Christian Brides

Hey Mehmeh,
Yes i have heard of both tailors but cos of the tight timeline we decided to get it OTR

Supposed to find retro stuff cos our theme is 1950s/60s look. Have to find stuff like skinny ties, old pens etc... Still have to source for a shawl but if cannot find then nm heh

Lilic dear,
Will share the package with u when it's cfm. Cos we haven't met up with Angeli to cfm the menu. Only blocked off the date so far. Which menus are u looking at - lunch or tea and what is ur budget?

Ahh... Okies will call Jasmine later...

ivy.. yah lor, MTM should be a gown of your liking.. shouldnt they make the necc alterations to your liking since u already pay for a MTM? And did she say have to add on cloth?

count: for my PS, i coloured my hair, but my MUA had this temporary hair colour spray.. which made a whole lot of difference!! so i strongly encourage highlighting or colouring of hair for PS.. but dont go get something thats totally not u...

ladies,

thanks for all the advises and all.

please really pray hard for me.

now things are much worse, apart from the WG. we may have to scrap the wedding plans as we do not have the finances to move on with the rest of the preparations.

Please pray for wisdom, as we make the decision to proceed or to scrap the plans.

Dear Ivy... we'll pray for you, and dont worry, God will provide.. we dont know what He will do, but He'll do His best..

our financial situation is quite tight too (all tied up with the house) so we're also constantly worrying aobut it.. but we'll trust in God to provide.. since He's brought us all the way here..

oh dear, so sorry to hear about that Ivy.

Which part is straining you financially? If it's something than can be downscaled, maybe can consider down-sizing...

If it's house, maybe can rent first? or stay with in-laws?

If it's banquet maybe can change venue?

Take care and will be praying that God will grant both of you wisdom and peace, whatever your final decision is.

<font color="0077aa">hellos count, i am doing a lunch reception for abt 80-100 pax only.. kept my church small since there is a dinner.. not sure wat my budget is coz i think they will levy a min charge since my no. is small..

hey ivy, dun fret.. commit the wedding to your daddy God. He will not leave you in lack. You are His precious child. Ps 23 says the Lord is your shephard and you will not be in want. He will give you wisdom to handle the finances.. the little you have can bring you through! do not limit God with your understanding..

bf and i do not have much to begin with for the preparation. all we did was to pray and trust God that He will provide. somehow, everytime we need to pay a bill, we have sufficient, if not more.. we have also heard many wonderful testimonies from couples who had gone before us.. His faithfulness had seen them through during the wedding preparation.. all of them had beautiful wedding fully paid for by God at the end of the day.. He satisfies the desires of our hearts.. commit all you have to Him. He will make it supernatural.. i have seen him working in my wedding prep.. He will do the same for you! Jesus gave His life for you.. wat more wouldnt He give you?

smile and praise Him for His goodness, mercies and grace!</font>

we have decided to keep the preps going. Really got to leap by faith. Indeed, like seandra mentioned, we would never know how God would move, but all we can do is to trust Him and jump with Him.

isn't this what FAITH is all about?

F orsaking
A ll
T rust
H im

hi count,

wah, the PS idea sounds great.. Where are u intended venues to create tt look??

hi Ivy,

384519.gif
Like many others, getting married with a house in tow, is no mean feat. But hey, God will bless u beyond what u can imagine!!

At the same time, whatever tt can be DIY-ed or outsource to talented frens who want to help, let them
I'm sure they wld be glad to be of help. Hmm, i rem u DIYed ur ring pillow oredi yah? So tt's a small step to success

Hi ivy,
i just happened to pop in here. just want to encourage you to press on. having a church wedding is really to glorify Him and praise Him for His love and goodness in your lives, so He wont let u down. i was financially blessed thru my church wedding cos the ABs helped to cover the losses from banquet. i had expected ppl to give $20/30 for church reception but many were far more generous. really praise God for tt. trust God, dearie!

Hi lilac, like your sharing, fully agreed! it is our choice to choose - Worry or Rest fully in His Grace to provide! PTL!

yeah IVy... maybe u can share with us what are the parts that are heavier on finances? who knows some of us might be able to offer you more cost friendly ideas that have not crossed your mind yet?

me and bf also financially very tight, cos last year, i did a career switch.. but while i get to work with my passion, i took a very big pay cut.. all my money now is like, into account, next min is out liao.. CPF also the same while paying for house....i barely have enough for myself since i started work and i am a person who refuses to borrow money and rather stand on my two own feet if i can.. Thank GOd He's sustained me all this while... sometimes, i will even find that i have like, extra money around... then i will keep questionning my mum if she secretly put it in but its not her..

i have another couple friend, they were church workers.. and really very poor, we always call them church mouse.. but they prayed and someone blessed them with their entire renovation fund!! I always pray that i'll get that kind of blessngs too.. I am not expecting that someone will pay for my reno (if someone does will be good) but if GOd can bless His other children that way, He also remembers His other chilldren and will bless them too.. so take heart ok... why must weddings be so ex ah...

