Christian Brides

hi mehmeh,
heh..that means i've to call her in Jan? maybe fix appt for feb? oh, i really dunno anything abt materials..think i'm better at buying ready clothes! i cannot imagine how a piece of cloth will look nice when it's done up. haha...maybe i need your help in that area!

oh, who's JS?

hi Ashlady,

It depends when u schedule ur PS? Think u shd get the TD done up early, coz nearing the PS, u wld be busy with fittings & other wedding preps. I rem her saying some mths of the year are still quite relax for her. I wld be calling her for my fitting, so i find out fr her on this for u k?

Sure, i can shopping with u in Arab street.. No problem at all! hahah!

JS's one of our sisters here.. She seldom frequent the thread oredi.

i was lazily reading the threads today and i suddenly realised that there are some of u here doing flower deco for church? like ribbons and mehmeh isit? doing as freelancer?
i am interested to consider using u guys as well. so how do i go abt it? other than deco right what other stuff can do? like flowergirl accessories and wrist corsages and ?

hi ashlady!

finally got down to mailing you the photos!

sent you my WG and EG... and you can take a look at robin's skills. hahaha... let me know what you think ya?

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Blessed New year!

Mehmeh and count,
Yup. i should rave about their wok. they told me they have done PLMC. Will pay that everything goes well. Can i check whether if plmc requires all the flowers to be retained after the service? Cos i was thinking of transporting some stands to my hotel.

Hi Ashlady,
Yeah, its important to get a good AD photographer cos it captures real moments. Im a sucker for presentation too.
I saw John's work from photolanguage before and i think its nice.

hi mehmeh,
heh..thanks! My photoshoot shld be either in May or June.

hi Angelala,
I've seen photolanguage's website..very nice! I think those journalistic style speaks a lot! But he's taken on my AD...keke. That's the problem with this kind of reputable & ex photographer...need to book them as early as u book ur banquet venue

hi SL,
Thanks so much for sharing! Reallie appreciate it

I like ur EG! Elaine has done a wonderful job in designing it! U must be quite tan to pull off that shade of orange. What material is it made of? Need to have a very good figure without any bulges to pull off the look...hee

Ur WG also very unique...never seen a WG with blue color before. Somehow duchess satin does make a gown looks more elegant...

I think Robin's style is a very safe style. That's the feeling i get when I saw his works at his place. I realise he's not as sharp in capturing emotions & facial expression. There's a pic of u in EG with your HB standing at the stairs, kind of look very serious. But i like the first one where both of u turned ard ur heads...u look very sweet

Ashlady, if u like the journalistic style, u can consider KC of Greymatter. My friends used him and were happy with his work. Abt same price as Ray, but KC uses digital instead of film =)

Not too sure abt the flowers also. Cos i may also transport the stands to the hotel, if i'm reusing the flowers

Hi Count,
Thanks for the welcome.
It has just been a few days since I last visited this thread n wow... seems like this is a very active thread.

Hi to other Sistas-in-Christ n BTB,
Wishing all a Happy New Year, shld be a Happy New Year for us all since we r all gonna get married in 2006... heee, so exciting right?

Can anyone email me the caterer's contact # and details for church reception? My wedding service will be held at 4pm... Any cheap n good (in terms of yummy food and decent presentation) caterer to recommend? My email addy is: [email protected]
Thanks in advance for all your help! Greatly appreciated!

hi ericia,

i'm no freelancer.. Just helping frens for now & building up my portfolio & gaining experience.

hi Angelala,

Yes, PLMC requires u to leave the floral deco at the altar & ur pedestal stand deco to be used on Sunday's service.

U shd have at least the centerpiece on the altar table & 2x pedestal stands left there. If Greenpoint is giving u more than what PLMC needs for service, then u can always transport the extra to ur banquet venue.

