Christian Brides

hi im new here ! heh... also christian btb in 08... was wondering for those who have gone thru their wedding or gonna go thru em, hows the actual day like ? church n dinner will be same day for mine.. so wondering if shld have church 1st den go serve tea dn dinner .... or serve tea, church den dinner hmmm ... anyone ?

hi candyprincess

it depends on ur timing i guess...for me i will be having my church ceremony in the morning so i will only serve tea after that. follow by dinner.

canprincess... it depends on u and ur family lor.. also depends on timing. Timing of ur dinner and when u would like to have ur church service. If any non christian family member would want to go consult those shi fu and find timing and theres no way to get out of this, will affect ur timing too lor.

For us, we had tea, followed by church then dinner..

I am back from my ps in Malaysia. I really would like to thank GOD for his mercy. We were blessed with beautiful blue sky and it only rained at night. GOD's goodness and mercy followed us all the way. Praise the Lord!

However, my hubby sprained his knee during the shoot. It is an old injury too. Most likely is the soft bones problem. Please help to pray for his speedy recovery. Thanks.

hi candyprincess, as wat the rest of the gals had advised... on the AD it depends on ur timing of hw u wan the event to carry and oso depends on ur parents....

my AD is tis sat, we will be hvg church in the mrng thereafter to my mum's hm for tea ceremony...

coco, glad to hear tat ur PS was smooth going.. will pray for ur hubby speedy recovery...

my FH oso injured his left wrist yesterday which is old injury too... ps keep him prayer..

thanks sisters, take care as I may not logged in for awhile as need to prepare for my AD...

hi all, a bit disappointed with a friend here.

she had agreed to be my banquet coordinator 1-2 weeks ago. my wedding is in march. then i sent out the tentative invites recently, and she replied saying that she and her hubby can make it for the dinner. but we are not inviting spouses, so i explained that politely that there were space constraints for the dinner, and her hubby is most welcome to the church wedding.

then she said, oh she was thinking of spending time with her hubby cos they don't see each other very much due to her frequent worktrips. in that case they might both come for the church wedding and can i allocate her another duty instead.

hmm. so seems like she's not coming for the dinner unless her hubby is. and I'm kinda left high and dry with no banquet coordinator. a little disappointed since i was her jiemei when she got married, took a cab and turned up at her house at 6:30am, was the MC at her wedding dinner at last minute notice...

just trying to get some views. should i invite her hubby? that would create inconsistency, and queries from the other guests... we really have no space to invite all spouses, already more than 50 tables and counting.

or should i just say, ok then, you and your hubby just come for the church wedding. and then go try my best to find someone else to be banquet coordinator?

Dear Jazol,

God bless this last-leg of preparations! May you have a wonderful time celebrating with your loved ones

hi Candyprincess,

The sisters are right.. Both options are viable, and which to follow wld largely depend on what both families wld like to have. Some are more sticky with having tea later, coz they want to observe the practice of 'returning to ur mum's 3 days later', so the later tea is, the closer it is to the practice

Other reasons for tea at before dinner (at say the suite or a function room), cld be due to the size of the family being too overwhelming for the house..

Enjoy the process of wedding preps!!

Hi MingYu!!

*waves* heehee *sorry* for the late reply, hope I answered ur questions sufficiently

twinkle if u invite her hb will ppl know? really all ur friends u never invite the other half? If thats the case then some ppl will feel unhappy if they see him there. Then they will think why u invite her other half but not theirs.

What coordination do u need her to do? if its not a lot maybe u can ask ur own family to help. U have any siblings that can do it for u?

Hi Jazol,

Thanks, will keep your FH in my prayers too. Congrats on your upcoming wedding.

Hi twinkle,

I feel that your friend should not take your wedding as an excuse to see or spend time with her hubby lor. Quality time spent should be arranged between the couple themselves only. Since you have already standardised not to invite the spouse, you should stay with it. I always feel honoured to be a helper and a helper has to be sincere too. So if I have the same problem, I will get another person to replace.

thanks for your comments... yup, don't have the luxury of inviting all our colleagues and ex-colleagues' other halves... our parents will invite couples cos that's their format, so as long as they keep to their required tables we have no comments.

summerice, no siblings.
but will ask other friend.

coco, yup agree. the more i think abt it, the more i think I'll just replace her.

