Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Chemson,
You are welcome....

Carol

Hey Carol,

I have not received your recipes leh. If the file is too big, let me know.. I can provide another email for you...

Hi Chemson,
Oh, I've not compile the recipes togther, 'cos they are save in different files, & yap, if you can provide me with another E-mail A/C; that will be fine.

Carol

Hi Carol,

Remember me? I requested the recipes b4 CNY? It is ok to email me when you are free. COs' ALso have no time to try out recipes now... But can send me the link to your ROM photos, first? ( ALso requested b4 CNY.. THis one no excuse hor...;)

Btw, do u have any recommendation for software organising recipeS? I downloades some trial ones, so diffcult to use.. Hopefully cna find one easy to use one.. Those that can view chinese is even better. At least can locate recipes faster.ANy recommendationS?

Here's a good Mexican recipe for those who love Oysters.

Mexican-Style Oysters

4006.jpg

Ingredients:
- 4 cups (2 lb/1 kg) kosher salt
- 48 fresh oysters on the half shell, with a few drops of their liquid
- 1 cup (8 fl oz/250 ml) white tequila
- 1 cup ( 8 fl oz/250 ml) lime or lemon juice
- liquid from a can of chipotle chiles, to taste

Method:
1. Sprinkle 6 dinner plates with coarse salt, and place 8 oysters in their half shells directly on top of each plate. Sprinkle each oyster with a teaspoon of tequila, a teaspoon of lime juice, and a few drops of the chile liquid to taste.
Serve on their own as an appetizer.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking notes:
Chipotle chiles are ripened jalapeno chiles that are smoke-dried. They are also canned in a thick vinegar-based adobo sauce.
This recipe serve 6 as an appetizer.</FONT>

Cheers:
carol

Hi Alic,
I'm sorry about that, I might have miss the message eariler on, My online album is currently doing some upgrading. I could only send you the link when it's done.

You can try to use <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cookbook Wizard recipe software</FONT> or log on to <FONT COLOR="0000ff">http://www.eclecticcooking.com/freesoftware.htm</FONT>

for some recipes organising software.

Carol

Here's a month watering dessert, ideal as an after dinner treat.

Meringues with Blackberries

4022.jpg

Ingredeints:
- For Meringue:
- 6 egg whites
- 1/8 teaspoon salt
- 1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar (omit if using a copper bowl)
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
For Filling:
- 4 cups fresh blackberries
- 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Method:

1. TO MAKE MERINGUE: Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F. In a large bowl, beat the egg whites with the salt and cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Add the vanilla extract. Gradually add the 1 1/2 cups sugar a few tablespoons at a time, beating after each addition until stiff, glossy peaks form.
2. Line a baking sheet with a piece of ungreased brown paper, such as a piece cut from a paper grocery bag, or parchment paper. Scoop up about 3/4 cup of the mixture and drop it onto the paper into a mound about 3 inches in diameter. With the back of a spoon, shape a shallow well in the center of the mound. Repeat to use the remaining meringue.
3. Bake the meringues for 1 hour. Turn off the heat and let the meringues cool in the oven at least 2 hours or overnight, if possible. Slip the meringues into a paper bag in a single layer, fold the top over, and store them in a dry place until ready to use, up to 3 or 4 days.
4. TO MAKE FILLING: In a medium bowl, combine the blackberries with the 2 tablespoons sugar. With the back of a spoon, mash some of the blackberries. Cover and refrigerate for several hours.
5. TO SERVE: Place the meringues on individual dessert plates and spoon some of the blackberries and their juice over each.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking Notes: This recipe serve 8-10
The shells are white but can easily be tinted using a drop or two of food coloring. For an especially festive finale, top the meringues with a scoop of ice cream before adding the blackberries.</FONT>

Cheers:
Carol

can someone teach me how to "slaughter" crabs in the least cruel and safe manner? i don't wanna risk having my fingers clipped

hi KPO,

there is a couple of way to do it.

1. freeze them to death in the fridge. But i know the crabs will not be that fresh.

2. Drop them into the nearly boil oil for abt 30 sec and scoop them up. very fresh, but i think it will be pretty oily to work with.

3. use a sharp knife and pierce it thru the back, middle of the crab. the back meaning the trangle tip. fresh but i guess the most cruel way. i dun think i will dare to do this.

pls share if there is other ways!! thanks

mandy

Hi KPO,
Here's the way my hubby use to kill crab &amp; I don't dare to do it.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">To kill the crab instantly, stab it just behind the eyes with the pointed end of a sharp knife. Wait for 5 to 6 minutes, then place the crab on its back and remove the tail flap or triangular apron. Give it a twist, then pull off and discard.

