DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Hey Oraia,

I have already passed my design over to the Card-maker (T Dragon) the last time I was in SG. Hehhee.... Oops... and forgot to take a pic of it. The design is very simple. Hmmm... itz a simple unfolded card wrapped around with perforated Vellum paper (which has Light Pink printed Roses -tt I drew).And a Cream satin ribbon wrapping the entire invitation card. Hehehhee... hopefully my description is good enuf 4 ur reference.

Leeds,

I am registering in July. Thus, now I am only wearing my e-ring lor. After the civil ceremony, I will wear my eternity ring + e-ring together. Do you wear ur e-ring everyday?

hello hello...

leeds, happy hunting for your eterniy band! hope that you find one that you really like.

sousa, thanks for your compliments
. but i'm no princess lah.that gown is made in singapore. it's by kevin seah. did you know that during my fitting days i used to have nightmares about that gown??! they were usually about kevin putting huge sequins far apart from each other or put square shape sequins. hehehe..... luckily it turned out okay.

anyway, my wedding date was 21 dec 2003.

canny, you are definitely efficient man! from what you wrote, it seems that you have done quite a lot of things when you were back here. your invites sound really pretty. cream and pink! very sweet color combination. what's your bridesmaids going to be wearing?

Hey Sousa,

There is a Harry Winston in LA where my folks live.
Hmmm... never been in there b4. But heard tt the pxes are a notch higher than Tiff.
Hehhee... u thinking of getting ur oval from there? So how was the oval hunt? Did u visit Tiff in SG? I am curious of the pxes in SG Tiff.

Teatree,

Thanks for ur compliments. I am a perfectionist FREAK! Hehehee.... do u belive tt I am using MS Project, Excel and Access to plan for my wedding?! Hahahaa... My bridesmaids are wearing light pink color dresses.
I luv PINK! HEhehe.... cream is a nice color but I luv pink with cream alot.

hi canny,

hahaha.... you're soooo cute! yiu're the first bride to use such tools for planning!

are they buying their bridesmaids dresses from jim hjelm as well?? mmmhh, if pink is your color, then you must have been observing trista's wedding a lot! her wedding is, like, the most beautiful wedding i have ever seen! flowers flowers and flowers everywhere.

harry winston's diamonds are huge! and he's always lending his jewelries to celebrities. speaking of celebrities, did any of you gals watch the oscars?? i love naomi watts dress! very sparkly.

Hi teatree, I loved Nicole's dress! The hem is so lovely! Do u gals read Wallpaper? They have couture evening gowns in it sometimes, seriously gorgeous *drools*

If copied though, it just wouldn't look the same ;)

hi MT,

hhmmm i don't know that website. but read in yahoo that nicole's dress required 400 hours to do just the embroideries on the hem!

Hey Teatree,

Ya lor. Me SUPER *A* hor.
Hehhee... I am buying my bridesmaids' dresses from After Six. Hehehe... and YES... itz PINK!

U still at work?

hi canny,

yeah. mmhh... are you preparing to go to bed?

haha... i suspect the dress is going to be pink! are you going to incorporate some pinks into your wedding gown??

Hey Teatree,

Me going zzzz in a abt 30 mins lor.
Ironically, there is no pink in any of my dressess.... hahahaaa....

hihi canny,

wow... ur card sounds nice!
so when u went to t-dragon during ur last trip back, did you pass them a physical mockup, or a sketch or a printout or something? cos we're wondering whether we shd do up some kind of "sample" to show it to them...

teatree, haha, u oso v cute.. u actually had nightmares about ur gown!
tt's so funny!

hi MT, i was scrutinizing today's papers to see the lovely gowns tt ppl wore at the oscars!
wanted to get some ideas for my EG. hehe. wat's "Wallpaper"? is it a mag of some sort? sorry, i v blur ;p

Hey Oraia,

Hmmm I juz passed them a sample of wat I did. Personally, did not really like the service at T Dragon. But I dun have time to scout around... so no choice.
Since u are local, u should def. go look around for a designer to design ur card.

hi canny,

aah i see... i really cannot wait to see your gown! hehehe...

anyway good night

hi hi oraia, yah lor! i also don't know why i got nightmares, maybe because gowns are really an important part of a wedding for us girls

HA! which of the gowns in the oscars do you like the most?? you're with BV rite? michelle sure does wonderful gowns. have you gone for your designing session yet?? guess it really helps if you already have something in mind.

Hey Teatree,

No lar... my gown preety simple with a nice design at the back. U know... american designers dun like to put a lot of "stuff" on their gowns. hehehee....