Hi Rachel,

I suppose with ur wedding service at 4pm, u prob are going to cater dinner? I just came back, really just, fr a wedding & had a lunch spread. The food by Four Season's is really gd!! I was also paying attention to teh service by the staff, quite gd & quick.

U can get more details fr www.fourseasons.com.sg. I dunno if they are considered cheap, coz it wld depend on ur budget, but no harm checkign them out.

Hi Ashlady,

okie, remind me abt Kim when i meet u on next Sunday k? Anything u need do give me a buzz

hi rachel

if you have a budget you can try CDCS. my friends commented the food was good and they do nice decor too for a very very decent price.

www.continental-delight.com.sg

hi ashlady... thanks. i think the EG is nice too. hahahaha... i chose orange coz i kinda suspected that no no will come in orange... esp that shade. so i was really hoping that i will stand out. and yes... i'm pretty tan... natural. i hate it. i look dirty half the time. hahahahahaha... fair girls normally look clean and approachable... no? =P

i cant really recall what material it was. some satin ba... =)

and i love my gown. i did contemplate buying it over from elaine but then again, i have no use for it. so decided against it.

elaine is very patient. you can tell her what you have in mind and she will give you her suggestion. =) my mom was in turqoise colour. i chose it for her too coz i wanted my mommy to stand out too. but the design she chose it herself... she already had that in mind and so happened that elaine suggested that too. so she was pretty convinced it will look good on her...hahaha.

so with elaine... i can say you are in safe hands!

Yo gals,
Did I mention that NOvo got big sale? Meh I went to buy that pair of heels that u posted with the link...heheh cos 30% and I oni paid 60++ and I took the last pair of size 6 in Spore hehehe...wasnt sure that I wanted it but realised oni 1 left so reserved it and tot better just take first cos chip chip...hhehe

Rachel: I think Elsie the bext bet leh...value for $. Mehmeh actually dun find 4seasons v gd leh...Angeli leh? I heard gd???

Angelala: u ready for ur wed yet?

Hi MehMeh n SL,
Thanks for the recommendations, I will check them out. hee, so happy
... on my way to striking another item off my "to-do" list

Hi ebell,
Do u have Elsie's contact # or weblink? Can u kindly email to me? email addy: [email protected]

hi SL,
heh..how can u dont like being tan?? There are so many girls out there who sun-tan just to get the look! hee...there's a connation of being sporty & healthy u know?

hi count,
thanks for the recommendation..will check out his works

oh gosh..i cannot imagine getting married this yr..hope i dont get cold feet!
kao_scared.gif

Ashlady... i know how u feel....
during watchinight service, immediately after 12mn, we were wishing each other happy new year and all, and ther ei sat in my pew, realising "I have less than one year to my wedding day."
Then suddenly a rush of stress came over me... but thank God that i was in church, i commited it to Him...

eh.... Ashlady, what do u mean by cold feet? as in back out? Haiyo.... =)

ashlady! hee... here's a little secret... i was so freaked out by the thot of getting married that up until the night before my wedding i was still thinking how i could book an air tix out of singapore, what was the best way to quit my job (do i need to serve one month's notice?), when to come back etc when everyone is less angry with me! hee.

to make matter worse, this immensely cute guy i used to like in JC called me the night before my wedding from Australia to tell me he wished he had tried harder and i started to wonder what made me gave up the whole forest for one tree!

what i'm trying to say is, i think it's a natural process to have experience cold feet coz it's such a big decision!

but i must say it was the best decision i have ever made. no regrets! everyone should get married! it's so much fun and freedom. hee no naggy parents for a start! =P

hi ribbons,
heh..like wondering if u shld get married at all in the first place? Wondering abt this guy that u going to spend the rest of your life with?

yes..thought of having less than 1 yr is quite stressful & overwhelming esp there's hundred & 1 things to do!

hi SL,
oh gosh, i hope i dont receive such calls! haha..it's definitely nerve wrecking! oh man, he really called at the most poignant time! keke..did u tell ur FH? *just curious*

hi ebell,

i had four seasons lunch spread at the wedding, not the tea spread.. Dunno if it's the same tt u had. I tried them once at their show at Fort Canning, also very gd. Service is also pretty prompt

Guess maybe one man's meat is another man's poison?

