For All dog lovers

pegsfur hehe coalie so cute.. frosty will put his paw in my hand when i say 'shake hand'.. i think shake hand is quite easy to teach
but sometimes he's so insincere cos he'll put his paw in my hand while looking at my other hand which is holding the tidbit :P

soupie,
yr dog shake hand tactic same as mine..haha..sometimes i will take the tidbits purposely ask him to sit one corner and stay put while i go to another corner.not till i ask him to cm, he must stay put. once i purposely drag for ard 1 min, then the dog getting frustrated liao, cldn't stay put instead he lie down on the floor indicating he doesn't wan the tidbit anymore. more like saying ' wats so great abt the tidbit?'

abt dog toilet training..when i was training my honey to do it on the newspaper, i bought this spray with v.strong smell thingy.. i have to spray on the newspaper, get honey to smell it, then tell him to pee/poo then lock him up with the papers.. after few days/mth he really got it rite.. think the spray was really fantastic !! maybe u gals can try it..

pegsfur,
agree totally. patience. actually it's ez to teach coco tricks. but paper trg is tough for him man. sigh.

anyway quite proven he recognise paper and pen together. sigh. so far no accident. now racking my brains to see, how i can slowly remove the pen.

totto,
i tried the spray thingy before. it works lah, but i threw away cos too smelly. my was bottle form. now i'm using his own pee. works equally well.

re tricks :

pegsfur,
u must reinforce the paw command till she gets it totally. how i trained coco to shake hand/paw is clench my fist with treat inside. when his paw touches my hand then i open my hand and he gets the treat. when that happens, i'll say shake hand. must do many times, then they'll get it. now he knows it so well, i say shake hand, he'll raise his paw. hee hee v cute. now i'm trying to teach him to raise his paw in mid air and wait till i give him the treat hee hee... but v hard. he always raise then put down.

actually i got no complains abt coco except for his paper trg. he's quite obedient (tho v active !) and starting to understand me well. that nite, i told him to stay outside the toilet while i took my bath. and he stayed there and waited for me ! so happy. rewarded him with a treat.

hi shane, wow ur coco sounds so good with the shake hand and stay command.
he must look so cute staying outside the toilet!!! i dun think prince is at that stage yet.. :P

hey, u mentioned he could associate pen with pee/poo. so i had a funny idea which i am not sure if it'll work. ur play pen comes with 4 or 6 pieces right? perhaps he really tot the pen is his territory. so could u like put a piece of the pen beside the newspapers, but let him have the whole kitchen....if he really sees the pen as his place, he shld do it at the newspapers cos he can smell the pen there. then after a while if he does it right, just remove the pen, see how he fares? i neber tried this before, but maybe u can let us know how it is?

for Prince, we have not brought him to our house yet. and my FIL dun like him to run around the house. so now he is cooped up in his playpen, which has the papers....he has no choice but to pee there....so i dun think he is fully trained. last time i said we let him play and run around, and hoping that he will go back papers when he feels the urge. but now can't try liao coz FIL got beri angry with the sticky floor left behind by prince's saliva and mucus....so gotta keep it up...
cant wait to bring him to our own house... :P

hey guys,
any of your lovies got tear problems? my white maltese and poodle seem to be tearing a lot. esp my poodlie-doo who gave birth few months back. Its gone from bad to worst. I've bought those bottles of tear cleaner, but doesnt seem to help, and well, once in a while cut off the fur from the eyes so tht the stained fur are rid off. But it still doesnt look good, although I clean them. Sigh, looks like after poodle xena gave birth, her face is not as cute as last time....

jennifer,

My coalie has this problem too .... I oso dunno what to do ... only thing is to clean it everyday lor ... but I heard it has to do with the doggie's diet too, though I can't remember what is the exact thing that can cause the stain. Anyone has any idea?

shane,

Hey, Coalie can do the 'paw' already! I'm so happy
Actually my sis is the one who trained her. Hiaz ... I try to teach coalie for weeks already but she still can't get it. When my sis teach her, she got it in 10 mins. Very cute leh ... to see her raising her paw

hi binbin,
hee hee yes he was quite cute outside the toilet cos he want to eplore but can't ha ha ...
he's quite familiar with the basic commands already but sometimes he's stubborn, so got to repeat many times before he does it.

