Defer ROM Cert

bungy_jumper

Hi, really appreciate some help here. We have just gotten our keys last week. Thus, i understand that we have to submit our ROM cert within 3 months. i.e. end May. However, our prefered date will be in mid-Sept and this is also to avoid the 7th month.
We do not have any church letters, banquet receipts or any documents to support and it is still too early to apply for Sep.
Any idea how should i write to HDB and what are chances that they will approve it ?

Hi bungy_jumper

I wrote into HDB (faxed letter) to ask for a deferral and gave them the details of my church solemnisation (date, venue and celebrant). You can appeal to them to approve it on a basis of goodwill. Hope this helps

hi bungy_jumper,

i think chances of the deferral being approved would be higher if u had some banquet receipt or church letter. But i guess u can try writing to them first.

u can attention the letter to:
Head, Resale Operations Unit
Housing and Development Board

Fax: 6490 3666

i faxed to them and it was approved

Hi bungy_jumper,

I have also sent in a deferral letter (via email) to HDB regarding my marriage certificate. It has been slightly more than a year now since I got my keys & they have agreed that I submit after my wedding banquet which will be in sept this year. So no worries. Do indicate clearly to them which month are you getting married yah.

Actually you only need to send the letter to your HDB Area Office. They will be able to approve it. I didn't have to provide any receipts or letters from the church or the hotel.

hi bungy_jumper,

one of my friends sent a letter to HDB with the help of her local MP, and she had a deferrment approved. fyi.

Actually i nv send in any deferment letter, they apparently forgotten abt my ROM cert until i went to submit it myself. mayb u just wait till they ask for it, defering for a few mths to avoid 7mth should not be a big pblm.

Well, so whats the next step ?
Send in my deferment and wait for their reply ?
What happens if they reject it because i have no grounds ?
Hmm... so if they reject, I must go thru a 7th month rom ?
stress....

hi bungy_jumper

I think this is all undue stress. My gut feel goes with Questy. Chances are, HDB is going to forget about it... but then again, you never know. So what better than to write in officially with a simple letter to just inform them of your situation (that you wld like to have the solemnisation together with the customary) and appeal for deferment. Looking at the rate HDB flats are being taken up now (which is tremendously slow), I don't think they shld have any issue with that. Afterall, it is your big day and it's not like you've not yet put in the downpayment.

Worse comes to worse, if they do reject (which I do not think so), just visit your MP at the meet-the-people's session and ask for help.

No stress! So many of us managed to get the date deferred thru different means. You don't have to worry at all.

HI guys..

Would you think I should sent in the letter first or wait for the reminder to come?

babydoll.. can you advise if your frd sent in the deferment earlier or otherwise...

thanks for the valuable info...

hi Ling

i got my keys in january and only sent the letter in april - when the 3 months was up (throughout, the reminder never came). My wedding was in Oct. Still, i got my approval in 2 weeks, plus/minus. To be honest, I don't think it's a big issue for HDB, unless somebody spoils the market and decides to default on getting married and gets found out one day

hi, just wanna share my views with u all. I am already ROMed last yr Oct and my flat was obtained last yr May. Till now i have not submitted to HDB for anything and they did not ask also. I would advise u gals dun be so worry on such issues, the HDB pple will be too busy on other stuffs rather than such probs as i agreed with matka, its not a big thing unless someone is out there to raise this prob and once alot of u gals wrote in, they will then have this "DEFER MARRIAGE CERT" in their policy..

I would think, please be moe relaxed and take it easy.

newbie here...anyone knows how long does HDB take to reply with regard to deferment of keys collection

tks for all info...

hi to all again,
i got my unit in June 03, ROM in Dec 03, submit my cert in Feb 04! I cun be bothered with the ROM cert submission due to my busy schedule, and they totally forgotten abt it. HDB wun force u to go thr ROM during 7mth, dun worry abt it k. I suggest dun need to send in deferment letter, dun need to find problem for urself neh, he..!

I'm not very sure abt the reply for deferment of keys hoh.

Deferment of keys... I deferred 3 times.
1st time - for 6 months . (HDB took 1 week to reply) Well, cpf don't have enough $ and expected date was supposed to be 9 months later, blah blah.
2nd time - for 4 months (HDB took 3 months to reply) Well, still cpf issue.
3rd time - for 1 month. (Replied on the spot). Away from Singapore.

Well, you need supporting docs for most reasons.

Ok.. when I went to collect my keys.. the advice from the lady over the counter was to wait for the reminder than sumbit appeal...

I wonder if that is a hint or some sort.

Of course the last thing I want is to send in the appeal too early and the HDB decide to make me a poignant case to tell couple to get married asap when you get your flat..

Wish me luck guys! I am hoping HDB forget that I ever existed!

HI QUESTY, haa..same as me, just act blur...hdb wont be so free unless someone have started on this...

