For All dog lovers

hi omve....me not really an expert here but just wanna share something i read and heard ( i am sure soupie agrees with me on this). dogs are born to be hunters and meat-eaters. their digestive system are very very different from us. they can digest meat easily, even raw meat. they are born to eat meat..... some dogs system dun take kindly to vege-heavy diets... though he may take it happily, not sure whether it's doing good to his stomach. i know most of the time we as caring owners wanna give him the best. and most of the time we interpret the "best" as something we ourselves would like to have...
but i learn that it's not always the case. cos what's good for us may not be good for them. vege-heavy diets may result in him not growing and developing like he shld...

just 2 cents worth.....dun be angry with me hor?

omve,
wat is natural juice ? buy off the shelf kind ? of we blend ourselves ?

ok thks will look out in the shop. currently i'm also feeding him ACV.

kris,
totally agree with u on the spoiling part. i very harsh with my dog cos must show him who in control. but just thot to give him some nice drink once in a while to tempt him to drink more water.

will try the test tonite and see how it turns out. i think he should be drinking enuf cos normally when i pinch him, the skin goes back quickly. his skin even feels 'loose'.

binbin,
i also have my doggie pic as my wallpaper. everyday at wk also miss him. sigh. everynite go back play with him, even i v tired already still play. now that i have a dog, i hated myself for taking so long to get my dog. they are really gd companions !

oic, get another doggie for ur mil. tt gd. but can i suggest something ? try to look out for adoption, if u can. i know puppies are cute and everything. but after some research, i wished i had adopted instead of buying. of cos i don't regret buying my dog. but if adopt will give another dog a second chance at life and love. some dogs really poor thing. nobody wants.

yes i agree with binbin, doggies are very different from us. i'm not sure wat the vegetarian diet will do to ur doggie but better do some research cos the effects of special diet will only show up after sometime. furthermore, urs is a JRT. she might need more substantial diet to maintain her structure esp bones cos she is puppy now and her level of energy.

share with u gals my bao bei :
26841.jpg

hi all, thanks for all info and yes much research and done and tell and i even contact the person who own such veg dog and also prompt and ask him those question u all raise here.

let time tells all :D

hi omve,
as long as it's ok
we all want the best for our furkids mah.

so anyway photos to share ?

binbin also, post ur sheltie pic to show us leh ...

hi shane!!! so cuteeee!!! adorable hehehheee..... such big eyes...

yes did consider adopting before. think those doggies really poor thing. but not sure how my MIL feels about adopting. coz she may have the impression that unwanted dogs are not good leh...how do we come around that?

binbin,

thks hee hee

best is to go see the adopted dog and find out the background. there are really funny owners who give up the dog for reasons like no time, don't like colour, can't stand fur ... so all these dogs are ok wan just that owners dont' want.
take for e.g. the pom that u guys lost, someone could hv pick it up. and ur pom is alrite one, just that it got lost and pple might think he/she was unwanted.

my friend adopted a 3 yr old silky and loved her so much. she has very nice temperatment and i saw her photo, her fur is just beautiful !!!! very nice dog. till today my friend still wondering y the owner don't want her .....

if i get a 2nd dog, i'll try to adopt. I can only take toy breed cos live hdb lah ... hee hee...

hi shane. actualy our pom beri old liaoz. that's why the mum beri sad and worried...he cannot fend for himself and he is too old to walk far... sigh...

okie....will try to tell my MIL that....if she is willing to give us Prince lah hehhehee...

appreciate some advice here.

my hubby's cousin bought a rottweiler when he was still a 1mth old puppy (now abt 5mths old). does anyone know how to train a rottweiler? he's extremely playful & will run after the ball when we throw it. We're afraid to unleash him at the field to let him play cos we're afraid he'll run after strangers. And be misunderstood that he's trying to attack them, but he's just playful.

they used to own a border collie, but he has passed on due to old age. but now, looking after a rottweiler is very very different.

hi big dog, perhaps can borrow some books from library to know more abt rottweiler? i got info from there too and also from some website.

my 3.5 old JRT is equally playful and full of energy so hyperctive can never sit still she practically follow me everywhere i go.