I hurt my back from playing tennis last week-end... now... can't move and so ULTRA upset at myself. Not even sure if I can go to New Orleans this Fri for a conf.

Argh! I'm really lost already. So many conversations going on here. My monocellular brain can barely catch up.

HA! Teatree, I wanted to stay up to watch the Oscars just to look at dresses. But in the end fell asleep. Yeah, I love Naomi Watt's dress. And I love Nicole Kidman's dress too.

Hi Canny, no I'm not thinking of getting my oval from Harry Winston. There's no HW here in Singapore and it's going to be so ex, I think. Since it's just a dress ring, I'll just get a nice one from my jeweller in Singapore. Not sure if she has ovals.

I noticed that American designers for wedding gowns tend not to use any detailing on the fabric. The trend is for simplicity but very very elegant cut. Is that right? Like Vera Wang. So simple but really stunning. Can't wait to see your gown too. When's you wedding date again Canny? Must send us photos k? Take care of your back.

Choosing the wedding gown is really the most fun part of the wedding. I remember having so much fun doing it. But sad too in a way if you're greedy like me. I wanted a regal satin gown, yet a ballerina tulle gown and a chiffon airy-fairy kind. Argh! Told me mum I wish I could wear like five different gowns! I think all girls have dreamt of their dream gown at some stage of their lives.

Trista and Ryan's wedding was soooooooo beautiful. I love the setting and the backdrop of that place. The pink theme made everything really dreamy. Any idea where that place is? Would love to go there someday.

good morning girls,

canny,

have you gone to see doctors?? how is it now? are you okay already?

i am sure your gown is beautiful! well, i think all wedding dresses are lovely! hehehe... i think you're very patient leh. six months is a long time! i would die because too excited to see the gown!

sousa,

hehehe... me too! very greedy, everything also i want. but luckily, i got the chance to wear 2 wedding gowns
. mmh... actually i'm more towards the a-lot-of-things-on-the-gown person.

how about you?? you've got so many kinds of designs that you like. so, which bridal boutique were able to produce your dream gown?

I'm hearing alot abt tiff's rings. How do they compare with larry's lazarre diamonds? Tiff seems very popular but are they better than larry's?

thx

Hey Sousa,

Yeah... American designers are all about CUT and less abt detailing on the fabric.
My wedding is Dec 19th and 20th .
Totally agree that choosing the wedding gown is the best part. In fact, my fiance has not seen the gown b4.... hahaaa... so itz going to be a surprise for him on PS day. I will def. share my pics with you all.
BTW... do u have ur wedding pics? Can I see?

Hi teatree, lucky you get to wear two gowns. I settled for the wispy look in the end. Got my gown from Tanyoong. He created a modification of the swan gown and another to put these two together. I love my gown. Pity only get to wear once. :P

Hi Canny, it's so exciting that your fiance hasn't seen the gown. Bet you're really excited to see his expression when he sees you in it.

Hi kelpy, in terms of cuts of stones, I think both are the "premiums". Tiff have got ideal cut stones which are basically your regular premium cut stones from Lazare etc. The only stone that is truly unique to Tiff is their Lucida cut. So I guess you can say the only premium you're paying for at Tiff is the brand........and the blue box.
Just what I think. I could be wrong.

Hey Kelpy,

I think Tiff has high stds... so u would not need to worry abt quality if u get the diamond from Tiff. However, u pay a premium for the quality assurance which u can get from other stores if u do good research. I never seen Lazare diamonds... so can't comment on tt.

hi canny,

ya... we're thinking of a simple elegant design... have a rough idea of what we want, so am wondering how to convey it to the printers. will look ard for printers when i've got some time.
so far, ev one i know uses t-dragon. is the service not so good?

oh dear, sorry to hear abt ur back injury... must take care of it ok? back injuries must heal properly...so don't move around too much.

ur fiance's only gg to see ur gown during ur PS? wow! so exciting!! isn't he curious??!

hi teatree,

hehe, hope i won't start getting nightmares abt my gown too!
yup, i'm with BV, haven't started my sessions yet.am thinking of a bustier gown, but tt seems so common these days.. i'll see how it goes.

the oscars gowns ah... i quite like renee zellweger's white gown. nice!

hi sousa,

hehe.. ya.. suddenly this thread is so alive

ur gown sounds really nice! what's a swan gown? oh yeah, do u hv pics to show? i'd love to see them too!

i also can't decide betw a nice full duchess satin elegant gown or a lace one, or a flowy one.. will probably eliminate some designs when i get to try on some samples proper.

