Eczema problems

cherubies

hi patjoy2002,

i get eczema when i'm stressed.
so i will go see my GP to get a cream to apply.
there's always a tendency to scratch the itch...
but i controlled myself...so as to avoid marks.

patjoy2002

hi cherubies,

i'm stuck with eczema for 4 yrs already.. and its really getting on my nerve..

it get really itchy when the weather gets hot.. and its difficult to resist scratching it..

there are already some scratch marks developing and its permanent according to my Doc.. its a side effect of cream..

u hv any idea on how to get rid of the marks? i heard laser treatment is good.. but quite costly.

my eczema is on a very embarassing area.. so i quite shy to talk abt it...
its kindof affecting me.. as it doesn't look good.. on the gowns which i've selected for my wedding..

rash

me too hv eczema problem....for many years..and it get worst when the weather gets hot...i wonder why.
on and off i will hv some rashes develop and its real itchy. it start off as a tiny little red dots..and it's itchy.....once you start scratching...it spread wider.

usually i'll get some cream from the doctor and upon applying it ...it's not so itchy. scratch marks are there but lighten over time. just dun scratch too hard ..

initially it only affect my leg, now it is also affecting my back and chest.

piglet

Don't think you can really remove the marks coz prob can't do AHA if it's a sensitive spot. Have mine on the neck and jawline and eyelids. Have been doing scrubs on my neck so that the scars will lighten.

Was told eczema is for life ... sometimes the eczema will go off but if you are in your 20s and it's still appearing ... the likelihood of you growing out of it is very low. ;O(

i hate eczema

Hi Patjoy,

I suffer from eczema too! Went to the skin clinic but doc told me that there is nothing he can do.

I've got another friend who said mixing tea tree oil and almond oil and apply on affected area.

Dunno whether really works or not.. coz currently no itch.

sam

Hi, can someone enlighten me on what eczema actually is? I have these itchy areas on my skin which comes on and off...and most of the times it leaves marks on my legs and they are in small dots..

how does someone get eczema and what can cure it?

rgrds,
sam

flowee

I hv eczema on certain parts of my face from time 2 time...
reali hates it but accordin 2 doc there's nothin muz i can do...
doc prescribed medication but due 2 my itch hands there r some left behind marks...

Try to apply some moisturiser in the areas. It will reduce the itching. Certain mild soaps may help too. you can go into a pharmacy and ask the pharmacist ( try to avoid the SAs, usually they trey to SELL u their own products)to recommend u one. Many OTC and pharmacy products works quite well if your eczema is not severe.

I used to get it on my cheeks because of my specs frame. Now that I changed it to titanum frame,the eczema dissapeared.

patjoy2002

thank for sharing ur eczema experiences with me..

i didn't know there are so many ppl been affected..

my eczema is consider severe i guessed.. worst during hot & humid weather where sweat triggers the ich.. my Doc is specialise on skin treatment and told me tht.. if i wana remove the marks, can go thru laser treatment but it'll be costly.. for other kindof treatment, can't, b'coz of the sensitivity.

i've tried not to scratch.. but the itch is really unbearable
.. i'm really upset whenever i see the red marks on my body.. although the marks lighten as time goes.. but the scar is gonna be permanently there..

especially, i'm getting married soon.. its kindof embarrasing to be seen with the marks on it..

frankly speaking.. my marks are quite obvious & "fresh".. although my hubby dun mind the marks.. but wonder, how ppl will tink of it..

patjoy2002

hi sam..

eczema is a long term skin problem..

symptoms are :

1) tiny red spots appearing
2) affected skin area very itchy
3) skins becomes dry and flaky
4) spreads wider when u scratches it

to confirm, u may wan to consult ur Doc

babe

want to share with you that, currently, i am using this cream as moisturizer for my hand ...(my palm/feet are having eczema).

Silic15 Cream Protective Barrier Treatment. It not only moisture my skin also act as a protecting layer to my skin.

if you want to try this, you can buy it from any pharmacy.

piglet

HI Patjoy

I was worried abt the same thing when I was getting married. Really worried of breaking out in eczema around my neck area since my gowns had a bustier and sphagetti strap neckline. Really tried to avoid going out in the hot sun to prevent this and keep moisturising faithfully. It works!

patjoy2002

Hi Piglet...

The problem now is that.. my eczema is kindof losing control.. my Doc suspect that i'm sensitive to sweat..