i'm doing wat u described. Now he has the whole kitchen with papers there and 2 pcs of playpen placed on it. so far, he's been peeing and pooing there. still have accidents but much reduced. one day i'm gg to remove the pen and c how he fares. but has to be a day i'm home so that i can rectify his behavior.

oh dear, so prince can't roam ard now ? hope u can quickly bring him to ur place. when he goes to ur place, u can train him. just hang in there. toilet/paper trg is really tough but as long as u got time, he'll get it really fast. u just need to keep ur eyes on him every min.

Jennifer,
Female dogs r like that, once they give birth, everything changes, even their character. Cos they become mothers already, body change, temperment also change. tt is y normally pple give away their female dogs after they give birth (i hope u don't do that). so best is not to breed actually. u keeping all the puppies or sellng ?

pegsfur,
ha ha, clever coalie ! they are very cute when they can do tricks. i always make coco do his tricks before giving him anything, like toys, his kong, food, treats, etc. this can reinforce it in them. nowadays, he'll sit and wait till i say ok then eat his meals hee hee ....

Shane,

Same here ... sometimes Coalie will raise her paw when you said 'down' cos she expect u to say 'paw', so she quickly raised her paw the moment i said something .... this girl ah .... never concentrate one ... only concentrate on the treats

I noticed 1 of Coalie's adult teeth has grown when the milk teeth has not dropped yet. So now there are 2 teeth at the same place leh ... how ah? Will the milk teeth drop by itself?

hi shane! wow, beri glad it's working to some extent. hope the results will make u happy when u slowly remove the playpen pieces...

for me, yes feel beri siam tia that he can't run around loh. last night brought him to friend's house, the wife commented his legs looks a bit skinny....so she suspect he dun run around much. i panic liao!!! so i told my FH confirmed we MUST bring him out of his present house, and go to our house once complete...or else his development years will not repeat itself!

pegsfur...milk teeth shld drop out by itself. wanna try buying nylon rope bones for him? it helps him flush his teeth and also help his milk teeth to be dislodged and prob comes out into the bone....

hey girls, we brought Prince to fishermans' village last night...beri fun leh...many ppl will take a look at him. when we were eating at the makan place, he sat on the seat. a little girl and her mummy came over and pat pat him. the mummy said he beri well-behaved hehehehehe....we were so proud! hehehhehee...

then after tat brought him to FH's colleague's place to play with their maltese! WOW! so candid and hilarious looking at them play!! hahahhaa...initially the maltese was shy of Prince, coz Prince bigger mah. but Prince also shy shy coz he seldom mix with doggies. after a while the maltese familiar liao, KEEP on chasing Prince around the room! hhahahahhaa...and Prince like beri bothered keep avoiding him...hehehhe....then at the end, Prince got warmed up liao, so he started playing and playing and playing. at the end the maltese declared surrender, and either scoot off to his cage or hide under the coffee table which Prince can't reach hehehehehehhehehhe!!! so farnie leh! u shld have seen it! we got videotaped it down hahahhahahhaa.....

pegsfur,
we face the same prob. now coco is so familiar with his command that when he wants something, he'll just go thru' the motion w/o we telling him too ! sigh. so we wun treat him when he does that. we only give him the treat when he does when he's instructed to. hee hee

milk teeth should drop out by themselves. but i do read that there are cases where they don't and must bring to vet to take out if not e teeth wun grow nicely. for the moment maybe u can monitor first. buy her those teething bones to bite so that e teeth will come loose by itself. if all these don't work, then better bring to vet.

coco's teeth have been dropping off hee hee, so far saw 3 drop. but didn't keep in the end cos very tiny. there was once, the teeth was hanging halfway, i tried to pull it out but he refused. so we play tug of war with him with the bone and it came off, but i think he ate his teeth cos it didn't drop on the floor ! hee hee ...

binbin,
u must try to socialise prince if not when he grows up, he will be afraid of dogs and other humans. its gd to bring him out once a week or so, to let him see the outside world and come into contact with other dogs and humans.

very fun to see dogs play rite ? they are so cute. i have a few friends who own dogs too so we meet up once in awhile to let our dogs play. they look so free when they chase one another ard the park.

we should organise one among ourselves soon ya

I own two Cocker Spaniels and they are both female. One is 1yr 8mth n the other is at 2mths. Still in the puppy stage but very naughty.

