Curtains! Curtains!

decbride

Hello gals,

need some comments and help on curtains:
1) Has anyone install roman blinds for their living room before the balcony? Is it nice?
2) I heard that m'sians contractor are cheaper. Any recommendations? How is their workmanship? Are they trustworthy?

Much thanks!

hi decbride, my frend rec chinatown got few shops quite cheap. mayb u can chk them out? near the old OG ..i will oso lor but mayb later..mayb u can post it here if u find some gd bargain?

;-p

Hi greenhorn,

Ok, thanks!

Actually, I don't need it as yet. Just trying to get some ideas.

Will check it out if I pass by one of these days.

Hello .... my 2-cents worth:

HOw much it costs really depends on what material you use.

I launched into a reserach on this some months back .... the Malaysian curtain shops is not THAT cheap. The material used is not so good quality, and all that hassle of travelling to & fro the causeway will only cost you more at the end of the day. Not to mention the phone calls ....

On the other hand, i went to some local curtain shops in Tanjong Katong Complex. The price they charge is reasonable for the quality. In fact, the same cloth i chose from the Malaysian curtain shop was cheaper here!

Ultimately i signed up with a local curtain shop. I'm doing day and night curtains for the living and dining rooms, day and block-out curtains for 3 bedrooms + 1 roman blind for the master bedroom. All in $1500.

I dare not post the name of the shop that i've signed up with becoz they haven't come to install the curtains yet. You know how the sales talk is like .... everything can, but when it really comes down to doing it, they say cannot.

Anyway, i'll keep you posted on the outcome of my curtain installation soon.

Good luck w your search !

hi chimimi, wat is day n night curtain? and wat is day n block-out curtains? wat the diff? n when is ur curtain installation?

Hello hello

Day curtain = v thin curtain, almost see-thru, usually plain white curtains to block out the glare yet allowing some light in. From the outside, people also cannot look in unless they're standing just next to your window.

Night curtain = usually of heavier material that is pulled to the side when not in use. The heavier and thicker the material, the more expensive they are.
Night curtains are typically of a different colour with / without patterns.

When you go to hotels / curtain shops, they will always have day and night curtains.

Block-out curatins mean 100% block out ALL light (very heavy, usually those at hotel rooms).

My curtain installation should be late Aug / early Sept.

Glad i was of help!

does anyone know where can I get those transparent-like white curtain, I need short one.
Try Ikea but they don't have short ones.

Hi chimimi,

Thks! am actually thinking of the day n night curtains cos they look more classy n nice, do u think it is advisable to have day n night for whole hse (except kitchen, of course...heehee... ;-p)??

Hi greenhorn

It really depends on what you like...
Sounds like you like having day curtains, so just go ahead!

Day curtains are cheap and very easy to maintain. Most day curtain materials are machine washable.

It's really up to you!

Calla, those transparent-like white curtains are called day curtains. It's hard to get them in Ikea. But if you're good at sewing, you can get the cloth from fabric shops (eg Chinatown, Clementi Central etc). Alternatively get curtain shops to do it for you. Just dun get tempted with the other stuff the curtain shop has!

Can somebody provide me the price range for the curtains and the curtain railings so that i can have a rough idea of the budget required?

Hi lyl

Price will have to depend on how big are your windows and the fabric u choose. Advisable to give the salesperson the dimension of your windows when u go to the shop. The quote will be more accurate.

Hi DecBride

Got a place to recommend, the shop looks a bit empty but they have different types of materials. The sewing is very good and price is reasonable. If u stay in west area, can drop by when u r free:
Teck Whye Curtains Service (Mr Koh)
Blk 348 Jurong East Ave 1
#01-1257

Hi Dec Bride,

I will be installing roman blinds in my master bedroom windows.

But I don't think it's appropriate for the living room before the balcony cos the blinds structure is pretty heavy. so it can be inconvenient to walk under the blinds - might knock into them.

You could try the light thinner curtain for that area. The effect will be quite nice.

