For All dog lovers

hi doreamon, gotta teach them the sit and stay command before taking pics... but we have to take quite a few before we can get a good shot of him hehehe.. cos his head will turn here and there :P

which type of booties u bought.. the cloth type or the rubbery type with a fixed shape? it's easier to start with the cloth type before u 'upgrade' to the rubber type cos they dun feel so restricted.

hi soupie...hehhehe.... like the idea of licking ears hehehhee.....

for us, Prince has this little cute movement using his front paws.... he likes to pounce on something on the floor, then use his 2 paws to scratch the floor, his left paw over the right, then his right paw over the left....dunno whether u know what i mean. he look really cute, esp with his tail wagging in the air and him smiling. so whenever he do that, we will say "attack".....trying to make him associate "attacK' with that action hehehehe...always makes us laugh....coz it looks more funny then menancing.... ;)

doremon, we always scold him and say "No" when he bites. and will clamp his jwas shut and hold it shut, and start at him in the eyes when saying "No.". he knows he's wrong....but being playful he will do that again.

yep, you gotta teach him the sit and stay command. Prince know the stay command quite well now.....we train him with treats hehhehe... sometimes i will ask him to sit, then stay. and put the food or treat a distance away. i keep saying stay....and he will stay there. he will be released when we decided to let him come, it works...

my yoyo got confused on sit, down and stay cos my hubby train her on sit then down and stay and so now if we ask her to sit and stay she tot we ask her to down??? she is rather confused hhahaha and when she climb up on my slant board i ask her to come down she will down on the slant board.

how long does u gals take to train yr dog when she or he is a pup? my JRT still at times dun remember where is the pee and poo place after 3 wks with us and she still poo and pee everywhere and i have been wiping the flr until my hands so dry :P

she also likes to bite our feet and hands and even when my skirt was flowing when i walk and she growl and bark at me when i scold her she gets fiercer than me.

she is a small dog with big attitude!

hi dear ladies...ask u something hor? does ur doggie drips saliva all over the floor huh? i din notice it, but my Fh and family said after we let Prince out around the house, the whole floor will become sticky after that coz of his saliva...do u have the same problem? now we dun dare to let him out that often liao....coz it's not our house mah. he beri poor thing leh.... :P

omve, wow, small dog with big attitude hehhehe.... he growls and bark at u ah? is her tail wagging still? sounds like she can be aggressive.

perhaps when u ask her to come down from the slant board, u can use the "come" command instead?

binbin, does he lick the floor? dripping saliva... dunno if it's the same with teething.. but some dogs which i see outside drools alot.. i'm not too sure wat's the cause.

omve,
don't worry, ur dog is normal, my doggy with me for 3 mths and still not 100% paper trained !

my friend dog learned quite fast, within 1 mth paper trained already. i think key thing here is lotsa effort and time. if u can, take 1 or 2 days off and train. bring her to the paper after meals, sleep wake up and every hr during play. soon she'll get it. If u're like us wkg, it's helps to lay newspapers ALL over the play pen, then slowly reduce the size of the papers. we didn't do that at first, we just put the paper at 1 corner of the pen, coco didn't get it at all. But when he went to stay with my bro for a while, they lay newspapers all over the pen, when he came back to us, he knows how to go to the papers in the play pen already ! we were so amazed and happy !
so i think the best method is put the papers all over then reduce. But the sad thing is accuracy drops when he goes to play in the living rm, he don't know how to go back to the kitchen where the papers are to do his biz
so now we would need to train on this.

binbin,
could be teething, if not means he's very hot so perspiring. make sure he drinks lotsa of water. But i think it's normal for dogs to drips saliva.
big dogs will drip more esp when they're hot.

omve,
i think ur gal is just playing. puppies are VERY playful. they like to run after things. everything to them is new and 'fun'. so when she does that u must be FIRM and tell her no. U must start now. if not she'll think it's ok and con't on. Actually training a dog is not so difficult, just need lotsa of reinforcement and patience.

