Defer ROM Cert

we want to get HDB housing grant and not so keen on new flats as preferred location near parents and specific the layout design and direction facing. currently all the new flats need to be ballot and really depends on alot of luck.

anyone out there manage to get deferment with no documents proof?

hi twinkle
i'm oso in e same predicament as u..

however, i hav signed for my flat already.. tentatively 1st appt date is mid/end april..
plan to hav rom next yr feb..

i mean, i can hav rom now.. but i wan it to be special too.. then AD end next yr..

and getting 40k grant too..

according to another forum-er, she was told by hdb officer not to worry abt rom cert until hdb sends reminder for e cert then she can decide to write in appeal letter etc..

hi cho, so you're same situation as me, also have not booked any wedding dinners or BS?

so you gg to wait for hdb send u reminder then appeal? when will hdb send us reminder? after 2nd appt or after 1st appt?

my fren told me she wrote in to appeal defer 9mths with her BS receipts before she go for her 1st appt.

twinkie.... my fiance and I are also deferring our ROM and AD till end Sept though our first appointment was mid Feb. Our second appointment is first week of April. HDB Officer asked for receipt for dinner to be submitted within 10 days in order to put up the case..

i'm buying a resale in punggol beside mum's flat.. so applying for 40k grant.. 1st appt is 27 apr

i have booked my bridal package and paid 1k deposit..
currently unable to get a JP and suitable venue for ROM..

would tis bridal receipt b sufficient??
called HDB and they gave me some excuse! and say it depends on case to case.. (which i agree, but if they reject during 1st appt, means i hav lesser time to get ready..)

HDB say i can bring it and discuss during 1st appt.

may i know what documents u submitted?

Hi cho, juz bring along a photocopied of any relevant docs which will state ur date of wedding or any receipt fr the bridal package (s u mentioned).. n dun forget ur IC s well s pics of urself & ur partner

hi snowbell,
but i only have bridal package and it states my rom date as 070707..

i was advised by agent to leave it and tell them tat alt i intend to rom on 070707, i cant find a JP or venue yet

wat i'm most worried abt is tat if they tink 020208 is too far away n reject my grant, then i hav to book rom within e next 3 mths!

golly..

I have planned my rom to be in july 07.. (HDB requires us to ROM coz we're buying resale and applying for 40k grant)
however, my grandma's pretty weak rite now.. and may "go" anytime.. really hope for her to attend..

any advise?

Hi Samgirl,
Can you send me the letter(without the names) that U sent to HDB? We are facing the same problem, applying for grant but want to get married next year.
Will really appreciate your help since your submission was approved.

Hi, i just encountered this problem too... Thus, I need some kind souls' help to send me a sample copy of the deferment letter for reference coz I really got no clue on how to start. Kindly send to my email a/c at [email protected]. Thks in advance...

Hi,we are facing the same issue but do not wish to rush our ROM because of it. Appreciate if any kind soul can send us a copy of the defer letter for ROM Cert submission to HDB? My email is [email protected] Many Thanks!

Hi pple,

Need some advise here. We had selected a flat back in May 08 (flat already built for a yr, keys ready ones) and by right HDB should ask us to sign the lease within 3 mths (latest Aug). (some of the applicants have already collect the keys). We haven't ROM yet and the officer insisted that we submit a letter for defer submission of ROM certificate, after which then they will consider the deferment and then decide to let us collect the keys a not.

Well, we tot is that we can collect the keys first then within 3 mths after keys collection then submit the letter to request for deferment. But the officer insisted the other way round. Why was tis so?

In addition, my ROM is gg to be end of next year and the officer is not very hopeful of the deferment result despite that we submit all the evidence (eg banquet invoice, AD photography invoice) that we are getting married.

So what else can we do? We keep calling the officer and the officer always end up say the same things.."ur deferment is already submitted to the mgt for approval..since ur ROM is so far away, I cant give you a positive answer now.."

What else can we do?

pongy.. how come like that? i thot as long as u got submit those document to prove should be okay.. who is the officer in charge of urs?

pongy, suggest pay hdb a visit and sort out all problems. Find out what other documents or invoices they need. talk to superior instead of the officer in charge. sometimes those uncle/auntie not flexible wan die die follow the rule.

pongy,

I think it's cos your ROM date is relatively far off that they're hesitant in signing over the flat to you. There have been cases where couples applied and gotten flats and then for whatever reason didn't go through with their marriage. HDB would then have to take the flat back from these couples which is I guess why the officer is adamant about that deferment letter.