Pry open the top shell and tear it off. Remove the gills, take out the greyish bag, then pull off the mandibles from the front portion of the crab. Cut crab into half along the centre of the body. Clean well.The crab is now ready for cooking.</FONT>

Carol

hiyo...all the methods all quite scary leh

don't think i'll even dare to go near the crabs *eeeks* how do you prevent the crabs from pinching you?

looks like i'll have to resign my fate to eating crabs @ the restaurants only *sob*

Hi KPO,
Usually when we bought the crabs from market, they are tied up, so they don't pinched.

hey, maybe can ask your hubby to kill instead.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Carol
I finally found. Wow so many receipes. Can you are ready with the collating, can email me a copy? Thank you very much.

star

Hi stars,
Welcome to the cooking thread, I'll send them to you when ready.
Here's another wonderful french recipe to share:
Sweetheart Scones

4059.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 1/4 cup granulated sugar
- 1 tbsp baking powder
- Pinch of salt
- 6 tbsp (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, frozen
- 1 teaspoon grated or finely minced orange zest
- 3/4 cup currants
- 1 egg, lightly beaten
- 3/4 cup half-and-half

Method:
1. Preheat an oven to 200Deg. Set aside a nonstick or parchment-lined baking sheet.

2 In a bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt until well blended. Using the large holes of a grater, grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture. With a pastry cutter, two knives, or your fingertips, work the pieces into the flour for 30 seconds to 1 minute, until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. The bits of butter should still be cool to the touch. Toss in the zest and the currants. Combine the egg and half-and-half, and stir into the flour mixture until the dough holds together. Do not overmix.

3 Dust your hands with flour and loosely gather the dough into a ball. Turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead gently two or three times. Lightly pat or roll the dough 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick. Dip a 2 1/2-inch heart or muffin cutter into flour, and cut out the scones. Place on the baking sheet and bake until golden, 12 to 15 minutes. Serve warm

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking Notes: This recipe makes 10 scones.</FONT>

Happy Baking!!!

Cheers:
Carol

Just found another delicious <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Thai</FONT> recipe to share:
Sweet &amp; Sour Crispy Noodles

4089.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1/2 lb crispy fried rice sticks
- 1 lime
- 1 tbsp yellow bean sauce
- 2 tbsp tomato paste
- 2 tbsp Thai fish sauce
- 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
- 2 tbsp oil">peanut or corn oil
- 1 whole chicken breast, boned, skinned and cut crosswise into slices 1/4 inch thick
- 1/4 lb medium-sized shrimp, peeled and deveined
- 2 cloves garlic, chopped
- 4 shallots, chopped
- 1 tbsp dried small shrimp, optional
- 2 fresh small red chili peppers, thinly sliced on the diagonal

Method:
1. Prepare the rice sticks; set aside.

2. Remove the zest from the lime in fine shreds; set aside. Squeeze the juice from the lime into a small bowl. Add the yellow bean sauce, tomato paste, fish sauce and brown sugar and stir to mix well; set aside.

3. Place a wok or large frying pan over medium-high heat. When it is hot, add the oil. When the oil is hot, add the chicken and shrimp and stir-fry until they feel firm to the touch, about 1 minute. Remove from the pan and set aside.

4. Add the garlic, shallots and dried shrimp, if using, to the pan; stir-fry until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Raise the heat to high. Add the lime juice mixture and continue to stir-fry until the mixture turns into a glossy syruplike sauce, about 2 minutes.

5. Reduce the heat to medium and gently fold in the crispy noodles and the chilies. Try to crush as few noodles as possible. Mix in the reserved shrimp mixture and lime zest. Transfer to a platter, forming the mixture into a mound. If using the bean sprouts and lime wedges, pile them at one end of the platter. Top with cilantro leaves, if desired, and serve hot.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking Notes: This recipe serve 6-8</FONT>

Happy Cooking ........

Carol

Hi KPO

Crabs are not scary one. and if you clean the crabs yourself, then you will know how the hawker clean your crab, they just anyhow rinse only. It is very dirty.

