Curtains! Curtains!

Can try Mr Tan from Curtain Cushion Contractor, hp 96804000. Does curtains, blinds, carpet and cushions. Will bring samples to you for viewing.

Hi Cody, I was served by Alex, he's quite friendly too!:P going to my place to take measurements on friday. still can't decide whether to do day curtains for the bedrooms though!:D

Hi Doremon,

I have just finish our reno and just went down to select the fabrics .

I will try to post the address tonite as I don't have it here in the office .

I would said that the fabrics is not Bad for the price I paid .

He will deliver it end of the month .

def

Hi Doremon,

The curtain specialist I got from is

Redleaf Textile Garment
136 Sims Avenue
Geylang Road (Near Lorong 17)
Tel: 65470555

Look for Alan Tan (HP : 98335155)

Say you are recommended by Seng Kang Blk 317 couple . Husband dark dark one . AsK him to give you the best price.

def

Hi, we did our curtains from Lance Court @ IMM 3rd flr. 3 rooms (half length), 1 hall (full length), remove old curtain rods & install new curtain rods for $700. Pretty good quality material. they do roller blinds too.

Hi Cody,

I'm new here, like to check whether u hv install the curtains, how is the workmanship? Kind of curious, cos I'm going to make my curtain soon. After reading ur good comments of Tots n Teens service, will visit them this week.

hi Tee,

Yes, i have installed my curtains. The workmanship is ok (by my standards, different people will have different perceptions on what's good or not...).

In general, i'm v satisfied coz i think i got a good idea. Given the $ i paid, i could compromise on the workmanship.

Its not that it's poor, but my hub says my standards very high; he says the workmanship was quite good already, given the heavy & thick material that i chose.

In comparison to my sister's Spotlight curtains, i think i got a much better deal on the material and the workmanship!

Go down to see them in their showroom.
They only take part in 1-2 exhibitions per year.

Hi Def,

Thanks a lot for the information. Sorry for missing for sometime. Was preparing for my exams. I went to spotlight yesterday to check out the pricing etc. Found that for buying the below items to do up the whole EA will cost ard $700:

1.Full Length Thermal-lined curtains for living rm
(Take note: This is ready-made curtain)
2.Half-Length Tab-Top curtains for all bed rooms
3. Tracks for living rm
4. Curtain Rod for the tab-top curtains in al bed rooms
5. All accessories needed to hang the curtains for the living rm
6. Day curtain for the living room

What do you think? Now i don't know should i get them from spotlight or not? But, i will definitely pop over to the shop which you recommended to get a quote. Really appreciate your help.

Yup...u r right. I am only a few blocks away, i am at 315A.

Hi doremon,

It really depend on the effect and the hassle you have to go thru .

First , do you have a contractor for your house . Need to get him to drill the hole for the curtain track or (the so call holder). I personally think that it is quite difficult to drill for a layman like me .

Tab top curtain is easier to remove but at the same time it is hard to pull . The whole rod will fall off ( my bro house use ikea) . The material is usually not so lasting and he end up paying around the same as I do .

Another thing to take note is our house design . The place where you hang the curtain is lower . If you are going to put rod ..that is drill it after the lower ceiling ...it is a distance from the window . But you have to drill it there because it is a tab top . need that rod to hold the curtain .

Go into your house and visualize all possible option and think about the cordination work (see if everything is ok then decide ) .

I told alan that i give out his contact in the internet . If you going to look for him just say 317 couple recommended (the one who give his contact thru internet ).

I will be home this friday night but may be going to town on Sat morning . if you want to take a look on Sunday or friday night let me know .

hi cody,

I am looking for curtains as well.. after reading your comments on tot n teens, can i check with you... the material that you have chosen for ur living room.. how much is the night material.. and is the day curtain organza?? heard that it will be more exp.. act i went to jimmy textiles.. n they quoted me $2200 for
living room- day and night curtain ( day is organza and night is $35-$38!)
MBR - Day and night curtain
Study Room- Roller blinds

and they quote me $2800 for

living rm - same material
3 Bedrooms - roman blinds

issit exp?? tot so.. after looking at what sunshine is getting..

perhaps u gers can give me some recommendations?

hi chomecc,

true that tots n teens charge more than jimmy textiles, but i think tot n teens material is nicer and quality better.

