FISHER & PAYKEL fridge and washing machine/dryer ?

Hi am blessed,

save electricity? er.... I got a dryer so electricity is more for me but then I used to pay $6-$8 per blanket to the laundry which is estimated to be at least $8 X 4 per month...so overall still save la

goooogal

I've been using my FP washer for 3 yrs and so far no complaint. It's quiet and saves water and electricity. My fridge is from Indesit though and is also energy saving. My utility bill seldom exceeds $100 and I live in a 5rm. Of course it helps that my air con is inverter sysem...;)

fleur1

H Sunnyday,

What is the typical drying time for the F&S dryer? Do you put it to light dry or dry usually? I find that it takes very long if the load is very full, hence we tend to separate into smaller loads.

Hi Fleur,

I think approximately about 1.5 to 2hrs for full load. I didnt press anything n just the default setting

smurfy

Sunnyday,
Do you need to fix a air venting pipe from your dryer to let the air out of the window? It seems like this is necessary for most tumble dryers.

How long have you been using this dryer?

Hi smurfy,

nope, for my fisher n paykel, it does come with an 'elephant trunk'. I just wipe my wall tiles after the cycle.

been using it for 3 months.

smurfy

sunnyday,

you mean yo don't use the elephant trunk but have to wipe your wall tiles after each cycle. Am I right?

Since you mounted it on the wall, where does the air comes out from?

Hi smurfy,

for mine, it does come with 'elephant trunk'...not that I dont use the 'trunk'. Not all brands of dryers have 'elephant trunk'.

the air just came out onto the wall tiles...I just need to wipe it if I'm hardworking. Cos I have it mounted very near to the kitchen windows (scroll upwards and see post on Wednesday, November 16, 2005 - 9:08 am)and its pretty windy most of the time so it dries up pretty fast.

smurfy

sunnyday,

So far all brands of tumble dryers do come with a trunk (maybe except for this). Only condenser dryer doesn't have trunk.

So the air comes out from the side of your dryer towards the window issit? Becos the back of the dryer is already mounted, so the air cannot be blowing out from the back. However, according to the manual, you suppose to fit a deflector at the back of your machine if you do not use extenal venting.

Hi smurfy

not sure about this but my friends' dryer (dunno which brand) also dont have the elephant trunk.

errr....mounted on the wall but there's still about 8 cm gap so air still able to blow out from the back.

Maybe others using F & P dryer can enlighten cos due to space constraint, i could only get a F & P as it allows me to mount it upside down.

Hi smurfy,

maybe u can visit Courts as they have various dryers there. I was won over by the salesgirl (oops aunty). She was very friendly but I didnt get mine from there as got it cheaper at Goh Ah Bee. Oh, the one I visited was at Compass Point. Mayer showroom also at Compass Point B1 so u can check out other brands of dryer too eg ariston

fleur1

Hi Sunnyday and Smurfy,

I am lucky. I have a nice laundry room, so my F&P dryer is on the floor, next to the open windows. Anyway, I wouldn't be able to mount it above the washing machine because directly over it, is the toilet window for the toilet at the side of the wall. Anyway, I think it is good for the dryer to be next to the windows for air circulation.

Hi Sunnyday,
Have to ask you a silly question. How to tell when it is full load? I don't know cos I always separate my load into two. Haha... and the max capacity of my F&P washer is 8kg.

Hi Fleur,

I also dunno what's full load. My F & P is 7.5Kg (too bad cant get the bigger one due to space constraint). Most of the time, I dun separate and just dump everything into the dryer. More load then gotta bear in mind that it'll take a longer time to complete the drying but we dun care as we really love the dryer for helping us cut down valuable time spent on doing the laundry.

cecilialim

i bought already la... but just want to see whether i paid more for it... $570 includes delivery and installation (wall mount)

ridhwan82

hi lala if you are interested electrolux is having offer if i am not wrong. 5kg auto sensing dryer that can swallow even an 8 kg load its fine. you can even put in a queen or king sized quilt and the drum still has space to tumble.

priced at 549 offer price. though im not too sure if the price is still as such can check for you. usual price is 699

ngels

Hi Cecilia,

Isit really safe to weall mount? Stable meh? Anyone using it for more than a year on wall mount? How's the utilities bills? really curious leh...
Does it take that long (1-2 hours)for the clothes
to dry? Is it true that we need to separate the clothing type or all dump into it?

ridhwan82

hi lala,

well it generally takes about 1 hour to 1hour and a half for the clothes to dry.

