DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

anyone know where to get Hearts on Fire now? Tianpo used to carry 'em but now if not mistaken they carry aurias diamonds. I heard we don't have it locally anymore,how true?

Abt H&A, I've not seen my Lazare diamonds under a scope yet.can i assume that Lazare has H&A phenom since it is a 'ideal' cut?are all lazares' really better than triple000? my gal friend recently also went to see the Destinee and it seems like they are using 8 H&A as a selling point,which someone at a reputable jewelry disagreed. I somewhat agreed to her as there are other c's to look at and not solely emphasize on H&A.But again, it gives off brilliancy with identical symmetry.

Anyone bought HOF here? care to share his/her thoughts on this beauty?Oh yes, another query: how much diff. in pricing is a non-brand AGS compare with a branded AGS,being all things equal?Eg. a 30pointer?

Hi Biba,
I think theres a common misunderstanding for AGS000 and AGS0. AGS0 are stones like destinee, lazare, aurias etc... (Stones that have ideal ratings in AGS cert for proportion, polish and symmetry.)But with any color or clarity. Howevr, I think Destinee has some QC that guarantees them to be of at least a certain color and clarity.
AGS000 is for an additional 2 "0" parameters. Ideal color and Ideal clarity. ie. D color and IF clarity. Anyone, please feel free to correct me if I am making a mistake here.
There is a brand and trademark called H&A abroad, I believe. The rest like Destinee just show the H&A effect. Personally, light return is more important to me. You can see the flash and fire of a stone from a ring on the hand but you would need a scope to see the H&A. You can have beautiful stones with fire and scintillation without perfect H&A effect.

As for the diff in prices, I'm not too sure. Just that I know that the premium is different for different brands. But I believe there's a good 30%-50% difference at least.

Refer to my example above for the price I paid for a 70 pointer.

My wife to be cheekily insisted on a diamond no less than 0.5. I would like to make her dreams come true.
LeeHwa seems to be a good place to buy. Any recommendations of engagement to buy? of course the more shining it is, the better,...to please her. Budget 4k.

Hi kenneth,

diamond no less than 0.5 meaning a solitare not less than 0.5 or it can be a trilogy not less than 0.5? I think with your budget, getting a diamond at 0.5 solitare at Lee Hwa, will be a bit diff. Try diamond industry. However, if its a trilogy, I think your budget is fine.

Don't anyhow buy a diamond that is within budget. Look out for colour and clarity as well. Very important.

hi moonlight, thanks for your advice. I was at leehwa bugis junction, they are having a sale right now. I am after solitare. There is 3 solitare ( i think the classic and cosmopolitan series) which cost less than 5k after discount.

hi kenneth

actually sookee is having a 30% + 20% discount on a certain design solitare from size 0.30 to 0.59 with GIA cert. Maybe u can check it out. But it seems to be selling like hotcakes, if u int, better go down soon to take a look.

Hi ladies and gents, I went to different jewellery shop at bugis junction and the after the whole experience, i am still at a lost at which to get. But i narrow down a few choices

- Of all the 3 shops available, Lee Hwa, SooKee and Goldheart, Lee hwa has the best service and the best designed rings. Goldheart gives me a feeling of inferiority.

- At leehwa, i am considering either the Cosmopolitian or the Destinee series.

Destinee - the higher end with the better craftsmanship
0.43 F VVS2 $4642
0.43 E VVS2 $5002
0.51 G VS2 $3510

Cosmopolitian -
0.50 E VVS2 $5262
0.50 F VVS2 $4646

My budget - 5k

I compared the two, destinee definitely has the better shine and craftsmanship. I was thinking of getting the destinee 0.51 at a lower price but at a lower quality of G and VS2.

I also saw some adverts in the newspaper that diamond industry are having a year end sale? Are their quality as good as leehwa?

How is Larry's? Are they much higher end than leehwa which would not be touchable for ordinary man like me??

Hi Kenneth,
The Destinee 0.51ct seems a good buy

For diamonds below 1ct, it is almost impossible to tell the color difference wih the naked eye. Also, clarity of the diamond requires 10X magnification or more before any inperfections can be spotted!
Destinee is a perfect cut diamond, and the shine would 'overpower' other cuts for sure!
In my opinion, for a less than 1 ct diamond, the cut is the most important factor as it is most obviously seen with the naked eye.

Hi Kenneth,

if I were you I will get the Destinee 0.51 or Cosmopolitian 0.50 F.