The crabs claws are tied up when you purchase them, so don't worry. Hold them up by the string...or use those BBQ thongs. Put into basin. Then use chopstick and poke hard into the pointed tip of the triangular area of the crab...and they will stop struggling. End of story. Chop them, wash them, cook them...eat them...yum yum.

KPO!!!
CRABS??? SCARYYY????? MUAHAHAHHAHAHA. I teach you a very very easy way to kill. No heart piercing or eye poking. Just dump them into the freezer and let them freeze to death lah.

Everytime when I have to kill crab huh I always let them out for a last walk before they die. Very cham right. So I cut the strings. And let them run round the sink for an hour or so. But must cover the sink otherwise they will run out.

I usually use two chop stick. One to let them grab on cos i think the ordeal will be a painful one. The other one I will poke it into the triangular area. But it won't die just by poking. You have to screw the chopstick in to make them die faster. When their grip loosen you can start to remove the back shell and chop the crab into two. sometimes you'll see that the heart still beating. or legs still move abit but it's all reflexes. I'll usually let the heart stop beating abit then continue. Then just wash and scrub them then cook. some strong crabs require a few chopsticks poked in them before they die.

See it's not scary at all.

hi monica,

the way u say abt the heart beat, i think i hands and legs all soft liao.... i think like very cruel like that.... er.... i think i will buy from outside, the ready cook one.

mandy

dear SSCK,

all the crabs in the world will hate you!!!

SAVE THE CRABS from the evil clutches of SSCK!!!!

Hi Carol

star here, can check with you what is fried rice sticks? Me not too sure what is that?

Hi everybody.

New to this topic. Hope you are can give me tips about cooking
regards
stars

Hi Star,
Fried rice sticks is also known as crisp lacelike noodles, they come in packs &amp; can be found in supermarket.
So are you eager to start trying this recipe?

Hi KPO,
Me found the killing method cruel too... so whenever my hubby starts to kill them, I'll make myself scare.

Carol

Hi Carol

Ya I am really eager ti try out the recipe. Looks nice but a bit complicated leh for a first timer right?
stars

Hi Star
Here's a easy one dish meal for beginner, you may want to try this out.

Shrimp Fried Rice

4131.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 tbsp soy sauce
- 1/8 tsp ground red pepper
- 1 tbsp vegetable oil, divided
- 3/4 pound medium shrimp, peeled
- 1 cup frozen green peas, thawed
- 1/3 cup sliced green onions
- 1 (8-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, drained
- 1 cup chilled cooked rice
- 2 tbsp sliced almonds, toasted
- 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

{method:}
1. Combine first 2 ingredients; stir well. Set soy sauce mixture aside.

2.Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp, and stir-fry 30 seconds. Add peas, onions, and water chestnuts, and stir-fry 2 minutes. Add soy sauce mixture, and stir well. Remove shrimp mixture from skillet; set aside.

3. Add 1 tsp oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add chilled rice, and stir-fry 2 minutes. Return shrimp mixture to skillet; stir-fry 1 minute or until mixture is thoroughly heated. Sprinkle shrimp mixture with sliced almonds and chopped parsley.

Happy cooking!

Cheers:
carol

from STREATS, 18 March 2002

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Lettuce Cup of Gems</FONT>

2 carrots, quartered lengthwise and sliced thickly
150g broccoli, cut into flowerettes
2 tablespoons canola oil
2 pieces firm tofu, cut into bite-size cubes
2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped finely
8 fresh shitake mushrooms, halved, if large
1 green apple, skinned, cut into cubes and rinsed in salted water to prevent discolouration
100g roasted cashew nuts
a few drops of sesame oil
light soy sauce to taste
a pinch of sugar
8 well-shaped iceberg lettuce leaves
hoisin sauce
chilli sauce
8 frozen mantou (bread)
oil for frying mantou (if you’re frying them)

1. <LI>wash and soak lettuce leaves in cold water to keep them fresh and crisp <LI>steam carrot cubes. bring water in a steamer to a furious boil, then place steaming tray containing carrot cubes in steamer. steam for 3 minutes <LI>place broccoli flowerettes over carrots and continue steaming for a further minute <LI>remove steamng tray with carrots and broccoli from steamer, flush with cold water to retain colour of vegetables. put aside <LI>meanwhile, steam or fry mantou <LI>heat oil in wok. fry tofu cubes for 2 minutes <LI>add broccoli, carrots, mushroom, apple and cashews. toss well <LI>season with soy sauce, sugar and seasame oil, taste and adjust seasoning if necessary. remove from heat <LI>carefully pat dry lettuce leaves with a tea towel. place two on each plate, one above the other forming a cup to contain the vegetables <LI>spoon cooked vegetables into lettuce cups, serve immediately with mantou, chilli and hoisin sauces</LI>
preparation time : 20 mins
cooking time : 15 mins

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">note : broccoli, carrots, dofu, apples, garlic have been identified as food that help prevent cancer</FONT>

Hi Angelia,
I am new here. Do you mind telling me more about you? You love cooking? Do you cook often like Carol?

