Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Islandpub,
You're most welcome.

Cheers:
Carol

Wanna try baking a cake for mother or mother-in-law on Mother's day?
Here's a nice recipe to try out.

Banana Coconut Cake

4759.jpg

{Ingredients:}
For Cake:
- 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
- 1 1/2 cups sugar
- 3 eggs
- 1/2 cup buttermilk
- 1 1/3 cups mashed ripe banana
- 2 1/2 cups sifted cake flour
- 1 tsp baking powder
- 3/4 tsp salt
- 3/4 tsp baking soda
- 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans

For Custard:
- 3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut milk
- 1 cup whole milk
- 1/2 cup sugar
- 1/4 cup cornstarch
- 4 egg yolks

For Assembly:
- 3 bananas, peeled and sliced
- 1/4 cup lemon juice
- 2 tbsp sugar
- 1 cup unsweetened flaked or shredded dried coconut, toasted

{Method:}
1. FOR CAKE: Preheat an oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour two 9-inch round cake pans. To make the cake, in a large bowl and using an electric mixer set on medium speed, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 10 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Continue beating until very light and fluffy, about 10 minutes longer. Mix in the buttermilk and mashed banana.

2. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat on low speed just until moistened. Increase the speed to medium and beat for 1 minute. Then, using a wooden spoon, fold in the pecans.

3. Pour the batter into the prepared pans, dividing it evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 25-35 minutes. Transfer to racks and let cool in pans for 5 minutes, then invert the cakes onto the racks to cool completely.

4. FOR CUSTARD: Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or plastic wrap and set aside. In a heavy saucepan, combine the coconut milk and whole milk and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and set aside. In a bowl, stir together the sugar and cornstarch. Add the eggs yolks and stir briskly until blended. Whisk half of the hot milk into the sugar-yolk mixture to temper it, then whisk the sugar-yolk mixture into the remaining hot milk in the saucepan. Place over medium heat and cook, stirring constantly, until smooth and thick, 3-4 minutes. Spread the custard on the prepared baking sheet; cover with a sheet of parchment paper or plastic wrap to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate until cool.

5. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees.

6. TO ASSEMBLE: In a bowl, toss the banana slices with the lemon juice and sugar. Trim the top of a cake layer so that it is level and place on a serving plate. Spread with a thin layer of the custard, arrange the banana slices on top, and then spread a thin layer of custard over the bananas. Place the second cake layer on top, bottom down, and spread the top with the remaining custard. Garnish with the coconut, mounding it on top. Serve at once or cover and refrigerate for up to 24 hours.

Cheers & hope all mothers will like it.
Carol

Hi Stars,
I've the recipe of Chocolate Puffs, hope you'll like it.

It's easy & delicious.

Chocolate Puffs

Ingredients:
(A) 120g margarine, 300ml water, 1/4tsp salt
(B) 200g plain flour, 4 eggs, 1/4tsp baking powder
(C) cooking chocolate

Method:
1. Put A in pot to boil untill disolved, stir in flour remove it & leave to cool.

2. Add in flour, then add in eggs one by one & stir into a smooth batter. Finally add baking powder.

3. pipe out a falt layer of batter on a baking tray, add 1/2tsp of chocolate & pipe again to cover chocolate.

4. Arrange in oven, bake at 180deg. for 25mins. Remove & serve.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Carol

Thank you for your explanation. Sori have been quite busy lately. You know that thead HIPV, so many new brides, I also confuse already heehee. Good to see you too.
Thank you for posting the cake and chocolate puffs, hope I have time to try out. Sometimes, I am really tired after work to bake. You llike washing up, I find cooking and baking all have so much washing up to do.
For the past few days I cooked for my family but find that I am not really good leh and further more like don't know what ot cook also. I think I must look through this thead to look at all the recipes.
Carol if you found other types of strudel can post here. Thank you my friend.
Regards to all too

stars

Hi Stars,
It's ok. I'm also very busy too.
Yap, there are quite a number of new HIPV brides in the thread, it's a pleasure to chat with all of them, including you as well.

I do agree with you that baking involved a lot of preparations & washing up, but the outcome is truely rewarding.

Therefore this Mother's Day, I'll be baking the banana coconut cake to surprise her...

Stars, I will post the other strudel recipes here, as promised eariler on.

