Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Carol, do you happen to have the recipe for making Gui Ling Gao?

My dim sum class teacher taught us this during the class last night, but till today... the desert is still watery, not solidify yet. So, just want to check other source of the recipe. My mum suspected that the teacher may have forgotten to add some ingredient in.

Cynthia

Hi Cynthia,
I remember my mum making it,she has the recipe.
I will check it out with her & post it here.

Cheers:
carol

hi carol,

first time in this food recipes thread...but love the recipes u placed..+ all the pixs...yum yum...

me no good @cooking. so my poor FH no food.

have a good weekend...

Hi Cherubies,
Welome to the cooking thread, Yummy, yummy!!!
I'm Gald that you love the recipes here, & will definitely post more here in the future.

Hahaha.... if you started off with easy recipes, mastering it should be a problem at all...

Cheers:
Carol

A nice & easy recipe to try on....

Fruit Berry Streusel

4384.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 pkg Frozen Puff Pastry Shells
- 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
- 2 tbsp. Sugar
- 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
- 2 tbsp. butter or margarine, melted
- 1 can (21 oz.) fruit pie filling (blueberry, cherry or strawberry)

Method:
1. Bake pastry shells according to package directions.

2. Mix flour, sugar, cinnamon and butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

3. Spoon about 1/3 cup pie filling into each shell. Top with crumb mixture. Bake 5 min. Remove from baking sheet and cool on wire rack 10 min. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Cheers:

Carol

A great Summer cocktail for this hot summer.

Swimming Pool

4507.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1/2 oz blue curacao
- 1 oz Rose's sweetened lime juice
- 1 1/2 oz vodka, heavily iced and strained
- Lime slice (optional), for garnish

(Curacao, a liqueur, is a sweet alcoholic beverage flavored with orange peel and named for the Caribbean island where it originated.)

Method:
Pour curacao, lime juice, and vodka over a large handful of ice in a cocktail shaker. Shake well and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Perch a lime slice on glass rim, if desired.

Cheers: Carol

Can I check with you all? Do you all have the receipe to make apple strudel or any kind of strudel?

Thank u

stars

Hi Stars,
In Vienna it is said that in the making of a perfect apple strudel, the dough is stretched so finely that a love letter may be read through it.

Apple Strudel

4518.jpg

{Ingredients:}
- 1 1/2 cups bread flour or all-purpose flour
- 1 egg, lightly beaten
- 1/2 cup unsalted butter
- 1 cup fresh bread crumbs
- 1/4 cup sugar
- 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
- 1 1/4 lb. cooking or very tart dessert apples (about 4 medium)
- 1/2 cup golden raisins
- Confectioners' sugar, for dusting

Method:

1. Sift the flour and a pinch of salt into a large bowl. Make a well in the center, add the beaten egg and 1/4 cup warm water, and mix with your hands to a smooth dough. With the bowl tipped to one side, and with open fingers, beat the dough, rotating your wrist. The dough is ready when it pulls away from the bowl and is difficult to beat. Place in a clean, lightly floured bowl, cover and leave in a warm place for 15 minutes.

2. Melt half of the butter in a skillet. Slowly fry the bread crumbs until golden brown, then set aside to cool in a bowl. Mix the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

3. Thoroughly flour one side of a large clean dish towel, place the pastry on top and, with your fingers, gently stretch the dough to a large rectangle about 24 x 20 inches; cover with another dish towel and set aside for 15 minutes. Melt the remaining butter and set aside.

4. Peel, quarter, core and thinly slice the apples and combine with the bread crumbs, cinnamon mixture and raisins. Brush the dough liberally with the melted butter, then sprinkle the apple mixture all over the dough. Trim away the thick edge with a pair of scissors.

5. Pick up the dish towel from the shorter side, and push away and down from you to lightly roll the strudel up like a jelly roll. Tip the strudel carefully onto a baking sheet, seam-side down or to one side. Leave the strudel straight, or curve it lightly into the traditional crescent. Brush the pastry with any remaining butter.

6. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until crisp and golden. Cool, slightly, sprinkle with confectioner's sugar and serve warm with vanilla custard, ice cream or whipped cream served alongside.

(This recipe serves 8)

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Stars,
I have other Strudel Recipe:
Apple and Dried Cherry Strudel
Apple strudel
Chocolate & almond strudel
Chocolate-Apricot Strudel
Wild Berry Strudel
Garden Vegetable Strudel

Are you interested???

Cheers:
Carol

A recipe I got from Cold Storage Supermarket.

Chilled Wine jelly

Ingrediients:
- 200ml Chardonnay
- 350ml water
- 170g grape flavoured gelative
- 30g castor sugar, to taste
- 1 tbsp lemon juice
- strwaberries, halved
- rasperries

Method:
1. Bring the 350ml water & sugar to a boil. Stir into gelative until gelatine has completely dissolved.

