Curtains! Curtains!

Anyone here knows where can I get those kind of straw blinds that are usually used in resort themed house? Those type that rolls up with pulled up.

Those at ikea looks kind of cheapo leh. Also, their length can't really cover up my window fully.

Just wonder where else can I get them? If not straw type, those bamboo slit ones are equally good. Shed some lights all the bros and sis out there.

Yesterday I was in Jalan Besar.Saw this shop make to measure blinds(many varieties)The address is 120,Jalan Besar.It is on the same side as Eng Soon Huat.

Anyone had their curtains done by Harmony Furnishing? I saw some of their cloth samples and like them very much...i think those that i like are more exp cloth hehe...

I have a recommendation to make. This guy was recommended to us by a friend whose curtains was done pretty professionally though it was considerably cheaper than those with retail shops (cos he doesn't have one).

He did for our whole house and the result was quite good. We've received compliments on the curtains.

He's name is Desmond and can be contacted at 97927404.

I decided and my curtains are done by Harmony Furnishing. They did a very good job...alot of ppl came and gave good comments.

Hi daylight,

you can look for eric ..cos i oso use the golden leaf..and he very friendly and approachable..

Hi daylight,

can u share with me your pics as well as details such as how many curtains, what type and how much did it all costs?

I just went downstairs to check with a shop and they quoted $130 for each set of Daylight curtains. (MTM 58" x 65") Is this cheap?? My husband said its exp leh... I tot normally such neighbourhood area should be cheap rite??

Yesterday I went to spotlight and they are prices ranges from $80-$200 apair and not as nice leh..

I just finished doing up all my curtains very cheaply, i went to Joo Chiat Complex to buy the materials during the hari raya period and got all for a very cheap price, about $100 for hall and 3 rooms. I found a sewer, who was my friend's wife from indonesia who is doing sewing part time, she sewed the whole set for me and the total cost for the whole house is less then $300. If you are on a budget,do it my way, go to joo chiat and look at the range of shops there who sell materials for curtains, jimmy's is also there and even kaisoon. The prices and range is big and suitable for all. You only need to measure your window length and the length of the curtain from celing to floor or above window to floor, give this to the salesman and they will calculate the amount of material that you will need, then bring it to some one who can sew for you. will save alot of money this way.you can contact my fried to get his wife to sew for you, he stays in jurong west area. his contact no is :82226596.name is PNG, I can recommend his wife as her workmanship is very good and she is willing to do extra for you, she made tie-backs for me with the extra materials.

We engaged Jimmy Textiles to do our curtains. Overall satisfactory prices and service.

Jimmy Textiles
1 Joo Chiat Rd #01-1085 Singapore 420001
Tel : 6747-3522

Hello out there, I have a round window line so my curtain track has to be curved. I was quoted $240 for double track in the living room, $35 for single track / $70 for double tracks in bedrooms. Is that a fair price or over-quoted? Have not talked about curtain fabric cost yet but I believe cost goes by per metre.

just to share wif u. Recently i've bought all the curtains for my 5 room flat for only $400+!! It's all ready made curtains from a curtain shop at blk 448 at Clementi central. They have a wide range of very nice ready made curtains.
Moreover, i also bought 4 pcs of string curtain, each of 0.9m width, for only $135!! i would say it's quite cheap after comparing with other shop.

Hi Andy,

I haven hang my curtains yet.. gonna wait till after my hse reno done then hang.
Btw, mine is off the shelf one and the length is 2.3m. Mainly organza and silky material.
Maybe u can pop by the shop and see.

Hi all,..the jImmy textiles mentioned here isit the one at tanjong katong complex? I went to 2 curtains shops there last night, both shops quote me a price of ~$2k for the ff curtains:
1. Full length organza and day curtains for living room
2. 2 x full length curtains at bedroom 2 & 3
3. Full length night curtains at master bedroom.

IS the proce reasonable, pls advise. Any other good places to shop for curtains?

Yes the jimmy textiles is the one at tanjong k c. They've been there for more than 10 years.

Reliable. they did curtains for our whole house.

hi..

got a nice place to recommend u all.

got my place done by middle curtain @ thomson road.
the lady that served me was josephine tan.

you can contact them thru their website @ www.middle.com.sg or call them @ 64535155

Recently I went to Clementi Central to look for curtains for my new house. There are a few shops there selling curtains. I bought a full length organza curtain for my living room which costs only $89 and a curtain for the entrance of my walk in wardrobe for only $35. We also bought wooden rods. Total we only spend $180. Intending to buy blinds from Ikea cos cheaper. The quality may not be gd so if after few years spoil i can go get new ones with maybe better and newer designs.

I've been having problems with my roller blinds since installation last Oct 09 by Dellas Curtain.

They sent ppl over twice, but doesn't seem to be able to solve. They simply put masking tape to prevent the fabric from running away & kept asking me to pull down the roller blinds slowly.

Most of the blinds would only be lowered down once a week to vacuum in a real slow mov. Still the blinds got stuck everything now and then.

This is the 3rd trip and they decided to charge $30 transportation fees just to put masking tape!

Really frustrated with the never ending problems...

how is your roller blinds thinking to install as currently using roman blinds. After my tendents cut the thread out everytime I need to send the curtain man charge me $200 to fix up. It is the 4th time that I called the curtain man.

Anthony comes in to Singapore to install for free. he comes in to give u free quotation and measurements at all. very earnest and frank guy and will not overquote you. hes workmanship is really good and his after sales service even better.

good for new brides like me who is on a tight budget after the wedding. really glad my mother in law introduced him to me.

you can contact him at +6016-7373161 or +6016-7105877. he also has a face book page where i chose my designs and all. JB CURTAINS.

hope it helps.

my first post :-)

I got mine cutain from debbie, the worksmanship is excellent as she told me the the sewer is her mother-in-law with 20year experience. She is friendly and price are very reasonable as she did it on a freelance basis so no overhead. No regret.

you can contact her at 98191481

Thanks to fiesta. Got debbie's contact from here. This is their website www.11november.com.sg

Very very happy with their service and not pushy at all. Their colour matching is nice, i think her fit fit partner that came along is a designer who help us to match all the rooms. Yes their price is attractive. Thumbs up for this professional young curtain makers.

I had my blackout curtains installed by E home services Singapore and their workmanship was great! Blackout curtain helps to reduce the noise outside and im a late sleeper therefore, it helps when im sleeping during the day time