We're living in a hot & humid country.. sweating is really something we can't avoid.. plus my skin reaction on the cream is cozing marks.. this makes treatment difficult..

Whenever it outbreaks.. there'll b a dark patch on it.. and it really looks soooo ugly

Now its coming back... all thxs to the weather

There is 1 very very sensitive area where I've been treating on.. but its too stubborn.. and its affecting me..it looked very very obvious.. and b'coz of this.. I hv to avoid certain design of clothing..

patjoy2002

hi shy,

eczema is not contagious, but it can spread within body.

cause known,.. due to a few reasons eg :

1) Weather
2) Emotions
3) Chemical Reactions
4) Allergic

you may contact ur Doc if you suspect of any eczema breakouts.

superb

Urecare contains urine is it? I have one but dare not use it.

itch

hi superb,

no lah..who told you?! haha.
Urecare is good for itches.

cowie

Sorry for intruding just like that. Just to clarify, Urecare is actually urea cream. It is meant to hydrate very dry skin and hence prevent irritation due to the dryness. The best way to use it is after bathing, pat dry area with a towel (don't rub dry), then apply the Urecare over the area. It will help hydrate the area, as will as to keep the moisture in. Urecare can also help in the absorption of creams that are to be applied to these dry, flaky parts of skin.

Certain eczema problem also require a mild steroid cream to help control. Do not hesitate to check this with your doctor. Hope these help

cherubies

Hi cowie,

do u know where i can buy urecare? or must i see my doc? i'm having an outbreak of eczema again.

Hi patjoy2003,
sorry for not reply, not too sure how to get rid of the marks. i still got scars on my legs.

itch

urecare is easily available from the pharmacies. no prescription required.

cowie

Hi Cherubies,
Guess itch has answered for me already.
Actually Urecare is a brand of urea cream. There are also other brands around like Aqurea (or something like that), etc.... All serve the same function so long as the active ingredient reads: 10%w/w urea. But personally, I feel that urecare has the most agreeable fragrance

monica

I have eczema problem, it goes on and off. I've tried all steriod cream but always cause me irritation. My doctor has suggested just using the Johnson and Johnson Baby Cream (with aloe vera) Apply about 4 times a day. And it worked perfectly. Now I use it as and when I can.

lovelydolphins

Can we choose 2 have an jab 2 kill this?

Coz it's really killing me !! arhhhhhhhhhhh!!!

Btw, can it spread from parts to parts/ person to person?

river

pardon my intrusion.

I suffer from this as well. I believe there are different types of eczema and the more common one shld be atopic eczema.

My first attack was many years ago and the skin specialist that I went to prescribed cream (Celestoderm..or smtg like that) and tablet (Zrytec). It helps. It went away. But such condition never really goes away. It's in the body and can come back anytime. Which, for me, it did recently.

Zrytec is available from the pharmacist. u're supp to take one in the morning for a period of time (don't really know how long). It helps. But u can also take it when u have an attack. For me, it takes abt half hr to contain the itch and the redness to subside.

Care to share any others that help?

bearyhungry

i don't have eczema problems, but i have frenz who do. anyway, some of the personal care products in the market that can irritate the skin. i was told dove kindda worsens the dryness in some cases. perhaps you should stick to products that are more "natural", without much artificia

i got eczema too!

I used to have eczema on my palms...it was real embarrassing...I dun even dare to shake hands with others...then my eczema started to spread to my feet....sometimes when the wounds crack, I really have difficulties walking....I cannot wear socks,track shoes or rubber shoes or else I will be itched to death....

My palms eczema have since cured after a few injection.....but not my feet (coz doc say the feet skin is thicker hence it takes a longer time to cure). However the doc also advised me not to take too much steriod pills & injection as they will cause many side effect...(eg. our shoulder will become bigger)...

I have tried alot of creams these years....from urecare to ego...not a cream can cure my eczema...the doc also told me that when we use a certain kind of brand cream for awhile, our skin will be immune to the cream hence it will not be effective liao....

I think it is in my family's blood....my grandma has got eczema, then followed by myself, my cousin....lately, my bro also kenna....*sign*

laluna

I suffer from eczema too (both body and face) and am very sensitive to body products. Off the shelf products like Dove, Lux etc all cause my problem to flare up.

But there's a brand that works wonders for me and that is QV by Ego. I use their wash not only for my body but for my face too. You can buy the product from the pharmacy. They've got QV Wash, Body Lotion etc. The body lotion is great too cause I don't get any bad reaction.