Hi girls need to ask for help here.

How much did you spend on your church invites?
No. of Invites:
Size of Invites:
Type of paper:
Name of Printer:

Hi twinkle good that u have such fast decision. Agree with coco, dont understand why she take ur wedding to spend quality time. If she is ur coordinator then how can she spend quality time b4 the banquet.

Hi hui, if u dont have many invites u can DIY coz its cheaper then go to printers.

hi Hui,

14.8cm by 14.8cm
ivory textured cardstock
focal ad

with embossing of our names on one side - about $500 in total.

hey twinkle.... yah lah.. u are doing ur friend a favour too, let her go spend time with her hubby lah. dont get ur self down cos of this k....

hui, we printed 500 invites for inserts and church.... extras still at home. haha.

twinkle
I agree with the rest. Must be tough on you though - seems like a really odd reason that she's given. Hope you manage to find someone else soon
and a good one too. Pray!

I've been having colleagues 'self inviting' themselves and telling me things like they're thinking of what to wear for dinner etc etc!! So I just have to say that we are going to have a small dinner (family & close friends) but everyone will be invited for church. Kinda stressy

corsage hehehe ic....ya its hard to separate when we have 2.

I told my coll then they ask me so is it church or banquet...i cannot say both...i dont mind about the buffet in church i can order more but its the cake i am worried. If i ask to many ppl wait not enough for all then not so nice. hehehe

haven't been joining in this thread for quite a while but been reading it on and off..

twinkle,
it's hard when such things happen, but if it's a close friend, maybe you can consider inviting her hubby too? if not, then i would agree with the rest that maybe you should find another coordinator. hope you manage to resolve everything soon!

btw, you're the same Twinkle from the DC thread right?

candy princess

I had to serve tea at 3 different timings:
- 1st was for my father-in-law's family only after my hb fetched me
- 2nd time was at the church for my family and relatives
- 3rd time was after the wedding banquet for my mohter-in-law's family.

So it really depends on the timing and the parents' relatives.

hi wedding girl,

yup I'm in the DC thread too.

I've managed to ask one of my church friends to coordinate for my dinner. think ultimately i trust him more. just a little disappointed with that friend. oh well!

twinkle,
ya, figured there couldn't be two Twinkles with the music notes.

hope everything works out for you in the end! but i can understand how you might be feeling about your other friend.

hi sisters, thanks for the prayer.. my FH's hand is better now...

twinkle, glad to hear that u hv found ur banquet co-ordinator... i understand hw u felt whn ur fren rejects ur help whn u had done ur part...

hey girls, tmrw is my AD.. m getting excited and been hvg sleepless nites...

jazol, glad your FH's hand is better now.

all the best for tomorrow and congrats in advance! do have a good rest so that you'll be fresh for tomorrow.

jazol! Congrats! And please, make sure you sleep properly tonight hor! Otherwise tmrw got big panda eyes!

*throws rice over jazol and FH*

hey everyone!
i've only posted once in this thread, but i've been skimming it for awhile.

initially i didn't wanna start planning my wedding cos i thought plan too early make me 'excited for nothing' - it was supposed to be in Sep 2009 you see - but my boyfriend and i decided to bring it forward to Nov 2008 and get married on his birthday! :-O it's still pretty far away, but near enough.

that decision was made yesterday, so... today was the first day of planning, and i just wanted to say that i'm very very happy and i can't imagine where else i would like to share this piece of news except this thread XD we haven't started anything concrete yet cos we're really busy right now up till july, but our next official 'meeting' will be in june, and we'll start taking real action in October. He'll ask my parents for permission (a.k.a sort of proposal), we'll ask our pastor when we can start counselling and all that... aaahhhh so excited XD

hope you guys didn't mind me ranting. it's just so exhilarating.