Ivy dearie,
Will keep u in prayer. Perhaps u could share with us what exactly is troubling u?

I guess for most of us, the "normal" pple, will have struggles paying the bills for our wedding. Like Lilic, FH and i did not have much $ for the wedding preps. When we got engaged, i was still a student and FH had only been working for 1/2 yr. We were hunting for a house and Duxton came along, right within our budget and desired location. And when we wanted to hold a simple ceremony, FH's parents offered us an interest-free loan. And when we worried abt finding interim housing, FH's parents shifted to a bigger house with more room so we could stay in. This is truly proof tt God is faithful and will provide for us. As the bible said, if He clothes the lilies and cares for the birds, how much more will He care and provide for us.

Ivy dearie, take comfort in the fact tt God will provide. His grace is sufficient for us, as is shown from Lilic and Ribbons' sharing on how God has provided them and their frens in the area of finances

Lilic,
So ur church will be a small and intimate affair while ur dinner is a bigger celebration?

Mehmeh,
We have found a dingy hotel in the east, coupled with some other oldish, unrenovated places ard the east. Hopefully the effect will come up nice. But cos it's kind of radical i don't think the parents will approve

Well, my husband and I are serving debts of about $20k due to the renovations and credit card bills chalked up 2 years ago, when we first got our flat.

Though the renovation loan is coming to an end in Aug, it is still very tedious, especially since we have been paying off huge amounts for the past 2 years.

My main cause of worry is for the printing of invitation cards next month. Currently, I can only request for printing for 'confirmed' guests. Thus we need to call up all our friends to confirm their attendance before printing the cards. I hope that this would help to cut costs.

Furthermore, we are paying for our church venue and every other wedding essentials by instalments. Though it helps that we are not paying off by lump sum amounts, it is still very straining on us.

We are trying not to ask for loans of any kind, so that we will not bury ourselves with more debts.

hi Ivy,

Indeed spending on renos &amp; the other furnishings are very hefty &amp; capital intensive.. But it's ur 1st home as a couple, so it's alright to have at least the necessities furnished. I guess the peripherals can still be put on hold, and be reassessed for their need after the wedding?

Just wondering if u wld consider this option, for frens &amp; colleagues close enough to u, u cld check their attendance &amp; send e-cards instead? Tt wld also help to save on costs

Other church wedding items like deco, programme &amp; caterer, can maybe be looked into only after u've cleared the reno loan? At least it's also one step at a time..

*hugs* God will not give u anything more than u can bear yah??

hi Count,

heheh, dingy hotel sounds flavourful &amp; full of textures.. I like!! heheh.. Sounds abit like Maggie Cheung's show, 'hua yang nian hua'

The theme sounds interesting oredi, just must make sure ur PG can help u put on the right expressions too
so exciting!

Hi Ivy,

Take care. Make the invites simple? my friend did a postcard type with their photo on it and it was very nice yet cost abt $1 or less. and invite ppl you can group together with one card (e.g. bf and gf)?

Mehmeh,

I think Count is referring to that same show! In the Mood For Love's chinese name is probably that. the one with Tony Leung right? wah - i could watch that again and again - she looks so SUPER in cheong sam even for her age. I went to watch it with two uni frens when it first came out, and one of them fell asleep (a male of course) cos it was a little slow moving. I recently watched this show set in Shanghai starring Sammi cheng which also had great cheong sams. but nothing beats Maggie cheung lah, even with high collars she looks sexy.

hihi Twinkle,

yesyes!! I was still thinking hard what the name of the show was in English!! *thanks*

I didn't watch it, coz then-FH wld prob KO-ed too. But she looked so gd in it, absolutely elegant
hahah

<font color="0077aa">ivy, will keep you in prayers.. in the meantime, put your focus on Him.. dun let the financial burdens get into you.. all will be well because Christ died for us! =)

count, yes - my church will be small and cosy.. for family and close frens only.. thats why i schedule a friday.. kekek.. church wedding is the entire highlight of the wedding to us.. so we want to keep it really personal after we confirmed that the pastor will not do any evangelistic messages during the service..

but coz we do have quite a lot on our guest list, gotta do a bigger dinner.. not sure if you can understand me but the banquet guests are people who are still close to us but not so close that we want them in church.. wahahhah.. my fiance has like 2 tables for his primary school frens whom he meets twice a year! then also, coz of our professions, we do have to invite quite a fair bit of colleagues and peers... politically correct thing to do in case we unknowingly offend anyone.. =p

hey, just to share a little testimony with you guys.. my AD program is kinda confirmed.. with minimum effort and maximum results! God has really showered us with lots of favours.