Factors that will affect the drying time are :
1) ambient temperature and humidity level
2) types of clothes
3) setting used
4) position of the dryer which will also affect point no 1.

so on average if you are drying say jeans only maybe say 4 pairs or so then it will take a bit longer then say if the load is just light cotton fabrics.

and for consumptions wise for the fisher paykel ED56 is about 1.48kwh for a 2.5kg load so if its the full load (rated as 4.5kg) should linger around the region of about 2kwh.

assume that its full load x current rate of electricity

2kwh x 0.2102 = $0.4204 to operate one time.

so if you wanna approximate monthly hopw much multiply the rate above to the number of times you approx use in a month that should give you an amount of electricity consumption yeah?

if you are wondering if it is really safe to moount it on the wall. well it is safe provided the person does it for you properly.

like my aunt's case she has it up for more than a year i think about 2 years plus and she requested that during the installation to have the wall tile that they are going to drill the holes to hold the machine up to be removed. i think she removed something like a few tiles only those affected areas.

take your cabinet that is the on the upper side. it is also drilled into the wall did it fall? so yeah installation during the drilling and fixing up is important.

ngels

Hi Ridz,

Thanks for the detailed info...cheem man...i am gonna show my hubby the calculation tonight to convince him to buy the dryer....kekeeekeke *evil giggle*

ridhwan82

hi lala,

not a problem. and also to take note that the 2kwh usage is the the max that the machine will consume. usually if your load is not that heavy and plus with the auto sensing dryers where once its dry it will stop, it will rarely exceed that maximum consumption.

On average, say electrolux 6kg dryers with 6kg cotton also consumes max 2,2kwh for one time run which is also the maximum

kenjoc

Actually how many should we buy for the washing machine? 7.5kg or the 10kg type?

Friends told me not to buy big one, as there's only two of us (my FH and I), waste electricity and water. But those salesman advise us to buy 10kg, can wash quilt/curtains/bedlinen. How ar?

cha_alex

I use 7kg front load w/m. No problem, can swallow quilt cover and bedsheet in one time washing.... the w/m still able to tumble

ridhwan82

look at what is the largest item that you would be washing? if its king size bedsheet then just a normal 5kg would do. but if you are talking about say a king size comforter then we are talking of about at least 6kg washer. it could be more. and if yuou are taking about king size quilts then think whether it it more worth it to get a bigger capacity (which will cost more) versus sending it to the laundry where they have those super huge ones that will do a good wash of the quilts.

So its about economics. what is the load that you would more often wash versus those that you would once in a while wash. Bearing in mind that space could be a consideration. And also COSTS.

Bigger capacity washer and dryer are expensive that i can tell you and most of the washer say fisher and paykel have big washer up to i think 10 kg or something like that but their dryers are all 5kg and so are most brands.

Like thomson and brandt they have up to 6kg washer but their dryers is 5 kg only. Elextrolux have 6kg washer as well as 6kg dryer but mind you they dun come cheap 6kg washer coming around 1k and the dryers around 700+

So see what you normally washe everyday and decide don the capacity and those like curtains or wuilt which you wash maybe say once a month or so.. can send to laundry? just a suggestion.

If you are thinking of say 5kg washer and dryer i would recommend thomson. im having that. So far i washed queen sized quilts and put in the dryer. its alright. but i think king size would be oversized for the capacity.

elextrlux has 6kg wash and 6kg dryer. This would my alternative recommendation but ultimatelyt its your decision.

How to buy washing machine.

1) space that you have for the washing machine and dryer (this will determine what kinda washer you can buy) bigger space then anything can do but small space either take high performance but small construction top loaders like thomson and pyut it side by side or buy front loader and stack dryer on top like electrolux?
2) Features that you need like silk, cotton, delicates, capacity (this will eliminate your options further
3) Water consuptions. generally asian brands consume a lot of water. like jap brands one time they fill the tup it will consume say abouit 50 litres or so. then u have like at least 4 times of fill and refill so its lke the wash will use about 200++ litres of water. compare to continental brands like thomson, elextrolux, miele- these are water saving they consume total for all the wash ansd rinses a mere 50 litrles max for entire cycle. (but bear in mind that continental washer take about 1h+ to 2 hours tio wash to compensate for the little water it uses.
4) Electricity consumption. For japancese brand they can use up to 2.0 kwh ++ per wash that will take barely 40 -50mins to complete right? and they use cold water. But compare to continental washers like the above mentioned. although they take uop to 2 hours to wash. BUT they consume total only average 1.55KWH at 60degrees wash!! continental are energy efficient. How to calculae the costs. look at KWH consumptions times this by the rate of electricity.

COntinental
1.55KWH x $0.21 per KWH (rate now by SPservices)= $0.3255 but this is at 60 degrees if its cold wash then its using the same electricity as below but the wash cycle still around 1h plus compared to below which is only around say half and hour?

Asian
0.3 KWH x $0.21 = $0.0189

But compare the features.. washing at 60 degrees compared to just cold wash which is more efficient. means that if continental you set at cold wash the consumption is barely a few hundred watts. or 0.xx KWH .