she also got excited when she see ppl and wag her docked tail (not me docked hor is the pet shop owners from AZ) but she is quite aggressive when she see other dog. perhaps she mix too much with human and tot she is one too? haa

hi shane, how do i post photo here?

bin2,
it's always painful to lose a dog. i can't imagine losing mine. think will die. now let's hope he found a gd home. did u guys put up notices and everything ? look for it as the spca ?

big dog,
hmmm...now the dog is 5 mths ? fm mth 1 - mth 5, did the dog undergo any training ? training should start from day one when he is brought home. the longer u let him be, the faster his character and attitude will be fixed.

all dogs are basically trained the same way. u have to be firm and give him house rules. u have to set them cos u're his owner. dogs should not be unleashed unless u are very sure that he can recognise you and follow u and not get lost. i think a dog at 5 mths will be too 'wild' when unleased. will be better to leash him. and then u follow him. when he runs after human, say a firm no, and give the leash a tug to stop him. con't the walk only when he's settled.

do ur dog know basic commands ? If no, start to train. it will make life ezier with ur dog. basic commands are sit, stay, come. Always be firm with a dog. Say no when he's doing something u don't want him to.

omve,
use the command : \image{type ur file name here can be anything}

save ur file in ur c drive. type in the above command and post, afterwards u'll be promted to attached ur file

hi shane, sadly, my MIL went around the neighbourhood many many times shouting his name....peered into ppl's house even...but can't find him. my FH also searched. but only after few wks that we concluded he must be brought to SPCA liao. knowing his age, dun think SPCA wld keep him. and i guess to prevent themselves from dissapointment, they actually din wanna go there, just to hear he's been put to sleep..... soo..... thanks for ur concern. one thing about loving Prince so much is i fear how i will feel when he is in old age..

hi big dog, like what shane said, your rottweiler must know basic commands before u ever ever unleash him in public. At least it's a "Come" and a "NO". coz that may save his life if he decides to go running onto the road. and u may feel he is alright, but there may be kids and if you dog runs towards the kid, the frightened parent may do anything to protect their child. after that, not to mention abt the official complaints and stuff. be very careful, since ur's is a big breed, though a puppy.

like what shane said, always train him to listen to commands on a leash first. after that, train him at home to obey your commands/explore...without leash. neber unleash him for the first time outside...

good luck..

binbin, hehehe cool.. u can be ur sheltie's tooth fairy hehehe

as u know, i'm feeding my doggie BARF.. his diet consist mainly of raw meaty bones like chicken wings, necks, breasts, drumstick meat, raw mutton/lamb, a wide variety of raw veggies pulp diet... and doggies are born carnivores, that's how they get their teeth and jaw structure.. to tear meat and crunch bones.. while we humans are omnivores.. it's the other way round for us.. we actually dun digest meat that well, we can do without meat but cannot do without veggies.

but i've heard abt vegetarian or zen diets for doggies as well.. but this need to be done with alot of research and reading.. cos the substitution of meat with veggies, beans, legumes and roots must be balanced very well. i dunno abt it enuff to comment much

oops.. the last pic wasn't taken at bishan park.. hehehe.. actually the 2nd and 3rd pic were taken around the same time

soupie,
ur frosty is sssssooooooooooooooo cute !!!!! make me wanna hug him/her hee hee ....

binbin,
oic...quite sad hor. i think next time first place to look will be spca. i don't know wat i'll do if i know that my dog was put to sleep.

yes i got the same fear as u. my hubby also. we always say we can't imagine how it will be when my coco passes on due to old age, v painful.

talking abt unleashing ... i hope coco quickly grow up and be more guai. looking forward to the day when we can go for walks w/o the leash.
at the moment i'm just glad that he's getting used to the leash and walking well with it. now trying to train him to walk WITH me not INFRONT of me hee hee ....

hi hi soupie...hhehe tooth fairy yar? i like that hehhehee.....

shane...soupie's doggie cute hor? i oso think so, when she showed me the photos some time ago. looks so huggable...hehhee.... well, not sure whether to share my pics here coz Prince is a medium size dog. so unless u know his temperament and habits like we do, u are not going to find his pic huggable...hehhehee.....