Wow, so glad u got ur shoes oredi.. think u must be elated to strike off another to-do item on the list.. heehee

Hi Rachel,

U're most welcome.. Here's the url to Elsie's Kitchen http://www.elsiekitchen.com.sg/

Hi Ashlady,

U get cold feet? Nah.. heheh

SL, yes i do recall u mentioning on the forum tt u had cold feet. Great to know tt u are enjoying married life a lot now! U sure sound like u're having a fun time!

Ribbons, thanks for ur email. The deco u did was very pretty! Will get back to u if i need help with floral deco. Cos the other bride on tt day has not mentioned anyt abt floral deco so far, and i will prob touch base with her in April during the marriage prep class lest she thinks i'm chasing her to settle stuff asap =)

And it's amazing tt 2006 is finally here. Now i can actually tell others tt i'm getting married THIS year. And my AD does not seem so far off!

Hi all sisters-in-christ,
I am rather disappointed with the current church which I am in. They can only do solemnisation on 1 of the specific weekdays and all alcoholic drinks are strictly no-no. Therefore me and my fh are planning to change church. sigh!

wah coco.. do take some time to seriously consider things like the church vision and mission before changing church coz that's a big move... =)

having said that, i guess it must be disappointing because you cant have the wedding the way you want it to be. is there any way to work around it? like having the celebrations on a different day from the solemnisation? =) i had my dinner and HM on 2 separate days.

btw... ashlady... sure i told my husband about the phone call. must let him know that his wife has 'market value' ma otherwise he will become complacent... hahahaha... a little competition is always good. but of course i only tell him factually what transpired. he doesnt know i had cold feet. =P and i dont intend to tell him... not essential. =) what matters now is that it was the best decision i ever made ma! =P

hey coco

i understand that most churches conduct the holy matrimony on saturdays only. my church as well.. i guess the restriction comes in coz most of the helpers are volunteers and the church does not want to pinch on them... coz of my personal circumstances, i had to hold the wedding on friday.. so after communciating with the church, they will help us with our HM on friday but i will need to find my own helpers... luckily my frens and cellgroup members are willing to help..

then for alcoholic drinks, its probably your church's practice.. do you mean that you are upset abt not being allowed to serve alcoholic drinks for your reception after the HM? or banquet included? perhaps you can compromise by not having alcoholic drinks during the reception? banquet wise, i think its pretty much your own call.. like wat SL said..actually i guess most of us are not having alcoholic drinks for reception leh..

then when's your AD? coz if you are planning to change church, you gotta make sure that you do fulfil the conditions set out in the new church before they will marry you..

do communicate with your current church.. i am sure things will work out.. afterall God put you and your fh in this church for a purpose. changing church for such a reason doesnt seem valid.

Ashlady: not that bad lah. i wasnt worrying about all that. All that i worry on another day. =p rather i starting thinking about the planning and how its just become so real to me. Like what count said, its 2006 and i can tell pple i am getting married THIS year. last june onwards when i tell pple i am getting married dec 06, they are like, wah so far ah. NOw i tell pple dec 06, they say "wah, so fast ah". hee...
i think its added pressure for me too, cos i have to really lose weight. Its not a bride being vain kind of thing. i really need to lose weight.. its going to be a tough road but i will make sure i succeed!

SL: I like how u defined the call.... market value.. HAHAH! Good one! I shall tell my hubby that too.

Coco: i shall not say anything about the change of church thing.. but maybe u wanna consider having ur signing on one day and have a formal church blessing with ur friends around lor. separate days. So for church blessing, u have pastor preach a short word, then maybe u can throw in other programs like unity candles and communion? And what do they mean by alcoholic is a no no? As in if they do solemnization at ur dinner, no alcoholic drinks are allowed or do at ur church reception no alcohol is allowed?