In my point of view any colour above G is good enough and you will only notice the difference in shine unless u compare and stare at the diamonds then you can tell the differenece. But who is going to do that after you bought the ring??

Tell you my story. I just bought my engagement ring oso. And at first I thought very strongly that the brand and the cert are more important. But after I got the Sookee brillant rose 0.30F for $3000+, i regretted. Cos it was that shiney and I can get a bigger one for the amount. I was just paying more for the brand. So I went back and downgrade the brillant rose to their AGS range which is 0.42ct topping up another $300.

I thought I was happy with my exchange until I showed it to my friends and family, they ask me why my diamond so small some more almost cost $4000. I explained to them because it is an ASG certed diamond thats why more expensive, but nobody actually give a damn to the cert. GIA is good enough liao cos diamond doesn't have much value no matter what cert you have. Then I realised that so what if I have ASG cert with perfect cut? People will compare the size rather than the cert. As long as the diamond I am wearing has good enough 4C and a decent cert like GIA is fine.

In the end you know what happened? I went back again for another exchange. This time, I downgrade to GIA diamond but topped up $1.5K for a 0.78ct H diamond but with exellent symmetry and polish. When compare with a G, you cant really tell the difference. So I only paid about $5k + for 0.78ct! And now I am very happy with it although it is not some branded diamond or have an AGS cert because it still shines as brilliantly and it's big.

Hi Kenneth, Destinee 0.51 G VS2 $3510 or Cosom 0.50 F VVS2 $4646. why dun you wait for the sale? is the sale on now? lee hwa has this 40 to 50% sale. that would save you one or two k. with your 5k, during the sale can even buy at 0.6 to 0.7 ring. do check it out!!!
I totally agree with Melissa!! dun really care about the branded cert, GIA, HRD is good enough, better than no cert right? people still see size!!! the bigger the WOW WOW. just get a reasonable cut,clarity, color with a BIG size with the same price. more worth it and more happy. especially when "people" goes wow wow at the size. no one can really tell what color, what clarity, what cut when is on your finger. unless you put side by side.

when my hubby wan to buy me one. i was looking at a 0.5 size. i saw one at poh heng, 0.56 i think is G color and after discount is $2.6k. i almost wanted to buy that. but at a closer look, i dun like the setting, is classic 6 claw. i think it also makes the diamond looks smaller cos of the setting. right after i went to lee hwa, at once we bought a 0.47 E VS1 Cosmopolitian which cost him only $2.5K, cos 40% discount if not the price tag is nearly $4.3K. initally i wanted at least a 0.5 which cost one k more. when comparing these two side by side then can see the diff if on finger cant really tell. in the end, i dun wan him to spend too much $$, settle with the 0.47 cosmo. even though is much smaller compared to my gfs. i am happy staring at it, seeing the hearts and arrows. i really love the cosmo setting.

Hi Dabee

i got a 0.47 from Lee Hwa too : ) but more expensive cos bought it when they are having 32% sale last year. : ( din get a 0.5 cos got to pay a premium which is reali not worth it.

love the cosmo setting too.and its a patented design from Lee Hwa.couldnt find it elsewhere. but me set the diamond in a three claws ring. reali love the shape and shine the diamond has in a three claw setting : )

hi newbride:
so happy that you also have a 0.47 cosmo. is there cosmo setting in 3 claws, or is that your special request to re set? what premium for 0.5 size?

I'm very new to buying diamonds and would like to get one for proposal purposes.

I've been to a couple of shops to have a look.

I saw the Lazare diamond and I must say that it is more brilliant than any other unbranded diamond that I saw. Is this true? Is the cut of the Lazare diamond a more 'ideal' cut than that of any other diamond?

Also, if I want to go for unbranded diamonds, where can I find one that is good in quality and is being offered at a reasonable price?

Finally, with regards to setting the diamond. Where would be good places to set the diamond? Which places offer unique designs? And howmuch do they charge?

thnx in advance everyone!

cheers and merry xmas!

hi tjwm207:
Lazare from Larry Jewelry right? definitely is more brilliant than any others, i am not sure about its cut. my opinion is if you can afford the price, go ahead. dun need to think about others.
what do you mean unbrandeded? are soo kee, lee hwa unbranded?