u know what? we are very happily surprised at how Prince reacted to his leash. we bought him at about slightly less than 4 mths old. 1 wk later we put the collar around him, and he struggle and scratched like mad. we read about this in the books....so sorta followed what was advised - let him scratch...and take it out after some time, gradually increasing the duration it's on...one week later he's okie liao, even sit queitly for us to collar him. then we put on the leash. again he turn round and round biting the leash hehehehhehe so cute leh...... we let him do it loh...but will keep on trying to get his attention by giving him commands on the leash and stuff, encouraging him with treats.

after that, and now....we notice that he is beri guai on the leash. he wun walk in front of us, but will walk on our side, and keep looking up at us to see where we are going. we take one step, he take one step....beri cute leh hehehhee..... then when we start walking faster or runs, he will runs. when we stopped suudenly, he will skid on the smooth floor.....:P and the farnie thingie is he behaves this way even when off leash.

but then again....dun dare to try him out outdoors yet, coz outdoors he may be too curious to pay attention to us.....hehehhee....

what we learn to do is keep walking in different directions when you notice him doing his own stuff. he will be thinking how come u keep changing directions, and will be more alert to see where u are heading..... so that he wun walk in front of you exploring his own....hehhehee....

hello all dog lovers,

Been MIA for 2 days cos was on mc ... so good to see so many dog lovers here

Hey, my Coalie dun walk with me or walk in front of me leh .... she RUNS in front of me & likes hopping alot. Sometimes i think she's crazy. Then while we are leashing her to bring her out, she'll start her nonsense like biting the leash & pulling it. But the moment she step out of the house, she's ok liao. Isn't she crazy???

26880.jpg

Hi soupie!

How did you keep your maltese's face so clean and white??? I clean my baby maltese face twice a day after food and even powder her but still slightly stain leh...can teach me???

Pegsfur,

Your yorkie looks real cute too!

bin bin
ya lor, maltese so cute hor.

huh ? no lah share lah. all dogs are cute regardless wat size they are. I believe ur doggie is very handsome. Cos shelties are very smart looking dogs

wah, ur prince very guai leh, so fast can walk beside you already. that very gd.

yday my friend came to my place and brought her maltese, she so cute ! i keep hugging her. she's very well trained also. make me so ashamed of coco. coco like one wild brat ha ha .....

pegsfur,
oh mc ah ... u better now ?

ha ha i got same prob with u. coco got a mind of his own. he always walk ahead of us. i'm trying to change that.

feedback from my frend yday was that coco might think he is a alpha dog tt y very wild. the strange thing is he is very guai when it's only we and him at home. but when pple comes, he goes crazy esp if there's another dog. he'll be so excited he wun listen to commands at all. *sigh*
look like i must work harder on training him now.

shane, frosty's a boyboy

yeah... i cannot imagine the heartache if something happens to frosty *TOUCHWOOD* and i know my FH will take it very badly. frosty's currently staying with my FH.. and he's been sleeping with my FH on the same bed or at least beside his bed
he would give my FH "morning call" to wake him up to feed him and go to work hehehe
when i lay down he'll come over and snuggle very close and wants a tummy rub... sigh.. how not to love him lots?

mrs quake, frankly we've been unsuccessful in battling tear stains for 2 yrs before we started him on this BARF diet. he used to have very bad tear stains. now he still tears but it won't stain his fur anymore.. i guess there's a change in the PH level of the tears which inhibits bacteria or fungus that causes tearstains.

not suggesting u switch his diet but i know of some remedies that have been effective to some maltese owners. besides, regular cleaning everyday..

1. u can add solid gold scorbate to his food.. it's a vit c supplement. but be careful not to overfeed this supplement.. refer to the labels or instructions as indicated.. this is a vit c supplement not natural vit c from fruits so we dunno how much will be retained and flushed out of the system.

2. can try adding a few drop of organic apple cider vinegar (brand is Braggs - can get from GNC or major supermarkets) to his water or food.. somehow in the long run will change the PH level of the tears and thus reduce staining. but some dogs do not like the smell of it.

3. avoid feeding treats or food that contains artificial colouring. this can contribute to tear stains.

these are some more 'natural' ways to reduce the tear stains.. gotta be patient to see results. it doesnt happen very quickly :P watever it is dun feed shiny syrup as claimed by petshop pple that it'll stop the tear stains.. cos it can cause liver failure in our doggies.

