Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Hong,
I've resend!

When selecting fresh cod fish, look out for it's whiteness & firmness.

Cheers:
Carol

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Carol</FONT>

Thanks for sharing the programme timing and the cookies. The beary cute cookies look interesting. Can try can try!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi Dolphin</FONT>

Thanks for your recipe. Do share with us your experience after your try ok?

would like to find out from microwave users who bake their cakes using tat. Do u all use the normal metal containers for baking to bake or use glass ware?

Hi TecFib,

If you use microwave function for baking, u can't use metal containers, can use microwave-save tray (look like plastic one)... however if yr microwave comes with oven functions, u can use metal one as it functions as normal ovens...

hope it helps.

Hi Carol,

Thanks so much. I will try the lasagna recipe this week and see if I am successful. Can I buy the lasagna noodles at NTUC?

Hi okeanosmao,
Kueh lapis is not very difficult, just require a bit of skills.

Here's are some recipes to share with you..

Kueh Ko Sui

Ingredients:
10 oz Tapioca powder
10 oz Rice powder(wet)
8 oz Sugar
16 oz gula melaka
36 oz water
3-4 pcs of pandan leaves
200g coconut shreds
2 tsp Lye water (alkaline)

Method:
1. Mix &amp; boil the water, sugar , gula melaka &amp; pandan leave till sugar &amp; gula melaka melted.
2. Leave the mixture to cool, then sieve it.
3. Mix tapioca powder &amp; rice powder with 16 oz of water &amp; add in the mixture in step 1, then add in lye water &amp; stir throughly.
4. Pour the final mixture into moulds &amp; steam for 15mins.
5. Allow mixture to cool &amp; harden. Remove the kueh from the mould &amp; add coconut shreds before serving.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kueh Lapis

INGREDIENTS:
900 ml : Coconut milk
270 g : Rice flour
180 g : Sago flour
0.25 tsp : Salt
0 g : Syrup
450 g : Sugar
150 ml : Water
6 - : Pandan leaves
0 g : Food colouring
1 pch : Yellow, red, green, brown, or other natural food colourings/flavouring of your choice
0 g : Cake tin lining
1 - : Banana leaves
salt, pepper to taste

syrup
Add the sugar, water and pandan leaves to a clean saucepan. Bring to a boil. Simmer for 5 minutes, then remove from the heat.
Discard the pandan leaves, and strain the liquid if necessary. Set aside.

Kueh lapis
Cut the banana leaf to fit the base of the cake tin, then grease it lightly with cooking oil.
Pre heat a steamer.
Mix the rice, sago flour and salt in a large mixing bowl. Add the coconut milk. Use a heavy whisk to mix well. Stir the hot syrup into the mixture.

Cheers:
Carol
12519.gif

hi carol

i will be inviting friends over to my house over the weekend, as i am completely a cooking dummy, do you hv any simple easy to make recipe for some finger food that i can prepare for my guests? thanks alot

hi luckybird

Mine is a convection microwave. So does tat means i can use metal containers for baking alone? cos i assure is the same as normal ovens as mine can be used for convection baking.

Hi dummy,
I've posting 2 recipes on finger food on 26/11 05.25pm
You wana try that. Ok, will post another 2 more here.

Chilli prawns skewers
INGREDIENTS: (makes 30)

30 green king prawns
1/3cup fresh coriander springs
2tbsp fresh basil leaves
50g butter
1 clove garlic, crushed
2tbsp soft brown sugar
2tbsp lemon or lime juice
1tbsp sweet chilli sauce
pepper to taste

1. Peel prawns, leaving the tails intact. Using a sharp knife, silt each prawn down the back. Remove vein.
2. Finely chop coriander &amp; basil.
3. Heat the butter in a large frying pan or wok. Add the garlic, sugar, juice coriander, basil &amp; sweet chilli sauce. Mix all well together. Toss the prawns through the mixture, then cook over medium heat for 4-5mins or until prawns turn a pinkish colour and are cooked through. Sprinkle pepper over prawns mixture.
4. Thread prawns onto bamboo skewers. Serve warm.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bacon and onion quiches

INGREDIENTS: (makes 24)

oil or melted butter
2 cups plain flour
150g butter, chopped
3-4tbap milk
plain flour, extra

Filling
3 rashes bacon
2tsp oil
1 onion, thinly sliced
salt &amp; pepper to taste
&frac14; tsp mustard powder
1 cup milk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup cream
2tsbp finely chopped chives
1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese

1. Brush two 12-cup deep patty tins with melted butter or oil.
2. Place flour &amp; butter in a food processor bowk. Process for 10-15secs or until mixture is fine &amp; crumbly. Add milk, process a further 10-15secs or until mixture just comes together. Knead dough lightly until smooth.
3. Roll out pastry to 2mm thickness. Using an 8cm cutter, cut pastry into rounds. Ease pastry rounds into prepared tins. Refrigerate 30mins.
4. To make filling: preheat oven to 180Deg. Chop bacon. Heat oil in a frying pan; add onion, bacon salt, pepper and mustard. Cook over medium heat for 3-5mins or until onion is golden and bacon slightly crisp. Cool slightly.
5. Combine milk, eggs, cream &amp; chives, mix well. Divide the bacon mixture evenly between the pastry &amp; sprinkle with cheese. Bake for 15mins or until golden. Stand the quiches in their tins for 5mins. Remove and serve warm.

Happy Cooking!!!

12541.gif

Hi TecFib,

If your microwave can do convection baking, metal containers can be used, but not for combination function(means use both microwave and baking to speed up the process)...

why not refer to the menu for assurance? as i'm also using microwave to bake, and it's indicated very clearly in the menu what kind of container i should use for each function...

Hi Carol

Can i check with you how many tsp is 1 desertspoon of baking powder?

Also, i love those clipart that you use. They are so sweet. Where and how to have those in our posting?

Hi carol,

don't mind me asking, but... what do you work as? or you don't work?

i think we should have a "ask carol" column.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Clari</FONT>
I tsp = 1/4 dessertspoon

The cliparts are downloaded by my friend, if you want to include in ur posting, will have to go to the emotions &amp; learn the simple steps there, they have some cliparts there.

Cheers:
Carol
12550.gif

hi carol,

I have not receive the romantic receipes yet.
Can send it to me? email me at [email protected]

btw, how do u go abt making the kueh lapis? Can tell me the steps? Would like to try making it during CNY. Thanks :-)

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Carol</FONT>

I have tried out your mini muffin and my family love it. Thanks for sharing the recipes with us. They are usually very 'user friendly'.

Cinnamon Treats

Makes 50

Ingredients

9oz (250g) plain flour
&frac12; tsp salt
2tsp ground cinnamon
8oz (225g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
8oz (225g) caster sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method

1. In a bowl, sift together the flour, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.

2. With an electric mixer, cream the butter until soft. Add the sugar and continue beating until the mixture is light and fluffy.

3. Beat the eggs and vanilla, then gradually stir into the butter mixture.

4. Stir the dry ingredients.

5. Divide the mixture into 4 equal parts, then roll each into 2 in (5cm) diameter logs. Wrap tightly in foil and refrigerate or freeze until firm.

6. Preheat a 190&ordm;C oven. Grease 2 baking sheets.

7. With a sharp knife, cut the logs into &frac14;in (5mm) slices. Place the rounds on the prepared sheets and bake until lightly coloured, about 10 minutes. With a metal spatula, transfer to a rack to cool.

Source: The Great Big Baking Book by Carcole Clements

Luckybird

Thanks for your reassurance. Did read the instructions but wanted some confirmation cos some of the baking trays said is not suitable for microwave oven mah. Hehehehe....

hi carol

thanks for the recipe.

clari
may i know where's the recipe of mini muffins?

Hi dummy

Carol posted the following on 12 Nov, 818pm:

Chocolate Mini Muffins with Toasted Hazelnuts

INGREDIENTS: Makes 24

2 oz (50 g) dark chocolate (75 per cent cocoa solids), roughly chopped

5 oz (150 g) plain flour

2 level tablespoons cocoa powder

1 level dessertspoon baking powder

1/4 level teaspoon salt

1 large egg, lightly beaten

11/2 oz (40 g) golden caster sugar

4 fl oz (120 ml) milk

2 oz (50 g) butter, melted and cooled slightly

For the topping:

2 oz (50 g) hazelnuts, roughly chopped

3 oz (75 g) dark chocolate (75 per cent cocoa solids), broken into pieces

You will also need 2 x 12-hole mini-muffin tins, well greased or lined with mini-muffin paper cases.

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 6, 400&deg;F (200&deg;C).

METHOD:
1. You need to begin this recipe by toasting the hazelnuts for the topping. To do this, place the chopped nuts on a baking sheet and toast them in the pre-heated oven for 5 minutes.

2. Next, for the muffins, start off by sifting the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt into a large bowl.