First time uploading the pictures so hope it will be successful. Only had the pictures of my eldest. The younger will upload soon. :D

31974.jpg

Hi Pegsfur,

Tks for the compliment.

Her name is KiKi. She's very vain n like to take photo. Whenever she saw me using the camera aiming at her, she will look at me n 'say cheese'
She's a very naughty n mischievous girl...

Recent photo taken
32028.jpg

Hi Monica,

Exciting huh..u will be having puppies soon.....Wats' the name of ur two puppies. My elder girl as u can see from the picture is called Kiki whereas the younger is called Bibi...

Hi Shane, perhaps Coco can smell remmants of urine in the non-pee-approved areas... dogs have VERY keen sense of smell, need to really remove all traces- try mixing bleach or some strong detergent to clean those areas and then rinse with water.

My cousins' dogs are never toilet trained cos their terrazzo floor has so many marks even toilet-trained pups become untrained with time.

Hi Des,
Yah, Tiddy is going to give birth this 2 weeks. I'm sooo excited!!! Her tummy is getting quite big now. She's just so TEH now. U know huh she is so picky. I give her a bowl of milk everyday, I put in 4 big spoons of milk powder into 1/2 a bowl of milk. Few days ago I put in 3 big spoons instead she licked it once and gave me this black face then walk away refuse to drink it. (Too diluted) See lah this stupid dog so darn spoilt. Buay tahan.

Crayon,

Thanks for the info! Actually i havent realli source for the dog yet... any idea wat will be the price range for one?

price ah?? errr... not so sure abt tat though... most prob 1000 odd ba... i am oso getting a dog.. but only after my wedding and actual move in to our hse.. but will be adopting one from SPCA...

Crayon

I heard that SPCA had a showroom going on at Bugis Junction last weekend.. they displayed dogs for adoption there too.. but duno today still have bo
did you go see?

hey everybody,

i just bought a maltese last weekend.. changed my mind on king charles... too exp liao :P

Can anyone tell me if after a female dog go vet 'yen' after tat will she still have menses?

wah... mag, u are very fast huh... ahhaa.. so now u are goin to be very bz picking up poo poo and wiping wee wee... ehehheheee....

my doggie nv go yen ... now still having menses but not "heavy flow" anymore.... still manageable...

hi mag, so hows ur new doggie?? maltese is a very cute dog.. how do u take care of it when both of u are working? i will be adopting one from SPCA after my customary.. but scared it will be bored.. cos when my current doggie was young, it was always alone at home in the day.. hehheh.. but we made up to her with toys and food and spoilt her..

crayon

I am realli at a lost of how to toilet train her man! she is not so loud and long winded in the nite time liao, but she just doesnt go to the rite place to 'do business'! :'(

34121.jpg

crayon,

Currently my hubby is doing nite shift, so he will be at home sleep in the morning and afternoon. so nite time i will go back and take over.

I am back again. Sorry for mIA so long.

Magdalene, your dog look cute!

Got a question need to check with u. Anyone know how can we bring our pet to JB? Need to apply permit?

mag,
aiyoooooo.. ur doggie sooooooo cute...... hahaha.. don worry la.. it takes time... give her at least 6mths la... cos i think mine took around the same time to be toilet trained oso... gotta be patient lor... and it'll get worse when she starts teething.. ahahhaha.. beware of ur furniture.....

crayon...

thanks...

6mths so long ah.... i very shag liao leh.... shld have had the dog be4 my wedding, sure slim down wan... :S

She now already starting to bit my floor rug and toy liao issit teething huh??

how do u train yr dog?? PLS SHARE PLS.....