2. Gently add & stir in 200ml of chardonnay into the gelatine mixture is clear.

3. Remove from heat & add in the lemon juice. Drop in the mixed berries & pour gelatine mixture into the heat-resistant moulds & refrigerate for approximately 4hrs or until firm.

4. Turn out the chilled wine jelly & serve immediately with the remaining berries or ice-cream if desired.

Cheers:
Carol

Anyone knows what is single cream and double cream? They are found in some ice-cream recipe. I want to make some but trying to find out the ingredients first.

Hi Creamy,

Cream is classified by it's butterfat content.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Single cream</FONT>, also known as butter cream or table cream contain 18-30&amp; butterfat.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Double Cream</FONT> contain 36% butterfat.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol

You are really good! You know so much about cooking and baking! You conducting any class. I will be the first one to enrol. :P I am really interested in all the strudel recipes but look like not easy to make leh. You tried before? Any tips? All strudels equally difficult?

Hi Angelia

How are you busy? I went into the thead. But did not have much time to read so can't really catch up.

stars

Hi Creamy,
I think the recipe about ice-cream making should teach on how to make the cream, if not you can buy ready cream or double cream from supermatket or bakery suppilers shops.

Maybe you can show me the recipe so that I can advice you further, I do not wish to give you any wrong informations.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi stars,
Thanks for your support in this cooking thread.
No I do not conduct any class.
If you have any questions or query on cooking, I'm glad to help out here.(Would try to answer any question that is within my knowledge)

I should say that for beginners for baking, you can try to bake apple pie first, it's more of the basic &amp; the dough is easiler control.

No lah, the rest of the strudel recipes are not difficult, just that you need a bit of skills to master it, &amp; practise makes perfect.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Creamy,
Know that you are making ice-cream, just got an ice-cream recipe to share with you.

Fresh Strawberry Ice Cream

4599.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 cup whipping cream
- 1/2 cup half and half
- 2/3 cup sugar
- 5 large egg yolks
- 1/4 cup light corn syrup
- 3 cups fresh strawberries, hulled (from one 16-ounce container)

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Whipping cream, also called heavy cream, has a milk fat content of between 36 to 40 percent. When whipped, it will double in volume.

Half and half is a commercial dairy product that consists of half milk and half light cream.</FONT>

Method:

1. Combine cream and half and half in heavy medium saucepan. Stir sugar, yolks and corn syrup in medium bowl. Bring cream mixture to simmer. Gradually stir cream mixture into yolk mixture. Return mixture to saucepan.

2. Using wooden or rubber spatula, stir over medium-low heat until custard thickens and leaves path on back of spatula when finger is drawn across, about 10 minutes (do not boil). Transfer custard to bowl. Cover and refrigerate custard until cold.

3. Puree strawberries in food processor. Gradually blend in custard. Strain custard through fine-mesh sieve. Process in ice cream maker according to manufacturer's instructions. Transfer to container and freeze. Scoop ice cream into bowls and serve.

(This recipe serve 1 cup)

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol,

This recipe is great! I love strawberries

Btw, may I know where can I buy the Whipping cream and that Half and half commercial dairy product? What type of product or brand should I buy?

Hi Creamy,

Gald that you love that recipe.

The whiped cream can be purchase from any major supermarkets or any bakery supply stores.

All brand are ok.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol and all

You have any recipe on making Chocolate cookies and cheese cake. I tried cheese cake once but failed, not sure y not nice. very sticky

regards
stars

Hi Creamy,
You are welcome...
Enjoy your Ice-cream making....

Hi Stars,
Yes, I've both the recipe for chocolate cookies &amp; chese cake.
I'll try to locate them &amp; post them here.

The failure could be the baking time &amp; temp.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol and everybody else,

Do you have any recipe for no-bake cakes etc? (doesn't involve baking cos I dun have an oven) I just did a no-bake cheesecake over the weekend for my FH and family and everyone said it was nice
I have never been known for my cooking skills so i am a bit over the hill with this tiny success and would like to try out more such recipes...thanks!

Hi Huts,

I do have some no-bake recipes with me,I did that when I started learn cooking....
The no-bake cakes involved steaming &amp; I also have some recipes on Dim Sum. (No bake) Do you want to try making them as well?

If you are interested, I will post the recipe here.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Huts &amp; Carol,

Can u post your recipe of non-baking cheese cake here? i'm not a good baker... the last time i baked for my mom on mother's day, the cake sank
guess i'm just not precise enough with the timing, technique ,proportions etc... Carol am i right?

