For All dog lovers

Pegsfur, the 2nd one was by dr chan, but the 1st one cant remember liao... too long ago... He's nt bad.. the wound heal nicely no complaint.

MTMTMT, i cannot wait liao cos giving birth in June, her next heat oso due in June. How much did dey chg u?? Is your gal able to walk the same day?

mag,

Er .... chew toys & biscuits also not effective leh .... I mean from wat my friends told me lah. They gave their dogs bones, as in real bones, beef knucles & chicken necks etc. Said the teeth is pearlie white & no tartar. No need to brush at all

mag,

Aiyoh, big bones is safer than smaller bones cos their teeth is not strong enough to break the big bones. What they do is they just keep biting & chewing the bone. The movement causes friction which aids in cleaning the teeth. Becos when tartar builds up, it's really hard to get it off & normal brushing is not going to help lor.

71890.jpg
Mummy .... I love bones!

71891.jpg
Coalie loves to carry her bones around

71892.jpg
Coalie enjoying her bone!

Hahaha ... she literally carry it around leh .... all these pics were taken on the same day

71906.jpg

71907.jpg

71908.jpg

71909.jpg

Last time when I was living at my mil's house, I used to get my bones from the market. Now that I've moved to punggol, I can only get it in supermarket lor.

mag,

I oso dunno which part .... but i guess it's the legs? The label on the packing says 'Big bone'. Other than that, i oso give knuckle bones as well as oxtail. But coalie doesn't seemed to like oxtail as much as the rest leh.

Oh, i'm using Canon Ixus V3 ... quite a handy cam for me

Hi pegsfur, thank you for your reply the last time, i have decided to get a dog before having a baby, am looking for one now.

Any of you here owns a white dog?Do u paper train your dog using newspaper?I would like to paper train instead of housebreak, but worry that the newspaper will stain my dog's coat, cuz i would like to get a bichon.Any advice?

lilacz

i own a maltese, but not to worry abt the staining, can be wash away... better worry abt the licking of paw area, cos it will cos red staining can tat you cant get rid of!

MTMTMT

Rawhide very sticky after the licking and chewing leh.. i dun want her to dirty my floor and sofa :P

hi gals... i am new to this thread... just wanna tell pegsfur that her dog is reallliieee cute... carry the 'big bone' around the whole day.... she must have loved it...

I love my dog alot too... she is the one who brightens up my dull days with her enthusiasium and excitment... haha

Just wondering, where is this Namly vet u gals were mentioning about? My gal got urinary tract infection prob... sometimes vomit la, sometimes this and that... hehe... she looks cute but lots of medical probs. haha

Hi Coco, the Namly Animal Clinic is at 74 Namly Place. (near sixth ave/bt timah.. i tink :p)
Their tel is 6469 4744 (close on thur and public holiday)

Mag,
yah.. rawhide does get disgusting :P

One thing I'm delighted is my dog doesn't jump on the sofa to doze or chew... always stays on the floor unless we are lying on the sofa and she thinks we want to play with her, only then will she jump up. I could never achieve that with my older dog (always nap on sofa and gives it a doggy stink, sigh).

Coco,
ur dog's problems attended to? Cos urinary tract can cause scarring and future old age incontinence and so on. My older dog used to vomit regularly, and have alot of gas- problem identified to be irritable bowel syndrome so now her food is specifically only a certain type from the vet's and no human food. Now vomits only when she manages to steal human food...

Yeah ... rawhide can't do the job well too becos of the disgusting state after chewing
The real bones is hard enough

Coco,

Thank u, thank u! My coalie siao char boh one ... She always carry the bone around whenever I give her ... dunno why oso

Btw, my previous dog oso had urinary tract infection ... keep peeing. Went to see vet, gave her a jab & medicine & she recovered within a week. So you don't 'tu' liao ... quickly bring her see vet ok?

pegsfur

I had convinced my hubby to let Mango try on the pork bone heheehe. But i tell you hor, Mango can even leave teeth and bite off markings on those nylon chew bone stated 'for aggressive chewers' leh...

I think she has no problam biting off the pork bone into bits lor :P So do you think its still safe to give her the pork bone?

mag,

Same here ... coalie oso

I tell u what, if u really 'bu fang xin', supervise her when u give her the bone. That's what i do initially. I'll take a look at the bone every few minutes to see if she has managed to break off any parts.

mag,

Wah ... this question very chim leh ... hahaha... i dunno which one is tougher oso
But if you r afraid the bones are too hard that it may hurt mango, u may want to try to give her oxtail 1st. I usually boil it over a few minutes & gave coalie.

