Christian Brides

hi sharon,

heheh.. dance pract.. Our leader says, if we have to go celebrate vday, heheh, it's okie to miss dance pract! *winks* But i think of the crowd & hype abt over-paying for the vday stuff, heehee, i rather go church

btw, where's le point de vie? hb & i are considering bealieu house

hi ribbons,

i wld still like flowers.. but wld appreciate them more if i get it apart fr vday
vday flowers are too exp & more meaningful when he surprises me when i least expect

Thank you all for your suggestions....I will try to get both pastors to one location. To make things simpler. And yes, in terms of translation, I will think about that too.

Gosh, there is just too much details to think about right? Starting to dream about hiccups on my wedding day....not a good sign....

mehmeh: yuan lai ru ci! What church do you attend, btw?

Le pont de vie is at Waterloo street, a little bit behind the Singapore Art Museum (I think it's kind of close to the synagogue...)

mehmeh... if i may comment... beaulieu house is the one at sembawang park right? in my humble opinon, the only good point about that place is that its near a sea side.

to appreciate the sea side fully, best is to sit outside, which is at the common pathway where public can walk past and lotsa sand flies. if u wanna sit inside, its stuffy and cannot see sea view liao. and food is... umm.. well..
western food presentation looks like food court/ hawker centre one. (this is what i saw on other pple's table), chinese food is... *bleah*.. if u order dried chilli with chicken, main ingredient is chilli with a scattering of dried chicken pieces. if sweet and sour pork, is pineapple, capsicum with SOME pieces of fried pork.

if its for the sea side view and if got any sentimental reasons go... if for the food... u are better off with a after dinner (at another place) walk.... =)

ribbons hehehe like that u call him romantic liao...normally my hb dont celebrate ang mo kind of event one, but he is fine if i want it.

hi sharon,

heheh.. i'm at plmc

ah.. Tt place sounds nice! I like Secret Gdn tt's also round the corner *winks*

hi ribbons,

Thx! sand flies eh? *faint* sure doesn't sound romantic anymore, considering the effort to travel all the way there.. Now to rack my brains on gd location, D is terrible at such things

i'm not celebrating v day either. hahaha. if you ask me why i can't really put a finger on it, but i think everyday is v day for my bf and i XDDD so no need to celebrate. furthermore we're so busy!!! :S

Oops,

Sorry about that update. it is amended as below:

AD: 29th July 2007
Church: Trinity Christian Centre @ Paya Leba
Church Deco: My Friends
Caterer: Still looking
Banquet: In Kuching and Ipoh
BS: Venus JB
Lovenest:Redhill

Well this year is our second time celebrating V-day and he is already back in Malaysia.

BTW, does anyone knows where is a good shop to print cards? Any difference if you print them in Singapore and in JB?

Micar, i printed mine at T&T Printing, At City Square, JB...

if u dont mind the hassle of travelling to JB, its a very good option cos price wise is very big difference! very much cheaper.... total i paid just above $100 sing, but if i were to do all that in SG, way over $300 already.

here is a pic of my inserts printed at T&T.

I also have a 'Save the date" card and calender as well as church invites (Post card size, with envelope provided by T&T) but i dont have a pic of it yet, let me go take a pic and i will post up soon.

Hi ribbons,

I only manage to find the shop called Nagamas Printing Enterprist at City Square. Do you recall the floor and the unit number?