1. Our parents actually suggested having lunch together instead of doing separate catering for each family, so now I only need to handle one caterer for lunch after service..

2. my FPIL thought that since lunch is served after service, they are doing away tea ceremony at their place. they told me that i can go direct to church from my place.. they will round up their families for church service and do tea ceremony there and then. for relatives who cannot turn up, we will serve tea before dinner

3. my FPIL allow us to serve tea to my family first at my home before i leave for church.. my mum requested for this because my family is very small and she does not want the disparity to be seen if we do tea ceremony for both families together. my bf's family is huge lar.. but this was a tough one coz someone told my FMIL in front of me the other day that serving tea to my family first symbolises that the guy is marrying into my family.. so i dinno how to approach the topic.. i bring my prayers to daddy God and He speaks to her directly. somehow my FMIL called my mum and they settled it amicably without going through me..

4. my parents also said we can serve tea to relatives who did not turn up during the day before dinner.

i feel so loved by God when i looked back and saw how things unfolded themselves..

so now i have a very relax AD morning.. home - church - hotel </font>

ivy.... do simple cards lor.. and design it urself, so that u dont have to pay for the graphic designer's design? or u got any friend whos more creativly inclined?

Well, on the bright side, at least u have ur house already right? so thats one burden gone..

hi lilic,

Praise God!! A testimony to remind our fellow sisters here tt Jesus is interceding on our behalf!! heheh

hi timmin,

belated *congrats*!! Do come &amp; share with us the great &amp; wonderful things God has blessed u with, when u have the time, yah?

Hi all, I have a testimony to share. Nothing too great, but just felt led to share it with people.

I've been having a very difficult time in the past 4 months as things have become very unstable and unpredictable for my FH and I. Basically my FH decided on a career switch so we need to put all wedding plans on hold till his career stabilizes. Practically speaking the man needs to set his career straight before making the commitment to a woman, but we've been struggling to not live by the world's standards but really submit to what God intends for us.

In short, we realized that indeed it is time for us to make the step of faith and commit to each other in marriage, but God has a very special plan for us at this stage of our lives. We will not be a very "well-to-do" couple and may need to give up on our dream house, dream renovations and dream lifestyle. However, I've been deeply convicted that our marriage is really "for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer". Afterall, we will have enough to live a normal life, its not as if we'll need to beg or steal in order to get married (or to live a married life for that matter). Its just that we've gotta lead a more prudent life, and have a less fanciful wedding.

My difficulty in the last 4 months was to submit to God's plan for me, and believing that God will provide for everything that my FH and I need. It was very trying, and often I felt drained. Until recently (yes I am really one of little faith, took so long to submit), I finally gave it all to God and told God that if this is the kind of life He wants us to live, I'll gladly do so. If God wants us to live our lives step by step, and He wants to show His power in our unstable and unpredictable circumstances now, may His Will be done.

Things actually started to become slightly better lately after I surrendered it all to God. So silly of me to struggle for so long, but the submission was really sweet. I know I'll be tested again soon, but for now, I am just glad that I've had this lesson and I want to remember it. I pray God will continue to be patient with me, and I know He is. For He is truly a merciful and faithful God. Jehovah Jireh!

Hui.... how can u say that ur testimony is not great... all testimonys that speak of GOd's goodness is a great testimony!! And yours is a great testimony!!

I'm touched by your sharing, about really giving it up to God.. as i read yours, i reflect back, i always say i give to GOd, but have i really? and u've given new meaning to "In good times and in bad" for me.. YEst me fh was talking to me about our future and finances.. i was a little troubled (yes, sorry God, i was thinking humanly).. now after reading ur testimony, i am very blessed, and i can move on...

u and your "not so great" testimony can work wonders u know... thanks for sharing!!