I can't quite advise you on the prices or other alternatives coz it has been almost a year since i got my curtains done.

the day curtain organza i chose is more expensive than the normal shantung ones coz mine had leave imprints on the organza. As for night curtains, i topped up some money for the block out curtains (ie blocks out 100% of light). Warning: block out curtains are more expensive in the long run coz they weigh heavier, which translates into higher dry cleaning cost (which goes by $/kg).

Ah, I do remember that roman blinds are more expensive than normal curtains.

happy shopping!

HI, chomecc,

I happen to drop by and see that u need curtains...well..i hve mine done by new style enterprise and is good the sales man, Alan is very friendly..i do my living room day and night and my master bed room day and nite only $700.00

if u are interested , let me know..i will give u his contact no...

meanwhile..happy shopping

Just wondering if anyone has L-shaped windows? I have them in my living room, master bedroom and study room. Now having a headache cos we're trying to decide if we want to spend the $$$ to cover up the side panel as well. Just wondering if there's any alternative solution that costs less $$$ and if we just leave the side panel as is, do you think it'll look funny without the curtain/blind on the side panel?

Hi hp,

if there's no gd view at ur side panels (eg. can see aircon or see rubbish dump or wall), then u can 'black-out' that panel. ie. no need to put curtains. can ask ur curtain man abt it.

Just to share my bad experience with this company. Company name : Corri Track & Accessories.

After doing some asking around during an expo exhibition at 21/12/2003, we decided to confirm with this shop as they are the cheapest for the same quality. We agreed to have the curtains installed and delivered on 15 Jan 2004. Currently my flat is undergo renovation and the handover will be 15 Jan 2004. We only do for the living room area. The total cost was $450 and $150 was paid as deposit.

One of the salesman called me a week later and told me that they could only deliver on the 31 Dec 2003. I told them that no way because my flat is not ready and it will dirty the curtains. They told me that they have no other date. I have no choice but to call my project manager to check with him. I called that salesman again to see whether can we comprised on something. But he told me no. Seeing that i have no other choices, i told him to install the track and leave the curtains with my project manager as we often leave everything to my project manager. We only inspect every Sunday when we are free.

The bad service came. They asked me to pay them as they did not received payment after installing. I told them I couldnt be around on that day, but i promised to mail a cheque to them immediately. My wife suggested to pay via VISA to earn points. So we make a trip down to the shop. One of the people in the shop told us that the machine is currently at the expo and will only be back on Monday. Hearing this, I told the person that we will be back on Monday to pay the balance.

That salesman called us shortly after that and ask us to pay by cheque. I told him that we would like to pay by VISA, and dont mind making a trip down to expo to do that. He told us no, because we already paid the deposit via VISA and that will be 2 credit charges. My wife took over the phone and reminded him that we paid the deposit via NETS and the job was not fully accomplished and we were at the shop previously with the intention to pay the remaining. He immediately changed his story. He told us that he has the VISA machine only for the exhibition and they will not have the machine. My wife reminded him that one of the person sitting in a big desk in an air-con room told us that the machine will be back on Monday. She reminded him that the agreement was to deliver on the 15 Jan 2004 so that we are there to receive the flat and the furniture and they can able to install the curtains. Now we have to do the installation ourselves. Hearing this, he changed his story to say that if your husband has not insisted to be delivered on 15 Jan 2004, they will get another sub con to do the job. Now he is trying to twist around, playing with words.

There i am trying to be a nice customer, forcing ourselves to accept their proposed delivery date earlier at our inconvenience, being a good customer.