Hey Teatree,

Thanks. Me hoping tt my back will recover soon too. Ha... ya lor.. have to be patient ma.
Wht to do? Hehhee...

Hey Sousa,
So do u have pics to show me? I wan to see leh. I did an evening gown from Tan Yoong.. he is SUPER AWESOME guy.
Saw some gals in the wedding gowns he designed... all of them are veri nice. SO I wan to c urs too.
Me veri KPO.

Hmm I heard vera wang? I tot I just saw a prog or article or magazine (yes I'm blur haha) that she's moving on to lush detailing and scale- the princess for a day feel. I think it's trends going this way and that, just choose whatever u like. Chances are, unless u go for very safe choices, it'd look dated in time. But life is boring with just safe choices yah? hahahah! :D

Teatree, I forgot to mention- Wallpaper is a magazine, it's more a design mag which touches on product design, interior design, fashion design and lifestyle.

Hey Oraia,

Thanks for ur concern.
I dun think I will be going to New Orleans afterall. Most prob. will stay home and rest.
Ha... my fiance is veri cute... he jus paid for it... and patiently wait till PS day lor.

BTW... go for lace... the full lace type gown lor. I saw a gal made it at Tan Yoong... Veri veri nice. Hehheee..

Hey MTMTMT,

Depends on the season lar. I think Vera Wang is going to more ribbon detailing this season... but I dun think she has alot of embellishments on her gowns... at least from wat I have seen.
Hmmm... I still feel that most pple in the US. still go for a simple, elegant design with a WOW factor incoporated rather than designs with lots of embellishments. Maybe, thatz why CUT is so impt here.
HEhehee... how is it in SG? Diff?

Hi Canny and Oraia, if you don't mind dropping me your email, I'll the the links to you. Sorry only have actual day photos online. My outdoor shoot one is not online.

Ya, Canny, I agree that Tanyoong is such a cool guy. I think he's a real artist. And very affable despite being so well known in the industry.

hi sousa,

mine's [email protected]
can't wait!!! thanks!

hi canny,

i'm more a 'cut' person.. i always think the cut is the most important for clothes, so i'm always v fussy abt the cut of the clothes i buy hehe... and of cos the fabric is v v impt to me.

i like ribbon detailing!!
i think it's v sweet, simple and elegant.

i like lace as well... very much in fact!! but i oso want crystals, and i oso want satin! *sigh* so greedy right? usu cos lace is already v detailed by itself, there won't be too much embellishments. and oh... lace is expensive!! esp full lace gowns...

hi hi girls,

the thread is moving so fast!

sosa, i also want to see your wedding photos. my email address is [email protected]

anyway, what's a swan gown? always hear tan yoong brides say swan gown, peony gown but can't imagine how they look like. but his gown are super gorgeous! regretted not visiting tan yoong when searching for my bridal.

oraia, hahaha.... which girl is not greedy?! so what do you think you will settle for? michelle is very very towards satin right?

speaking of vera wang and ribbons, have you seen vera wang's ribbon wedding dress?? it's sooooo amazing! it has got gross-grain ribbons embellishing the whole gown. yum!

Hi Canny, *shrug* dunno- only recalled key parts of whatever it is I saw/ or read (haha) where stated they were going for lush detailing. And definitely the princess for a day quote. No idea about ribbons hehehe.

I have an unorthodox theory abt detailing. In history, no matter which culture/ country (Rome, Egypt, etc), the most "advanced" segment (eg. Tang in China history) will always go for VERY ornate stuff... it was equated as better. Can argue Japanese design is relatively simple, but not true in terms of fabrics, detailing of artwork in temples and so on...

Only in relatively recent history with Mies van de Rohe's "Less is More" that people have gone for the opposite. I used to be a fan of simpler forms in everything, until one fine day, I thought, hmm... suddenly, different cultures from past histories and empires are ALL wrong?

Anyway, taste is subjective hehe.

hi canny,

well, hope that your back will be back in shape soon!

mmmh, have never seen tan yoong's full lace gown before. i bet it's super expensive! is that an evening gown or a wedding gown? hehehe... i'm a lace person (just realized that when looking for gown design). used to think lace makes a person looks older.

Oh the Tang part is in comparison to the more simple Ming part of China's history :P

Nowadays people prefer Ming furniture instead of the Qing etc becos it's simpler.

Talking abt which, from history, usually after a period of simpler styles, there will be a "reaction" to it, and people go quite the opposite.