But if u are afraid the bones wld be easy to break off, I think you can rest easy ... From coalie's pics i posted, can see the bone is very tough rite? Fang xin lah

Oh, forget to emphasize, always supervise when giving bones! I'd still go & check things out every now & then, just to play safe lah.

MTMTMT and pegsfur...
my little gal's problem started years ago... recurring and difficult to get rid of, especially with her bad habit of trying to "ren niao"(keep the unrine within her) She is super lazy and if u are around, she will only go to toilet WITH u... aiyoh... sometimes we have to think when was the last time she pee pee poo poo... haha... all we can do now is to encourage her to drink more water, eat less salty food and go to toilet often... i got her as a pomeranian mix in Aust... she is like my Hp from M1..

low initial cost,
high maintenance... haha

no regrets though... i find her super cute but defensive towards people she dun know... I always tease her, say she is an old b&$*h... hehe

May, thanks for your contact, but as I stay in the east, a bit far to travel out there hor? no choice lor... dun drive...

Mag,

Yeah, though alot of people i know give the bones raw, but I prefer to boil/scald it before giving to Coalie
But for yr info, only big bones can be boiled b4 giving to yr dog. Pls do not give boiled chicken or duck bones to yr dog ... cos they are smaller & softer, easier to splinter.

coco,

My previous dog has a fixed time for her to do her biz & she does her biz outside. Once in the morning b4 I leave for work, once in the evening when I come home & the last time at night before we sleep. Maybe u want to cultivate that kind of habit for her so that she woulnd't 'ren' for so long?

pegsfur

Thanks for yr info gal!! i shall try a big bone on her this good friday hahahaa.... will let you know abt the outcome!

Coco,
My dog initially also ren-niao when 1st paper-training... her record is 30 hrs I think. Very impressive bladder control, hahaha.
What I did is tempt her to drink more water lor... I mix abit of cranberry juice (cranberry is good to prevent urinary infection cos it coats the bladder lining to deter bacteria) with water and crumble bits of beef jerky into it. So she'd drink up the whole bowl to get to the beef jerky bits. Few hrs later, sure pee.

Now she's ok, but only once daily at the moment because of her Victorian collar (impedes her movement but we dare not remove cos painkiller wore off already and she looks like she's resting more nowadays... afraid her newly operated wound will itch and she scratch/ lick).

Aiyoh,

Just called my mum & she told me they are planning to go to the beach on 1 May. I can't go cos Coalie's supposed to be neutered on 30 Apr!!!! Hiaz ...... Sad ....

Hiaz .... of cos neutering lah ... but i was thinking of changing the date. But hor, I can't change it earlier cos my hubby will be going for reservist. If i postponed it, I'm scared her 2nd menses is coming .... aiyoh ...

pegsfur... ur mum very happening huh? Go to the beach... hahaha... ya... think its better to get it over and done with...

MTMTMT and pegsfur... she has regular toilet breaks... hehe... just like the ones u mentioned... but somehow if we are home, she will stick to us and if we dun go downstairs which is where her toilet is, she "REN" hehe..
she should be a ninja... REN so much = REN ZHE hehehe...

ya... have to think where to do the second toilet... didnt do it coz scared it will confuse her.. do u gals allow ur doggies to eat fruits like apple? Vet says its ok... do u gals think so?

Coco

i dun think will confuse her lah, cos its at diff level and she doesnt have the habbit to go downstairs to pee

I onli give her cheese once awhile... i ever give grapes when she was still small.. now she forgotten how to eat liao :P

Like the vet says its ok to give but i dun think its neccessary lor

Yeah, i give coalie fruits & veggies. She likes apples too .... prob becos it's crunchy.

mag,

hey, that's a nice effect leh ... & as usual, mango looks blur blur one

hey Mag ur doggie so cute!!!! Hehhehee..... long time no see. bringing Prince to our home soon. now he still living in MIL place.

pegsfur

oh! i see! haha.. tat's her Style!!!!

BinBin

Thanks! hehe realli long time no see you here leh.. Prince wat size liao??? show us his pic soon ok??

hihi Mag, his size same same.
hehehe....we took photo with him during our wedding, my hubby carried him as i was in my WG gown, and we saw that pic and we like it a lot!!!! collecting it today, will show you soon.
i long time no appear coz busy with wedding preps mah. had a great time, and just came bek from honeymoon.

hi hi gals...

bin bin... hi hi... we meet again... ya lor.. i cant wait to see ur AD pics too... so exciting...

ya lor... my gal also loves apples... hehe... but she doesnt like oranges... guess to sour liao... hehe