Hi Dabee

me reset it in a 3 claws ring. its not a cosmo design.tink cosmo have only 4 claws. got to pay a premium of ard 500-1000 for every 0.5 scale,ie. 0.49 and 0.5 price difference ard 500-1000 thou the difference is not obvious wif naked eyes. more cost effective to buy 0.4 something : )

hi dabee

you are right. after looking around at other diamonds, it seems to me that the lazare seems to be more brilliant than others.
what i meant by unbranded diamonds are those which are sold unset but still certified by the recognised bodies. i understand branded diamonds to be those which are usually given a proprietary name eg lazare, hearts of fire, aurias, destinee etc.
these branded diamonds are usually ideally cut but to a specific proportion as depicted by their brand names.
correct me if i'm wrong though.

therefore my question would be that while the branded diamonds ideally cut and most often brilliant, are there unbranded diamonds that are ideally cut and yet carry the same characteristic brilliance?

also, anyone knows where to go and have a diamond set? preferably a platinum setting with a unique and nice design? how much would it cost on the average?

thnx in advance

cheers.

HI newbride: i see i understand now, i think my salesperson did mention to me about that premium when deciding between a 0.47 or a 0.51.

Hi tjwn207: i think those loose diamonds also come with recognised cert leh. i remember soo kee's brillant rose come in loose piece, not set yet. thus you can just buy the loose diamond and set into ring, pendent, ear ring etc.

i think every jewel shop also can help you to set diamond. i remember i saw it at this thread early. you read one by one.

dun think can use platinum to set leh, too soft if i am not wrong.

for designs, i heard that flower diamond at ngee ann city is great. andrea de cruz wedding day diamonds are sponsor by them. they can even design for you.

happy buying

hi tjwn

branded diamonds do come in unset. Actually it is even better to buy loose diamond cos you can see the flaws in the diamond more easily. I think there was a talk about getting loose diamonds in the thread earlier too.

It's ok to set in platinum, but cost more lor, about $600+. Although it does not turn yellow like white gold but still need to bring for service after some time of wear, so might as well set in white gold white cost like $300+ only.

hi tjwn,

agree w melissa that itz ok to set in platinum. but bear in mind that if you gain weight in future and want to expand the ring size, there will be line showing on the ring unlike white gold.

hi everyone!!

thnx for all your opinions
they have been really helpful!

btw, i have already bought the diamond
now, i have to design the ring and get it set

cant wait to see the final product!

also, btw, does anyone here know where to get a nice lighted ring box in Singapore? basically it is a ring box and when you open it, there is a light that illuminates onto the ring to make it even more brilliant just to get that extra impact and reaction from her!

thnx in advance all!

cheers.

hi kenneth,
not sure if i am too late. maybe you have bought the ring.
my engagement ring is 0.75, G colour, VVS1 with no cert and it costs slightly less than 5K after setting it in white gold...tiffany design.
do let me know if you want further details

Hi Touraco,

Where did you get ur engagement ring? Seems like a great deal to me. The engagement ring my fiance got me cost alot more leh...

Hi Oraia,

Long time no c. ;) Are you looking for an engagement ring? Are there any specific specs u are looking for?

hi canny,

long time no see!
i sometimes see ur postings in the four seasons thread....
how've u been?

neh... i've already gotten my engagement ring in may last yr.
but i'm considering doing a pendant with a single solitaire but i don't want the 'hook' to be attached to the rock to support the necklace.

i want to have the necklace running behind or thru' the side of the rock like the tiffany style...

dunno whether u understand my description hehe.

Hey Oraia,

The Dec 04 brides thread is too fast for me. Hehehheee...

I c what u mean... u can do a pendant without the hook. Where do u go to customize your jewelery?

Yeah... I like Tiffany's alot too. Their designs are totally classic.

Did you get to pick ur engagement ring or fiance got it on his own? What style is it?

hi canny,

yup yup!! totally understand... i can hardly keep up too!
sometimes i just read and try and spot if anyone is asking me anything

i haven't customised anything before. but i know flower in taka does it. so i suppose when i decide i want to do the necklace, i'll prob chk out their prices.

tiffany's really really nice. but the solitaires are soooo exhorbitant!
but we're most prob gg to get our wedding bands fr there... how abt u?

oh, we picked it tog at lee hwa.. it's a 4-prong solitaire. it's set quite high (cosmopolitan setting), cos i like high settings...
hv u gotten urs?

Hi Oraia,

My fiance got me an Oval Shaped engagement ring already... hmmm... from Tiffany's. I felt kinda of bad as he spent alot on it. However, I was very touched by his gesture. Tell me more about ur ring! HEhehee... itz an exciting feeling... isn't it?