Carol, I wld love some dim sum recipes... do u know where to buy nice ready-made crystal skins for dim sum? this is exciting... i think i;m gonna try out some recipes u mentioned above

Hi Carol,

Please, please post the recipes...can't wait to try them out...

tomato: i will go home and locate the cheese cake recipe and post here

Hi Huts:
This is the non-bake cheesecake recipe.

Ingredients:
- 1 1/2 cups cracker crumbs
- 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
- 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
- 1/3 cup butter, melted
- 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
- 2 teaspoons lemon juice
- 1 pint heavy whipping cream
- 1/3 cup white sugar
- 1 (21 ounce) can cherry pie filling

Method:
1. In a small bowl, stir together the graham cracker crumbs, brown sugar and cinnamon. Add melted butter and mix well. Press into the bottom of an 8 or 10 inch springform pan. Chill until firm.

2. In a medium bowl, beat together the cream cheese and lemon juice until soft. Add whipping cream and beat with an electric mixer until batter becomes thick. Add the sugar and continue to beat until stiff. Pour into chilled crust, and top with pie filling. Chill several hours or overnight. Just before serving, remove the sides of the springform pan.

Happy baking!

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Huts,
Here's a No-bake fruitcake recipe.

Ingredients:
- 1 pound halved candied cherries
- 4 cups chopped pecans
- 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
- 1 (14 ounce) can coconut milk
- 1 cup flaked coconut
- 1 cup raisins
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 1 (12 ounce) package vanilla wafers, crushed

Method:
1 In a large bowl mix the candied cherries, chopped pecans, sweetened condensed milk, coconut milk, flaked coconut, raisins, vanilla, and crushed vanilla wafers. Batter will be very stiff. Place into pan and store in the refrigerator.

Happy Cooking!

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Tomato,
The sinking of cakes can be due to a few reasons.

Among the more common reasons is the addition of too much baking powder or soda, overbeating the egg whites, or removing the cake from the oven before it is done.
So, really have to take note of those to make sure your cakes are sucessful.

Sure, I'll post the Dim sum recipes here tomorrow.
The crystal skin, can be purchases from Phoon Huat Pte Ltd.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol,

Just wonder...do you know how to boil chinese medicine?? Can I use slow-cooker to boil? Or need those traditional claypot?? I need to boil some urgently...and MIL not in town to help...my mom doesn't know how....can u help me pls??

Hi Sapphire,
Usually Chinese herbal medicine are boiled in claypot... but you can also use a slow-cooker to do it, remember to watch out for the amount of water &amp; controling of time is important as well.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Tomato,
Here's the recipes for Dim Sum.

Har Kar

Ingredients:
- Prawn meat 500g
- Pork 100g
- Bamboo shoot 50g
- lettuce 20g
- Cornflour 1 tbsp
- salt 2tsp
- sugar 20g
- sesame oil 1 tsp
- Garlic oil 1tsp
- (Pastry): tung flour 150g, tapioca flour 100g, boiling water 200g, garlic oil 1 tsp.

Method:
1. Mix all the ingredients &amp; sesaoning together. Store in feezer.
2. Mix all the ingredients togeher to form a dough into small potions. Roll out &amp; enclose each piece with the filling. Steam for 8 mins.

I stiil have the following recipes: Crystal Shrimp Dumpling, mango dumpling, carrot dumpling with meat, Shrimp dumpling &amp; pao recipes.
Will post them here inthe future.

Cheers:
Carol

hi Carol!

thanks for your recipes
yummy, can;t wait to try out the non-baking cheesecake, sounds quite idiot-proof...but then again, me quite hopeless cook =P
do u know the address of Poon Huat? i would like to buy the crystal skin. yeah, i can try my hand at making dim sum liao...

Hi Tomato,
Phoon Huat has a list of shops island wide,
I know that's one in Hougang, Ang Mo Kio, Sembawang.

I've left the address at home, will post them here tomorrow.

Glad you love the recipes.

Cheers:
Carol

Hey thanks Carol
for dispensing advices &amp; tips and sharing recipes with us! i gotta pay extra attention to the cake-making techniques... like u said, mebbe i took it out too early liao...

Thanks Jaz for your website
i've checked out the location, Simei seems the best for me. they even have baking classes...if any one of u
joining practical (hands-on) baking class, muz "jio" me ok? me interested in learning how the different cake-making techniques.
Carol, do u know of any books that teaches baking techniques in detail?

Hi Carol, tomato and huts,
Didn't know that there non baking recipe around. Sound intereting. I think must try out. Me also not very good at all these. Hope ot learn from all of you here.
For baking, what is the best oven to have? Would a micowave with baking option good ? Or should I get a oven solely for baking only?

stars

hi carol..

thanks...shall use it to boil then. by the way, your recipes posted here is good...keep it up. pple like me...doesn't know how &amp; want to cook, simply can't resist the temptation of trying out...