Hi MehMeh,
Thanks for the link to Elsie's kitchen !!!
kao_kiss.gif

As u can see, me changed my username.... haha, to protect my identity...
kao_scared.gif
wahahah, if it is not too late yet :P

hahhaah... snowrach... you are very cute! =P

ribbons, dont worry. nearing your wedding you will naturally shed some pounds. not because of dieting but with many things running through your mind you will find yourself 'exercising' alot while running errands and buying last min stuff... it happened to me... i spent all my waking moments thinking about the wedding and whatever free time i had i was running around comparing prices. hahahaha...

although i ate as per normal, i still lost weight... which was quite tragic coz i was very thin to begin with... =( my bridal boutique warned me against losing any weight. by the time it was my wedding, the gown felt quite loose esp at the chest (not boobs per se altho i didnt have much to begin with! hee.) area and i was afraid ppl could peep in. hahaha. coz got alot of space ma. =P

haiyah all this wedding talk is making me miss my wedding itself! =P

Meh: ya the shoes q happy lah. Next MOn goto go down to Mariott to mit the coordinators and to confirm decor with Zoo florist.

But I having problems with programme sheet. Anyone got soft copy can send me to take a look. I dunno the sequence of event and what to put in programme sheet. [email protected]

Meh: I cldnt get into Carelina's web site leh. How to go in?

I c u alll got soo much time I v sian mu. I think getting stress liao. And putting on weight
. Cham lah...

Carelinwen: Got ur pic...love it...v heartwarming
....thanks
) Where did u get ur bridesmaids dresses? How much per piece? Did u pay for them? Where's the green dress that u were talking about? So ur gown is self-designed that means not from SIL?

Love ur gold and black theme. So ur church colour theme is white green and red? How much did u pay for the rental of the cab ar?

heehee alot of qns hor

Hi SL,
hehehehe,
thanks for the compliment. I not cute but scattered-brain lar

Now I am searching for AD photographer, anyone has any recommendation/ referral (reasonable price and quality shots)? pls email me at [email protected]

XIE XIE
Domo Arigato
kao_byebye.gif

Hi Sisters in Christ,

In fact, I have posted before on this thread on help needed for ideas on where I got hold our HM, as our church do not cater their place for us.

I would like to ask for more ideas on the places we could hold our HM, like churches available, hotel ballroom, country club etc... As there are some churches that has rules stating that if they shall have function which required the hall or that their own members is getting married on the same day, they have rights to cancel our booking, which makes us uncertain of going along with this decision with some churches.

Do pour in your ideas, and share with me on possible locations. We need to locate a place soon... cos AD in Nov 18... hehe...

God Bless.

Hi ebell,

I got my sis and cousins their bridesmaids dresses from Daniel Yam, we went shopping together and it was hard to get 3 teens to agree upon what to wear. They were about 80 plus per piece after discount, I bought from Tangs.

I modified a design from a foreign mag for my WG and as i did not like frills and puffy things, I rejected designer's idea for rauching up the back of the WG and insisted on a neat row of pearls and ribbons instead. My Sil EG was only used for the indoor PS, trying to get the pics for those up soon, you check back the link on a later date.

My church wedding got lots of colours, I couldn't be bothered to stick strictly cos there was another bride before me whom wanted ivory, dark red and purple flowers so I just followed to share cost. I added extra flowers so I used ivory and greens. I had a touch of liliac (my booklets) and red (my bridal car)... ehh they are never to be placed together in pics so I don't care that these together are a bit clashing. Pink dresses was easy to buy and matched with everything so the bridesmaids wore pink. Easy right? Don't bother then will have less stress!

Think the red london cab rental was either $35 or $38 per hour, I only use the cab from 10 am till about 6.30 pm (including deco time). Sorry could not pass the contacts as the uncle said he will not be driving the red cab anymore.