If you really want to get QV, I suggest you buy them from the National Skin Centre at Mandalay Road. Their products are much cheaper than elsewhere.

i hate eczema

Hi "i got eczema too" ..

me too .. same having the same problem as you. i have been seeing a doctor who insist to give me injection for the pass few months. Although it clear my eczema within a few days time, it will come back in about one monthes time. And the medicine and injection did have some side effect on me too .... so sad !!

Now, i have change to another skin doctor which i think is much better. At least, no injection is required and i only used cream for my palms and feet. I think the most importment for us is to control the itch. As not as you don't scratch it and apply medicine, i believe you can put them under control.... my doctor said we can cure eczema but to put them under control.

gawain

I am a chronic sufferer of eczema (since I was a child). However I've more or less have it under control now.

When I was 16, due to the stress of 'o' levels and other activties I had it all over esp my back.

I was recommended to the Specialist Skin Clinic at 1 Grange Rd #06-04 Orchard Bldg Singapore 239693, Tel: 6734 1411.

Although the treatment is expensive (over $100 per visit), my skin really cleared up in 2 weeks.

Now I use Artistocort (a cream) as and when I break out. I've been to the Skin Center numerous times, but they can do very little for me. So if you can afford it, I highly recommend you to see the dermatologist.

help

I have very bad itch on my lower legs, calf area. I am sure it is due to too dry skin....my problem is if I miss applying normal lotion for one day, the next morning the skin around there will itch like crazy. Especially in air con area, I can even feel all the pores shrink up and cause tightness, and thus itch.

Who can help me? I am going to buy Urecare later on to see if it works for me.

My trouble is that I am lazy to apply lotion to my legs/body daily. Anybody needs to apply lotion daily too? Isn't it a hassle?

river

I go the Specialist Skin Clinic as well. They hv 3 doctors there. agree, not cheap. but at least it's effective.
the tablet Zrytec stops the itch. You can get it from any pharmacy, from the pharmacist. comes in a box of 10 for abt $9.90. supp to take one a day, but i too lazy. so only take it when i feel it coming on.

regular scrubbing helps to lighten the scars, but MUST rber to moisturise after that. you can also try Dermaveen body wash or lotion. it's got oatmeal (or is it wheat??) which is very good for dry, itchy, sensitive skin. Was recommended by the skin doctor.

apple

I had eczema too. And it comes and goes.
I remembered the worst time when I had eczema, it was horrid, it was bleeding and looks like it's rotting. I had to put a bandage round it to prevent it from looking too gross and further infection.

Anyway, it's dormant for now. My advice is: just go and see a doctor/dermatologist. They will be able to give u some cream to apply which will help u.

I heard from my doctor that it will come whenever the weather changes, probably to more humid. Miraculously, when I went to Harbin last Dec, perhaps due to the cold & dry weather, my most recent spout of eczema was cured.

Just try not to scratch it and never use hot water on it to ease the itch. It will make it worse.

cath

I think I sufferred from mild eczema since 1 year ago. It doesn't cause me much problem cos it's doesn't really itch, just these red 10cent coin spots on my arms and very tiny and small rashes on my palm. It;s really frustarting becos I dunno what aggrivates it. I get it when I go under the sun or my hands come into contact with strong hand soap or detergent.

Never had this problem before. Went to see a GP and he would just prescribed me neoderm cream. After applying for 2 days, it usually goes off but it causes my skin to turn really dry.

Any advice to prevent it from becoming worse?

catz

Hi cath,

I just got eczema too and I went to my dermatologist. I had these red itchy spots on my hands and tiny rashes (small red dots) on my arms. I was prescribed Efficort cream and my dermatologist said that I must diligently moisturise if not it will recur. Dunno if your eczema's due to dryness too. Maybe get some good non-irritating moisturiser? I've gone to the extent of not using the hand soap provided in the office - I've bought Lavender soap leaves for convenience.

Once I lapse in moisturising, the spots come back out.

cath

Hi Catz,

I think my problem could be similar to yours. The GP whom I've consulted asked me to apply mositurizer too, said my skin is too dry.
Wonder if I can buy Efficort cream over the counter in phramacies.

catz

Hi cath,

Not sure if you can get Efficort over the counter.. guess you could try. Mine's the cream form, not the gel. But your doctor already prescribed something else for you right? Why not continue to apply that and in the meantime, moisturise yah?

cath

Hi Catz,

The cream prescribed by the GP tends to dry up the spot which I applied cream on...so dun think it's good though it helps to clear those spots. I'm cultivating the habit of applying mositurizer straight after my bath but don't really like to cos it makes my body feels sticky.