Apple and Dried Cherry Strudel

4868.jpg

- 2 cup dried tart red cherries
- 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
- 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
- 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
- 3 cups thinly sliced peeled cooking apples (about 1 pound)
- 10-12 sheets frozen phyllo dough (about 18x12-inch rectangles), thawed
- 1/3 cup butter, melted
- 1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1. Pour enough boiling water over dried cherries to cover; let stand 20 minutes. Drain cherries. In a large mixing bowl combine brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Add apples and dried cherries; toss gently to mix. Set cherry mixture aside.

2. TO ASSEMBLE: Cover a large surface with a floured bed sheet; unfold phyllo dough. Stack 2 layers of phyllo on the floured bed sheet, brushing between layers with some melted butter. Arrange another stack of 2 layers on the bed sheet, brushing between and overlapping stacks slightly. Add 3-4 more stacks, brushing and overlapping, forming a rectangle about 40x18 inches (stagger stacks so all seams are not down the middle). If necessary, trim to a 40x18-inch rectangle. Brush with melted butter.

3. Beginning 4 inches from one short side of the dough, spoon filling in a 4-inch-wide band across the dough. Using the bed sheet underneath as a guide, gently lift the 4-inch piece of dough and lay it over the filling. Slowly and evenly lift the bed sheet and roll up the dough and filling, jelly-roll style, into a tight roll. If necessary, cut excess dough from ends to within 1 inch of filling. Brush top with remaining butter; sprinkle with granulated sugar. Fold ends under to seal. Carefully transfer strudel roll to a lightly greased 17x14-inch baking sheet. Bake in a preheated 350Deg oven for 35-40 minutes, or till golden. Carefully remove strudel from pan. Cool on a rack.
____________________________________________________________________________________

Chocolate-Apricot Strudel

4869.jpg

For Filling:
- 1/3 cup amaretto (almond-flavored liqueur)
- 1/4 cup sugar
- 2 tablespoons water
- 1 cup dried apricots, thinly sliced (about 6 ounces)
- 1 tablespoon chopped crystallized ginger
- 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips, divided

Remaining Ingredients:
- 8 sheets frozen phyllo dough, thawed
- Butter-flavored cooking spray
- 4 apricots, diced (optional)

1. TO PREPARE FILLING: Combine first 3 ingredients in a medium bowl. Microwave at high 1 1/2 minutes or until sugar dissolves, stirring after 45 seconds. Stir in dried apricots and ginger; cover. Microwave at high 3 minutes; let stand 5 minutes. Place apricot mixture in a food processor or blender; process until coarsely chopped. Spoon apricot mixture into bowl; cover and cool completely. Stir in 1/4 cup chips.

2. TO ASSEMBLE: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place 1 phyllo sheet on work surface (cover remaining dough to keep from drying); lightly coat with cooking spray. Working with 1 phyllo sheet at a time, coat remaining 7 phyllo sheets with cooking spray, placing one on top of the other. Place a sheet of plastic wrap over phyllo, pressing gently to seal sheets together; discard plastic wrap.

3. Spoon filling along 1 long edge of phyllo, leaving a 2-inch border. Fold over the short edges of phyllo to cover 2 inches of apricot mixture on each end.

4. Starting at long edge with 2-inch border, roll up jelly-roll fashion. Do not roll tightly, or the strudel may split. (Strudel may be frozen for up to five days at this point.) Place strudel, seam side down, on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Score 7 diagonal slits into top of strudel using a sharp knife. Lightly spray strudel with cooking spray. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes or until golden.

5. Place 1/4 cup chips in a small heavy-duty zip-top plastic bag, and seal. Submerge bag in very hot water until chips melt. Snip a tiny hole in 1 corner of bag; drizzle chocolate evenly over each of 8 dessert plates. Cut strudel diagonally into 16 slices using a serrated knife dipped in hot water; arrange 2 slices over chocolate drizzle. Garnish each serving with diced apricot, if desired.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol

Can check with carol or all, have you all tried a kind of salad prawns whereby i guess they fried the prawns first then mix with salad cream. I wonder anyone has that recipe?

stars

Hi Stars,
You are welcome.

I have tried this dish before in some restauants, & since most cookery books don't have this recipe, I came up with my own...
I've tried it... Nice...

Deep fried Prawns Dip in Salad

Ingredients:

- 4 punds large prawns (peeled and deveined)
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
- 8 eggs, beaten
- 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
- 1 teaspoon baking powder
- 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
- salad cream

Method:
1. In a medium size mixing bowl combine prawns, salt and pepper; stir.