Hi Tomato,
You are welcome, I hope you'll have a good time baking!!

Hi Monroe,
Thanks for providing the web site...

Hi Jaz,
Yah, thanks for providing Phoon Huat Web site...
Very useful, Phoon huat has a wide range of baking needs.

Hi Stars,
In fact there's no rules on which type of oven to use for baking. I use a convectional oven for most of my baking &amp; I can say the results is good.
However you can also use a microwave oven with baking option, the results are rewarding too!
Experiencing is Fun!

Hi Sapphire,
Thanks for the support in this thread. I hope you love the other mouth-watering recipes that I'll be posting in the future.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Tomato,
Yap, I do know of a few baking books that are very detailed with ingredients explaintions, step by step instructions on learning baking.

You can check out Kinokuniya &amp; Popular for the books.

Cheers:
Carol

hi Carol and all,

wonder if anyone out there has any recipe for black pepper paste used to cook black pepper beef? i tried those ready-made one sold in ntuc but very saltish leh... n they got add msg one... so wonder if anyone got the diy recipe instead?

thanks a lot...

Hi Islandpub,
In fact I've posted this black pepper steak recipe in the thread before.
Anyway, here's the recipe.

BLACK PEPPER STEAK

Ingredients:
- 2 tsp black pepper
- 2 tbsp tamari
- 1 clove garlic, minced
- 1 tsp salt
- 1/2 tsp sugar
- pcs of beef fillet
2 tbsp butter

Method:
1. In a bowl, combine the black pepper, tamari, garlic, salt &amp; mix well. Add in beef fillet &amp; coat well on all sides. Cover &amp; marinate in the refrigerator for 45mins.
2. melt butter in a saucepan over medium high heat. Place the beef fillet in the pan &amp; saute for 6-8mins.

This recipe is nice &amp; NO MSG...

Here's a nice steak recipe to try out as well.

Grilled Asian Flank Steak

4718.jpg

i{Ingredients:}
For Marinade:
- 1/2 cup soy sauce
- 1/2 cup plum sauce
- 1/2 cup pineapple juice
- 1/2 cup ketchup
- 1/4 cup scallions, finely sliced
- 3 tbsp cilantro, chopped
- 2 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
- 2 tbsp fresh garlic, minced
- 2 flank steaks (about 1-1/4 pounds each)

Method:
1. Combine all marinade ingredients. Mix well.

2. Place flank steak in a resealable plastic bag and add marinade. Refrigerate for 3 to 6 hours, turning occasionally to distribute marinade.

3. Remove flank steak from the marinade. Reserve marinade. Place steak in center of cooking grate and grill for 15 to 20 minutes, or until desired doneness, turning once halfway through grilling time. Occasionally brush lightly with remaining marinade while grilling. Remove steak when done and hold in a warm place for 5 to 7 minutes. Slice thinly on the bias for serving.

4. Meanwhile, bring remaining marinade to a boil and simmer rapidly for 5 minutes. Serve with steak.

Happy Cooking!!!!

Cheers:
Carol

hi Carol,

thanks for the re-posting...

need to clarify with u...

1) wat is tamari and where can i get it?
2) the black pepper is it the black pepper seeds or the black pepper powder?
3) how do u measure 2 tbsp of butter? i mean butter will be in solid form when u buy rt? so do u melt it first then measure 2 tbsp or wat?

pls pardon my ignorance....

Hi Carol

Can I check with something on the no baking cheese cake? What are cracker crumbs? Where can I buy them ? How about cream cheese, cinnamon and whippping cream? Sorry leh, me not too sure. Thank you

stars

Hi Islandpub,

1. Tamari is similar to soy sauce, tamari is made from soy beans but does not contains wheat. It is thicker than soy &amp; has a smoother flavour.
You shouldn't have any problem getting it from major supermarket.

2. The black pepper refers to black pepper than has been ground to almost powder form.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Stars,

Cracker crumbs is an ingredients needed to form topping of pastry.
If you have problems getting ready-made cracker crums, you can DIY.
It's easy: You can use any biscuit. Break the cracker into pieces &amp; fring in a food processor.

Cream cheese can be purchases from any supermarket, lok out at the cheese section.

Cinnamon is the aromatic bark of an evergreen tree. Is a sweet-spice about 7.5cm long.It can easily be purchased from supermarker, wet market.

Whipped cream is also called heavy cream, it has a milk fat content of between 36-40%. When whipped, it will double it's volume.
Whipped cream can also be purchase from supermarket. Look out for the brand call UHT.

Hope all these helps!

Cheers:
Carol