Crayon

i read the above posting from yaya, she was toking abt the spray tat can attract pets to pee and poo, just spray on the newspaper, have u tried be4? maybe i wana try.... But duno which brand leh...

mag,
hahahaha.. tats quite true... quite tiring.. esp the bathing part... i have no special techniques lor.. just be stern for the first few months until she is trained... but i train her and my mum spoils her.. so when i scold her, its pointless, she'll run to my mum and hide.. ahahahah... so the moral is, both must be firm.. hahaha.. like parents lor...

and i din use the spray.. i used the one that u spread on the floor.. it works the same way as the spray lor.. but it doesnt always get attracted to it.. slowly then i added in newspapers and fold it smaller and smaller lor..

Crayon

I am currently using the spread on the floor wan lor, but can onli attract her to urine leh....

could it be tat she dun like to do both business at the same spot huh?

wah, don't know this thread is alive again. gd, keep up the gd work.

there's a doggie event tomorrow at marina promenade as well. titled Furkid food Fest.

crayon,
glad to hear u're adopting from SPCA. tt is so kind of you. there're many dogs waiting for a gd home

would urge those who are thinking of getting a dog to adopt one if possible.

Shane

So hows yr housebreaking prob with yr doggie? have u successed?
I've got some advice from www.pawprints.com.sg and here it is:
Fencing has been proven to be effective when training dogs to housebreak.
Just make sure that the floor is covered with newspaper (the area fenced) and
remove piece by piece to shrink the area covered. U will come to a stage
whereby the area to be covered is determined by how many times mango misses
the "covered" area when peeing. As long as she hits the newspaper (when area
covered is relatively smaller) about 70% of the time, you can safely make the
area covered smaller. It takes patience

Hope that this will help u too

mag,
for toilet traiing. it really need time and patience. would help if u could take a day or 2 off from work and stay at home to teach her. normally puppies learn really fast. i had probs with my dog till i spend 2 days at home with him and after that he was quite accurate already.

u can bring her to the papers after her meals and playtime. leave her there till she pee and poo. would be gd if u have a cage where u can line with papers, if not then use the fences of a playpen to create a small area. for me i prefer play pen, cos if use cage, she might recognise the cage later. the whole area fenced up should be covered with papers. give her a area only big enuf to turn ard. not too much space. leave her there till she do her business, try to stay close to watch her, once she pee/poo, praise her like mad and treat her. after that release her to play.

puppies pee and poo more often, so after 1 or 2 hrs, bring her back again to the fenced up papered area and keep her in. see if she will pee or not. if after 15 mins nothing, let her out again. and repeat think till she pee and praise her again. do this continously till u see the result of when u put her in the paper area, she will pee quickly. this shows that she knows she need to pee to get out. keep this up for 1, 2 days, she should get the idea.

however, after that, u will still need to constantly reinforce her behaviour by praising and treating her whever she pee/poo correctly. and since she still is a puppy, u will also need to watch her when she is playing away from her paper area, she might forget to go back. and u'll need to correct the behaviour quickly by telling her a loud no, and bring her to the papers quickly.

need to devote time and patience but once u invest this period of time, the cleaning up lessens.

To all Kind hearted souls in Seng Kang ...

Our Male Shih Tzu GIN GIN is missing from Seng Kang, Rivervale Cresent BLK 183C on 17th OCtober 2004,Friday ......Please help to see if you have any light brown doggie roaming near Seng Kang...

Dog is named GIn GIN...will respond by name...He is small in build and is light brown in colour...Age is 10 yrs old, he need medication as he is currently having ear infection...His eyes also have catarat..and partially blind... Gin GIn is very afraid of Thunder and Lightning...

Family is very worried sick...please help ...
to contact Joseph at 91258016 LIly 97366140 or colin at 90090407 ASAP

Please help to circulate to friends who are staying in seng Kang....

NAs

34382.jpg

hi mag,
guessed my post came too late. u have already found the information

cocoa has been successfully paper trained already. but his accuracy is only abt 90% cos he forgets to go back to the kitchen when he's playing in the hall, so i have to leave papers ard, so that he has quick access to papers when he wants to pee/poo.

natash,
so sad to hear abt ur dog. i don't live in SK. will help you pass the msg ard to my friends living in SK.

hope u find GinGin soon.

Shane

Thanks...I am so lost le...Couldnt sleep the whole night ...wondering what could have happen to my doggie....

Please help forward to your friends, any circulation is deeply appreciated!@!