hi shane, same prob leh. he knows how to do it on the newspaper in the playpen. but when he is in the living room or bedroom, we worried that he wun know how to go back. so we will still watch him closely...

soupie, he dun drool.....sala sala....my mistake. the liquid comes from his wet nose...and not his mouth. i know what u mean...some dogs at the vets drools like mad.....looks quite scary. for Prince, its his wet nose....will drip all over the floor....

binbin,
could be teething, if not means he's very hot so perspiring. make sure he drinks lotsa of water. But i think it's normal for dogs to drips saliva.
big dogs will drip more esp when they're hot.

omve,
i think ur gal is just playing. puppies are VERY playful. they like to run after things. everything to them is new and 'fun'. so when she does that u must be FIRM and tell her no. U must start now. if not she'll think it's ok and con't on. Actually training a dog is not so difficult, just need lotsa of reinforcement and patience.

hi shane, same prob leh. he knows how to do it on the newspaper in the playpen. but when he is in the living room or bedroom, we worried that he wun know how to go back. so we will still watch him closely...

soupie, he dun drool.....sala sala....my mistake. the liquid comes from his wet nose...and not his mouth. i know what u mean...some dogs at the vets drools like mad.....looks quite scary. for Prince, its his wet nose....will drip all over the floor....

binbin,
i think they forget where the paper is hee hee OR cld be play till too mad already then don't want to go back to the papers to do it.

huh ? from nose ah .... he could be running a cold ? better monitor and see. if really doesn't stop, bring to vet.

hihi shane.
actually we brought the nose thingie to the doc last time liao. he said it's normal. its only when it's dry then gotta worry. as long as he's eating well....and he's always been having a wet nose...shld be okie. i read the books, it also says to worry only if the discharge is green or brown.....Prince' is super clear but stickyy hehehhe....

yah loh, when we play with him or let him arund the house, we will leave the kitchen door open for him to go back to his playpen and newspapers. sometimes he will make his way to the back. when that happens, my Fh will tip toe behind him to follow him...to see if he shit/do business there. if he does, that means he knows he is supposed to go THERE to do it. we are going to praise him lavishly...bt he hasn't done it leh. my FH always tip toe back with dissapointment,

i think most liquid from dogs are sticky. coco saliva also sticky sometimes. should be normal i guess.

ha ha .. same here ! i always very curious when coco goes back to the kitchen. but always disappointed. He knows how to go back there to drink water, take his toys and sleep but hv not gone back to pee and poo there YET ! sigh .....

Hi Soupie,

We bought him the cloth type. Yesterday night, just started to put on for him. When we try to take pictures of him, i will tell him to stay and he will stay BUT the moment he saw the camera, he will start to jump at it.

Wye wye's nose will also be wet wet whenever he got a slight cold. Do monitor them if you noticed their nose are wet.

binbin, their nose should be wet.. but not dripping wet leh.. are u sure he hasn't caught a cold or something?

doreamon, hehehe my doggie too! he'll turn away when we try to take his pics.. but sometimes we have to come up with tactics.. like coaxing a baby to look at us to take photos.. i'll stand behind my hubby and call his name and talk to him so that he'll look at me. hehehe

ya very hard to take doggie's pics leh. yday went out with friends' dogs, all the mummies and daddies got to keep calling the dogs to make them look the same way ... ha ha ... so funny ....

Hi...can i join in??? I have been following this thread trying to learn more...I just bought a shetland sheepdog abt a week ago...it's a male and 4 months old, his name is Bob....hope i am welcome here...

For the first time...coco managed to go back to the kitchen on his own to poo poo
big grin.gif
i was overjoyed last nite ! hahahaha
rolf.gif

I have a problem, pls give your suggestion. This morning, we found another damage on the platform again and FH is very very angry. Given two options: Sell wye wye away or lock him up in his cage during the day when all of us are at work.