2. Heat oil in a medium size saucepan. In another medium size mixing bowl stir together eggs, flour and baking powder. Dredge prawns in egg mixture then fry in oil until they are golden.

3. Served the prawns with salad cream.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol
Sori to trouble u. u know how to make tang gui soup with egg. sweet one. Usually women eat after their menses? Do u boil such things to drink ?

Thank u

stars

thought i share this no-brainer soup recipe with u all (not sure whether it had been posted or not)

Misc Soup (couldn't think of a proper name)
==========
Serves 4-6

You need:
2 chicken stock cubes
1 onion (skinned & cut into slices)
1 carrot (skinned & cut into cubes)
2 stocks of celery (cut into stripes)
2 tomatoes (cut into quarters)
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Lean pork meat - cut into bite sizes (depend on individual preferences)
Tofu - cut into cubes

Optional ingredient - Corn

Method:
1. Boil 1 litre of water.
2. Once the water is boiled, add the chicken cubes & stir (make it dissolved).
3. Add the onions, tomatoes, carrots, celery into
the boiling water. Cover & let it cook for
around 10 mins. Occasionally stirring it.
4. AFter around 10 mins, open & put the tofu (or
corn) in. Cover it & let it cook for another 10 mins.
5. Open & see whether the tofu have "floated" up
to the surface or not. If it has, it means its
cooked. If not, cover & cook until it has "float" up.
6. Once the tofu has "float" up, add the lean
pork meat into the soup. Wait for 1-2 mins for
the meat to cook. (Meat cooks really fast).
7. Add the salt.
8. Bring to a boil & served immediately.

Tip: To add a little bit more flavour to the soup, u can marinate the meat with sesame oil & soy sauce.

I tried it yday & found it to be really easy...gd for the lazy like me...

hey tats no problem really..me now learnin to cook & i think its quite fun actually...

BTW the celery should be "Stalks", not "stocks" (Typo error)...paiseh huh...

anyway, here's another no-brainer soup recipe i found (haven't tried yet, dunno taste gd or not):

Asian Egg Drop Soup
===================

4 cups chicken broth
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon cornstarch, mixed with 2 tablespoon water
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 green onions, chopped
salt & pepper

Method:
1. Bring broth & soy sauce to a boil
2. Slowly add cornstarch mix, stirring until thickened
3. Reduce to a simmer.
4. Add eggs slowly, while stirring the soup the same direction
5. The egg will spread & feather. Turn off heat & add the onions.
6. Add salt & pepper. Serve immediately.

Btw, any "shi fu" can tell me how/where to get/prepare chicken broth?? From wat i heard from my colleague, its the oil/liquid that u get from steaming a chicken, dunno how true it is??

hi...need some help..
how to cook sweet & sour pork?? any recipe?
my pork seems very hard. how to make it tender?

Hi Hippie,
The Chicken broth can be purchased from supermarket. It comes in a can form... Or course, can can do it your own too....

Hi Sapphire,
Sweet & Sour Pork is my favourite contonese dish...
I've the recipe with me, I'll post it here....

some of the ways to make the pok tender:

1. Use the metal mallet to "hit" the meat before marinate.
2. The marinating time should be longer.
3. Using of 'shoulder meat' & 'soft bone meat' rather than 'meat block', 'cos 'meat block is rather hard compair to the other two.

So the next time you go shopping for ingredients, look out for that...

All these from my own experience.

Cheers:
Carol

this idea got from a colleague...can try it...

Suggestion: partially fry pork at medium heat (ard 325 degrees) ; drain & let it cool for 15- 20 minutes. Bring oil temp up to high heat (ard 350 degrees) and finish cooking pork. This gives you a moist but thoroughly cooked inside and a golden, crispy coating

Hi Hippie,
Glad to see you in this thread...
Looks like you are also a cooking lover too....

You Love baking???

Cheers:
Carol
:0

i got another way to make meat a but more tender. when u marinate that time, put corn starch and let it set in for a while. it will help to make meat a lot more tender.

mandy

Hi Carol

I have just started baking about 4 weeks ago and each time, I tried a different cake. Some of the recipes I come across use sugar such as light brown sugar, dark brown sugar and soft brown sugar. I just wonder what's the difference. And when the recipe says milk, what kind of milk should we use? Skimmed, semi-skimmed, full cream, HL milk or ....... Pls advise. Thanks!

hi, anybody has recipe for blackforest cake? Is it difficult to make & getting the ingredient?

