... :P hehhee....sorry i beri loh soh.... pls be careful about this.

Morning Bin Bin,

Yeah i understand wat u mean, i also dun think i wana put her into this lor.. all the while we wanted to have her sterilise lor.
and i heard tat she can actually be more healthy!

Hey Mango really noe wher to go for her business liao! last nite she again went back to her area sniffing the papers away and 'did' it there!

And when she's thirsty, she would run back to her bottle in the kitchen for water! She is more at ease in my house already lor. Can actually sleep until we wake up at 7am without her waking us up first!

hi mag, thats good thats good.
me looking forward to the day that we can be sure Prince is also like that hahhahaha.....

34879.jpg

Binbin

Prince moving to yr lovenest soon? since he has actually mastered to do business on the papers, its onli the matter of which home rite?
not to worry, he will learn
and even if Mango noe wat to do rite now, i also wont leave her out of her fencing unsupervise lor
Have to be PATIENCE!!!! :D Lets Support each other till the end!!

hi mag, hehehhee u are not the first one to mistook him for a collie. he is NOT a collie, he's a shetland sheepdog..... some ppl call shelties a miniature collie, coz shelties are medium breed (not giant breed). but it's not right either. shelties supposed to have shorter snout than collies, and their body frame proportion is not the same too.

Binbin,

Oh isit... hehe... looks like leslie(the dog in the movie)
actually smaller size better also hor...
too big cant carry also, ma fan..

34892.jpg
34893.jpg

Hi all! Would like to introduce you all to Per Per, my 1 yr plus Shih Tzu. She's a very clever girl and has managed to learn a few tricks that has successfully endeared many of my friends.

But one prob I have with her is her diet. She's such a fussy eater! She has rejected dry food long long ago, and we started mixing wet with dry. Now, she oso don't want to take. Will sniff sniff and walk away. She'll rather starve, for a day or two, then eat a little bit. In between, she'll vomit yellow fluid. Very headache and very heartache too....

Is it juz Per Per of do other shih tzus have this problem?

Missuskoh: Hi .. it could be your dog is sick of the food therefore, she don't want to eat ... as my dog also sometime behaves in this manner .. she will use the newspapers to cover the food ... & later walk away ... Will give her some biscuits to eat since she don't want her food ...

For the yellow fluid, it is actually cause by gastric ...

Maybe try to change the dog food, give her something that is new taste for her ... she might just love it ...

Give it a try ... !

Cheers ...

yup cocoa is a chihuahua and a very noti one at that ! hee hee, but that's wat make him very adorable.

mag,
so mango is trained already ? that's gd news !

binbin,
when will u be moving to ur new place ? must quickly train prince while he is young hee hee...

Missuskoh

heehee, yr dog sounds like me leh.... vomit yellow liquid... :P mine is due to gastric prob. lor maybe yr dog also. Maybe shld see vet for some gastic comforting medicine. :P

Shane,

Yeah Mango is going back to her papers as toilet already! Hopefully she doesnt 4get once a while :D

Hi Sihui!
I'm using the commercial wet food. Everyday give her different flavour. She was very happy eating the new diet, then you can see her slowly getting less enthusiastic, but still eating, then eating lesser and lesser, to the extent that she only moves to her bowl when she's really hungry.
And I'm sure she's not sick, coz she's very enthusiastic when it comes to pet titbits, anything that is not her staple food.
I'm prepared to give her only wet food, but I'm juz worried she will get sian again, then wat else can I give her?? Cooked food?

hi shane, yah loh, we are eagerly waiting for the day when we can move Prince in. house shld be ready next mth. FH will be moving in with him first to train him. Prince is 9 mths now, so wanna do it before he is one yr old.

mag, hahahhahaha......yes he is medium breed, BUT HE is too heavy for me to carry more than 10 mins now!!! he is more than 10kg now...hehhehee....... and i think u meant Lassie, not leslie right? u know, my FH quite irritated whenever we bring Prince out and ppl keep commenting " soo cute, Lassie Lassie......." or "it's a Collie"... :P there was once someone said "It's a sheepdog". then my FH beri happy hehehhehehehhee........

missuskoh, perhaps ur per per oredi knows u will give her diff or better food if she rejects her food for some time. that sounds like a bad habit... but then, u said she can dun eat for 2 days ah? sounds serious leh. did u bring her for checkup? could it be she has no appetite whcih may be symthoms of something else? better check to be safe loh..

hi missuskoh, just saw ur last posting after i post mine. i read that doggies will learn that there is more good food coming if they only bear with their hunger for a while. for ur case, perhps coz u mix too much food, and keep giving her diff flavours everyday, she may learn that there is something different the next day, and begin to anticipate it. so she eat less of what u give her today. you may have to kick her of this habit leh. try giving her the same brand same flavour every day, so that she come to recognise it as her only food. she shld guai guai eat loh..... she dun have diarrheo right?