Ivy, i hope you are blessed by Hui's testimony too!

hey all.. i got dilemna leh!! my bridesmaid and my AD wedding coordinator getting married ont he same day!! 070707... sigh..i'm torn apart man.. i am my bridesmaid's jie mei, and i should attend my coordinators wedding cos she did so much for me.. how how.... my bridesmaid one is church wedding (2plus) follwed by dinner at hotel, my coordinator most prob a luncheon kind o affair... what should i do? as of now i only have jie mei duties for my bridesmaid, none for coordinator... what would u do?

can i go for my BM (bridesmaid) church solemnization, then rush over to my coord's wedding, then stay there till its time for my BM's dinner?

hi Hui,

Praise God!! Indeed, not my will, but His will be done.. Rem, seek Ye first the kingdom of God &amp; His righteousness.. and all these shall be gathered unto you

hi Ribbons,

eh, u say ur coord's wedding is a luncheon affair, so it's supposed to be before ur BM's solemnization?
Can be the jie-mei for BM, to luncheon of coord, to solemnization of BM &amp; then BM's dinner? (If i din understand wrongly!! *ooops*)

Hi Hui

Indeed every testimony is to testify God's goodness in our lives.

We will never know what we would receive from God until we let go and submit to Him.

I just created a short video using my ROM pics to be set as a Save the Date e-card.

Do pop by my multiply site to view.

<font color="0077aa">hey hui, thank you for a great testimony.. no testimony is too small or insignificant.. you touch hearts! it also proves to show how real our daddy God is.. =)</font>

mehmeh... prob is.... i dont know what times anything going to be. i only know morning i got to be at my BM's house and night at hilton for dinner...
i dont know what time my BM's church wedding is and dont know what time the luncheon is..

well we'll see.. and i guess these couples should understand that these problems are common to couples who choose to get married on such popular dates..

hi Ribbons,

Iseeisee.. Hmm, so gotta let them know in advance &amp; work according to their schedule
Agree, they shd understand tt these problems wld also surface when it comes down to ppl deciding which wedding banquet to attend

Hi Ribbons, your experience will serve as a good reminder for me too as my AD/ROM is on 070707 too. :P I'm sure the brides and grooms will understand.

Hi Hui,

thanks for sharing... It's a timely reminder even as all of us plan our weddings.

There's much in the news about prudent purchase of housing, and good financial planning by young couples... encouraged by your testimony that you are submitting to a simple lifestyle - truly it's for richer or for poorer! I'm sure your FH must be both touched and encouraged by your submission.

Read the 40 day prayer and fast booklet recently... just reminded me that too often in Singapore people do idolise image (i) looks, (ii) what people think of me [eg i should be seen wif the right sort of ppl]), esp in the looks dept, I think most btbs are close to obsession on that, myself not excused. kinda feel like if there's one day to look perfect it should be on wedding day! so we chase after perfect figure, perfect complexion, perfect dress. not that that is wrong in itself, but surely there's more to a wedding than look perfect like the Stepford Wives - all perfect outside by hardly pleasing to God on the inside! and in the meantime, it's the vendors profitting from weddings that are laffing their way to the bank.

surely what matters more are the vows, the commitment made inside, the change in our status to become as one on that significant day. what is inside is also what's most beautiful in the long run. 1 Peter 1:3-4 i think is an apt reference to this. a woman's beauty lies not in braided hair (or a designer wedding gown, or a lavish ceremony) but a gentle and quiet spirit is of great worth in God's sight. So I'm truly encouraged and inspired by your sharing Hui!

tho i don't really post much here but have been really encouraged by what's been shared.

financially my hubby and i are just nice but we bought our flat a little to early and now are struggling to save up for our renovation. and i'm in a sales job where my income depends on my sales, and i haven't had much sales recently so it's a quite struggle.

still, juz a reminder that while the world looks on the outside, and the demands of the world is that we need the money for many many things, what really matters are things that money can't buy. what matters is our relationship with God, the commitment made in our marraige, the values we hold etc. and i believe as we con't to pray and con't to trust in Him, God will provide us according to our needs...

I am moving on to the following areas of my wedding preps and would like to request for recommendations:

Printers (AXXA, Hi-Tech &amp; T-Dragon), Florist (for church) and caterers for food reception (Angeli and Elsie, but would prefer a halal caterer for my few muslim friends who would be there).

hi Ivy,

I used Axxa for my church invites, u can check the sample of my card on my site
Hi-tech doesn't do church cards, they only do inserts &amp; hotstamping for banquet cards, and probably church bulletin type of inserts

T-dragon has pretty decent cards, but printing isn't as cheap as Hi-Tech, but they are conveniently located in town.. My hotel's card vendor is T-dragon, so i got my cards fr them &amp; then took to another printer to print

Thanks for the encouragement and so glad to hear that God is really working in everyone's life.