Lydia

Congrats. My suggestion is to take your pre-marriage course asap so that it will not clash with your wedding preparation. Also, the "skills" that you learn in the course will help you to resolve conflicts during the preparation.

hi lydia,

thanx for sharing your happy news with us
my FH proposed to me in Mar 06 and we contacted our church for marriage prep course (MPC) in May 06. there were some hurdles that we have to cross in order to have our pastor solemnise our wedding. such as to get baptised, get church membership.

there are many young dating couples in my church and we had to 'queue up' for our MPC. i had the intention to start as early as possible. well in case if we run into some problems, you know. like have to go thru more counselling before marriage. so you might wanna factor in more time to be more settled

we only started MPC in Aug and 'graduated' in Dec 06
ahead of schedule as i wld like it to be... thanks be to God - we graduated :p hehe... the tips we learnt from MPC also helped us a lot in our dating and wedding prep

I encourage people to go for Marriage prep course first before deciding to get married. Some couples find that they are not compatible after the course but because of the "decision" to get married, they still go ahead. We went for ours before my bf proposed. I did make clear to him that going for the course with him doesn't mean I am going to marry him :P Actually, I am thinking of going again before we get married next year. "Revision" classes are infact good for the rship. It serves as a reminder that God is the centre of the marriage and it helps us not take each other for granted.

hi BB Queen and lovely samsoon

yes, in my church every couple has to go for pre-marital counselling, so i'm quite excited to be going through it because it will definitely help my boyfriend and i to be even closer. i don't think my church requires us to queue up though. the peak period is this year because there are lots of couples getting married this year XD so i think i'll be able to start at the end of this year or early next year. i don't think i can start now because i still have to finish up with my final year in poly. will only go for the counselling in october, just before my internship in early november. yup... so i have to start planning the 'structure' first before i start counselling. we're leaving the most of it to God though - since we never know what's best for us and He may want us not to get married next year

as for the proposal... at the beginning of our relationship we already knew that we were going to marry each other. or rather, we already set out to marry each other because a relationship is not for fun, it's a prelude to marriage and there's commitment involved. so for us the proposal is going to be asking for my hand in marriage from my parents. it's also particularly important since i will still be under 21. thank God my parents are very supportive and have provided as much advice as they could give, from a Christian perspective. (both his parents aren't Christian, but thank God they are extremely nice people and are also supportive towards our relationship.) we also have our Christian elders; lovely aunties and uncles and brothers and sisters who have helped us along the way, teaching us how to handle the dos and don'ts of relationships.

we pray together every night (over the phone XD)but i really must say over the course of these few years there's been a lot of sorting out - our differences, preferences, the ugliest that we can get, the sweetest things we can do for each other... it's been a seemingly long journey for us because there has been so much waiting - mostly because of the age difference and the fact that both of us aren't working per se, I'm still in poly and he's still in NIE. Thankfully, I'm starting work next year and he's going to be a proper teacher this July. Thank God, because we'll have enough funding for the wedding. However the house still has to wait. Our plan is to rent a flat, which is another thing to source for...

sorry for such a lengthy composition. XD i'm just glad that i'm getting married... it hasn't been easy partly because i was so young when we started, and he was much older (okay lah, seven years) and more mature and less temperamental... the fact that i'm finally getting married just makes it sweeter, because i feel that God has really helped me grow, both spiritually and emotionally. it's made me a more responsible person, through all the tears and all the laughter.

hi Lydia congrats.

It good to start all the courses early. I finish my baptism course last yr and i have only started my MPC. I feel that the MPC is a little late for us....coz by the time we finish it time to get married. hehehe

What BB queen said is true also...some times when u know a person more u may think that u dont want to be married to this person. For me no choice liao...coz i already ROM-ed hehehe. This MPC will help us to know each other more and make things better for us.

hey lydia... good for u.. and i am also a strong advocater for prep marriage courses..

sorry ah, but whats XD? is it a graphic or what? Cos i just see XD...

just asking ah, u under 21 ah?