My wedding was simple simple, no GDL, no gatecrash, dinner was 2 days after church wedding so relatively not so stressed.

hey patek

mind putting your email here?

i have got a list of churches available... May not be exactly updated, but it gives you a rough guide.

Hi patek,

You have your own pastor conducting yr HM for you already right? Then you should check with yr pastor and church policy about having HM outside. Some pastors/churchs do not encourage/allow having it in a ballroom or garden etc, while others are flexible.

For using churches that you are not member of, it is usually like that one, you usually can get confirmation only after 3 months to your date. It is enough time to prep and their own members will not book weddings so close to the date one. So what you can do is if your pastor is those flexible one, have your HM at your banquet venue as your plan B, then tentative book a church which can only confirm you 3 months to your date as plan A. Then pray and leave it to God. It is the sacrement that is impt, the venue is secondary.

hi patek,

hmm, not sure if had shared with u this..
1) TTC at Bukit Timah
2) Holy Grace Presbyterian at East Coast
3) Trueway Presbyterian at Queenstown

Non-church venues:
1) Orchid CC for Garden setting
2) Poolsides of many hotels
3) Burkhill Hall in Botanical Gardens
4) Sentosa for beach/garden setting
5) S'pore Art Museum
6) Asian Civilisation Museum
7) Function Rooms in hotels prior to banquet (can reuse deco for banquet, save some money in doing up deco in the function rm)

Just to bounce off ideas here.. But like what Carelinwen mentioned, do check with ur Pastor officiating the wedding if he wld prefer having to hold the service in church or external venues

Hi Ebell and SL,

Im having the cold feet now. Like what u say, i feel like quitting my job, take a plane to somewhere to hide away from all teh timeline and problems. Didnt think that it is such a tedious process before, its like only one month away.
Feel so much like changing the date. like not ready..dragging my feet to whatever i do now.

Hi MehMeh,
do you find four seasons lunch better or EK. I emailed EK but no reply lei. How about the flower deco? CDSC has some mixed comments..Im confused now too.

hi Angelala,

Press on! The race is abt to finish oredi

I haven't have the opp to try EK's lunch, so no comments. But i Four Seasons has quite gd lunch, but u got to look at budget too?

Floral deco was provided by EK, though it was only silk floral. But it def looked very okie, think it was orchids in a clear glass long vase.. Not too sure on CDCS, so cant give u my honest comments

hi angelala... yea press on! it's the last lap already. =) might as well get it done and over with and start a wonderful blissful marriage with your husband?! =)

ebell

i sent you a copy of the prog i followed during my wedding. =)

hi angelala... yea press on! it's the last lap already. =) might as well get it done and over with and start a wonderful blissful marriage with your husband?! =)

ebell

i sent you a copy of the prog i followed during my wedding. =)

SL: THanks soo much. By the way I was from arts too
). U fr FC ar? Y pastor from FC? My HM is in the garden so can't use powerpoint. U v pretty leh

Care: Thx. MIne din oso 2 days later. Wat did u do on the banquet day? I starting to regret abit leh cos like q sian marry twice...My sister keen on SIL leh...R they gd?

Angelala: I oso starting to feel funee but I try to think abt how life will be w/o my other half and all that God has done to bring us together then I feel more at ease. Funee been planning for so many mths then now like abit sian to plan just hope things turn out well and beautiful and get over soon...Heard fr my gfs that q normal to have jitters. Maybe we doing too much? Shld pass soem stuff to our helpers then not so stress I think...??? I told my FH tat I abit scared he says it's normal cos he oso abit scared...so mayb it's normal???

Watelse u not done yet? I got Elsie's tel. 96258455. U try and c . Heard Neo Garden oso not bad.

Meh, SL, Care? Did u gals feel like that too?
Meh, Care: U got ur programs in soft copy? Can share?