LIng, hope they forgot on your case...all the best

hi max45,
i only managed to defer my key collection for 3 months. reason given by HDB is bcos my flat is already ready for occupation & not 1 that is currently being built.

i went down on a tuesday last oct to talk to them. they asked me to write in. i did that the next day & they replied me about the extension about 1.5 weeks later.

tks for all replies...but my case now is i hv not received any letter yet but when i check on HDB Infoweb, i was scheduled on 230304 for keys collection. I hv since wrote in to appeal for deferment and am wonderin if i will receive the reply in time b4 next tue

hi peter,
u might wanna call the officer-in-charge to check about the approval for ur deferment request.

i requested for deferment 2 days after receiving the collection letter. i received the deferment confirmation via letter. my deferment is till 310304. We called HDB on monday to fix the key collection appt. The officer-in-charge (Mike Thong) said that b4 the deadline to collect keys/deferment time is up, they will mail a reminder to flat owners to collect their keys. they will fix the time & date, not us.

i'm oso waiting for their letter

hmm..
I was supposed to collect in Oct and only received the letter a week before the appt date. I sent in the defer request immediately. They did not reply before the collection date. My officer-in-charge said as long as i have appealed for deferment, then just ignore the date they gave.

Anyway, for those whose existence HDB forgotton, which branch office did you belong to ?

Hi wenn,
nice to see u here! yea, they'll send u the key collection date. U got ur unit liao? whr is it? PM me to let me knw k.

Hi baby5566,
think we pretty lucky loh, actually i really bochap abt it, was much too busy to bother abt my cert. If they really send me the letter, i'll tell them ROM dun hv the date i want to ROM loh, he...!

If u nv write in to defer keys or anything, they'll forget abt u. My friend who wrote in to appeal for deferment of keys got the reminder letter, whr my case was totally forgotten. Good luck to u!

Hi questy,...haaa..u very bad hoh...but to be truth, we very lucky...

i think they will be alot of pple writing in loh so if there is any1 who have obtained a flat and no cert given, those pple will be drag...sigh

Hi questy,
my place is at compassvale. i booked in aug 03 lor. now waiting for the 2nd key collection letter

Hi bungy_jumper...
just got letter to collect key as well...
me wants to defer submission of cert as well... no special reason too.... just don't want to rush the ROM just because of the flat... and dun want to ROM during the 7th mth....
can you keep me inform of your status for "deferment"?

can we keep in contact... so that we know whether we are both successful in "deferment"??

thks...

hi luckystar,
it has been 1 month and i haven submitted anything as yet. Like what questy and baby has suggested, hopefully they forget my existence.
When they do remember me, then i will write in. can't be they reject and ask me to ROM on the spot right ?
L star, wanna leave your email ?

bungy.. me too still crossing my fingers!!

I got my keys in jan till to date not yet asked to submit cert.. we will wait until we booked a banquet than submit to ask for deferment.. want to do the rom together with banquet lah!

lets all pray hard!!

bungy.. me too lah.. not yet booked..now also no supporting doc.

FH having exam in april.. so no time to discuss.. After he is done I will start mine exams from May to June.. than he start summer school with 1 exam in july.. so our schedule is like totally full..on top of that we have our work and stuff to concentrate as well.. sigh... that is why my reluctance to do the wedding.

Thinking of the banquet to be in June 2006.. Where we both finish our studies end 2005 and can concentrate. However hotel and restaurants not yet release the 2006 prices so got to wait. Anyway not dying to get married so fast.. eventually.. not now...

I pray for all of us..

Ling,
Haha, that means you trying to postpone for nearly 2 years.
Perhaps you can use your exams as a excuse. Hmm.. Maybe i should go sign up for a course too.

Hi bungy / Ling,
good good... finally found some cases similar to mine... hee... no "solid" supporting doc and excuse as well...

Ling, have just sent you a private msg... with my email address...
bungy, do you mind sending a pte msg to me with your email address, so that i can email you... don't want to disclose my email address here... :pp
hope i can at least delay till end of the year... hee...

Alamak only till end of the year.. me bad bad bad... hee..

Anyway my FH this year 29 ald.. so a bit old because all his subordinates like 26 and 27 all got married but no choice.. both of us too free a couple of years ago go take up studies.. otherwise now can do up the house with the money ald! My advice dont take up the course now!! later no money like us.. sigh.. sigh..

think we are the only few in the thread who is like not very keen to get married huh.. *snigger* me still love my home too much to move out lah.. miss my pa and ma!

Hi bungy jumper and lucky stars..

We recived the the RED letter from HDB for us to submit the ROM cert last week. I send out a defer letter on Monday and yeah!! We received the right to defer till 2006!

However we need to give receipts of either gown or dinner to affirm we get married in 2006 and that they give us till the end of 2004 to submit!

So happy!

However we have a string of reasons to better make sure they approve our defer just so that you know what to write...

*both of us in course and have since depleted our savings to have a wedding as wanted by our ELDERLY grandparents .. thus need time to save
*Geomancer advised that we rom and wedding dinner same day
*Geomancer advised marry in 2006 because the recent death of my FH god ma (which is true)
*busy with our current work and studies to plan the wedding

and we emphasis the walk in was something we wanted but came at the wrong time but we appreciate our luck in getting the flat still.