3. Then, in a separate bowl, mix together the egg, sugar, milk and melted butter. Now return the dry ingredients to the sieve and sift them straight on to the egg mixture (this double sifting is essential because there won't be much mixing going on). What you need to do now is take a large spoon and fold the dry ingredients into the wet ones – quickly, in about 15 seconds. Don't be tempted to beat or stir, and don't be alarmed by the rather unattractive, uneven appearance of the mixture: this, in fact, is what will ensure that the muffins stay light. Now fold the chopped chocolate into the mixture – again with a minimum of stirring; just a quick folding in.

4. Divide the mixture between the muffin cups, about 1 heaped teaspoon in each, and bake on a high shelf of the pre-heated oven for 10 minutes, until well risen. Then remove the muffins from the oven and cool in the tins for 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling tray.

5. While they're cooling, make the topping. To do this, place the broken-up chocolate in a small heatproof bowl, which should be sitting over a saucepan of barely simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn't touch the water. Then, keeping the heat at its lowest, allow the chocolate to melt slowly – it should take about 3 minutes to melt and become smooth and glossy. Then remove it from the heat and give it a good stir, then let the chocolate cool for 2-3 minutes.

6. Then, when the muffins are cool enough to handle, spoon a little melted chocolate on to each one, then place it back on the cooling tray and scatter the hazelnuts over the top of each muffin.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Luckybird</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">I tried the orange cake (found in the book you recommended) today. Think its quite successful just that the sides are a bit burnt. The book ask to bake at 160 - 170deg c for an hour. I baked at 160 for an hr but it wasnt done so extended for another 10mins before its done. The centre portion is ok.

Do you have any idea why? </FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi Carol

Pls help if you know the reason why. Do i need to higher the temp so that it will be ready in an hr or shd i reduce the temp and have it bake for a longer time?
</FONT>

Hi Clair,
Thanks for re-posting the recipe here again!
12601.gif

Clari, did you preheat the oven as it is stated in the recipes? You can bake at a temp of 160Deg for a longer time to have the cake fully baked.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol,

Are pineapple tarts difficult to make? Do you think an amateur like me will be able to bake them? Do you have any recipe to share with us?

My hubby asks me how come I know so many recipes and I tell him that I am attending online-cooking class during office hours!!! Thanks so much for your help!

Hi Carol, Luckybird, Clari

Remember I told you gals that I will be making white bread over the weekend. Would like to share with you the process. In the recipe (refer to the earlier posting), I did not do the 1st step because I'm using instant yeast. And I only used half of the proportion in the recipe (scared it will turn out a huge loaf). The first proving (step 3) took abt 30 mins (which I think was fast). Then I spend abt 10 mins for step 4 (roll into a rectangular and roll it up). Took an hour for step 5 (put in the baking tray and let it rise again).

Overall the bread turn out to be ok (in terms of taste and texture). However there are some parts (internally) which are not 'joining together' (dun really know how to explain). Well, I'm already quite happy with the result. My hubby &amp; I had it for breakfast this morning.

Hi Jolene,
Pineapple trats are crucial for their fiilings, it really takes a lot of patience to make a nice fillings, lots of time. It takes hours to Stir constantly until mixture is gluey and thick.

Pineapple Tarts

12634.gif

Ingredients for filling
4 sweet fresh pineapples (about 1 kg total weight) or crushed canned pineapple
600 g granulated sugar
4 cloves
1 star anise

Ingredients for pastry

600 g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
400 g butter, well-chilled
2 tbsp castor sugar
2 large egg yolks
2 drops vanilla essence
2 drops yellow food colouring
Pinch of salt
80 ml boiling water (about 9 tbsp)

Method

Filling

1. Skin and score pineapple, removing all eyes by scoring in diagonal lines and gouging them out with a sharp knife. Grate pineapples and squeeze out juice using a muslin cloth.

2. Chop or blend pineapple meat until fine. Combine with sugar, star anise and cloves in a heavy-bottomed pot and cook over low heat until almost dry. Stir constantly until mixture is gluey and thick, the consistency of thick jam. This can take up to an hour if you are using fresh pineapple. Ready crushed pineapple saves about 20 minutes of preparation time but the cooking time remains the same. Cool and store in refrigerator.

Pastry

1. Sift flour and baking powder into a large bowl.

2. Rub butter lightly into flour mixture until mixture is bread-crumbly. Beat castor sugar, egg yolks, vanilla and salt lightly. Pour into flour mixture and add boiling water. Mix well to make a pliable dough. Chill for an hour.

3. Knead pastry on a well-floured board or non-stick worktop (marble is excellent for kneading) until smooth. Roll out until about 1/2 cm thick. Using a cookie cutter, (between 5 cm and 8 cm diameter depending on how you want your tarts) stamp out pieces of pastry.