Hi Orchid,

thanks for the advice. That was my 2nd alternative! I might install those wood blinds at the balcony instead. Could extend the living room area to the balcony if I do that. ;-)

Hi Greenhorn,

Forgot to tell you that it's quite common for homes to have day & night curtains throughout the house. Take a look at interior magazines ... (except for the ultra modern, ultra clean look where they dun even have curtains in the first place!)

My concept of curtain is the same as yours. I am having day and night curtains throughout all the rooms!

Hi Dec Bride,

Hey, you can use wood venetian blinds for the balcony windows. it looks really good, very resort feel. you can place a little coffee table and 2 chairs by the balcony become your own coffee corner. but remember to take those away when you have kids.

Hi Orchid,

I bought the coffee tables and chairs already. It's something like the coffee beans ones. ;-)
Just found out that wood venetian blinds are expensive. About 600-800 for my entire balcony windows:-P

Might consider the wooden roller blinds instead.

There are a few type of windows curtain that you can chose from. Below are some example:

Curtian
Venetian Blind
Vertical Blind
Window Film
Bamboo Chicks
Roller Blinds

If I am not wrong Roller Blinds are one of the expensive one, but it do look good for the rooms. Also you can install those blinds that look like nets very nice in the night as it is a bit translucent when at nite the light is switch on from inside.

If anyone of you are really looking for all this or want to know any qoute for what you want, you can give Ms Ng Siew Ting at 9819 6963 (HP) or 92889051 (pg) a call, she will be able to help you on this. Her workmanship are good and the price are competitive.

Hi Orchid,

Just give her a call she will have a few types of blinds, I am not sure if she have the Roman blinds, but I know she has a list of type of it, those I mentioned are some of it. You can ask her for a qoute and see if the price is right for you.

Hi all, am thinking of buying those DIY curtain rods from IKEA and get my contractor to fix up..any idea on the cost for the rods? am lookin for those rods for day n night..Oso, any recomendations on where to find cheap cheap lobang for the curtains? hopefully can get the curtains (+ rods) all within $500, is it reasonable? cos on really tight budget & not want to spend too much on curtains leh...any gd bargain out there?

Most headache part is tt my whole hse is windows & windows..whole stretch kind..in 3 bedrms, living & dining rms...dur... :-P

I'm thinking of letting this person do my curtains but not sure of whether the pricing is right. Can I check with you gals, what are the normal charges for making curtains?
1) Day curtain $ per m (avg)
2) Sewing charges
3) Aluminium Track
4) Tie Back
5) Night Curtain $ per m (avg)

Thanks very much.

My sis made hers there ... the material she got was those on sale, so she saved some $$ there, but the workmanship for the sewing wasn't all that cheap. About $300+ sewing only, for 2 panels of bedroom windows.

I think Spotlight charges a lot for the sewing and workmanship. Any other good recommendation for curtains...cos we don't intend to spend too much

maybe u cab try Jimmy Textile @katong complex. me was abt $900 for whole flat; day/nite, 3 x roman blind

I have made full length day and nights curtains for the living rm,n roman blinds for all the 3 bedrooms and the aircon ledge window.

The person charged me 2.2k

isit ex or is this the mkt rate?
got a feelin tt i'm being cheated.

Sounds quite reasonable to me ...
i'm paying $1.5k for only 1 roman blind, full length for living and dining rooms and half length for bedrooms (all with day and night curtains).

the reason why i feel that i may get cheated cos my hubby's frens think tt is quite ex for doing curtains lor...........

how much you pay also depends on the material you chose y'know ... the better the quality the more expensive ...

Also Roman blinds are more expensive to do. If you want to cut cost, why not do normal curtain?

To cut cost further, maybe you can do WITHOUT day curtains for the bedrooms ...

Just my suggestion ...

i dunno how much he charges for one roman blind.the px tt he quote is one lump sum.

will oni be doing day n nite curtains in the livings,n roman blind in the 3 bedrms..

cant do normal curtain w a bar in the rms cos the windows is just next to the wall.

well,i think diff pple got diff opinions..i suppose to some of my frens they think is ex,but for some,they think the px is ok....

thanks gals for your opinions. :P

Hey Guys and gals,

After I seeign waht your write, I am surprise that the curtains that your brought are very expensive especially for gotcon. I am not sure how many windows you have, but that is ex. Actually, alot of curtains vendor are charging very high price. Your should ask around a few shop, give them a call ask for qoutation and also get them to show you their work before you committ to it. It is just a phoen call away for most of them and you can get the qoute.