Of course, i won't sell him away. But i also don't want to cage him, worried that he will be very unhappy and suffer from emotional upset. What should i do? Anyone here lock their dog when no one is ard the house?

Help!!!

doreamon, get a playpen to enclose him instead of a crate? so that he can still have some space to play around. frankly speaking, it's really not advisable to leave a pup to roam the whole house without supervision.. they will pick up very bad habits cos there's no one there to correct them when they are wrong. either get a playpen or those baby gates to enclose him inside the kitchen?

my frosty was left in the crate whenever there's no one around until he was abt 1 yr old. if u've read abt crate training u'll realise that it's not cruel at all.. but of cos if u enclosed him like for 24 hrs everyday then that's cruelty. it actually helps ur pup to get used to his new home faster, have his own little space (like human's, we have our own personal space like own room or bed) and prevents them from developing undesirable habits.

of cos along the way.. after he's all trained and grown up.. u can leave the crate open for them to walk around freely and whenever he want to rest or sleep he can go back to the crate.

doreamon,

fully agree with soupie. it's best to get a play pen. make the size as big as ur area(where u want to leave him, e.g kitchen)can allow. U can leave him in the playpen when u're at home, let him come out to play when u're back. tt's wat i do. coco is in the pen while we're at wk. he's still young so wun let him roam the hse till he's really tame and 100% paper trained.

Don't worry abt wye wye being sad. leave toys (can get a kong to stuff food in it, coco loves that. keeps him occupied),bones(for him to bite) and water in the pen for him. also need to give a corner for papers for wye wye to pee/poo.

when u're home, release him and start ur trg with him to stop him from biting any furniture. must be firm.

alternatively, like wat soupie say, give him the whole kitchen and get a baby gate. but check that ur kitchen is puppy proof. no fixture that can be pulled or chewed, nothing that can fall off the cupboard or table top when he pulls or tugs at it.

over time when wye wye grows up then he'll be ready for the whole hse. If u don't put a stop to this, wye wye will grow up to think that it's ok to bite and chew furniture when u're not ard. This way u give urself, ur FH and wye wye a chance to live together harmoniously. Wye wye behaves and wun anger ur FH and give him a chance to tell u to sell wye wye away.

Dogs are like kids, they need to be educated and trained. You as his parent will also have to set house rules for him to follow.

If u're getting playpen, can buy from any petshop. the price is abt $6-10 per pc, don't get ripped off like me. i paid $18 per pc !
. If getting a baby gate, i think Ikea have. If not shops selling bb stuff should have.

playpen is pieces of 'fencing' joined together to make a square open air cage. U can buy 4 pcs to make a square or 6 pcs to make a rectangle. it all depends how big u want the pen to be.

when i started, coco lived in a square, now it's bigger, made it into a rectangle. slowly, he'll have the whole kitchen then the hall... then whole hse. but he must prove that he is guai guai first hee hee

Hi doreamon,

This is how the play pen looks like:

29895.jpg

I oso have no choice but to keep Coalie inside when we work in the day. Or else she's out destroying furniture, or worst, biting wires. So for safety sake, she has to be inside lor.

hi hi new!!! i am so happy to read ur posting! I also have a sheltie...
we bought him at 4 months old. where did u buy him from? how's he now? getting used to you? hhehhehe if u feel that he is not responding well not dun worry. coz shelties are by nature suspicious of strangers, so they will take some time to get used to you. my sheltie now is 6 mths plus old...and thinking back to when we first bought him it was so cute hehehhehee.....feel free to ask questions. all of us are doggie lovers!!!

doremon, yes you do not have to feel that it's cruel to keep him in a playpen or crate. It depends very much on HOW you introduce him to the playpen and crate. for us, we have a crate, but as he is a sheltie, the crate is SUPER BIG. its not the enclosed kind, but the open wire kind made of galvanised iron. got space for him to move. We also have a playpen bought from the doggie seller at only $8. when we first had him, we kept him in the playpen when we are not watching him. teach him paper training inside too. then gradually increase his play area. after we bought the crate that was his home. u must be careful NOT to treat the playpen/crate as a punishment area or somewhere to send him when you are mad with him. you must guide him there gently, put a food, toy, fav towel/blanket etc inside...guide him insde with food......and give him another treat through the bars once he is inside...and praise him. neber let him think it's a bad place to be.......

it's good for a doggie to have his personal space....to retreat to when he is tired, sleepy or sad.....