BTW, saw your name under the thread "Good concealer to cover dark eye rings)....so we have the same problem too...and same name, I supposed (catz and Cath). I just posted my comment under that thread, you want be interested to read it up.

rola

Hi gals, I would like to recommend you aloe vera gel.... I have heard it can cure alot of skin problems including eczema. I do know of a particular brand that uses 100% pure aloe vera gel, and i even have testimonials from patients who receovered after taking the gel.... write to me and we can discuss bcos I don't think CL will allow me to go into brands here...... [email protected]

Sorry to interupt gals.

Cath, Neoderm contains an antibiotic, so it can be drying. It is more suitable when your eczema is infected.

For the usual redness and itch, you can get your doc to prescribe what catz is using, or get an gentler version OTC from the pharmacist. If your eczema is very mild, just hydrocortisone will be enough. It should just cost you a few dollars. If it still does not help, you can get your doctor to prescribe you a stronger cream.

FYI, these are all corticosteroid creams, but of different strength. Dun just look at the %. The type is more important . In general betamethasone> mometasone> hydrocotisone in strength. Just apply a thin layer will do. I would advise u to use the strength that is just enough to for your condition. If you use something that is stronger than necessary, your skin will be even dryer and thinner in the long run. Dun apply to your face w/o checking with your doc/pharmacist first. many of these creams are not suitable for the face.

Avoiding the trigger factors and keep your moisturized is still most effective to prevent it.You can also apply a barrier cream on hands before using detergents.

Hope that your eczema goes away soon.

catz

Hi cath!

Yeah, same name! ^5! OK, will look that thread up.

Your moisturiser shouldn't feel sticky, esp if you apply it after a bath! The pores should be open and more ready to absorb the lotion!

Aloe vera is good but it doesn't cure eczema.. trust me, I've tried.

Can I check with you something? I think my hubby has athlete's foot and the only thing that works for him is Dermovate. I'm worried 'cos you're not supposed to use cortisteroid creams for prolonged periods, right? He's been using it for months, inspite of my nagging!!!!

cath

Hi catz, :p and rola,

Thanks for your advice. Will visit the phamist this afternoon to get the medicine as advised. (more red spots appear over the weekend......)

lala

I have been using Johnson and Johnson green colour bottle body lotion. Good enough if you apply everytime after bath. Cheap and non sticky. OK fragrance too.

rola

Catz, what kind of aloe vera products did u use? Topical or oral? I know there is aloe vera gelly for applying on the skin, and aloe vera gel for consumption. Basically aloe vera has moisturising and healing properties good for the skin. I'm using it to clear my acne problems and have seen lots of improvement within one week.... my friend who recommended me the products also had problem with her skin and her skin has improved alot lot! It is so different now, all our frens notice it the miunte they see her.

mimosa

There are many different types of eczema, you need to know which type you are suffering from in order to use the right medication. You may read below link, there is a detail write-up on eczema. Next week, ezyhealth will launch the second half of the article "Treating Atopic Dermatitis (Part 2)"

Catz,
yuppp... trained as one but have not been working as one.

after seeing your post, I went to check my FH's toes also.. -kek sim-
he got it again. looks like I got to spend at least 3 weeks nagging him to use cream.I am already threatening that he cannnot walk barefooted at home.. cos later pass to me... sighhh

I must say guys are like that.. like to whack *any* cream.. as long as can see immediate effect.

You got to check if he is really having athelete's foot. If it is so, he should use an antifungal cream to get rid of the fungus. Which part of the feet is affected?

I dun think dermovate (a corticostreroid) is suitable. It definitely reduce the itch and the redness (inflamation) and helps the wound healing-- that is why is "effective"... but you got to keep on applying.. cos the fungus is still there!
It will also make more wound susceptible to infection, that is why not suitable!

You can try an antifungal+ low dose corticosteroid cream, eg dacktacort. GOt to try for about 3 weeks to completely rid of it. If you want to be more kiasu, can put some antifungal powder in his shoes/stockings too. If not, he will get reinfected. Oh ya.. if his nails also got fungus, better see doc and take oral med--more effective.