For All dog lovers

hi pegsfur,
which BS are u from???
And how much did u spend on AD photograph?? Cos my BS package dun include AD photo. Now trying to find a cheap but good one. Heehe.
FH brought a videocam to record AD, but hope to capture some "hardcopy" of AD as well...
And,is e diff great between professional and those DIY?

Hi irene,

My BS is Precious Moments, and my AD photographer is Mabel Lee

I think most BS don't include AD photos one, mine too. So I scout around & found mabel's work quite ok. I can't really remember how much I paid for my AD photography .... think it's abt $688 or something like that. But I think she has increased her price liao. Maybe you want to check with her?

http://www.mabelleephotography.com

Er ... I personally think there's a diff between DIY & professional. Professionals will be able to capture the mood better ... unless your friend/relative who's doing the photos for u are just as good, then that's a diff story lah

Irene

I had DIY AD Videography by my close friend. Can complaint much hehehe got no fish, prawn also good

I did saw my friend's wedding with professional videography, they have got those big flashlights and one person holding a big mic maciam TCS outdoor shooting wan lor hahaha.

You wana view my AD photos? I will realli wana intro my AD photographer to you if you are interested cos i think he is GREAT

mag,

Wah, yr friend's videography really sounds like those tcs shooting ...
But mine wasn't like that leh, only 1 guy with his equipment, and the mic is attached to his videocam one, so not so dramatic

pegsfur

hahaha yeah lor...
hey the pets milk i gave Mango yesterday morning, my hubby said her poo is not very loose but rather soft looking than normal lor.. :P dun dare to give her too much still :P

How come coalie will vomit after drinking milk? you gave a lot to her isit?

mag,

Hahaha ... yeah, very cute with the milk moustache. Human's milk moustache is on the upper lips, coalie's is on lower lips one .. hahaha

She's looking at my hand, which is holding the milk leh ... very tum chiak

pegsfur

Yesterday i put the milk into Mango's bottle and he just stood there drink finish the milk without moving any part of her body other than her mouth ah! she realli liked it i think ;) these few days she not eating much of her meal leh... not again ah... sian man...

mag,

Hey, was thinking of doing it too. I saw the advert once for 1 dog is $99, with owner I think is more expensive. There's one at Bishan Park rite?

i found one under Singnet member goodies, snap family portriat with yr pet, package 1 = $90, package 2 = $140 and Package 3 = $240, you may wana check it out

The studio is at Holland Village

pegsfur

my package 1 $90 - consists of 6 to 8 postcard size proofs + 3 x 4r + 1 x 5R prints FOC another 6 x 4r (worth $20)

better leh

Mag, can I have more details (name, location) of the studio in HV?

Hi ladies, I just spayed my dog. Quite traumatic cos timing very poor- happened her heat was on-the-way, neither I nor the vet detected any heat signs. They said only after they opened then they saw the blood vessels, so more complicated procedure. Now she's still recovering at home from the pain (need painkillers and all).

So those planning this op, maybe best timing is after heat completely stopped. I was too caught up with other matters only scheduled appt recently.

or maybe this could help

Package 1 at $90
-includes 6 to 8 pastcard size proofs + 3 x4R + 1 x 5R prints
-6 Free 4R (worth $20)

Package 2 at $140
-Includes 8 to 12 postcard size proofs + 3 x 4R + 1 x 5R + 1 x 8R prints
- 1 Free 5R + 6 Free 4R (worth $28)

Package 3 at $240
-Includes 12 to 18 postcard size proofs + 6 x 4R + 2 x 8R + 1 x 11R prints
-1 Free 8R + 6 Free 4R (worth $38)

The Furdography Studio
Blk 44 Jalan Merah Saga, #03-48 Holland Village
Tel: 6474 1832, 6474 1732 or 9278 0669

As this is under singnet offer last mth, chk out with the company on next up coming offer if they have
any new news update me too ok!?

Or maybe anyone had used their services be4 can also give comments too

mtmtmt,

U didn't take note of her last heat? I was told have to wait for abt a mth after her last heat then can spay her. I just made an appt at Namly clinic to spay her on 30 Apr. Hope everything goes on well! How's yr doggie now? Hope she's ok.

mag,

U confirm taking up the package for photography?

Hi pegsfur,
I adopted her last Oct n she had her heat... so I dunno her cycle. Didn't spay her last yr cos I married in Nov and we moved with dog from mum's place to new home... too many things going on for her liao (from ex-owner home to mum's home temporarily to my home). This yr was too caught up with other things, delayed until now.

Just checked with ex-owner, seems my dog probably got dry heat with no symptoms that vet couldn't detect too. She's ok now, recovering... hopefully no side effects but not desired timing- other dog owners should note, 1 mth after heat ends is best for dog (and owner cos they charged me more for complications).