Ok lah
Take care everyone

stars

Hi Stars,
Here's another easy recipe to try out.

Russian-Style Chicken Cutlets

4177.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 slices good-quality white bread, crusts removed
- 1/4 cup half and half
- 1 pound ground chicken
- 1 egg
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/4 tsp fresh-ground black pepper
- 1/2 tsp dried dill
- 5 tbsp butter, 3 of them at room temperature
- 1 cup dry bread crumbs
- 2 tbsp cooking oil

Method:
1. Break the bread into pieces. In a large bowl, soak the bread in the half-and-half until the liquid is absorbed, about 2 minutes. Mix in the chicken, egg, salt, pepper, dill, and the 3 tablespoons room-temperature butter. Put in the freezer for about 10 minutes to firm up.

2. Remove the chicken mixture from the freezer; it will still be very soft. Form the mixture into four oval cutlets and coat them with the bread crumbs.

3. In a large, nonstick frying pan, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons butter and the oil over moderate heat. Cook the cutlets until golden brown and just done, 4 to 5 minutes per side.

Happy Cooking!!!!!

Cheers:
Carol

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">stars</FONT>
hi, welcome aboard. wat do u wan to noe abt me? u can click on my name and my profile will show..

well, i dun cook cos now still living wif parents and my dad's so worried i'll burn down the house though i've been cooking while studying in Australia a few yrs back.

currently, i'm only "collecting" recipes, hope to put in use when we got our own flat.

May I know if you have the recipe of making egg tart/portugues tart? Would love to try baking at home

Hi Jaz,
I love egg tarts!!! Yummy...

Egg Tarts

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 5/8 cup butter
- 1 egg yolk
- 7 tbsp confectioners' sugar
- 2 tbsp evaporated milk
- 5 eggs
- 3/4 cup white sugar
- 1 1/8 cups boiling water
- 1/2 cup evaporated milk
- 2 tbsp custard powder
- 1/4 tsp distilled white vinegar

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

2. Cream butter and confectioners' sugar. Mix in egg yolk, flour, and 2 tablespoons evaporated milk. Roll dough out thinly, and cut out rounds with a fluted cutter. Place into tart molds.

3. Bake for 12 minutes.

4. Beat eggs. Mix in 1/5 cup evaporated milk, custard powder, and white vinegar. Dissolve sugar in boiling water, and pour into custard mixture. Mix well, and let stand to remove air bubbles. Pour the egg custard into the baked tart shells.

5. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool.

Happy Baking!!!

Carol

Hi Carol,
Thanks for the recipe!!

May I ask how to estimate 5/8 cup of butter? Is one bar (250g) enough?
where to get confectioners' sugar and custard powder? Can make how many egg tarts?

sorry so many questions for you Carol...I am too excited to try out this recipe, so I wanna make sure I get the right ingredients &amp; enough tart mold

Hi Jaz,
This recipe makes 10pcs of 3inch tarts.

5/8 cup = 140grams

Confectioners' sugars &amp; custard powder can be purchased from supermnarkets or bakery suppilers shops.

It's alright, happy baking....

I've listed a conversion chart for you.

Butter or Margarine
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cups To Grams</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">1/8cup = 30grams
1/4cup = 55grams
1/3cup = 75grams
3/8cup = 85grams
1/2cup = 115grams
5/8cup = 140grams
2/3cup = 150grams
3/4cup = 170grams
7/8cup = 200grams
1cup = 225grams</FONT>

cheers:
Carol

Hi Jaz,

Here is for the POrtugese style.

Portuguese Egg Tarts

CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE TART KIND . . . Yummy Portuguese Egg Tarts.