You might want to just do what he says and write up the deferment letter. You would have to do it sooner or later anyway, might as well do it now since they're asking for it.

At the same time do what tck suggests, go down to HDB and followup with a supervisor or manager, bring all your documentation and the deferment letter as well, get the point across that you've paid money and booked venues and that both of you are committed to marriage come hell or high water.

hi pongy,

U will have to submit the deferment letter b4 the aptmt in order 4 them to approve any grant u wanna apply 4 .....

And since u are gg to held ur ROM at the end of this yr, there shdnt be any problem so long as u show them ur receipts.

Anyway, just send them a deferment letter stating ur reasons .... I've gt mine defer for 1 yr+.

hi pple.. thanks for the suggestion. Perhaps i din wrote "my story" well. In fact,we already wrote 2 letters and submit all the letters plus invoices back in early June and now its already end of July.. n no news. I read before on the forum that there are pple who defer + 1yr plus and yet the officer claim that she had gone thru all the records and said that no one defer tat long!! (my ROM end of next year).

we really thinking of gg down to hdb..but to meet who?? The officer's sup? I doubt she is willing to give me her sup contact.

Juz dun understand them.. submit all the invoices already scared we "run away" with the unit without married meh?? Dun make sense...

hi pongy,

some customer service officer(CSO) nt professional enuff. For your info, I called up the CSO a few times, surprisingly they can tell me different stories. But 1 tin 4 sure ~ they will always state the HDB R&R .... Some will just tell u all kindof crap excuse

..... but I had ever read from forum ~ ppl saying that they defer for 1yr +. And I've gt my approval letter a mth ago .... my rom will also be held end of nxt yr.

Anyway, i had PM u ....

hope u manage to defer ur ROM submission pongy.
me also almost same as u. got my keys in Sep 07 and i defer my ROM submission successfully to Nov 08. more than 1yr.

i just pass them all the copies of receipts frm the banquet and loads of other reasons for deferment.

which area is ur new flat? maybe the hdb officers more rigid..mine is sengkang branch very nice ppl.

Can check for those of you who had submitted the bridal studio receipts as proof, does the receipts have the wedding date? Or just the receipts only, but w no dates stated on them?

Hi Mab3ru,

I see, so if i now rush to any oh how get a bs w no date stated also cannot pass right? Sigh, my 2nd appt is coming up very soon! Where got enough time to go search for a good bs and hotel banquet @ such short notice!

Anyway, is there any kind souls here who can send me a copy of the defer letter as a reference? My email is [email protected] Thanks alot in advance!

i think it may help more with dates chosen by some shifu

eg. date chosen best for u and hubby and whole family
eg. just start family - need more time to save up savings for marriage and reno

these are some reasons i gave however, mainly also cuz i have a dinner banquet receipt with our names and date stated liao. tats the most important i think.

hey mab3ru and twinkie, that was reassuring to hear from you both that you've got the approval for deferment of ROM cert. I just submitted my letter in Aug, with our banquet receipt and church letter for our wedding in Oct 09. HTB and I are worried that they might not approve since it's more than 1 year away. Our 1st appt with HDB is in Oct this year.

Do you get the approval letter from HDB before ur 1st appt or are you informed during the 1st appt?

hi verena,
I only submitted my letter of deferment of ROM after i collected my keys and it was approved within few days via email.

no worries, i'm sure urs will be approved too.

fyi i collected my keys in sept 07 and i deferred to nov 08. more than 1yr

Hi Mab3ru,

No, my grant is only approved after my 1st appt. My 2nd appt is coming up very soon, so far all along, my cus svc mgr did not asked us abt the rom cert @ all. But we worried now that when we go on 2nd appt, then he realised that we dont have, the grant might be taken back.

Hi twinkie,

Thanks for the template.

hi stressbride,
hope the template helps

I think you should not anyhow book the banquet or BS first. MB u can try to delay the 2nd appt then you can buy time to shop for banquet or BS.

btw, 2nd appt is collection of keys issit?

hi verena,

yap .... I had my approval letter before my 1st appointment, to ensure that my purchase will be successful. Perhaps, u can call to checkup regarding the status(approval) since u haf submitted last mth.

Juz for ur info, my wed will also be in Oct 09. No worries, I'm believe urs will also be approved as u haf submitted so many supporting docs.

Cheerios

--------------

hi stressbride,

I agree with twinkie, perhaps u can ask ur agent help u defer ur 2nd appt. Dun simply rush for the banquet n BS, otherwise u might regret in the end ....

Cheerios