The only drawback about continental is that they take a bit of time to wash which needs some adjustting to . But they have a built in quickwash which can wash your load at around 1h5mins or so. But if you are like me used to usint thomson over 20 years i think nothin much about the time.

brood over it yeah?

iceblue27

halo! is anyh using f&p 's E381T 380l, n E411T fridge?
any comments?

i check big stores sellig E381T at $898, any place lowr price then this?pls advise thks

sky25

Anyone using this particular model washing machine- GWC12?? Any feedback?? How much did you pay for??

Thank You

ridhwan82

my fren is using it. apparently not much of a problem, they are quite happy with it..

how much ah that one gotta check with my fren i think its about 800 or so.

waht is it that you want to know about it?

teacup

I been using the GWC12 for the past 5 months. Very happy with it. Easy to operate and big enough to wash my quilt cover and bedsheets together.
I paid $660 for it.

sky25

I hav sm feedback from pple saying tt d stick in d middle is no gd, blarblar..

Hearin positive feedback relieves me..

Thank You

ridhwan82

well the agitator is there for a good reason.

more often then not most of the complaints about this is because it seems cannot fit a lot of thing in the big washer.

but my question would you be more interested in the cleaning quality or the quantity.

if quantity then you go and settle for asian brands if quality of the wash then f&p is a better choice lah if you prefer the sian technique of washing aka loads of water

using the agitator, because of that it prevents you from
1)overloading the machine and hence better wash
2)cleaner wash as you notice is there blades all the way down to the bottom of the agitator as with normal asian washer the only thing you can bet on in washing the clothes is the water movements and that about it cos the outer drum spin in the opposite direction of the inner drum and hence creating a swirling whirpool effect in the water hence moving the clothes.
using the beater it will help you to move the clothes and dislodge the dirt out more effectively yet at the same time f&p alsop have invver and outer drum and and swirling water in place

take for example you washing a quilt then place the thing around with the agitator, the quilt will get beaten at on every single part of the quilt. i did watch the wash once and notice how the quilt eventually got turned up and in and out and down in the drum, means thorough wash. but for normal washer without the agitator then you notice that cos the quilt is huge and nothing in the centre chances are sometimes the part that is inside the 'ball' that is created when you load the machine is still inside the when you take out later and henve means that its was not turned out and in and up and down and sometime there is even residue of the detergent cos its not rinsed thoroughly.
3) it help to save water too. using that beating and swirling technology is not only useful in the washing. but also useful in the rinse. as the clothes can get thoroughly seperated for water to penetrate to disloge the dirty water out.. and hence lesser number of rinses required means lesser water
4)also if you have storage water heater then lagi best you can run pipes to the storage water heater there is cold water inlet and hot water inlet. then f&p will open both hot and cold to mix to become warm water wash. there solving problems that there is no warm wash. cos f&p dun have internal heater unlike continental washer.

but you can still have heated water wash only thing is that you need to have storage water heater ler. else its only cold wash..

so there is an option you see.

its about getting used to the design. my friend is a bit mad.she refuse to get drum type continental washer just because she things the drum looks like the dumpster door and even though with the benefits of continental washer far outweighs her dislike for the design she still choose asian washer. how silly. how to progress like that if you keep on thinking backwards. seriously but that is her still i respect her decision. shes entitled to her own views.

sky25

i read smwhere tt aft washin, the clothes wont b so crumpled.. but wat attracts us is tt d number of yrs for d warrenty n saves on electricity n water.. thou i feel tt washing machine wont get spoilt so easily..

teacup

yeah, the clothes do not tangle up and are not so crumpled as compared to asian washing machines. This piece of appliance is something i really love.

sozky

I have just started using my F&P washer. When I select say, "REGULAR" cycle, the wash time is only less than 20 mins. Is this normal ? I thot a normal wash should take an hr or so....

ridhwan82

yes thats the normal washing time for fisher n paykel.

although fisher paykel is so called a continental washer but its washing technique is using the asian method just slightly modified thats all..

keypers

Anyone uses Fisher & Paykel Refrigerator?
My aunt uses it and got scared of it cause it broke down many times within 2 years and threw it out.
Called a shop, and they told me Fisher & Paykel compressor for refrigerator no good.

But their energy consumption is the least among all the other brands!

As for their washing machine, my mom home using it I love it, therefore will buy the same.

Just wondering about the refrigerator, anyone can help?

carpediem

hi there first time in this thread..need advice for washing machine and fridge...should I get 2-in-1 washer/dryer or separate washer and dryer? Any comment on electrolux, FP & indesit? First time buying washing machine...me also looking for a fridge and wondering if FP better or samsung....any comment on 2-door fridge? was told by salesman that 2-door fridge consumes more electricity than the conventional type....

ridhwan82

hi carpediem,

i try to help but decision is still yours yeah?