As for wedding bands, I am planning to get an eternity band in prong style. My fiance got his from GoldHeart when we were in SG last Dec.
Do you have any style in mind from Tiffany's?

hi canny,

wow!!
congrats! a tiffany's engagement ring!! hehe. i'm sure u are touched! so sweet of him!

my ring's actually a loose stone fr lee hwa. it's slightly more brilliant than those "ready-set" ones on sale, and it was quite a good buy. v pleased
it's 0.8, a normal round brilliant stone...

pardon my ignorance, is an eternity band one that has a whole row of little diamonds?

we're eyeing the 'milgrain' style in full platinum fr tiffany... i fell in love with it the first time i set eyes on it, and my fiance had to agree it's v nice

oh, btw, canny, is it advisable to visit SF in dec? we're toying w the idea of gg hawaii for our honeymoon and also wondering if we shd go somewhere else since we are in the 'vicinity'.

Hey Oraia,

Hahhaa... nothing to really congrats about lar. I jus felt very touched by it. However, my younger bro will tease him now and then about the engagement ring. My younger bro would say " I thought you would get a 1.5 carat for my sis. You dun come to me as a guy who would even save on paying that extra 0.3 carat." Hehehe... wat can i say?! Tough luck tt my fiance has a mean younger brother in law

I totally agree with buying a loose stone and set it than buying one which is ready made. I think Tiffany's in the States encourages that practice but I am not sure about the one in SG. Round is nice... very classic.

Yeap, eternity band is the one that has a whole row of little diamonds covering around the band. It is beautiful but you can't resize it if u loose or gain wt around your fingers.

When r u going to Hawaii?! We might end up being there around the same time.
Which islands do you have in mind? So far, my fiance and I have shortlisted Honolulu + Big Island / Maui.

SF in dec is SUPER COLD and SUPER WET. We get alot of rain in Dec. However, I think LA may be a better place to visit in Dec as it is drier than the bay area. I would strongly rec. staying in Santa Monica if you go to LA. If you are coming to SF stay around Union sq or by the waters. But I must say that SF during the holiday season is very festive.
Let me know if you need help choosing a hotel.

Have u started ur gown yet? Did I mention that I went to Tan Yoong for an evening gown? That dude is AWESOME + farny too. My mom and I had a great time chatting with him.

hi canny and oraia,

i bought it from a gem store in town area, they got their diamonds from belgium. they sell loose diamonds with certificates and without certificates.you can choose whatever design you want to set it in..using platinum or white gold or gold etc. u can trade it in for a bigger stone or other diamond jewel at 90% of the value when you get bored with your currrent stone,if i don't remember wrongly.you can bring your other diamond jewel and trade in as well with the receipts stating the value of your diamond etc.
you can email me at [email protected] for more info.

hi kenneth,
no prob..

hey canny,

haha... ur younger bro is funny
your fiance could hv told him "wait till it's your turn to buy a ring...." haha. woooh... ur engagement ring must be beautiful!!!

i love the classic 6-prong design in tiffany! so lovely!!

oh ya... that's true... you won't be able to resize the eternity band if ur finger puts on/ loses weight. but i'm sure u'll be able to reset all the diamonds in another band if u really need to right?
the same goes for the milgrain design... cos it's got little jagged edges on the ring, we can't resize it either.

we haven't quite decided about hawaii, we're still doing 'research'... if we do go it'll prob be mid dec cos my wedding's on 12 dec.
how many days are u planning to stay in hawaii?

thanks so much for all ur suggestions...
will go and do more 'research' abt SF and LA hehe. will let u know if i need more 'help'!

nope, i haven't started on my gown... bridal veil is quite efficient, so i think i won't start so early, prob may or so.
oh tan yoong is great!
his designs are really dreamy... how's ur evening gown like? u mentioned that you managed to go for a 1st fitting before u flew back?

Oraia,

So how much on average a .8 carat cost in SG? I am curious to find out if diamonds in SG is any cheaper.

I think I will stop by Hawaii for approximately 1 week ( 3 nites in Honolulu + 3 nites in Big Island) on our way back to SF from SG.

Thatz so true about the resizing con with eternity band. I think I will customize an eternity band leaving a little bit of space at the end for sizing purposes in the future.