hey summer ice and ribbons

thanks for the advice. i would like to start the courses early too, but my priority now is to finish up my last year in poly, so i have two semesters of classes and projects to clear before i'm off for internship. so the soonest possible that i can get my counselling is just after i clear my modules and before i enter internship, which is the time where i will have my counselling (around Oct this year, i think there are 8 classes). i was reaffirmed in 2004 and went for basic bible knowledge class in both 2002 and 2004. went twice because felt that the first time didn't really pay enough attention. (the class is a prerequisite for baptism/reaffirmation/church transfer and it's really thorough, 16 lessons to cover all the doctrines and systems.) so basically i've cleared everything else. i was baptised as a baby (my church advocates infant baptism and my parents wanted to make a promise to God) and my boyfriend was baptised about ten years ago? not very sure because he came to know the Lord 12 years ago in our church and i only started to worship at my church 7 years ago. (don't wanna start on another long story, spare you all the details for next time XD)

oh yes, XD. How to explain... if you turn your head anti-clockwise it's like laughing out loud with your eyes closed. haha.

and yes, i'm turning 19 this year. don't worry about asking. XD i've been asked a lot of times, especially by people who don't believe that i'm not above 21 and cannot have credit card. heh. my dad says that i age too fast because i look older than what i really am until he has to ask me how old i am occasionally, and i have a lot of ailments that even he doesn't have. like i have rheumatism, had to go for a jaw operation a few years ago, have to wear special soles to correct my rather severe flatfoot, and a host of other things he concludes that is my mom's fault. of course he likes to joke lah.

oh dear, unknowingly i have made a long post again. actually i'm really talkative lah, i guess it reflects in my postings XD sorry for having to put all of you here through an arduous read again!

My FH and I also went for counselling sessions before he proposed, just to sort out some stuff to make our decision to remain the r/s more certain. In fact we went for family therapy sessions instead to seek more professional assistance when we talk about our growing up issues and the way we communicate with each other. Things really got much better and that was when he proposed and I was able to say "yes" firmly. :D

Then we went for our church's PMC which was more teaching than counselling actually. So we have a good balance of both. ;) No regrets, and definitely worth the $$ and the time cos we sorted out a lot of issues and now am more able to say "i do".

hi hui!

wow. you went for family therapy on top of counselling huh? glad that you really benefited. i guess different couples undergo different periods of 'being unsure', and there are different methods available to help sort things out
i don't think i want to go for family therapy though - my bf and i have already thrashed many things out and we sort of found our communication styles. haha XD reading books about relationships and marriage plus advice from loving brethren halped too.

there's a very wonderful book that a good friend of my mom's passed to me when she found out that i have a boyfriend. it's called 'The Joy of a Promise Kept: The Powerful Roles Wives Play' and even though it's targeted to women who are married, those who aren't married will really benefit too. i learnt a lot from this book, it really helps if you are a child of God and want to look at how successful marriages withstand storms of time. so far i only know it's available online, i searched on google and got referred to atcross.com.sg where you can buy christian books. if you do see it be sure to grab a copy, it's really good! here's the link if you want more details: http://cgi.ebay.com/The-Joy-of-a-Promise-Kept-by-Denalyn-Lucado_W0QQitemZ330024928035QQcmdZViewItem

hey Lydia.. good on u... marriage prep is important but education is too! =)though marriage prep doesnt take up as much time as school but good to concentrate on one thing at a time lah..

talking about books, my husband (haiyo, still nto used to calling him my husband)andi got some books as presents for our wedding. We got one "Power of a praying wife" and two "Power of a praying husband"... our conclusion? he needs to pray more. HA!!! XD (lydia, i learn fast eh.. hee..)

hui! neighbour! hee...

Ribbon: Neighbour in terms of work or in terms of living arrangement? Hehehe.