Mrs Quake,

Actually, Coalie is a silky, not yorkshire
She's too big size to be a yorkshire.

shane,

Now better liao ... tks. Hey, i think coco & coalie will make good friends becos coalie also get super excited when someone comes home .... her tail will be on 'turbo' mode & wag very fast. We always call it the turbo tail

soupie,
so frosty's a boy !

sigh...ya lor they are just so lovable rite ? when i go home, coco will also come very close to me and lie down for tummy rub. so pampered but so cute. see already my whole day fatigue all disappears.

pegsfur,
ha ha, ya i think so also ! he super active leh. same thing for the tail. u can tell his mood from his tail. sometimes we even get whacked by his tail ha ha ...

hi shane, thanks for the tips on photo attachment and great to so many dog lovers.

soupie and pegfur, both of yr dogs are so adorable feel like cuddle cuddle now they so furry huh..do u all usually groom yr own pet or send for mthly grooming?

my jrt dun have long hair and only clean ear and clipping nails but she already cna't sit still and my friend try putting them on some high place like what vet did. they are usually afraid of heights so will sit still and be obedient.

hope u all can see yoyo picture

c:\do u love me2
3 mths old yoyo

coco also can't sit still to cut nail. shave paw fur fur can. but cut nail he like very scared. sigh. always kenna beat by me.

gd idea leh. put on somewhere high. next time i'll try that.

i don't send coco for grooming. i do it myself. coco at present don't have fluffy fur coat yet. so it's just like a longer version of a smooth coat, not much cutting required.
i'll normally clean his ears, cut nails, shave paw fur and also trim away some fur here and there that seems messy

ha ha .. ya yoyo very chubby ! must be very nice to hug hug. hee hee....

gals,
want to ask u all,
for food amt rite, the intake decreases with age rite ? now my dog is 6 mths. should i start decreasing ? recently he's not food motivated anymore.

shane,

Coalie can't even let me comb her ... always have to keep her occupied with something to play/bite one .... so after every session, I'll perspire like hell.

I've sent Coalie for grooming once already just to trim her coat, cos coalie wldn't let us. Surprisingly, she behaved herself when she's at the groomer's. She bully mummy one.

I thot at this stage you still need to increase their food intake? I'm not really sure also but my coalie always seems to be hungry leh, although i feed her twice a day.

Prince at 6 months old.

26902.jpg

26903.jpg

hhehee whenever i come to visit, he will stand up on the fence of his playpen and whine to be let out. then when we let him out he will run wildly around our legs wanting to play. i feel so happy to see him, and always hold his face close to me and sayang him and ruffle his fur hehheee...

when my FH's friends come, he will bark at them. only when my FH talk to his friend nicely, Prince will quieten down and come forward to explore the newcomer...

pegsfur,
i also thot so .. but coco don't seems to be hungry leh ... sigh .. don't know wat to do also ...

bin2,
prince is handsome ! nice !

so nice to have a dog rite ? i find that they're really adorable ...

ha ha pegfur, ya she is fat fat when she comes i htink is all those baby fat but then hor she still fat fat on her tummy so my friend told me it cld be tapeworm as i need to bring her to vet for a check up and get mixture and let her poo out worm.

ya i bring her to her first swim and i am so suprised that she can swim pretty well cos i tot they dunno how to float but i think i am so wrong they are natural swimmer and when she shiver after her swim so i dry her and also give her short hot air under the hand dryer and she hates it!

did all of you here feed yr pup twice a day in small portion and when to increase once a day? when it is adult age at one?

hi omve....hehehe so u've bought ur puppy to swim huh? i think mine wun like water...haven't tried.

as for food, as he's 6 mths old now we feed him twice day. before 4 months supposed to be 3 times. yep u are right, if i'm not wrong, we should reduce to once a day after 1 year old ......

i'm feeding coco twice a day. he's 6 mths. can switch to once when he turns 1 yr old.

pegsfur,
u feeding coalie SG rite ? how much are u feeding her ? i need a guide.
thks.

did some trg with coco yday. he managed to roll pretty quickly ! just not too familar with the command. more familiar with the hand gesture. but i very happy already. also revised stay and he's really getting it. just very stubborn. haiz.