Hm... BinBin, Doc says she's ok, juz a bit on the thin side, can eat more.
You are saying that I should give her only one flavour, make her realize it by letting her starve until she cannot take it?

hi missuskoh, no lah, not let her starve. me just saying that maybe shld try to give her the same food. since ur doc said she's okie, just undernourished, did he also say whether she got poor appetite? coz if her appetite is okie, i suppose its coz she knows she can get diff food liao loh. so instead of giving her diff food, just give her the same one everyday and try? i have no intention of saying let her starve lah aiyoh......heartache one leh....

Hey everybody! check this out!

the clubpets anniversary party
bishan park II, 15 & 16 Nov 2003, 10 am to 8pm

Please read this email carefully, because it contains details for the
events, contests, and competitions for our Anniversary Party on the 15th and
16th! First things first, to avoid further confusion, the Anniversary Party
is open to everyone, you can bring your friends, family, pets, and whoever
else you see along the way that you think would be interested in our show.

Party Goody Bag
The only reason why you register is so that you will be eligible for the $50
exclusive CLUBPETS goody bag, redeemable on the event proper. So for those
who are interested in the goody bag but have not done so, please do it ASAP,
with your full name, address, contact numbers, type & name of pet/pets and
send it to [email protected] or simply reply to this email.

Party Booklet
Plus, all those who have signed up for the party or are existing subscribers
will receive a Party Booklet in the mail prior to the event. The Party
Booklet will contain the serial numbers you will need to use to redeem the
Party Goody Bag and to participate in the CLUBPETS Grand Lucky Draw, with 50
prizes to be given away on both days (draw time for the top 10 prizes is 7pm
on both days) worth a total of $2000, in cash and prizes!

Party Bus
In addition, look out for the Royal Canin Party Bus that will be plying
between Bishan MRT and Bishan Park II, every hour from the hour, between 12
to 3 pm. Pets are allowed on the buses, but do remember to clean up after
your own pets if they make a mess, in consideration of others travelling on
the bus.

Party Events, Competitions and More!
For more updates, and a full listing of what¹s going on, check out
www.clubpetsonline.com now! The Perfect Pets Perfect¹genic Pet & Owner
Search and the CLUBPETS Cover Model Search 2004 require pre-registration, so
if you and Fluffy or Rover have what it takes, sign up now and stand a
chance to win over $600 worth of cash and prizes!

The Party Orange!
P.S Please also forward this email to whoever you think might be interested
too! Thanks!

This is NOT an unsolicited email. You are receiving this email because you
have previously indicated interest in CLUBPETS Email Updates. However, we
respect your privacy. If you wish to opt out from our mailing list, please
send a reply with the subject "REMOVE FROM MAILING LIST". We will
remove
your email address from our list.

CLUBPETS ?Your Lifestyle Pet Magazine
http://www.clubpetsonline.com

Wat I mean is, she won't eat even though I give her everyday. So it's equal to letting her starve until she learns she's not getting other flavour and decides to eat.

Doc says some dogs are fussy eaters, so we juz hv to try to make her eat. Even cook chicken breast if need to. But like I said, I'm concerned she'll get sick of it too...

hi missuskoh, sigh....can understand ur headache...... do u have frens with shitzus? perhaps can ask them what their doggies tend to prefer?

Binbin & missuskoh

I read from books saying if change yr dog's diet can make them 'lau sai'? does it onli applies to usual eaters than fussy eaters?

missuskoh,
not trying to be mean but the way to handle a fussy eater would be to be firm. give her the same food everyday, if she doesn't eat by like 20 mins take the food away. she'll start to eat once she get too hungry and have no choice. and con't doing that till she knows that'll be her food. no bargain.

if you con't to let her have her way, u'll only end up trying to accomodate her all the way. wat if one day u can't think of anymore food to give her ? rem u're her owner not the other way round.
rem to love ur dogs but not spoil them. this way both owner and dogs will have a gd rs for a long time.

dogs are like babies, u need to train them and let them know who's incharge.

Shane

U are quite right in yr way
tats wat my frd told me also if mango doesnt want to eat.. and dun give her other food example biscuits, or she will thought tat dun wan dry food can have biscuits! hehehe

Hi mag,
Wow! Your hubby so good! Get mango for you as your anniversary gift...
My anniversary just passed, but my hubby also never get anything for me...
Btw, your mango is so cute! I would like to show you one of my dog... her name is Yoyo...
your_image.gif

Hi mag,
Yup, one of them is staying with me now... the other one is staying with my hubby's sister... but I am really worry once baby is born, don't know what to do with my dog... scare my mum or IL or other relatives will tell me not to keep dog leh...