4. Fill each with a heaped tsp of pineapple and shape edges gently to contain the filling like a fruit tartlet. If desired, roll out thin strips of pastry and make a trellis pattern over filling. Use a pastry friller to pinch edges for pretty effect.

5. Place tarts on greased trays, with enough space between for expansion. Glaze each with a little beaten egg and bake in pre-heated oven at 200 degrees C or gas mark 5 for 8 minutes. Reduce heat to 150 degrees C and continue baking for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Cheers:
Carol
12635.gif

Hi Clari,

I hvn't tried this cake yet. Does carol's suggestion help? btw, is the side thinner than center protion? sorry, can't help you much.

Dolphin,

Thks for sharing with us and happy that u are satisfied with the bread.
May i know how big the loaf is when you used half of the proportion?

Hi Luckybird,

it's like the size of a swiss roll. Ya, I'm happy with the result. But guess I won't make this often, will like to try out other recipes. Hmm... am quite interested in pineapple tarts because I'm a pineapple tarts lover.

Hi Jolene,
Cloves is a rich, aromatic East African spice, are used whole or ground to flavor sweet and savory recipes.

This is how it look like:

12639.jpg

No, you don't have to gind it up...

Oic. So, I just add in the pineapple mixture and later just throw it away rite? Thanks so much for your expertise!!!

Hi Dolphin,

ya, i also want to try pineapple tart. managed to find a nice tart mold at shop&amp;save already. do you want to try carol's recipe or you got alreadi? wonder if we can find ready-made fillings? scared by carol's description leh, haha.

Help!!!! My hubby is at home trying to make whipped cream but its still so watery after 30mins in the mixer!! He bought the Pauls packet thickened cream and is trying to make whipped cream. But till now, its still watery... did he forget to add anything?????

Hi Luckybird,

which shop&amp;save did you get the mold? And how much was it? Can describe to me how it looks like (is the base curve in shape and mold size very mini one)?

Yes, thinking of trying her recipe. Earlier there is one posting on pineapple tarts also but not as detail as Carol's. Don't think there is ready-made fillings.

I will be trying out egg tart this Friday. My sister loves egg tarts, will bake some for her. Have you bake egg tarts before? Am using Carol's recipe.

Carol,

thks for yr encouragement, will try this as my hubby loves it very much...

the recipe didn't mention when to add the yellow coloring, is it the same time as adding water?

Hi Dolphin,

I missed out Carol's recipe for egg tarts. Do you think you can post it to share with me here? Thanks a lot!

Hi Dolphin,
I think I remember I saw some ready-made filling last year before CYN at Phoon Huat.
Don't know if they will be selling again this round.

But, still feel that DIY fillings are more YUMMY!

12674.gif

Hi Carol,

did you bake chocolate bread over the weekend? Usually how big a loaf will you bake and how long it usually last (since we bake it at home and we don't put preservatives to let the food keep longer)? I guess we can't keep the food for too long, right?

And for the pineapple tarts, how many days would you recommend to keep? By the way, how many tarts (estimate) can be made using yr recipe? In the recipe, it says 4 pineapples. Does that mean to use 4 whole pineapples that weigh 1kg altogether?

Sorry for asking so many questions.

Hi Jolene,

Egg Tarts

Makes: 10pcs of 3 inch tarts

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 5/8 cup or 140g butter
- 1 egg yolk
- 7 tbsp confectioners' sugar
- 2 tbsp evaporated milk
- 5 eggs
- 3/4 cup white sugar
- 1 1/8 cups boiling water
- 1/2 cup evaporated milk
- 2 tbsp custard powder
- 1/4 tsp distilled white vinegar

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
2. Cream butter and confectioners' sugar. Mix in egg yolk, flour, and 2 tablespoons evaporated milk. Roll dough out thinly, and cut out rounds with a fluted cutter. Place into tart molds.
3. Bake for 12 minutes.
4. Beat eggs. Mix in 1/5 cup evaporated milk, custard powder, and white vinegar. Dissolve sugar in boiling water, and pour into custard mixture. Mix well, and let stand to remove air bubbles. Pour the egg custard into the baked tart shells.
5. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool.

Hi Dolphin,
Yes I did.... I bake a loaf 9x5 inch loaf pans
It usually last for a day of 2. You can keep it in the fridge, that could last 2-3 days.

The pineapple could last 3-4 weeks.... But remember to keep them in air-tight containers and they must be fully cooled before keeping them, as the hot air in the tarts could turn them mouldy.

I can't really remember how many that recipe could yield,(didn't really count them) but did filled 7-8 jam-sizes containers.

4 whole pineapples that weigh 1kg altogether.