Nevertheless, I will still pay up but after I checked the curtains after experiencing this kind of service.

I hope people in this forum will beware of this company.

anyone know the market price for doing the curtain rod?? how is it calculated, by psf?? i need a curtain rod at living. my windows is not those straight type... it is like half a ba kua shape type of windows... anyone can help? thks

AK,
Rods are normally go by per foot run, but if your window is a semi-circle type, y use rods? Dun think is nice. I suggest u use bend tracks or some called it curve tracks, it can curved according to your window shapes which in a way can enhance the look of your curtains and flow together with the curves of your windows.

Hi Genki,

Yah i will need to go for curving track cos my windows is those bai gua shape so need to shape according lor.

u know the market price of such track per foot run cos the person coming to measure & quote tomorrow so i want to see if i am overquote here a not. any advise?? many thanks!

AK,
If you need a track installer, i can recommend my friend to you. To be frank, I did my curtains myself as I was in soft furnishing as a salesperson before.
Curve tracks is charge at $6.50 p.f.r using Japan make brand (Yokota), some installer charge them at $8~10 p.f.r, if you use your contractor to do it, do check that the rollers are make of plastic and steel rings, not full plastic rollers.
If you need the contact do let me know.

Genki,

I am looking at fixing up the aluminium curtain track myself. However, do not know if I would save lot by fixiing the track myself and custom make the curtain from Spotlight. Do you know where can I got the curve track for the curtain. By the way, do you have the contact for the track installer, trying to find out the prices...Thanks.

Hi Genki, thks. sorry i miss your post reply earlier. i got the track installed already. got the curve track cheaper after comparing some quotes. thks for your offer. appreciate it.

hello pple, i am gog to search 4 a curtains supplier, but b4 i start, i am totally clueless abt wat to look out 4 when i am sourcing for a supplier... care to share tips? thks.

starz, my suggestion is to decide if u would like to buy those ready-made one or custom-made type. then see what type of curtain (e.g. roller blind, roman blind, day & night curtain, etc) you like... once u decide on tat, then u start sourcing ard for pricing. i think this is easier to compare on pricing then. If quotes vary a lot, then u will hv to take note of y it is so.. is it the contractor didnt give an accurate measurement, hidden or watever. get a few quotes to see the diff.

AK,
No problem at all, so how's your curtain.. solved?

Jimmy,
U can leave down your email and i shall send the contact to you. I dun wanna post here cos am not an advertiser :P

M new to curtains too! Juz learned that there are such things as night and day curtains..interesting..

Can anyone tell me what are the pros and cons of curtain rods vs curtain tracks?

La La Ooh
There's no pros n cons, basically is the design you want your curtain to be, rods will be nice for country,tropical kind of looks. Rods will be exposed whereby tracks can be hidden in pelmet/false ceiling so that you won't see the tracks. Rods will never have a wall to wall curtain results, bcos both end of the rod need to fix with a end cap after installed in. Rods can only fix onto wall not ceiling, if shops tells u can be done..i should say yes but you will have a awful gap between ceiling and curtain hemming about 2 to 3". Also if your rod is make of poor quality, after years the centre portion will be bend/sink down due to the weight of the curtain which have to carry cos it depends on only 3 brackets, 2 at each end and 1 at centre to secure to the wall.Short windows should not be a problem but not for long width windows.

Hope my explanation do help.

Hi Genki,

Yes yes, your explanation definitely does help.

So how do I know if the rod is of good quality? any supplier to recommend?

In terms of maintenance, like taking down and washing, etc, I suppose rod is easier right?

If I need both day and night curtains on the same window, then I need to have both - night on rod and day on track - is this correct?

Thks!