Lydia: Good to know you are sure. Family therapy sessions aren't only for people with big problems though, its very exciting and fun too. Its almost like PMC with pastors, except its by professional counsellors. Ashlady can attest for that she went for it with her FH too. ;) Its great that you are reading up too! Sounds like you are all ready to get married. Hehe

ribbons: hahhaha XD you not used to calling him your husband eh... sometimes i not thinking very clearly i refer to him as 'my husband' and his mother as my 'mother-in-law' then i suddenly realise, what am i thinking man... but it's great you got christian books for presents, i think they're very good gifts. got my boyfriend one for his birthday too

hui: i guess i was preparing myself mentally a long time ago XD i think family therapy sounds quite serious, but i'm surprised you say it's exciting and fun. maybe can consider

Lydia

Glad to see that you are so excited about the marriage. However, just a word of advice - You may wish to start working first before deciding on anything more. Student life and working life have different sets of stress and demands and that's where you will observe if your boyfriend is the one who will be able to go through thick and think with you.

hey BB Queen!

yes, don't worry, i am planning to stay on in my internship position (corporate communication dept in my poly). hopefully it will be approved, must pray about it. effectively when i get married i would already have been working for a year.

i was planning to be a special education teacher after my graduation but i will shelve it first because need to have more money for wedding, and poly pays better. thanks so much for the advice. my parents also require me to work first. have a feeling that they won't be happy if i don't work first XD even before i had a boyfriend mom was already stressing about working first.

i think my boyfriend is the sort of person who will be able to go through thick and thin with my, i have no doubts about that because of all that has happened in my r/s. but i think he has more grounds to doubt whether i can be the same for him, because i'm more temperamental and demanding. hehe. we'll see if i can be very patient with him as his career takes off this july... must pray hard. hoho.

Hello sisters,
want to ask if it is a good idea to buy cosmetics as gifts for my sister helpers? I got a friend who sell cosmetic and the price is reasonable. The products are really good and I have tried them out too. I applied in the morning and it is very lasting till the night. Any advice?

Hi coco,

What colors do u want to buy? what kind of cosmetic? U have to consider if their skin is suitable for it. Some ppl have sensitive skin so they wont anyhow use. For me i seldom makeup so if my friends were to give me cosmetics then i think it will sit inside the cupboard for a long time.

so glad to find this section for christian brides.

having a headache now..
my FH and i are from different churches and we are trying to find a church to settle down..
im more "liberal" while he is more "conservative"..
actually he is "sort of willing" to settle down in my church, but then we found out that my church pastor is not free to do the solemnization on the day we want..
in addition, my FH feels that we are being forced to take up the church's "wedding service package" which includes the praise and worship team, the wedding coordinator, etc.
hmm.. he just doesnt feel the peace there..

so now we are hoping to find another church..
but yet we are in a dilemma..
we would prefer to find a church with proper church building and the pastor is able to solemnize for us but yet we also dont want to look for a church with these "criteria" only..
we still want to find a place where both of us are comfortable with the teachings and the people too..

sigh..
pls pray for God's directions for us..
thks in advance,

Hi MehMeh

Can I be added onto the prayer list?

Nick: jarbebe
AD: 05 May 2007
Church: M Hotel
Church Deco: -
Caterer: -
Banquet: M Hotel
BS: -
Lovenest:Everton Park

lydia.... those courses can be fun.. not as boring as their name.. hee... pple tend to see 'counselling' as serious sessions and sometimes boring, but prep marital couselling is not at all.. =)

fei, have u tried other churches? dont worry, not all will have such 'criterias'... =) *hugs* all will be well, just commit it to GOd eh.. same to you too Lyn..

hey ribbons!
i think pmc is not boring, but i'm so afraid it will be embarrassing! cos my pastor is like a father figure, and i have no idea if he will choose to touch on certain ticklish topics. will continue pray though

lyn: i'm new too! sort of lah XD when are you getting married?

fei: sorry to hear that you're so affected... stay close to God! i'm sure He will lead. perhaps you can short-list some churches from a book called 'a guide to churches and christian organisations', something like yellow pages that state churches by denominations and record all christian bookshops, community services etc... it's available from the national council of churches in singapore.
hope you manage to find a church for your wedding!

Hi Fei,

Think most couples in your situation move to a third church, i.e. not your church or his church. I've known some who have moved to Covenant Evangelical Free Church.

Lydia,

for PMC the pastor will probably direct you to books for the sex bits. they are REALLY helpful, and meant to be read 1-2 months before marriage.