SHANE! congrats hahahhaa...can imagine how happy u are....if Prince know how to do that we will also be overjoyed...still waiting for that day. like ur coco, he knows how to go back for water....or just to nose around...but not yet shit/urine there by himself....hehehhehe......

soupie, i dun think he is having a cold. he has always been like this since we bought him. and we have asked 2 vets they said it's okie. it's not like dripping very frequently. just that u look at him.....sometime later u will see a small drip, that will grow slowly larger until it comes down. then sometimes we train him to "down" mah. so his nose will touch the floor....and then floor will be wet loh.....

doreamon, try to get the stainless steel one (playpen/crate) if u can.. cos it's much more durable than the normal steel type and ur doggie won't cut himself accidentally if there are any rust. we bought a stainless steel crate for frosty the first day we had him and until now the crate is still in good condition with no rust watsoever even after many washings. but the stainless steel ones would be more expensive.

pegsfur,
ur coalie so cute ! can really mess up the place man hee hee ...

binbin,
thk thks ... ya really happy. Hope he will get it really soon. I'll cont to reinforce, don't want it be just a 'conicidence' episode hee hee.
Don't worry, Prince will get it soon. Patience is the key ! Just rem to keep reminding him and bringing him back. Actually in the beg, i didn't really make conscious effort to bring him to papers. But last 2 days, i watch the timing and make sure i bring him back, let him smell the papers. so glad my efforts paid off.
big grin.gif

doraemon,
soupie is rite. try to get the stainless steel one. it's durable and can last long long. But it's defintely more ex. could be abt $30 or move per pc.

shane, it just brightens up ur day when u found out that ur doggie have learnt something eh.. hehe until now we still get surprises now and then from frosty too..

pegsfur, ur coalie has such a cheeky smug face like she's so proud of her territory which was all messed up by her hehehehe

doreamon, yep yep, if u can spend, get the stainless steel crate and playpen (either one, dun need both). for my case, we got the normal playpen coz we want it to be just temporary. after we train him we wish to buy better one. and also, since he is at my MIL's place now, we dun wish to invest so much first....so we later bought him the galvanised iron crate...it costs around $80....coz mine is a big size one...dun think u need so expensive. next time, after MIL gives the green light for him to come to our new home (after completion), we will buy him a stainless steel one!!! in fact, me and FH were talking abt this last night! so ciao.....coz we find that Prince is gnawing at the galvanised iron recently...dun want him to accidentally swallow anything harmful.

hey girls agree with you that it really makes ur day when ur doggie learns something....for Prince, we taught him sit and down first. he seems to know what we mean, but we can't be sure coz he usually does it when there's treats, and he is usually sitting and lying down by hiimself anyway. BUt the one action which we are sure he understands is "Stay". hehehehhe.....i LOVE his face when he obeys the command, and i put the treat/food bowl in one place and command him to "stay". he knows he is supposed to stay, but he also wants the food!!! his loook is soooo longing and itchy to get going hehhehehee....then he will bounce up eagerly once we release him hehehehehhehehhee....so cute...

Dear NEW!!! Where are you?? Come back leh, i wanna talk about your sheltie!!! hehehehhee..... coz mine is also a sheltie...pls see above my posting to you..... you are welcome to the thread
29931.gif

soupie,
yes it's really extremely encouraging. at least u know ur efforts have not gone down the drain.

binbin,
ha ha ya agree with the stay command. coco eyes will be FIXED on the treat when i tell him to stay, at times stay too long then he buay tahan want to get up but always tell him no. ha ha ...

shane,

Yeah ... she loves to shred papers ... cannot tahan her ...

soupie,

Hahaha ... yeah lor, mess up the place still dare to grin in front of camera ... naughty girl!
Post some more pics here:

29974.jpg

I surrender!