Mag, thanks for the details!
My dog abt 3 yrs old... still considered young. My other dog I spayed just after her 1st heat... I think this sort of thing, after 1st heat perhaps better, cos younger can bounce back abit better.

mtmtmt,

I c ... but normally their cycle is once half yearly. Coalie had hers in Dec, so I must get her 'done' before her 2nd heat which i estimate shld be in May/June

mag,

I just bought a baby inflatable pool for coalie to play leh .... hehehe... she loves to play with water. That day brought her to the court & there were puddles of water cos it rained in the afternoon. Guess what she did? She found the nicest puddle & plonk herself in it .... all her tummy & legs wet lor ....

pegsfur

wah you realli spoliting her leh!!! hahahaa
yr house big enough to put the pool ah hahahah how much isit??? i also wana get one leh

mag,

No lah ... if my house big enough, I'll get those big big type, then I can stay inside & play with her oso ... hahaha ... Dreaming lah

I haven't 'blow up' the pool yet, but the size is 61cm in diameter ... a small one lah but enough for her to play. I bought it at carreffour for $10.90, then i oso buy the pump at $5.90

Hey, i checked with my supplier liao ... she said it's difficult to put such long wordings into the collars cos the collar is too thin, if want to do, the collar will be out-of-shape. So how?

mag,

The 1.6cm one quite thick leh ... U see the pic below, the yellow & red one is 1cm, the thickest one is the 1.6cm one. Btw, the yellow one out of stock le ... only left red, blue & black leh.
65066.jpg

nd some help. my maltese was diagnose with tick fever today. was told by vet that the incubation of this disease can be as short as few days to as long as 3 mths and the dog will die if left untreated but tats abt all i noe. anyone noe anything abt tick fever, can enlightened me abt dos and donts for my pup...?
thks a million!

Hi pegsfur and Mag,
yeah I told the vet when her last heat was, but they said the cycle varies and they couldn't detect too... in the end, sigh. Turns out she was in DRY heat (whatever that means). Anyway she's looking good now haha (so much better than when we collected her cos we got so worried she looked so terribly groggy and couldn't move at that time). We put the Victorian collar on her so she wouldn't lick or worse, pull out her stitches. Also prevents her from jumping up and down and tearing herself accidentally, yikes.

MTMTMT

I bought one for mango after her spray, but when we watch her with the pitiful look with the victoriam collar.. we decided to remove it from her

Angie
Soori i am not very sure abt the fever, but i've heard ppl say that the ticks will suck the blood of the dog and will need blood transfer if serious...

Do chk out the web for more info.
Good Luck and hope yr dog be well soon!

Mag, yup very pitiful looking. But I think my dog abit "stupid", doesn't know she's not supposed to be excited (vet orders), not supposed to jump up and so on, so we use the collar to control her movements. Also less worry that she'd pull out her stitches cos the vet mentioned some dogs do that to such extent that internal organs fall out. Eeeks.
Suffer awhile of misery, but lets her rest lor.

Hi Agnie,

How's yr doggie now? Hope it's ok. I did a search on the internet & found this. All dog owners might want to take note too.

--------------------------------------------------
Tick fever is caused by an organism called Ehrlichia Canis, which is a bacteria-like organism that is carried by the brown dog tick. When dog is bitten by a tick, the tick releases the organism into the bloodstream and it infects circulating blood cells.
There are three phases of tick fever: acute, subclinical, and chronic. These different phases of infection can have different symptoms. But the main symptoms generally present in all forms are anemia and low platelet numbers (which can cause a greater tendency to bleed).

Common signs that owners can look for include: depression, inability to walk, seizures, vomiting, diarrhea, pale gums, small areas of bruising on the skin, and weight loss. Sometimes the dog just appears to be "not doing right."

Diagnosis of tick fever involves a simple blood test called a titer which tests whether or not a dog has antibodies to Ehrlichia. A dog may test positive, even if an owner has never seen a tick on the dog.

Treatment of tick fever always involves tetracycline or doxycycline. Other treatment depends on how sick the dog is, and may include a stay in the hospital on IV fluids. Improvement of symptoms is often rapid when the dog is treated, however it may take a long time for a positive titer to turn negative.

Hi pegsfur,

Thks for the info. My doggy is recovering already. He's more or less back to his own playful self, juz nd to continue wif his meds. The article is very accurate. My doggy does not hav ticks so till now, I still dunno where he got bitten. Mayb fr the park below my place but anyway, will stop bringing him dwn to play for the time being. All the other dog lovers muz really becareful too cos it seems quite serious if left untreated...