So I think to defer to this year end very easy lah just write in promptly!

hope the above helps!

Should I say congrats on your red letter? keke... thought you were waiting for that letter. Mine came verbally 1 month ago, like i already mentioned to you. They said submit when we are ready so currently not ready lor. hehe.
Wah, your string of reasons very conclusive leh, and 2006 is really really a long deferment.
So what receipts are you gonna submit this year end ?
Oh btw, tried to email you but bounce several times liao.

bungy..

give up on my coy account lah ... it firewall until so powerful.. think you write to [email protected] best.

Not looking forward for it lah but at least now more at ease.. hee hee..i think we very chao geng..

I am going to sumbit a bridal saloon receipt.. because not decided banquet and is still too early to book banquet...

what a relief!

hi:

Can I check with all of you whether the deferment letter would affect the first timer grant?
For instance, as i signed a letter of undertaking, when the property top, and i have yet to ROM, would it affect the grant which I will be getting?

Hi Ling
I understand that you managed to defer your submission of ROM cert but did you manage to defer your 20percent downpayment of the flat too? I am asking coz I recently received a letter from HDB to collect my key in early Aug and I have to pay up the 20percent downpayment but sad to say, my bf and I still do not have sufficient fund in our cpf account. We need to pay around 10K cash for the balance. I have actually deferred from March 2004 to Aug 2004. Any ideas if we can still defer till end of the year? It is possible to send me the letter that you sent to hdb with regards to the deferment? My email is [email protected]. Thanks so much.

Hi tulip,

I didnt defer payment .. just defer the date of ROM cert submittion actually.

Maybe you can write in and tell them due to current financial status you need until month end to raise the 20%? I didnt defer that so dont have a letter I can show you..

sorry for not able to help much..

Hi tulip,

I actually defer the collection of keys 3 times, altogether for a total of 10 months from Apr 03 to Mar 04. So, therefore it's possible. You have to write in for the request with very strong reasons. try to give a couple of reasons.
Once you send in your letter, just make sure they receive it, then you can skip your Aug appointment and wait to see if they approve your request.

Wow Ling,
Your posts suddenly increase by so much ? Happy chatting these days ? Thought you should be studying for exams instead ? Heh

bungy..

alamak my exams finished last month..Ald got my results last week..

heh.. you must have long time no come in liao.. I do a few posting a day lah.. but not a lot what..

Thanks for your prompt reply. Really appreciate it.

jumped, you deferred the 20 percent downpayment too? May I know the reasons that you gave? Do you still have the letter to share with me? When was your experience? Lately or few years back? The reason for asking this is becoz the rules might be more stringent now..

In the second letter from HDB, there's a clause that says if we do not collect the key and pay the 20 percent down payment by Aug, they will forfeit the 2000 deposit and we have to reapply for our house..

Hi Ling

Do you mind telling how do you write your letter requesting for deferment of the ROM cert? Is it just a two to three sentences letter?

Hi Claudia,

I wrote a letter literally... with details of my reasons of deferment..

I wrote details of the letter above... maybe you can check it out. Just scroll up a coupl of postings..

anyway no worries.. wait for the reminder letter than you write defer letter. Otherwise write too early might rock the HDB attention on you.

Hi tulip,
Mine was a 10 per cent payment upon collection. Yours 20%, u bought a key ready flat ? cos if you bought a ready flat, it would be more difficult to defer further. Mine was completed about a yr ahead of schedule, that's why i could give more reasons like, "we din't expect, cpf not enuf, no cash, etc.
My $2000 deposit went into the first 10%, so there was nothing for them to forfeit, though there was a clause that said if i fail to collect by a date, they will terminate the purchase.
Oh, and its lately, my first deferment was Apr 03, 2nd was Oct 03, 3rd was Feb 04

Yup yup.. ling,
Till now, I haven received anything, Keeping fingers crossed still..

tulip, the first time u defer, the officer in charge usually replies in a week or so. The 2nd time onwards, the officer has to refer the case to the manager. So it will take longer than a week. By the time they reply, u would have missed your August date.
Like that time i missed the date as i was waiting for them to reply, i kept calling my officer-i-c as i was worried about that clause. However, she told me, as long as i have sent in the deferment (in the letter, you have to state your roughly want to defer to when), i can just wait for their reply. If approve, they will send a letter to tell you when it has been defered to. If rejected, they will give you a new date (prob Aug or Sep)

hi jumped/ling,
i also in same case. need 2 write in for deferment.
whom shd i write the defer letter to?
just write to dear sir/mdm in my estate area?

hi hanny..

Wait until the letter that call you to submit the ROM cert than you defer. Remember the key is not to get their attention on you...

the letter will have a letterhead and a person incharge of your case. Write to the person and reference your addresss/letter ref. number asap ...

No worries.. every pieces will fall in place.