Hi La La Ooh,

Some things to take note off regarding using rod-type curtains
1) Rods are usually more expensive then tracks.
2) There may be extra workmanship charges for rod curtains because of the need to specially put metal rings around the holes made in the curtain so that you can insert the curtain onto the rod. Alternatively, you may wish to go for cafe-style curtains to avoid this cost, but the effect is more casual.
3) Also, if there is a beam directly above your windows, rods may not be suitable. Need to check with the curtain specialist on the details of this.

Hi La La Ooh,

To add to cookie's gal on pt 2. due to the metal rings as added to the curtain as holes for the rod, u may hv problem in washing the curtain using washing machine. Cos the rings cannot be removed from the curtain.

Another alternative apart from metal rings, some curtain has a hoop to put onto rods. There is few design of curtains on rod, u may want to ask the curtain shop or look ard at the shop.

I ever saw in Ikea that the rod can be hidden behind the curtain. But then the curtain is not custom-made thus the length of the curtain is quite long. u need to do extra work by trimming at the end. Forgot if they provide the svc, but if hv i think will need to pay a minimal amt for that.

La la Ooh
I dun encourage to have a mix of track and rod,looks awful.

Like what cookie's gal mentioned, rods are more expensive also the sewing charges are more ex too.

Another thing you have to look into, the fabric you choose, have to be not too heavy or thick, cos heavy will drag down faster and thus cause your rod to bend faster.

MeLodie,
Contact sent.

hi pple! thanks for all the advice. very useful.

btw, do any of you know where's the best place to get the curtains.

I came across a shop in New World Centre in Jln Besar. They have very nice material. organza, zen silk, etc.. not sure if their prices are okay as i haven't had time to shop around yet.

Hi La La Ooh,

You may wish to shop around and compare prices. There are a few curtain specialists who are always participating in those reno exhibitions @ Expo. But do check out comments on them in this forum before commiting to any.

We used Jimmy Textiles (highly recommended by users of this forum) for our curtains. Their prices are reasonable. They will be installed in early Oct so can only comment about the workmanship and service then. You may wish to go down to Tanjong Katong Shopping Complex located near Paya Lebar MRT (where Jimmy Textiles is located) to take a look. There are some other curtain specialists there as well.

If budget is a concern, you may also wish to walk around HDB estates to get a quotation from those curtain shops there. I've seen some at places like Toa Payoh & Clementi. They sell ready-made curtains as well. Very cheap and affordable - of course, the quality of fabric used is not as good.

Hi Cookie's gal,

coincidentally, i'm going down to tanjong katong complex tomorrow, so i'll drop by Jimmy textile.

i've checked my resale unit. currently, the 3 bedroom already have rods installed, so i'll use them provided the current owners don't take them away when they shift out. As for the living room, they have installed tracks and I'm still thinking if I wanna change to rods or leave it as tracks.

My idea is to move in first and assess the sunlight, wind conditions, etc before deciding what kind of curtains/blinds to get for which room.

Hi La La Ooh,

Yah, that'd be a good idea. But remember, you must have still find kind of large material (eg old tablecloth/blanket/bedsheet) to temporarily function as your curtains for privacy and to block out the sun esp during sunrise!

ya good idea. will use an old bedsheet to fn as temp curtain first.

everything's very tight for me as i'm getting the keys to my house ~2 weeks before my wedding :-o

btw, do you have a contractor for toilet reno to introduce to me? i ask in another thread but no one responded..

Hi La La Ooh,

Just re-read my last post to you... yikes, jumbled english! oops.

We engaged an ID firm to do up our whole house as it's a new flat, standard type. So we don't have any contractor contacts.

Wow... ur timing's quite tight. Maybe it'll be better to focus on the house after your wedding instead? Don't be in such a hurry to move in that you don't get to think things through carefully! Although I know that as newly weds, we would love to start our new lives together immediately.

Hi cookie's gal,

ya, gotta focus on wedding now. but becoz the only reno required for my resale flat is in the 2 toilets, i was hoping i can do it within the 2 weeks. see how it goes lah..

oops! deviated from topic liao!