My evening gown is hard to describe leh. I simply showed Tan Yoong a design I like from a magazine and he modified it here and there to the final product. He said that this is the 1st time that he had came up with such a design. Hehheee... so I am looking forward to it lor.

Are you currently working?

hi canny,

i think if i'm not mistaken, a .8 is close to 8K or more, depending on whr the stone is set in platinum or not... are diamonds in US cheaper? they seem to be...
of cos tiffany is in a league of its own!
a tiffany rock is probably alot more...

was surfing the net for accomodations in hawaii... all seem pretty steep esp when converted fr USD to SGD. but, wow! really nice!!

where are u thinking of doing ur eternity band? i've seen some bands where the diamonds are set on only half the band... so the inner half which faces the palm doesn't hv diamonds...

hehe... wow! ur gown must be really lovely. what col is it?

yup... i am. are u? is ur fiance singaporean as well?

Oraia,

Hmm... I think it depends on the quality of the diamond. An ideal cut good quality (D VVS1) rock will definately cost alot more lor. Yeah... Tiffany's charges alot. I feel so "sayang" but my fiance told me that itz his gift for me so I should keep it.

Hahaha... I think when u convert everything fr. USD to SGD it gets kinda of pricey. However, try United Vacations... they do have packages to Hawaii with air and accomodations included in preety nice hotels. I do not think that their prices are that steep.

I am getting an eternity band from a family's jeweler in LA. I think I will do diamonds 3/4 around the band.

My evening gown is bright RED!

I am working in SF for a biotech comapany. My fiance is from sort of ABC moved to the states from Shanghai when he was 10. What about ur fiance? Is he working in SG?

I bought one diamond recently, a 0.35 carat loose diamond. I am looking for a place to set it in platinum. Can anyone advise me where can I find a reliable and reasonably-priced shop?

Hey Dewdrops,
I wish I could give you sound advice. However, I am not familiar with the jewelers in Singapore....
However wat kind of design are you thinking of setting the diamond? I may be able to help u with the design.

hey canny,

no need to "sayang" lah... it's ur engagement ring...

is united vacations related to the united airlines? cos when i typed 'united vacations' on the internet, only united airlines popped up.
sorry, me a little "suaku". shall do a little more scouting around. hehe.

oh!!! i was going to do bright red for my evening gown as well!!!!
shall indicate that to the bridal studio when it's time to do my EG.

i see... hv u been working in SF long? my fiance and i would love to work and live overseas for a while as well... we'll see how it goes...
yup, he's wkg in SG, he's works in a clinical lab. some similarites w ur co, i think, cos he majored in bio chem in uni

Hi Oraia,

United Vacations = United Airlines vacation packages.
Try that... I think they always have good deals around the winter time.

Ha.... ttz great! Sounds like we are going to have the same color evening gown.

I have been in the states for almost 8 yrs. Been working for 4 years. Hmm... sounds like ur fiance is in the same industry as I am. Although, my job is not research oriented. However, we do share the same major in college.

Where r u working in SG?

hey canny,

okie, thanks! i shall certainly keep a look out for good deals to hawaii

yup!
i love red.. it's my fav col!! will u be wearing a cheongsam for ur tea ceremony?

wow... 8 yr is a pretty long time!
i suppose u studied there as well? hehe, such a coincidence!

it's funny, cos i'm more artsy, and my fiance is more science-y....

i'm in the PR field currently. still deciding whr or not to do a masters in PR or to do an MBA instead. we'll see how it goes after the wedding...

Oraia,

I plan to wear a cheongsam for my tea ceremony. Wat do u plan to wear for ur tea ceremony? A cheongsam as well?

Yup... I came here for college and stayed here after that.
Hehehe... my fiance is in hi-tech. Well, I dun think we are able to produce artsy kids

OH... do u plan to do ur graduate studies in SG or abroad? If u go abroad is ur fiance going with u?

hi canny,

yup, i'm also gg to wear a cheongsam.
i've actually done my measurements for my cheongsam, but it hasn't been made yet.

hehe, i c... neh... you'll never know...your kid may just turn out artsy

we would love to do our grad studies overseas... but there are many things to think about. if i do go overseas, yup, i think my fiance would come along too... but i think states is the most expensive for grad studies. so it's a big decision to make.

Hey Oraia,

Totally agree with you! There are alot of factors to consider when u plan to move abroad either temp. or pem.

so where r u in ur wedding preps? If I rem. correctly u are hosting ur reception in Hyatt?

So have u got the rings from Tiffany?