1)with regards to your washing machine
2-1 washer dryer.
1.1what is the usage like? once a day washing of of 6kg? or is it once a week or twice a week?
1.2 do you have space to put a seperate washer plus a dryer to stack or side by side?
1.3 what is your budget? both the 2-1 and seperate
1.4 what is the features you are looking at?
1.5 what is the capacity that you are looking at?

2 comments on washing machines
2.1 electrolux is a well known brand in the front load washing arena and has proven reliability for years and the after sales is great too.
2.2 Fisher and paykel, now this brand on the other hand is one of the major makers of asian type washing machine so i cannot do a cross comparison with electrolux cos they are continental washers and have its own sets of pros and cons. but f&p is a good and reliable machine which offers 5 years rust free and i think 2 years on the parts and labours please double check this
2.3 indesit. yes there is this promotion that is at 6kg washer and a 6 kg dryer at 899 but bear in mind that indesit is the generalist brand for ariston and in terms of workmanship and quality ariston would be superior. similarly to that like thomson and brandt where thomson is the premium brand in the fagrobrandt group while brandt is the generalist targetting at general consumers hence slighly lower workmanship and lacking in some features exclusive to thomson.

3 comments on fridges
yes the salesman is right about that and NO the salesman is also wrong about the fact that side by side 2 door fridges consumes far more electricity let me explain.

the conventional fridges has only 1 compressor that operates both the freezer and chiller section.

while the side by side has either 1 compressor or there are 2 seperate compressors.

if you get the side by side with 2 seperate compressors then it is confirm consumes less elecricity. if you refer to some of my earlier posts.

let me get some data to concur

display as follows
Brand Model Type Green Ticks Volume (l) Annual Energy Consumption (kWh)
Fisher & Paykel E522B Refrigerator 2 519 751

this means thats it consumes volume of 519 litres consuming about 751 kwh convectional types fridge

take the 751/519= 1.44 this is average consumption to cool per litre of fridge space per year

compare with this
Samsung RS21DASV Refrigerator, side by side, ice dispenser 3 534 686

while this is side by side and with a capacity of 534 litres it consumes about 686 kwh

take 686/534 = 1.28 this is the average consumption to cool per litre of fridge space per year

so in this case clearly the side by side is more efficient using lesser energy per litre to cool per annum and this is possible with the result of what thye call twin cooling sytem where the compressor for fridge is seperate and independant from that of the freezer.

so he can be right and wrong at the same time. and please i am not making this up this is the submission and verified by singapore national climate change committee under the
singapore's energy labelling scheme for refridgerator.

so its not fair just to look at the consumption per annum is high but consider also the capacity that the fridge is cooling yeah?

carpediem

hi ridz, thanx for the detailed explanation..now i can try to reason out wif my spouse....hehe...though have no idea frequency of washing clothes but think i would need a dryer cos my kitchen doesnt get much sunlight....

ridhwan82

do take note that for 2-in-1 washer dryer,

when you wash say a 6kg load then you need to dry you need to take out half to dry then after the dryin is complete then put in the other half to try.

hence its 3 full cycles of about 2 hours each hence total 6 hours to wash and dry just a 6kg load. and electricity consumption is a lot more than ytou get a seperate washer and a dryer.

cos you wash 6kg take about 2 hours then you put inside dryer then it will take another say max 2 more hours (but from my experience its about only 1h30 the max for drying) so total about only 4 hours to wash a 6kg dryer and electricity is a lot lesser.

washer dryer to wash uses about 1.05kwh (assuming 60 degreesx wash) + 1.9 +1.9 = 4.85kwh

but seperate washer and seperate dryer its about 1.05 kwh + 2.25kwh = 3.3kwh

so yeah> there you go.

summerala

F&P havin 50% discount promotion in their dryer for those buying GWC12 ... wonder anyone bought?? Im still considering if I should purchase a dryer or not.... It definitely wastes more electricity than hanging the clothes.. but hate to see my clothes hanging all over the place....

ridhwan82

hi summerala,

its not that true that it wastes electricity. its something that can help you do things like drying your clothes. then if you base it that way then isnt watching television even more wasteful.

apologies but i am not trying to attack you but just my point of view? why not spend a few more kwh to help you dry your clothes faster and safer and with the comfort you get.

like drying the most maybe costs you about 2kwh which translates to about with the current rate of electricity about 50 cnets max for every drying load. and multiply that bny the number of times you use the dryer in a month>

presuming that you need to do lauyndry like mayeb 3 times a week so its about $1.50 per week x 4 weeks = $6.. what is $6 more for less trouble and what you say the unsightly sight.