29975.jpg

My t-shirt with my name!

hi gals!

can i join in too??

last time used to hv 2 snauzhers (is this how we spell it?) but now, my bro got married so his 2 dogs went along with him.now w/o them, kinda missed them leh..hse so quiet.
last time when in our hse, my mum was the one taking care of them..we let the dogs roam freely in the house but sometimes if they are bored, they will purposely go to the sofa there n bite the tv controller, purposely show up infront of us. then we will keep running after them to take it..clever huh, its like playing with them..but of cos, after tat, we piak them oso..
the male one, oso same as pegsfur's dog, like to tear the newspaper to shreds.
my bro n sil both are working so according to them when they are not ard, both dogs play by themselves and sleep whole day. they are toilet trained so they can go shee shee or put put themselves.

hihi ladies.....this thread this few days quite quiet huh? where have the mommmies gone? hehehhee...

oke, welcome!!! ;) btw do you still meet the two doggies once in a while? got excuse to go visit your bro mah hehehee....

New, where are you?

pegsfur, beri cute leh! u actually got a t-shirt with his name on it!!! hehhehee..... did he like wearing it? did he struggle? hehehhee....i can't imagine how Prince will look with a t-shirt...he prob will put up a big fight hehehhee...

hi oke, welcome !

u must missed hvg the dogs ard. dogs r really fun !

pegsfur,
SO CUTE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i like the tee with her name on it. so nice.
coalie has a mischievous look, v much like coco. they should meet ! think they'll play very well together hee hee ....

yday just bought coco a jersery. he look so adorable in it. will post the pics when i take some
the lady actually suggested getting a white tee to print coco name. but in the end, we prefered the jersery. doggie clothings not cheap man ...

binbin,
ya lor the thread getting quiet hor ... nvm, we try to make effort to keep it active

sad to say, coco still have accident despite the happiness i had a few days ago. i starting to wonder he is just plain stubborn or just stupid ? sigh.

pegsfur, sooo cute! coalie has her own tshirt.

hey gals, can check out this website. www.petsonality.com the doggie clothes very nice! hehehe but quite expensive too :P i've bought a red sailor tshirt for my frosty.. he looks good in red cos the white fur brings out the red colour

shane, be patient.. remember coco is just a baby.. forget easily.. as he gets older will get better as long as u are consistent in ur training

oke, welcome!
i like MS very much too.. hoping to get a 2nd dog which shall be a MS hehehe but can't do it now.. too bz :P

soupie,

ya got to be patient. i'm just worried that coco nvr gets trained. he's been with us for 3 mths ! and there's only slight improvement. *sigh*

can't deny that he's really testing my patience leh. i was so mad one nite till i cried
i was dutifully bringing him to the papers to remind him. everytime, he just ignore the papers, get distracted. then got one time i was at the pen, reminding him, he just walk away ... then i turned and he peed on the floor already !!!! i was so so so mad ......
how like this ?

these 2 nites, coco doesn't seem to have much reaction when i bring him to the papers. and only when i walk away then he'll pee (either on the newspapers, or elsewhere) and it'll be too late for me to reward/scold him. for e.g. this am, i woke up and he just woke up also. so i went away to change, then came back again to give him his bf and hang ard, hoping he'll pee. he ate his bf slowly, so i walk away again. I knew he was sure gg to pee cos just wake up. but since he eating, so i thot will be later. when i came back again, he already peed !!! it's was on the papers but abit miss aim so some was outside of papers. SIGH. how ah ? do u think he's afraid to pee in my presence ? sigh. really waiting for the day man ...