Hi Ivy, my friend had Angeli for her wedding. Food is great but the service crew wasn't fantastic (the service crew consisted of 2 teenage boys who just sat ard and didn't do much. didn't even helped to clean up.) But the main coordinator was pretty good and hardworking, so it wasn't so bad in the end.

Elsie's food is not too bad, but I like Angeli better. My church caters a lot of food from Elsie cos one of the stakeholders is from my church.

Have a fruitful time searching for caterers and printers!

both caterers food also good.. but to me, both got down side..

every time that i had eaten food from angelli... they always give such small plates!!

elsie's kichen is good... but the aunty that answers the phone everytime u call is the turn off.. shes so rude!

hey ivy, i'm taking harvest for mine. it's halal and the price is affordable.. cheaper than angeli...
maybe u wan to try..

Hi girls... i've been reading this threat, but not really active coz have nothing to contribute.

Just want to share happy news. Today I got a call from Wesley and they can confirm the slot for my church wedding..

Hi Mona

Hope we did not 'threaten' you too much into not posting here... kekeke, just kidding, ok?

Welcome in here, and congratulations on the confirmation from Wesley. It's a lovely church.

Keep posting here and join in our discussions ok? :P

hey all.... anyone got any good suggestions for a chinese sit down set meal? prefably at a restaurant.. for 8 pple, not more than $200..

appreciate all recommendations!

hi Mona,

Congrats!! Look fwd to hearing more of ur wedding preps update &amp; any testimonies &amp; even woes too.. Here's a community tt is very willing to share &amp; lend a helping hand

hi ribbons,

I'm not too sure, but i rem this restuarant i often frequent for it's dim sum, having packages.. U may want to try River City @ Excelsior Hotel.
Some clue to what packages are available - http://www.odsn.com/what_news.htm
Location - http://www.odsn.com/contactus.htm

The sister outlets are also in the same group, shd offer the same stuff *i think*

Hi Mona,

Welcome here too! Hope your ROM was lovely! Share more about it...

Hi Seandra,

I heard Si Chuan Dou Hua is good, but think it's a little pricey. Are you organising a dinner for both sides of parents?
Soup Kitchen is simple fare, and should be within 200 for 8 pax i think. I like the outlet opposite far east plaza in that building with the colourful lighted frontage.

Hi mehmeh, twinkles and ribbons,
i just wanted to share that through His grace, i found a pastor who is willing to do a one-to-one MPC for me and my fiancee..If you recall, I wrote a month back abt my predicament of being located in Shanghai and getting married here..So to all brides who might face the same situation as me, pray and God will lead the way

hi Daning.

Yesyes, i rem u
Praise God tt He has performed yet another miracle. Ur pastor allows this arrangement, inspite not doing the MPC with ur church yah?? *congrats*

hi ribbons, my family likes Dragon Phoenix. It has now relocated to Novotel Hotel at Clarke Quay. Very good quality food
I particularly like their roast chicken!

Hi Daning,

great to hear that you've got someone to conduct 'intensive' MPC. It's very impt to do MPC, imho... and it's fun too!

Try to do the taylor-johnson test where you not only find out yours and his temperament (7 attributes) but you also find out your perception of his and his perception of yours, and how far away others' and self perception may be!
My pastor says I have rose-tinted glasses, hee.

Yea I agree with Twinkle PMC is very fun. I went for 2 sets of PMC (one with the church and another with an external family therapist) and my FH and I received very unique information and made very interesting discoveries about each other from both my pastor and family therapist. Hehe. We did the DSIC test and found out more about each other. Quite fun.

What is everyone's experience of PMC?

i'm new here... happened to stumble here, i believe, not by-chance, and i'm so greatly encouraged by all ur sharings! I'm juz beginning to think abt my wedding &amp; only realize how "big-scale" this thing can be! i'm starting to search for a flat and was beginning to feel a little discouraged until i came to this thread. Really thank God tt we can share thru this way &amp; encourage one another on the way. God is really good =>

I am back from my PS yesterday!

Haha, so fun... we even brought our dog along, but he was crying whole day... cos we had no extra hands and eyes to take care of him. Most times, he's left alone to cry in the makeup room... *my poor boi*

but was glad for the experience. we both had fun and we could click with the PG, am very happy about that.

we went to bugis (DHL balloon) and changi reclaimed land for sunset shots.

Thank God for the wonderful weather, no hint of rain anywhere, until when we reached home. There was a sudden downpour. Think God has been holding the rains for many Christian couples until today.