Mandy and carol are right ... hammering and using cornstarch for marinating will give u soft juicy meat! my mom does that too...

hippie, mebbe chicken broth actually refers to chicken stock? i only know my mom always make the stock using chicken bones, it taste more authentic than using maggie cubes. she'll use the chicken stk as a base for different kinds of soup, eg mix veg, egg, wintermelon etc...

hi carol,
i'm a recently-converted cooking addict...

And i like easy & gd recipes cos i'm very lazy...
I'm also learning alot of things....*sigh* still long way to go man...

Btw, i dun really like baking cos i find it real troublesome, but i do like stir-frying...And i find that soups are really easy to cook...

right now, am hunting for quick & easy
recipes...u have any to share??

hi gals..
thanks for all the "making pork tender" methods...will try it out. think i didn't hammer & put cornstarch...no wonder~!

carol, duno what kinda pork i bought. it's from ntuc...and the labels say "sweet & sour pork". so i presume that's for sweet & sour pork use. it's one whole long piece...not block type.

Woh, So many messages the the thread, it's has been sometimes since there are so many people here.
Yeah!

Hi Curly,
I love baking too!!!

Brown sugar is granulated sugar that is combined with molasses in varying quantities to yield golden, light, or dark brown sugar, with crystals varying from coarse to finely granulated.

As for milk, if the recipe just mention milk, you can just get the ordinary packet milk,like HL milk it doesn't really matters whether it's skimmed or low fat.
But if you are really heath concious, you can get the low fat ones.

Hi Jaz,
I have the recipe for black forest cake, I should post it here for everyone...

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Hippie,
Welcome to be another cooking lover....
Woh, quick & easy recipes are a must for beginners.
I have many of them, chinese cooking, french cooking, japanese, etc...

Yes, I will post some here too!!!

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Sapphire,
Here's the recipe for Sweet & sour pork

sweet & Sour Pork

INGREDIENTS
- 1 pound pork meat
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
- 1 tablespoon water
- 1 egg
- 1/4 cup corn starch
- 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
- 1 green bell pepper, chopped
- 1 red chile pepper - chopped (optional)
- 1/2 cup crushed pineapple
- 1 onion, chopped
- 1 tomato, chopped
- 4 tablespoons white sugar
- 1/2 teaspoon salt
- 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
- 4 tablespoons white vinegar
- 3 tablespoons ketchup
- 2 tablespoons plum sauce
- 5 tablespoons water

METHOD:
1 Arrange pork meat on a cutting board and cover with a sheet of plastic wrap. Using a mallet or the back of a knife, pound the pork until each medallion is fairly flat, about 1/4 inch thick.

2 Cut each pork meat into 1 inch square pieces. In a medium bowl, combine the salt, baking soda and water. Place the pork pieces in the bowl and turn to coat.

3 Place the tapioca flour in a large, resealable plastic bag. Place the pork pieces in the bag with the flour and shake the meat around until all the pieces are coated with the flour.

4 Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Place the pork pieces in the oil and fry for 5 to 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove the pork from the oil and set aside.

5 In the same skillet over medium high heat, combine the green bell pepper, red chile pepper, pineapple, onion and tomato and saute for 5 minutes.

6 To Make Gravy: In a separate small bowl, combine the white sugar, salt, corn flour, vinegar, ketchup, plum sauce and water. Mix well and pour this into the skillet with the vegetables.

7 Reduce heat to low and let simmer for 5 to 10 minutes, allowing the gravy to thicken. Return the pork pieces to the skillet, mix all together well and serve.