I like the card that they have made for you. The price they quote for 300-400 is about RM$350.

hey lydia, thanks for that link. my weddding is still a long time off, but just wondering if JB printers are reliable? because i do lots of printing in my job and i know the problems that can arise from printing even with local printers, so just a little wary about using an overseas printer. any thoughts?

wedding girl i know what u mean...but cant tell for sure unless u try. One thing i am sure is if there are problems its easier if its local in terms of call & make a trip there.

micar, we never really bother about the address of the shop cos the shop very obvious leh. ON 4th floor next to printemps bridal..

oh, the card that is in the pic is from furama.. only the insert is from T&T. sorry for not clarifying..

weddin girl.... hmm... spelling wise, its our duty to check lah (but there were quite a few mistakes. their english not good.) printing wise no problem. i think JB printers can be trusted, with the same level of trust we can give local printers.. same kind of caution to both lah. =) mine turned out fine.

i am so sad!!!

remember how i said i dont celebrate V Day? sigh... well, yesterday i fractured my small right toe and now in a cast, one weeks time go back for full cast... so now home bound, and my hubby got a dinner with his boss tonight.... i dont know why but maybe its the depression that my leg is like that and i cannot move as freely as i like (which is seriously torturing) and i am alone while other couples are enjoying each others company.. i'm so sad and lonely..... =(

<font color="0077aa">hey ribbons, dun be sad.. you are not alone.. this could be a good time for you to spend some intimate time with your Daddy God.. =) i like to embrace His presence when i am alone.. just Him and me!!! hee, who says v day are meant for lovers only???</font>

yah lah.... not only couples lah.... but i dont even have access to my friends... =(

nvm i promise to have positive thinking..................................................................

<font color="0077aa">sweetie, think of it this way, friends also at work.. they prob have no time for you even if you have access to them.. well, at very least you still have internet.. =)

try this, play some nice worship music and do some reading.. or commit to a time of prayer.. it helps to kill boredom.. and you prob feel so loved by God at the end of it.. =)</font>

yes ribbons, dun think so much of v day as its just another normal day.. n tis special day is created by man n God created each special day for us and we are to enjoy the day with our Father in Heaven...

agreed with pandalic, spend tis time in prayer and listen to worship songs it will help to soothe ur feeling and tot.

thank GOd that He's blessed me with a positive character, and i always learn to see the positive in situations....

just a bit bored, thats all.

hi ribbons,

aiyoh so poor thing... you stubbed your toe against something hard is it?

another friend got her toe fractured as well, whilst she was jiemei and trying to stop the brothers from cheong-ing in... and she couldn't even figure out which brother it was that stepped on her foot!!

rest well! maybe spend some quiet time in reflection and also pamper yourself with a facial mask or sth.
paint the rest of your toe nails in anticipation of CNY!

i fell at a escalator. i only remember my knee hit the escalator, when i was rubbing my knee then i realise my toe was hurting really bad.. heee... so honestly, i dont know how i hurt my toe. haha...

twinkle, haiyo! so cham ah ur friend!! poor thing!

cannot paint my toe nails cos need to see circulation, but maybe i will paste and ang bao there... haahhaah...

hey sharon and wedding girl: no problem, my pleasure :D

happy valentine's day everyone! i'm at home with the flu! but it's quite nice to just stay at home and rot. my boyfriend's having a presentation tomorrow so he too is at home working. haha XD

ribbons: take care! pray for you :D

Hello Ribbons,

Please take care of your fractured toe. Ok i understand about your wedding card. Will pop by TnT again to view their samples.

Happy V day to every sisters here!!

My FH is already in Kuching already. Thank God i din feel lost or upset cos i am alone today. I just work and just treasure the moment that i have alone with God!! My FH called and wished me Happy V day too. well we'll celebrate when i go and join him next monday in Kuching.

happy valentine's day everyone!

summerice and ribbons: thanks for sharing your thoughts. printing in JB might be slightly inconvenient, though it'd be much cheaper! oh well, will have to think about that closer to my wedding.

ribbons: hope your toe recovers quickly!

weddin girl.... price wise is good, but inconvenience lor... got pros and cons,...

please pray that my leg heals by next thursday when i got for my dr's appointment and dont need cast.... cos if got cast, how am i going to work??????

Wah Micar,
kuching is home to kenny sia... hehehe your FH knows him? He's quite entertaining sometimes lah.