btw, anyone has any technique to teach doggie to recognise mummy and daddy ? i tried awhile last nite but calling mummy/daddy and give him treats when he goes to the rite person. not sure like that can or not cos we were sitting very near each other, so he could be just going to and fro hahahahhah ....

binbin, ur prince soo cute! i like the first pic!

i think dogs are quite natural swimmers. know of some frens that bring their doggies to the beach for swimming and their doggies take to water like ducks to water. anyways the sea water is said to be good for both skin and coat but dun try swimming pool cos that contains chlorine.

for toy/small breed dogs like maltese, silky terriers, chihuahua etc... abt 1 1/2 yrs later then considered adult... so at least 2 meals a day until then. and whether to increase or decrease quantity of food depends on how active ur doggie is. not true that they need lesser food after puppyhood.

can feed twice a day even into adulthood.. it's all abt habit and their requirement. if u realise that they eat in the morning but the evening meal always have leftovers, maybe they dun need the evening meal.. and u can slowly wean off the evening meal by reducing the evening meal and increasing the morning meal concurrently until they are used to one meal a day... but that doesn't mean that u combine 2 meal portions into one... that may be too much for them... portion should still be adjusted accordingly to wat they can eat by experimenting. there's no hard and fast rule that half a cup means must be half a cup of dry food.. it depends.. judge by ur pups weight and lifestyle.

for dry kibbles, i prefer to feed 2 meals even when adult.. cos it bloats up in the tummy after eating so i prefer to separate the portion into 2 meals and feed so that he won't feel too bloated.

but with BARF, our doggie automatically eliminate the evening meal... he dun need the evening meal.. so we just increase his morning meal gradually and now he's on one meal a day.

very confused like that. so should i increase or decrease coco food ? these 2 days i decrease, then he seems more food motivated.

shane, wat's the reason that u're decreasing his food intake? becos he's putting on weight? or he dun finish his food?

hmm.. he's more food motivated cos he didn't have enuff to eat? if he's not fat or overweight... no reason to decrease his food intake lor.. unless u find that he's growing fat then maybe need to control abit.

ya ya i bring her for a swim to exhaust her hhaa otherwise huh she very bo eng keep nibble at her paws and even her docked tailed that is so short and chasing after it make her giddy i think and i saw some red mark on her tail and had been trying to distract her using some toys and playing with her to keep her busy.

i second that sea water is actaully so much better than chlorine water and in fact the nautral sea salt got some healing abilities but of course besides those being polluted so got to be careful which sea u & yr dog swim in.

I remember when my cousin was young he got scalded by very hot coffee and his skin took a long time to heal and he didn't even bother to revisit the doc again and in fact got heal when he went for swim in sea for a couple of times.

I believe mother nauture is gd to us and wonderful too and sometimes those satelite are the one that cause disasters to human.

just my 2 cents worth :D

hi hi soupie...hehhee thanks. Prince is beside me now....licking himself hehhehehe...

tell u something. just now i opened the cabinet door in my FH's room. the inside of the door got mirror. Prince got interested, and came to check it out. he took one look at the mirror, then went behind the cabinet door to look for the dog. he looked at the mirror again, and again went behind to look for the doggie in the mirror, which is of course not there...he looks soo cute!!!! hehehhee he did this a couple of times, and i showed it to FH after that...so adorable.

yep yep shane, like wat soupie asked, what was the reason u decreased his food intake? coz he din usually finish his usual meals? or coz he is overweight? there is a way of checking whether he is being overfed, check his feaces. is it wet and moist at the end/tips? if it is normal and got form, it's alright. but if it looks moist and wet at the tip, means he is overfed. that time Prince oso like that, so we decrease.....taught by our pet shop.

i decrease cos coco seems less interested with food now. so i thot decreasing. He's size seems alrite. Before i decrease, when i feed him, he'll look at the food and walk away,like he's not hungry. only after a while and some coaxing then he will eat them up. also, when trg with treats, he is less interested in the treats. so i thot reduce the food lor. these 2 days, he's back to his eager self when it's meal times and finish up his food really quickly !

binbin,
Prince quite smart hor hee hee... his logical thinking is there but hvn't learnt that that's a mirror ! hee hee ....