Maybe I'm just a firm believer in excess ahahaha! :D

hi MT,

just to add to your posting, japanese style 'appears' simple but actually painstaking efforts are taken to make it look simple.

anywa, for wedding gowns, just go for one that you fall in love with! cos a few years down the road, you're bound to look at the wedding photos and you wouldn't want to exclaim,'oh my god, what was i thinking when i chose that gown???!'

MT,

ooo so it's a magazine, thought it's a website or something. anyway, yahoo got lots of coverage of the oscars. and the dresses too!

*tries to tie my runaway thoughts back to diamonds*
Oh no wonder I dislike my simple e-ring style :P and want it abit more fussy.

Hi teatree, yah... just saw this program on Jap painting, this lady used oh-so-fine brushstrokes to draw 9 tails on a fox. And traditional japanese fabrics woohoo!

Oh my, I do think I'd probably say "what was I thinking" in a few yrs time haha! I'm rather fickle. But I HOPE I'd be glad I FEEL I had the freedom, guts and so on, to chose what I wanted at that point in time.

I sent to you already.

Oraia, seems like you want everything on your gown. Like me when I was choosing mine. Ha! Imagine if we had ribbon and lace and crystals all on the same gown, we would look like a walking curtain!

My "Swan" gown is so-called because I think TY's inspiration for that range is the feathery wispy look. I had wispy bits on the back of my gown and on the front left. Quite cool but I kept stepping on my own "tail". Very un-glam.

Ya you're right, I'd probably look at my gown years from now and go "What was I thinking?!!!" Sigh, I love buying evening gowns. Got more gowns than I have places to wear them to.

Teatree, did you see Paris Hilton's dress at the Oscars after-party? It's a gold lace gown. SUPER -gorgeous. Drooooool..... uh-oh, saliva on key board.

sousa,

waaaa... my boss is here so i can't open you link
i love the way tan yoong's skirts billow, very light. did you buy your gown??

i caught a glimpse of paris hilton's dress, would love to catch a fuller view. hehe... anyway,there was a photo of paris and nicky with a caption that says, the hilton's sisters, caught dead.... wearing clothes! hahahaha....

Hi Teatree,

Ya, I bought my gown. It was made to measure and only a few hundred to buy it so might as well. But now it's at home collecting dust and my cats would love to get their claws on it.

I saw Paris Hilton's dress on today's Straits Time life. So glam. But yet not OTT and really elegant. I often read Prestige or Tatler jsut to do some gown ogling too. : )

hello ladies,
I shall succumb and join you all in chatting here
heee...hope you wun mind
Just cause the topic has veered from sparklies to gowns....both which I love..

Anyone here like vintage ? I actually bought 2 vintage gowns and 1 dress from my days in the States, but no chance to wear em...and 1 got ruined already
sob sob..

IMO, not everyone can take excess detailing...I am one such person...but a plain drab but well cut piece on me...somehow looks good...but something with much detailing...i look horrible...so sad hor..cos I actually tried on a full lace gown and really like it so much...just not on me!!

Sousa, I love to grab Tatler and People mag for the exact same reason -- ogling!!

Hey Oraia,

I am a "Cut" person as well. Normally, I would go for clothes with a good cut and hopefully with a WOW factor in it. But I cannot agree more with you that "Cut" is veri impt. Perhaps, thtz why I am more into Japanese-made clothes / Korean-made clothes.

Ask BV if they do lace lor.
I am sure they have done it b4.

Yeah... go scouting around for other printers. Hmm.. I dun think T Dragon personnel are veri professional. I felt like they jus wan the biz.

Sousa,
Your dress is BEAUTIFUL! I like the setting of ur reception in CHIJMES.
Thanks for sharing ur pics with us. I will share my PS with you sometime in Sept. Cause I will be taking it early August. Have u found ur OVAL bling bling? Or did any research on it?

Teatree,
Thanks! Will take good care of my back therefore made the decision to ditch New Orleans... so sad... *sob sob sob*

Dunno how much Tan Yoong charged the gal. But the gown is really NICE! Like the Vera Wang one tt I tried... heheheh... but way beyond my budget.

MTMTMT,
Did u major in History? Hehhee... u sure know alot about Wld Histrory plus.. Sociology.
I am veri impressed.

Sweets,
Welcome to this thread. I like vintage looking dresses. Esp. sundresses with the 60's look.
Hmmm.. have not bought anything from a consignment store yet thou. Are there alot of consignment stores in NYC?

I like the gown u picked. Veri veri nice. The cut is definately GREAT! Needless to say the cut makes the gown stands out!