Binbin,

Actually Coalie is a she
She tried to bite & pull the shirt initially, but stopped after a while

Shane,

Quick post coco's pics for us to see leh

Soupie,

The clothes from Petsonality is nice, but hor, very expensive. The shirt I got for Coalie only cost $8+ including the name

30084.jpg

Ya the personality site stuff are ex.

Pegs, where u get coalie tee from ? it's cheap. wanna do a similiar 1 for coco hee hee ....

i pegsfur, sollie sollie, so it's a female...ehhehehee... where did u get her shirt from huh? $8 is cheap leh!

shane.....i can understand how fustrated u feel leh. sometimes when prince start circling anf sniffing we will be wary of him pee-ing. so will keep looking at him. but once our back is turn, he will pee so fast he is nearly done by the time we saw! and when we pick him up to put him on papers, he dun pee liao.....so fustrating last time....

ya lor very frustrated leh. last time worse, we didn't even know WHEN he is gg to pee, till my friend tell me, when he sniff and go circle means 1 2 pee liow. But the prob with coco is he's always sniffing the ground !!!!!
then he don't really obviously go circling one leh .... sigh ...

anyway this AM i caught him peeing on the papers so i rewarded him BUT hor, he sorta out of papers abit. so don't know reward correct or not. when he pee against the wall he will lift his leg up. sigh.... if normally he'll just pee normally.

does Prince lift his leg also ?

hi shane, no leh prince does not lift his leg. same as ur coco, he always sniff the floor hehehehhehee... :P so sometimes hard to say. but for me, i will try to notice when he sniff the floor, suddenly stop, and look into the air infront of him concentrating.....he usually pees like that.....but yet to catch him. whenever he does that, i will say something loud to distract him....

i think prince not yet lift his leg coz he is still not matured yet. he is only 6mths plus. i heard that sexually matured dogs then will lift legs, coz that's marking territory. how cold is coco?

for me, i also dunno whether to praise or scold when he pees on papers half half. most of the time i will praise lah....coz then he wil know the difference betw papers and entirely on floor mah...hehehhee...

shane & Binbin,

I got the shirt from those shops that print t-shirts. Sometimes they have those super small t-shirt which you can hang inside the car one. That is the t-shirt I got lor .... actually wanted to get the biggest size but out of stock already, so no choice I got the 2nd largest size. Lucky Coalie still can wear

The shirt itself without printing is $4+. If print lettering like Coalie's name, it is $0.70 per letter. So total is $8+ only
Btw, the shop is at Tampines Mall.

binbin,
sigh...coco is 6 mths+ too. when he first came, he do not lift his leg. think we might have cultivated this cos we always place the papers against the pen or the wall. he likes to pee close to the pen so he lifts his leg. this is my guess so it could be marking also. it started sometime ago. i noticed he's peeing frequently like this so today i'm embarking on a plan to stop him from lifting his leg. hope it works. *keep fingers crossed* anyway i think coco is maturing fast, slightly before he turned 6 mths, he 'thingy' is already showing when he's excited. hope he does not have too much hormones overdrive before his op date comes.

For Prince, that's gd news, that means he has not hv the leg lifting tendency. do u intend to neuter him ? If u are, better do so before he starts leg lifting and marking.

i already made an appt for coco neutering in early sep. so sad

pegsfur,
oh i know that shop ! hv printed tees from them before.
kinda far for me. will do it when i drop by tampiness.

shane/binbin, i think whether neuter or not.. male doggies will still lift up their legs to pee. but it would reduce their urge to mark territory. i think it's natural if u have male doggies.. they will somehow lift their leg to pee as they mature :P

soupie,
really ah .... so sad leh. when coco just came home, he doesn't lift up his leg leh ... sigh ....

now i'm trying to put the papers away from all walls or pens. c if it makes a diff or not. hee hee ... if really no, then will save the trouble and put bk to original position. anyway this am he already pee out of the papers cos the papers away from the pen and think he was trying to spray the pen ... sigh.