Hi angie,

Oh, I'm glad to hear that!
How long does he need to continue on the medicine?

I read that the tick fever is caused by tick bites from infected ticks .... so scary rite?

mtmtmt,

How long did yr doggie recover from the grogginess? I specially chose a Friday for her op so that I can take care of her on Sat & Sun. I hope I'm prepared to see her in that pityful state. Last time when I brought my previous dog for teeth scaling, the poor girl looks so ke lian when we collected her & I cried & cried cos I wasn't prepared to see her lying there so weak, and blood stains all over her muzzle!

pegsfur

i just bought a tube of toothpaste with chicken favour for Mango... trying to rub her teeth with a cloth wiped ard my finger.. but a bit diffcult to poke my finger into the back of her mouth leh... and as the toothpaste is not mint favour, i also duno if it realli cleansed her teeth anot lor :P

Hi pegsfur, yah my dog much better liao. She ah, now can move around quite quickly with her Victorian collar... turns out it doesn't impede her as much as we had hoped.

My mum sent her Thurs morn, then Thurs night we insisted on bringing her home even though vet suggested overnight at vet (where NO ONE was going to be around for whole night and doesn't open that early either!) We decided better to carry her home instead so we can monitor her and she'd feel better in home environment than alien vet environment. Looked very pathetic that night- so groggy and eyes closed as if in great pain. My HB carried her carefully in a box cos dun want to accidentally touch her stitches. She couldn't walk, only stand. And basically for hours she just lay there and slept. Middle of the night she managed to barge into our bedroom though, so recovery is quite fast.

Next morning (Fri) can follow HB around but not run. Sat can jump and run liao without the collar (but we try to prevent her by putting the collar so she's not used to this weird collar... but NOW she's adapted to it).

Oh and she managed to take her collar out a few times so we watch her carefully... cos wound is bound to be itchy (like humans... we get scratched or a scab will be itchy but we KNOW we should not scratch... dun think a dog knows that lor).

Pegsfur & MTMTMT

are your gals toking abt the spraying? My dog was a little blur looking when we picked her up after the OP. When she reach home, she was tired looking and sleep on her own. but could still jump out onto my sofa and my hubby and i got a shock when she jumped! Overall she was ok lor
den after 6pm we gave her food and water. She ate like nobody's business hahaha...

Hi MTMTMT, can I chk with you, did u gal have any symptoms of the heat before u bring her for speying? My gal is going for the op soon but lately she seems to be on heat keep climbing on top of her cheh cheh and gor gor.

Hi Pegsfur, I am oso going to bring my gal down to namly on the 30th leh!!... hee... wat breed is your gal?

Pegsfur

You bringing yr dog to Namly Clinic? Good choice, I realli had no regrets bringing Mango all the way there! Her scar was so nicely closed!

May,

My dog is a silky terrier
My appt is at 9am. Yours?

Mag,

Your Mango oso done it there? Was Dr Ling the one who did the op?

mine is a shih tzu... oso at 9am...heee.. mayb will see u there.... Actually the appt very hard to get.. cos they always very full... prev my 2 older dog oso went there. but not done by dr ling.

Pegsfur

Yup i booked for Dr Ling
and you better not be late for the appointment cos her counter gal will give you LL attitude and will tell you "YOU ARE LATE" YOU WILL HAVE TO WAIT! :S

Dr Ling will give coalie a check and you can tell her abt yr concerns. and she actually chked Mango's teeth and offered to help pull out two baby teeth! FOC somemore!! :D

mag,

Did u book Dr Ling when u fix the appt? I called them after fixing the appt to tell them I want Dr ling but the recep said they'll call us 2 days b4 the op, then I can tell them i want Dr ling.

Btw, have heard alot of people saying brushing doesn't help cleaning the teeth leh .... they said giving bones to chew will do the trick better then brushing

May,

Then yr 2 previous doggies is it done by Dr Chan? How's the skills?

May,
Mine had no symptoms even undetected by vet but when they proceeded with the op, they found she was beginning heat already.
If u r in doubt, I suggest u postpone til after her heat, safer... or else more complications. Longer surgery time cos more ligations to be done due to the bloodflow, more painkillers for her, and they charged me abit more too.

Vet specified if u have OTHER dogs, keep them away after surgery so that they won't play so rough with each other. Supposed to avoid jumping, excitement- stitches could tear, and/or the vet mentioned it'd move the freshly operated organs inside her...
Sounds scary lah, but mine is really doing fine now.

Pegsfur

huh, y like tat? i onli told them i wana spray my dog and i want Dr ling to do the op lor i didnt encounter wat you had leh :P

i have been giving her chew toys and bicuits
maybe brushing is another way to secure her teeth cleaniness