Good morning gals!!

Hi Angeline, can I have your email pls? Will email photos to you.

Hi Sweets, welcome!

I finally watched the Oscars last night. Ohhhh.... real eye candy. All the dresses or GORGOUES. I love this girls' dress but don't know her name. She's one of the MCs at the beginning when the guests start arriving. Nice boobs too, heh heh! Her dress is laced with DIAMONDS!!!!! Argh!

Hi Canny, thanks for your compliments. I would LOVE to look at your pics! No, haven't looked for my oval yet. Work and new house keeping me really busy. Geeeessssh!! I didn't know there's so much to do after getting keys. Must check this, check that, call this, call that. Mad. I feel so blur.

hihi girls!

sweets, welcome!
how come ur vintage gown is ruined? oh dear... so sad!
i suspect i'm one of those like you who cannot have too much fuss on my gown.... will see how it goes when it's time to start the design process...

hi sousa, ur gown is fabulous!!! so dreamy and nice!

ya.. i know, we'll prob look terrible if we have everything all on the gown. what i meant was i like all these different styles, i can't decide! so it'll either be full satin w crystals, or full lace or something... decisions, decisions.

are u currently renovating ur hse? don't worry... just make sure u get a really good contractor and save some headache.

hi teatree, yaya! i love paris hilton's gown!!! can't see the details clearly fr the papers, but it's really nice!

good morning girls!

hi sousa, i also saw that girl's dress. wow wow! read that the dress cost USD$ 2.5 millions cos it is laced with diamonds. i believe she is the E! Tonight correspondent.

i'm also evening gowns' fan! and diamonds. hehehe... expensive hobbies huh. where do you usually get your dresses from? i love the new shop inez at paragon. have got 2 dresses from there so far.

oooh your dress is also beautiful! the wispy wispy thing is so nice.... hhmmm.... you've made me regretted not visiting tan yoong even more
. anyway, i think i have seen your photos before. you share them in the photo sharing thread right? i already thought your dress is perfect when i saw your photos the first time.

canny, vera wang and lace dress? hehehe... i am at a loss of words! but don't be sad, i'm sure your gown is lovely too. just wait till we get to see your dress

sweets, welcome welcome! so sayang... one of the dresses got ruined. why have not got the chance to wear the dresses yet? are they evening gowns? my dream would be to go to NYC for a shopping spree. hehehe...

This thread is getting more & more interesting. Talking abt the 2 things I love, diamonds & gowns, what a combination...
Expensive hobbies eh, but lucky its more of ogling and less of buying...

Talking abt the Oscars, I absolutely love Nicole's dress. Very frilly. Thinking of designing something like that for my evening gown, with a huge flower corsage on the side somewhere... hehe..

Oraia, like you, I absolutely love all these frills & laces & embroideries & flowers & crystals. Hehe... greedy yah. Thats why I still can't decide on the design. Have you designed your gowns yet?

Hey teatree, you Indon also? Me too
You made your gown in Jkt? So lucky you get to wear 2 wedding gowns!

Sousa, can I pls see your pics too? [email protected] Thanks

Btw, tonight is the finale for Trista & Ryan's wedding on Channel 5. So excited to see it. Their wedding is really beautiful!! All the pinks & the flowers!! WOW! Canny sure will like it! hehe....

Hihi...

Yeah... This thread is getting more and more interesting. Oh! They are only showing Trista & Ryan's wedding today. I saw it last Nov. it was BEAUTIFUL.... simply luv it luv it luv it.

I like Carolina Herrera's gowns too. Veri simple but ULTRA elegant.
I think she is comparable to Vera.

Haha... I think all brides are GREEDY. I was so indecisive when picking my gown.
Hehhee... until my mom got slightly irritated by me. Hehheheee... WAT TO DO? We WANT everything. Dun we?

hello....

leeds, you are an indon also?? how long have you been staying in singapore? hehehe... canny is too, you know? when is your wedding leeds? have you found your bridal boutique yet? so exciting... can't content myself.

yeah man! i hope i don't fall asleep. i wanted to catch last week one but fell asleep
. trista is, i think, very high maintenance though.

hi leeds,

yup, i like lace, embroidery, crystals, ribbons.... ;p haha.. i'm not so much frilly person, cos i don't like much fuss on my clothes.

hi canny,
yes yes!! i like carolina herrara too!! i think tts what renee zellweger wore. a white dress. v clean and simple but elegant.

u went with ur mum to get ur wedding gown?
so nice! hehe.