Ingredients
For pastry dough:
Pastry (A)

80g plain flour
75g melted butter
Pastry (B)
80g plain flour
1 tsp milk powder
1 tsp sugar
l/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp corn oil
1 egg yolk
2 tbsp ice-cold water
For cream cheese filling:
100g whipping cream
55g sugar
1 piece cheddar cheese--chop finely
125ml UHT milk
2 eggs--beat lightly
Pinch of salt
1/4 tsp vanilla essence
Method
To make the pastry:
Sift flour (A) into a mixing bowl. Add melted butter and mix well to combine. Set aside for 10 minutes.

Sift flour (B) and milk powder into a mixing bowl. Stir in sugar, salt and corn oil. Add egg yolk and stir in water. Work the ingredients together to form a smooth and fine dough. Leave aside for 10 minutes.

Roll out pastry (A) into a rectangle. Roll out pastry (B) into a rectangle twice the size of (A). Place pastry (B) in the centre of pastry (A). Fold over both sides to overlap. Roll out flat.

Fold the pastry into four or quarters. Roll out flat. Repeat twice, then fold again into quarters and leave aside for 10 to 15 minutes.

Roll dough into a big rectangle. Roll the rectangle Swiss roll- style. Cut the roll into 7 equal pieces. Take a piece and press lightly into a greased tart mould. Trim the edges neatly. Set aside to rest for 5 minutes.

Pour filling 8/10th full into the tart mould and bake in a preheated oven at 220 &deg;C for 25 minutes or until the top or surface of the tart turns golden brown.

To make the filling:
Bring half portion of cream to a low boil. Stir in sugar to dissolve. Add the rest of the cream and cheese. Mix well to blend. Set aside to cool. Add beaten egg, vanilla essence and milk to combine. Strain the mixture through a wire mesh sieve.

Hi Carol,

You had previously e-mailed the recipe for making yam cakes to some of the ladies here. Is it possible for you to post it up here?

4214.gif
Cynthia

Hi Jaz,
You're most welcome...

Hi Cynthia,
Ok, will retrieve the recipe from my home PC &amp; post it here for you.

Hi Jes,
I've the recipe for sesame chicken, should I email to you or post it here?
sorry got to go now, rushing...

Cheers:
carol

Hi Carol
Maybe you can post here. I am also instead to learn leh.
Hi Alic
The Portu Tarts not easy to bake right? Like very complicated.

Hi Angelia
My wedding also in Nov. Nice to know more about you. So when is your flat coming?

stars

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">stars</FONT>
so, u'r also a Nov bride. did u check out the (11) Nov 2002 Brides thread? some of discussing their gown already. maybe we talk over there cos this thread more for Recipe and Cooking.

Hi. Can anyone please explain to me the rationale of skinning chicken, and then deep-frying it? Thanks.

Hi Cynthia,
I've email the recipe to you....

Hi stars,
Since the recipe for yam cake(Yu tuo gao) is long(detailed) therefore I'll e-mail to you instead.
Can you give me your e-mail address.

Hi jes,
I've email the sesame chicken recipe to you.
Check it out.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Stars,
In case you've missed my last posting, here's the recipe for

Sesame Chicken

Ingredients:
- 1 cup vegetable oil
- 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-size pieces
- 1/2 cup scallions, cut into 1-inch strips
- 1 tbsp minced fresh ginger
- 2 cloves garlic, minced
- 1 red bell pepper, cut into bite-size pieces
- 1 tbsp Chinese sesame oil
- 2 tbsp soy sauce
- 2 cups basil leaves or fresh spinach

Method:
1. Over high heat, heat a wok. Add the vegetable oil and heat until shimmering. Add the chicken and fry for 2 minutes. Drain the chicken from the oil and set aside. Remove all but 2 tablespoons of the oil from the wok.

2. Over high heat, warm the wok. Add the scallions, ginger, garlic, and red bell pepper and stir-fry for 2 minutes. Return the chicken to the wok and stir-fry for 1 minute. Add the sesame oil, soy sauce, and basil leaves and stir-fry for 1 minute more. Empty the wok into a warm serving dish.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi gals:
Here's a refeshing beverage, nice for a hot afternoon.

Watermelon Lemonade

4355.jpg

Ingredients:
- 6 cups watermelon cubes (seeds removed)
- 1/4 cup raspberries
- 1 cup water
- 1/3 cup sugar
- 1/2 cup lemon juice

Method:
Place watermelon, raspberries and water in container of electric blender, cover and blend until smooth. Strain through fine mesh strainer into pitcher. Stir in sugar and lemon juice until sugar dissolves. Refrigerate until chilled, about 1 hour.