For All dog lovers

mag,
Guess maybe the first few months just let her sleep outside lor... but not confine her only in the kitchen... let her roam about the house... We are also worry about her fur... think no good if baby get in contact with the fur right?

minibeanie

good idea too! roam abt the house lor
ppl say the fur not good for the nose lor :p better be safe than sorry

mag,
Guess can only do that for the time being when baby is back home lor... but after cutting short hair, she don't drop fur anymore...

Another thing to concern is whenever she hear outside got ppl, she will bark, then worry that she might scare the baby... like my friend's dog, the baby was sleeping soundly on the sofa, then suddenly the pizza man press on the doorbell and their dog was barking away and this make the baby cried the whole nite leh...

minibeanie

no choice liao lor, yr doggie's this habit very hard to change leh... or bring her to a trainer to train her up? how abt that?

minibeanie

Den just try not to close yr main door when dog and baby is in the living room lor.. so that dog wont bark at mystery guest behind the door
or always put sleeping baby in yr room

mag,
She hah, even when the door is open, then got ppl pass by or friends came by, she will also bark one... we even ask our friends not to press on the doorbell, cos she really don't like doorbell lor, but once she know there are ppl outside, she still barks leh... don't know what to do with her.. and her barks are so fierce!

Hi mag,
Don't know leh.. but I don't think so lor... sometimes me and hubby have an arguement, she will hide herself one... don't know why? maybe sad that we are arguing lor... so cute hor?

minibeanie

hide? maybe she is afraid tat u2 will throw her out of the windows hahahahaha :D

tat day mango heard my TV playing lord of the ring's music.. she keep backing her steps leh.. i think she's scared of the drums noise... i will feel scared also not to mention her. :P

mag,
don't you know timid dog bark the louder? Only those quiet dog are the real fierce one.. hehehe...

Okie, will add you in my msn list...

HI HI all need some advice, I'm in a delimma if I should or not Dock the puppies tail. While it's a breed standard for Cockers to dock(amputate part of) their tails, it's not a necessity. They do have beautiful tassle like tails. And decision to Dock has to be made by tomorrow. In US docking is not encouraged, as it's seen for sole cosmetic purpose. But in Singapore I am not sure how they will be accepted if their tails are not docked. Please advice.
Basically if their new owners want to groom them into a show dog their tails have to be docked and it's less painful when done at 3-4 days old but if they were to do it any older it would be considered a surgery. And will be more painful for them. ........ Super fan by this now. Advice please. Thanks thanks!!!

Hi Minibean,
Why dogs behave like that is cos they think it's their "Job" Dogs are motivated by their jobs and they naturally think that by watching the house is their job. To them they are not trained to judge who is good and who is bad but they do associate door bell to intruders so they will try to scare away the intruder by barking. Some times their bark also means greeting. U have to learn to differentiate their barking tone. Mine has different barking tone to different ppl under different circumstance. Maybe u want to sound proof ur babie's room? But put a "walkie talkie" inside so u can still hear what's happening inside.

monica,
i like dogs with long furry tails leh. don't dock the tail can ? hee hee ...

i think it also depends on who u selling the dogs to. if really geninue dog lovers, i'm sure they don't mind not tail docking. anyway US already strongly discourage it, maybe next time it will become a std ?

Hi Monica,
I know it is their job to protect the house from strangers. I also know how to differentiate their barking tone. But the problem is, I can't always leave my bb in the room too right? When I am in the living room, I will sure bring bb in the living room and look after him there... What if suddenly my dog barks? It will sure frighten the bb... & sometimes my dogs can barks non-stop until she is sure the person outside is gone or she has settle down with my guests in my house...

beanie,
can tell her a firm no, if still con't bark, use ur hands to clasp her muzzle and make her stop then tell her no firmly again. repeat this till she gets it - no barking.

mag,
Yup, will whack her when she bark, but not too hard lor... but she still continue to barks leh... Nowaday, dont know what happened to her? Always pass urine outside the toilet... was so angry that I let her sleep in the kitchen the whole of last nite... and she was crying the whole nite until morning leh... haiz...

shane,
We had been telling her so many times already, a very firm no, use hands to clasp her muzzle, everything... but she still barks... until she is satified... but luckily she don't barks for nothing... she only barks when there are ppl outside the house or friends came... normally she just sleep...

minibeanie

Cannot be soft hearted gal.... have to be firm on yr decision.... maciam like toilet training mah she will learn and get use to it sooner or later
endure....

mag,
All along she know how to go toilet herself one... don't know why recently she is so lazy to go into the toilet... I think she purposely one... cos when we went to the kitchen and saw the urine there, she has long out of sight from us... if she did not pass urine outside, she will follow us happily to the kitchen... really cannot stand her... hopefully after last nite in the kitchen, she will not do it again.. after last nite, she go toilet to do her business again... noti girl... hor?

minibeanie

she trying to protest ah.... make u pay for letting her sleep out of the room ah!! hahahaha... but lucky not in the living room mah!