I know thatso design might be different that you cannot find from other place, but for things like roller blins, Roman blinds all this are quite standard and the price can be a big different if you chose the wrong vendor but witht he same price.

There I adivce your to call up for more qoute before your buy it.

If you want your can give this lady Ms Ng(9819 6963 (HP) or 92889051 (pg) ) a call and she give good workmanship curtian and competitve price. No harm just to call up and ask. Personally I will be asking her to do it as I saw her work is good and the price is defintely one of the bets I have source.

I went to Jimmy Textiles and they quote me $1400 for the below items :

1) Living room - day curtain + another layer of white curtain

2) MBR - Roman Blinds ($160!!)

3) Bedroom 1 - day curtain + another layer of white curtain

4) Bedroom 2 - night curtain + another layer of white curtain

5) installation, hook, rod.

I think the price quoted are pretty reasonable. The salesguy told me that roman blinds are actually cheaper than curtain, especially for those standard HDB 2 windows type. $160 sound like a good price to me. Too bad, the rest of my bedroom are full length window, hence I can only opt for curtian which are more expensive. I have already confirmed them. Let you know their service after installation.

I have got a quotation from a Malaysian curtain shop and find it very reasonable. Just give him a call and he will arrange for an appointment to bring all samples to your house. He will give an quotation on the spot and I find his prices very reasonable as I have another quote from another Malaysian shop too. He has all types of curtains including Roller Blinds, Roman Blinds, Bamboo Blinds, Day & Night Curtains etc.

Name: John Yong Pg: 92688966
Sin Mah Curtain Centre Sdn Bhd

Hiya! Anyone has good experience for custom made curtains? I'm trying to get curtains day/night for living and night for the rooms, and my master bedroom has a corner window!
Thanks!:P

I have my done up for slightly more than $700.00 for an EA . Day and Night for Living and MBR (full length) .
Night for the other three room ( window length )

Is it cheap ? I did not run any rod . All on track .

He is only coming maybe end of next month as I am doing my reno now .

def

I've done mine with Tots 'N' Teens curtain shop at Tanjong Katong complex. It's located on the ground floor near Shop n Save, next to Jimmy Textiles (which is a sister-shop).

Look for Cheryl, she's v friendly and her shop has plenty of the more modern curtain fabrics (I dun like those big flowery type ...)

I got Tots n Teens to do up all my curtains including the tracks and tie-backs. I paid $1500 for my EC windows including :
- living rooms: ceiling to floor length day and night curtain
- dining room: full length day and night curtains
- 2 bedrooms: full length day curtains and 100% block-out night curtains (more expensive)
- master bedroom corner window: day curtains and 100% block out night curtain
- master bedroom normal window: full length day curtain and 100% block out roman blind

I am happy with their service and i think the price i paid is reasonable. I chose a heavy and more expensive material for the living and dining rooms, and the blockout curtains are more expensive. Considering all these factors, i think i got quite a good value.

U may want to contact Cheryl for a quotation before you decide ... her number is (O) 6745 6780 or (M) 9616 8683

Hi Def,

Can share with us the contact of the curtain shop u have engaged? I would say $700+++ for an EA with full length windows is cheap. Mine is also an EA and now sourcing for curtains. Hope that u can share the contact as i am indeed very interested. Thanks!

Hi Doremon,

The shop is at Geylang . Near to the rocher toa huay . His name is called Allan . Do not find the contact now as it is with my hubby . Once I got it will post it here .

Once the reno is up . I will go down to choose the fabric. They take more than a week to get it up . Maybe when it is up , you can come over to my place to take a look before deciding .

I have went down to his shop for three times already before we have this deal .....

I m at 317.I think you are only a few block away .