Cheers:
Carol

any durian lovers???

here is a recipe for durain ice cream. think i will try this as soon as my toothache recover

Durian Ice Cream

Serves 4 to 5

Ingredients:
4 or 5 segments of fresh or frozen durian
1 cup/8 fl oz/250 ml milk
1 cup/8 fl oz/250 ml cream
2 egg yolks
1/2 cup/4 oz/125 g sugar

Directions:
If using frozen durian, thaw completely.
Remove seeds and press flesh through a nylon sieve to eliminate the fine fibres.
Heat milk and cream in a heavy enamel or other non-aluminum pan, stirring until almost boiling. Whisk egg yolks with sugar until light, stir in a ladleful of the hot milk mixture and return to saucepan. Stir over very low heat until custard thickens, taking care not to let it boil or it will curdle. Cool the custard and chill it well, then add a little at a time to the durian pulp, combining it thoroughly before adding more custard. This keeps the texture even.
Freeze in a churn or a shallow glass dish. If using still-freezing method, stir 2 or 3 times during freezing to enhance smoothness. Or, after it has frozen, break into pieces and puree in food processor until smooth but not melted. Return to freezer until firm. Press freezer wrap directly on surface of ice cream to prevent ice crystals forming. It is advisable to store durian ice cream in a freezer container with a well-fitting lid.

hey pple, got a list of qns to ask..hope someone can ans them:

1. I just bought a can of clear chicken broth (Swanson's brand- blue & white label). When i boil the broth, do i need to add water (just like campbell soup like tat??

2. I see so many brand of chicken broth- Swanson, Heinz, Maggi, Knorr, which one is the best?

3. How to make croutons? Can it be bought ready-made?

4. When i saw some of the recipes mentioning "bring the oil temp to 350 degrees", what does it mean? How to measure the heat??

pardon my ignorance huh....=p

Thanks Carol! However, is it ok to substitute 1 type of brown sugar with another type? I read somewhere that if the recipe says granulated sugar, we can't use caster sugar..... Why?

carol

how to make pork chop? any recipe? i hv tried the home made recipe to coat with biscuit crumps and fried it but its not crispy. why?

Hi Hippie,

I am a big fan of Swanson chicken brooth.

I ususally add water to the chicken brooth as it is too thick just by itself.

It tastes good especially when you are just using it for a quick veg soup.

Hi Carol & all,

talking about milk, I came across a recipe of sultana cake using buttermilk. Do u gals know where to get it, wat's the diff with other type of milk?

Hi Mandy,
Thanks for durian ice-cream... I'm a durian lover too!

Hi Hippie,
Regards to your questions:
1. When you boil the broth, it's not really nesssarary to add water if you are using the broth as on of the ingredients in cooking for certail dishes, however, if you are using the broth as a soup base for cooking of soup, you may want to a small amount of water to it.

2.Sorry, I don't really know which one is the best, I have not tried using all of them.
But I prefer to use swanson & knorr.

3. Hey, there's a cooking thermometer the measure the heat of the cooking substance.

Hope I've answered your questions.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Hippie,
Sorry I left out one of your question earlier on.

Croutons is a cubed bread than has been browned by baking or sautening. It's most commonly used as salad dressing, soup & garnish dishes. It'a available in plain; garlic cheese or with herbs.

Yes, It can purchased the ready-made ones.

Cheers:
Carol

hi urgebt & carol.
thks 4 the advice...

I tried baking it leh but not tat nice...
and yday, have been searching high & low for the croutons in NTUC supermarket....but they told me they dun sell it...so where to buy ready made ones???

and for the broth, is it boil the water 1st then add the broth? Or add the broth followed by water??

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Curly,</FONT>

Yes, it's true that you can't do the substition like that, 'cos the sugar content found in them is different &amp; will affect the finished product.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Jes,</FONT>
Yes, I've the recipe of making pork chops, I'll post it there soon!
One of the resons is the hot is not hot enough when the pork chop is placed in it, The other reason is, the oil lever should always be covering the pork chop.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Bluechin,</FONT>
YEs, this is a very interesting thread, welcome to join in.... We'll share recipes, cooking experiences here..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Jaz,</FONT>
Buttermilk cn be purchsesd from baking suppiler stores or even some supermarkets.

The different between buttermilk &amp; normal milk is the butter fat content that is present in it.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Sapphire,</FONT>
You are welcome.

Cheers:
Carol

can a normal function microwave be used to bake cake? I mean mini cup cakes? Those "Sunshine" ready made powder box.

think this will be yummy

Honey Garlic Barbecue Pork/Spareribs

Ingredients
3 - 4 pounds Boston pork butt and/or spareribs
Marinade-Sauce
2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon salt
3- 4 garlic cloves, crushed

1/4 cup (approximately) liquid honey

Cut the pork into strips that are 3/4 inches in length, trimming off part of the fat. Mix together well the marinade/sauce ingredients, and pour it over the pork. Marinate the pork at room temperature for 1 - 2 hours.
Line 1 or 2 cookie sheets (as needed) with aluminum foil, and place a cooking rack on each sheet. Place the pork on the rack and bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Brush the pork strips with honey, and then turn them over and brush the other side with honey.* If there is any extra marinade brush it on as well. Bake for another 30 minutes.
If using spareribs, leave in large flat pieces, and marinate and cook the same way as the pork.