mag,
She dont dare to pee in the living room one... only toilet or outside the toilet... u know got one time, in the middle of the night, I wake up to go toilet, in my bedroom, she also follow me and went in the shower area to pee leh... I was so surprised! cos, one, we don't allow her to use our toilet, two, she know where to pee leh... meaning not in the bedroom or the dry area of our toilet... make me want to laugh too...

wow... tat means she very 'human' liao, better show more care to her b4 the baby comes.. if not she will feel left out and become very sad

mag,
She is not trying to protest lah.. everytimes she pee outside the toilet, we just tie her in the kitchen for awhile, then when it is time to sleep, we will ask her go to the bedroom and sleep, then for two days she will remember where to pee.. after that, forget liao... but yesterday, I really cannot stand it liao... I just leave her in the kitchen the whole nite to sleep and don't bother about her, guess she realised that she is in the wrong, that is why she go toilet to pee again... hopefully she will not forget where to pee again...

Why is CC promoting their shop at lau pa sat?? Quite funny leh..

mag,
yalor, sometimes she will do things that you will not expect one... last time, we used to keep her in the kitchen when we went out, and you know what she did? She will go to the toilet and close the toilet bowl cover down! At first, we did not realise, but everytimes, when we came back home and went to the toilet to clear her poo poo and urine, we noticed that the cover is always close... then we try, we open the cover, keep her in the kitchen and went out for awhile, came back and realise the cover close again.. I think she close the cover and jump up there to play or sit down there... cos we saw her footprints there too as the floor is wet...

wah.... can be super star dog liao leh... hehehhe, bring her to TCS lah... :D my Mango still not tall enough to reach the cover seat :P

hi shane, yes i know what u mean about barking dogs. but thing is, Prince dun bark at strangers outside. when we go out for walks, he is quite guai, when ppl approach, he usually wun bark at them. if they wanna touch him, he will let them. but he wun respond loh. he only barks at strangers who enter his territory - the house.

mag, minbeanie, who is CC huh? *scratch head*.

minibeanie, ur doggie sounds SOO CUTE LEH!!! when u said he will stare at the main door, at the sofa, out of the window when u ask him where is "baby". and how he quietly look at the sleeping baby on the sofa, and how he wake up when u did and go and pee...hehhehee...so cute!!!!

mag,
Super dog hor? Your Mango still a puppy lah... how to reach the toilet bowl?

Hi Binbin,
Yalor, she is so cute that sometimes she will do things that we never expect too... that is why we love her so much... she also like to look out of the window, don't know looking for what also... hehehe...

minibeanie

yesterday when my hubby bring her to the sofa sit on his lap, she jump from his lap to the floor leh... so scary! and i found tat my low designed coffee table is a health hazard to her leh... she keep knocking herself on it accidently! :P

mag,
My dog also like to jump up and down... I suggest you or your hubby don't bring her to the sofa to sit, since she is still young and might has weak legs now... it is very dangerous if she knock against the coffee table leh... mine coffee table also very low, but my dog knows how to judge now, so no problem lor... better be careful...

Mag,
Yalor, now you must protect her like a baby, I still protect mine like a baby too... I always tell her that she behave like a baby one...
Now your dog still very fragile... how many months already?

Five more mins! i'll be out of here!!! Today going back to my mum's place makan, the first time since i bought Mango 3 weeks ago!! Miss her Cooking!!!

I also know very cruel, but last time I did not dock the pups tail some thing terrible happen. One family came to buy the puppy, I usually screen them and am very careful when selling them. I sold to this family who seem to be able to accept the dog's tail perfectly well. Later I realise that they had gone home and tied a rubber band to the pups tail until it fell off. It's so cruel!!!! And they kept assuring me that it's not painful for the dog. How can it be not painful. Tie a rubber band round your finger see can tahan for even 5 mins a not. I'm afraid such incident happen. But this batch's birth was not easy. If i dock their tails the mum will be very worried and unhappy but if i dock it now the pain is not as bad as when they are docked when older. The decision has to be made by tomorrow.

Mini,
I think ur dog trying to get your attention. There is something it is not happy about, it's food/number of times brought downstairs or lack of attention. Dog can't talk so they do all this things to get our attention. My dog does the peeing thing to me when I don't bring them out enough , give them enough attention or when they are bored with their food. It's like I have to work hard to please them so that they don't make me work too hard to clean the house.
If you dog cannot stop barking then hoh bo pian leow must let your baby get use to the bark. U must get them acquainted, don't let the dog feel that now that you have the baby u don't need him leow. He will protest one. Must sayang them both. And when baby get older must make it known that baby is Alpha "dog" As long as the dog lie on his back with legs in air infront of u means he treats you like an Alpha dog.

Hi all, Anyone wish to buy a 2 yr old maltese/shitzhu, active, toilet-trained, male? my friend's friend wish to give it away/sell. anyone interested?

Hi Monica,
Izzit really trying to get my attention? But we give her lots of attention already leh... don't know why she still behave like that...

Really worry once baby is here, will be too busy taking care of baby and neglect her leh... My dog always do that (lie on her back with legs in air infront of me) so that means she treats me like an Alpha dog hah?