omve,
so which beach is better to bring dogs to ? I'll like to let coco try swimming one day ....

binbin, hahahaa so cute rite? sometimes they behave just like human babies... so curious and it's so fun and amusing watching them learning and picking up things.

shane, like that ah.. hmmm.. i get the same problem when i was feeding kibbles.. i guess they are just being picky.. eating the same food day in day out.. so they wanna 'test test water' and see if they'll get new type of food if they dun eat. so have to try to discipline them... give them a time limit... say 10 mins if they still dun want to eat just take it away. starve them for that meal... it's okie to starve them for a meal or two.. it's better to starve them a meal or two rather than overfeed them which can be life threatening :P all these provided that u're providing a good brand of food for them. and also dun feed them too much treats in between meals. but do check the freshness of the food and treats too.. sometimes it may be the freshness that's the problem. however, if after reducing and ur doggie didn't grow thinner, then go ahead cos it may be becos u were feeding too much before

my frens bring their doggies to the beach at sentosa for swimming.. i guess the water the cleaner there compared to the east coast beach.

hi hi shane and soupie...hhheheee yah he has not learn that there's a mirror there hehhehee.....farnie.

u know what? now i am concerned about Princ'e biting habits. he likes to clamp his jaws on our fingers...not hard, but perhaps playful. give him the benefit of the doubt now coz he is teething. but worried it may become a habit. i have tried exchanging my hand for his toys, but it doesn't work coz he dun like chewing his toys anyway.... :P dunno why....anyone have such problem? scared he next time bite ppl leh. nowadays when he snuggle close to me, onto my lap, rubbing his head against me etc....i may feel a sharp pain on my thigh then realised he has bitten my skirt hehehhee...alamak....i will then scold him, clamp his jaws tight, stare at him in the eyes and say "No Bite!". he will drop his gaze after some time, but still do it next time....sigh.....

soupie,
yup will monitor if he lose weight or not. the thing is that i don't have a digital weighing scale at home. very hard to keep track of his weight.

binbin,
coco also have this prob. always play bite hands. also like to jump and lick our faces which i don't want him to. now trying to train him to.
just keep telling him no. sometimes i resort to wacking him on his muzzle. but he ah, not scared one. still will try 1, 2 times to see i will whack or not. haiz.

hi shane, yah loh doggies are like that. they will trying something a few times to see/test if it'll invoke the same reaction from you hehehhehee...

binbin/shane, just keep reinforcing... and if they dun think much of the punishment.. be even more strict like scold him and put him back into the play pen or crate and ignore them totally.. u have to be consistent and strict.. cos if not it'll really be a problem if they start biting ur furniture or other pple. to us they are playing.. but it will alarm others who wanna try to pet ur dog especially small kids.

frosty also used to nibble on our hands when we play with him when young.. so my hubby trained him and now even if we push our hands in front of his mouth he also won't bite.. but there's still the once a while when he'll be really playful lor.. but that's natural.. just have to reinforce. he dun lick us on the face or lips.. we taught him to lick our ear lobes to show affection hehehe.. when we say 'kiss kiss' he go licking our earlobes.. whenever we reach home the first thing he wanna do is to lick our earlobes hehehe

soupie,

that's cute ! lick earlobes to be kiss kiss. hee hee ... pls share how u train that. wld want to teach coco to kiss kiss me .. hee hee ...

shane, dun really know how it started but frosty likes to smell and lick our ears.. so whenever he does that we say "kiss kiss" so after that he sorta know wat we meant and he knows it's his way of showing affection.. maybe it's the tone of our voice.. cos we always sound very pleased and praise him lots after he does that

Hi Soupie,

your frosty is so cute!!! How u manage to take picture of frosty? I always got problem with wye wye. He just refused to sit still for me to take picture.

Hi shane/ binbin,
What i do now is to give him a gentle slap whenever he start biting and at the same time said NO! He will get the msg but after some time, he will forget and then i repeat again. Soon he will learn. Hopefully still not too late. :P

Anyone here know how to train your puppy to wear booties? I bought for wye wye and just bring him out for walk. Apparantly he don't like it. We spent 1/2 an hour just to put it on him. :P