Ribbons,
praying that God will heal you in His good plan! Don't worry, don't think you'll need a cast. Even for the toe, the cast is a small one and you can still hobble about - assuming your job is desk bound mostly.

hello all.

would like to make a prayer request - my boyfriend's dad just got fired today, and now my bf's the sole breadwinner in the family. i made a decision and told him that i have no idea how long his dad would be out of a job, but if need be i don't mind postponing the wedding. He thinks it should be fine, his dad can find a job, we don't have to postpone the wedding, but please, do pray for us.

pray that his dad can find a job, pray that if we have to postpone the wedding i can take it in my stride (i've been so looking forward to it - but i'm fine because we're still almost 2 years off and at most i just need to stop shopping for a year :D) and that his father will not lose hope (his dad tends to drink a lot when he's upset). lastly please pray for my bf's strength and testimony - he's the only Christian in the family and through this period of time it's the best chance for him to shine for Christ. he is awfully optimistic though, even more than me, i must say. haha.

thanks, dear sisters.

love
lydia

Hey Lydia,
so sorry to hear about that. will pray for you all. but ya, don't feel too down even if you have to postpone the wedding; this period might also help to strengthen your r/s with your FH further, as you support him and pray for him. take care!

Yup, as wedding_girl says, don't let it get you down yeah? Take it as God granting you even more time to prepare and get everything you want for your dream wedding at a more relaxed pace! It's going to be hard for you FFIL emotionally too, so do give your FH as much support as possible and treat your FH with dignity and love, so that you can shine for Christ too! =) *hugs*

Hi Lydia,

delay is not a bad thing...sometimes i feel like i dont have enough time...if can i also want to delay hehehe

Happy CHINESE NEW YEAR to all.

hi everyone, happy chinese new year

apparently his dad wasn't fired, but suspended. ah, thank God for that - very relieved. however there will be no further confirmation of his job status till chinese new year is over.

thanks to all who prayed! i really appreciate your words of encouragement.

cheers~

Hello, Happy Chinese New Year!

Just joined this thread, I am a Christian bride too! Here is my details:
AD: 15th Sept 2007
Church: Bethany Church Singapore
Solemnization &amp; Banquet: Marina Mandarin
BS: Volan* Couture
Lovenest: Serangoon

May I get some recommendations on the suitable bible verses to be included in the invitation card?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Happy Lunar New Year

Hope you all don't mind a Christian groom to join in.

Just a quick one. I would like to get any ideas for praise and worship songs for my holy matrimony serivce.

any song that is a 'must' or popular?
how do i choose the appropriate ones?
how many songs would be just nice?

just a few i can think of right now...

jiaqi, how about those verses from 1 Cor 13:4-7...?

thanks and God bless.

hi jiaqi! my bf and i are using 1 John 4:10a, Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us...

Another couple used a verse from Psalms that meant something to them and was relevant to their marriage, Except the LORD build the house, they labor in vain that build it... - Psalm 127:1a

i think you just need to choose a verse that holds meaning for you!

hello handsomegroom!

i think 2 to 3 songs would be enough. usually 2 songs. normally songs are about thanksgiving to God and His love
i don't think that there is a must, for songs... however maybe you should avoid choosing songs that are so new to even you and your bride, since you would want the congregation to sing along and it won't make sense to choose a song which no one is really sure how to sing right?

happy new year, everyone!

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

with regard to songs and verses, I think anything that's meaningful to the couple is suitable. for songs, like lydia says, 2-3 songs is enough, about praise and thanksgiving, and they should be songs that most people would be able to sing.

Thanks lydia and wedding girl.

My church wedding guests consist of more non-Christians than Christians, so yes, I'd need my Christian friends to sing as loud as they can! Just kidding...

Well, it doesn't matter if the singing is soft. As long as any part of the ceremony, be it the song lyrics, scripture reading, solemnization, prayers or even the benediction,
touches the hearts of the non-believing guests, esp my family, I think God is already showing his mercy and grace, IMHO.