Do you choose your own proposal ring or bf choose for u?

holiday_ger

Hi all, my bf wants to buy a ring to propose to me. but i cn get discount from sookee. if he were to buy from sookee, then i muz be around to entitle to the discount. but how can i choose my own proposal ring leh? but i dun want to waste the discount also.. how? do u choose ur own proposal ring or ur bf bought it himself?

I actually choose it, then I walk away while my hubby paid for it.... anyway, as long as I am around, its okay....

Furthermore, he keeps it till he is ready to propose... haha

for my case, we chose together beginning of this year.. well the idea is actually to source ard.. he did not buy for me at that time.. then i'm wondering when would he get for me.. haa.. cos i've already saw what i want during the first visit..

then on VDay he proposed to me with the ring i saw..
in actual fact, he said the next day after our visit, he went down to place an order for the ring (cos made to measure, customize to what i want)..

i think won't buy sookee liao.. initally wanted brilliant rose but too ex. probably go for those conventional type. i hv given him the specifications liao. so will keep my fingers crossed

Actually I personally think that for the price difference you pay for a brilliant rose/destinee/etc (ie, diamonds that are cut with more facets than the usual 56facets), you can choose a diamond which is a better colour and clarity, which will give you a greater brilliance. You might even be able to get a larger sized normal diamond. I feel it is important to select a diamond which is considered a "perfect cut" - ie, the dimensions are a certain ratio/proportion.

My diamond is a 1.15ct G colour VVS1 round brilliant perfect cut, 56 facet diamond. I chose it over a smaller size destinee diamond, paid a whole lot less (and got a better clarity too), but everytime I wear it people remark about its shine and brilliance.

Shop around a lot. Bear in mind that Love & Co, Lee Hwa, Gold Heart and Aspial are actually the same "mother" company. Good luck!

I gotten my proposal ring already. I chose myself and my bf paid for it coz i scare he bought one tat i dun like. So no surprise from him liao

I bought from Poh Heng. I like the setting very much.

Hi Ger

I'm glad to hear you found and bought a proposal ring that you like. Poh Heng sets them well. The most important thing is for you to to have a ring you really like.

My proposal ring is also not a surprise. I chose it and my boyfriend paid for it. I think it's better this way because he knows I'm really fussy!

I personally prefer to choose it by myself. My bf (now fiance) brought me to Aspial to 'look", and we spent the next couple of days sourcing around going into every jeweller in sg. I was getting tired and bored with all abt the same diamonds. At last went back to Aspial and found "the one". He asked my parents for my hand with the ring. A bit different sort of proposal.

Well same case as me. My WTB and i went to so many shops to browse and after much consideration, we decided on Soo Kee. She choose the design while i paid the bills. Bought for her a 4.3 carat solitaire and also our wedding bands there.

Something a little different from my hubby. He actually bought 4 damn nice sports RIMS for our car as my proposal item. He said its more practical cuz I can drive the car on the road and show to everyone my 4 proposal rims. Haha.

Hey Kelvin, wondering approx how much does ur 4.3 carat cost? U r making all of us so envy of the love of ur life..

1cts is already big liao lor.
4.3cts? *tsk tsk*
For skinny fingers like me, the diamond might not compliment my fingers

But I am contented if FH can buy me 1cts ring
*nudge nudge, wink wink*

Btw,
I chose my own ring. Not exactly proposal ring.
FH bought first ring 0.31cts round brillance , colour H, clarity VS1 , cut: good. set on a cathedral setting.( i think our singapore jewellery sales person don't what is the name of those setting) ( http://g-ec2.images-amazon.com/images/I/41K8S2GFTYL.jpg )

which is bought frm Soo Kee.
Soo Kee maintain can retain 2 yr full value.
And installment plan.

He surprise me but upgrading to 0.4cts, colour F
other c not known. (dunno why he don't wan me to know), this is also not proposal ring.

So, I guess GTB, u can slowly upgrade ur rings at a afford price and time. which makes ur FW very very happy

I chose my own proposal ring. cos im quite fussy, or shld i say ladies must have a "special feel" for that particular ring? =p

mine was from LeeHwa. the SA was patient and good. after browsing for a few trips, i still couldnt find smth which i fancy. FH was abit worried...decided to bring me along to gt teehee

in d end, found an ideal (for me) @ Lee Hwa. 0.4carat, VVS1, Colour F

hmmm....but gals, wud u ever trade in for a larger carat i.e. upgrade your engagement/proposal ring? wud u think it carries sentimental value, or its just a rock that our fiance can n shld upgrade for us along the way?

I don't think I will ever trade in my proposal ring for a larger carat. Kinda defeats the original meaning and I'm a rather sentimental person ;) He can always get me a totally new ring if he wants to ;)

my hubby traded my proposal ring to a bigger rock 2 years after the proposal. now we refer the ring as the 'proposal anniversary' ring

I won't trade in my proposal ring for a bigger carat as it carries sentimental value. But if he has earned sufficient money to buy a bigger carat ring, I don't mind another ring.

I wun trade mine up cos of sentimental values.. If my HTB/hubby wana trade up, I'd rather he use the money to go for a holiday.. =)

i have $100 Lee Hwa vouchers up and selling off at $40 only!!! NEGOTIABLE

Voucher is only valid on a pair of wedding bands (including sale items).

No minimum spend is required.

The voucher is valid till end of next year so not to worry.

I intend to let go this voucher as I have already bought my wedding bands. It is a great deal for those who wants to buy wedding bands.

For those who are interested, please do let me know.

I chose my own proposal ring.

We were searching for one. He got me a 0.31 carat diamond from sookee. Very happy!

He proposed to me 2months later.

Think you can hint to him on the design, REQUIREMENTS. haha. If he understands u well enough(ok most guys maybe not so.. ) , he will get something you like. Wedding band probably can get tgt after proposal.

i chose the ring together with my HTB. but he was the one decided on which one to get. He bought a 0.83 D color excellent cut ring from private retailer.

we went ring shopping and he wrote down my ring size and shortlisted 2 brands which i liked.

he chose the final ring out of the 2.

i chose the ring myself and ask for discount myself then i just book the ring and my bf go down collect and pay for it so it reallt is wht i wanted. i feel that this is way better as the ring is somthing that sure i like and due to is i choose it so will have the correct sizes as well. he keep till the suprize day then give it to me .

We went shopping together and I chose it myself as the type of ring I like is quite different from what most jewellary shops have.

But he will collect on his own and then plan his own proposal himself...