*If the pork isn't cooking quickly enough, you can broil them for about 5 minutes before turning them over.

Variations
For a more garlicky flavor, add extra garlic when brushing the pork with honey.
If you need a substitute for honey, try using brown sugar or corn syrup.

one more to share,

Garlic Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 1 lb.)
1 egg white
1 Tablespoon cornstarch
1 Tablespoon dry white wine or sherry
4 green onions
1 teaspoon minced gingerroot
3 teaspoons minced fresh garlic (about 6 medium cloves)
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
Hot cooked rice

SAUCE

1 teaspoon crushed chili paste (sambal oelek) or more to taste
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons rice vinegar
1 Tablespoon water
2 Tablespoons dry white wine or sherry
2 Tablespoons soy sauce

Place chicken breasts in freezer for 1 to 2 hours or until very firm
but not frozen solid. Slice crosswise into thin shreds. In small bowl,
lightly beat egg white, then mix in 1 TBS cornstach and 1 TBS wine,
stirring until cornstarch is dissolved. Add chicken and mix well to coat
all pieces. Let stand at room temperature 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, slice green onions on the diagonal into very thin slices.
Mince gingerroot and garlic. Combine Sauce ingredients, mixing well. Heat
wok or frying pan, add oil, and stir-fry chicken until no longer pink.
Remove chicken with a slotted spoon. Add onions, ginger and garlic to wok
and stirfry about 30 seconds, until ginger and garlic are fragrant but not
brown. Return chicken to wok, restir sauce ingredients and add to wok.
Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture is well combined, hot and bubbly
and thickens slightly. Turn off heat and splash with about 1 tsp of darksesame oil. Serve over rice. Makes 4 servings.

this one sound interesting too.

MONGOLIAN BEEF

Makes 6 servings

1 lb thinly sliced beef
3 Tbsp soy sauce, divided
1 Tbsp cornstarch
2 cloves garlic, pressed
3/4 cup water
2 1/2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp sesame seed, toasted
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
2 Tbsp vegetable oil, divided
2 medium carrots, thinly sliced diagonally
1 bunch green onions, cut into 2-inch lengths
with whites separated from tops

Hot cooked rice

Cut beef across the grain into long, thin slices.

Combine 1 tablespoon each of soy sauce and cornstarch with garlic in a
medium bowl; stir in beef. Let stand 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine the water, remaining 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 2 1/2 tsp
cornstarch, sesame seed, sugar and red pepper; set aside.

Heat 1 Tbsp oil in hot wok or skillet over high heat. Add the beef and
stir-fry for 1 minute; remove.

Heat the remaining 1 Tbsp oil in the same pan. Add the carrots and
white parts of the green onions; stir-fry for 2 minutes. Add the green
onion tops and stir-fry for another minute. Add the beef and soy sauce
mixture. Cook and stir until the sauce boils and thickens.

Serve immediately with rice.

Hi Blur,
You must check if your microware come with the baking function.

The baking time will not bo the same if you are usinbg the mircoware, so you have to take note...

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Hippie,
There are a few Caesar recipes shared in the forum.
Look under the thread: Anything under the sun: CAESAR SALAD RECIPE NEEDED

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Curly,
Here's the recipe of Balck Forest Cake.

Black Forest Cake

Ingredients:
(A) 250g sponge mix flour
4 eggs
4 tbsp water mixed with 1tbsp cocoa powder

(B) 400g dark sweet pitted cheeries
8 maraschino cherries
chocolate rice

(C) 500g fresh cream (whippped until thick)

corn oil

Method:
1. Beat ingredients (A) until fluffy, stir in corn oil &amp; pour into a 8" baking tray.

2. Bake at 150Deg for 1hr, remove &amp; leave to cool, then cut into 3 horizontal layers.

3. Sandwich dark sweet pitted cherries betwen each layer, decorate with whipped cream, maraschino cherries &amp; choclate rice.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking Tips:</FONT>
Fresh cream should be referated before use to make it cold enough for whipping.

Cheers:
Carol