Christian Brides

hi ashley,

Haven't quite heard of a prelude too.. But wld be nice to have some music played when guests are streaming in, otherwise the atmosphere may be too tense too? Like what ribbons has mentioned, no hard & fast rule on this

U got the processional & recessional songs rite & so happy tt u found ur Canon in D! The uncle's really quite funny.. heheh, think it must have been a slip of the tongue huh

Hi ebell,

Nopez, it def not anything queer to have the wedding split-days affair. I had my HM on Sat & dinner on Sun. It gave me a lot more time to enjoy myself on Sat & rest till Sun, preps for Sun too. I see no harm in throwing the dinner on a Mon, if u parents want one & u not wanting to pay as much, i think it's a rather gd option.

Dun think of it as a 2nd wedding, just think of it as a chance to parade in ur beautiful wedding gowns!

ebell: not funny lah.. u can also treat it like a hui niang jia thing.. in the morning, go back to your parents place.. then at night end it with a big celebration lor! like the others, i would love to apread out my wedding parties, cos i want my friends to enjoy the day with us, and not be pooped out by it.. but i think u have to be prepared, monday dinners attendance may not be as good as weekends..

Ashley:... hee hee hee! so farnie! i think it was just a slip of tongue lah... maybe u should have told him, uncle if at your funeral, they play music that u dont like, next time u die again hor... hee..*so bad of me*

mehmeh: Whats HM?

hi Ribbons,

HM = Holy Matrimony

hey patek

i still have the packages in my inbox... can gimme your email so I can fwd to you?

Pohsan is a v nice and friendly lady. Have met her for a tour around Trueway.

I have not met Jenise from TTC, but have spoken to her over the phone. She sounds pretty nice too.

hey patek

i still have the packages in my inbox... can gimme your email so I can fwd to you?

Pohsan is a v nice and friendly lady. Have met her for a tour around Trueway.

I have not met Jenise from TTC, but have spoken to her over the phone. She sounds pretty nice too.

Ladies

Pardon me, but i made a mistake for the calculation for TTC (with In-House Caterer)

Venue Charge + *Florist + *In-House Caterer = Approx. $5,300

* Florist - $1,000 (Budget); Caterer - (250x$12)=$3,000 (Budget)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TTC (with external caterer)

Venue Charge + *Florist + Add. Charge for ext. Caterer + *Ext. Caterer = Approx. $5,600

* Same as above

Trueway

Venue Charge + *Florist + *Ext. Caterer = Approx. $7,200

* Florist - $1,000 (Budget); Caterer - (400x$12)=$4,800 (Budget)

hahaha ... ribbons, you are so cute. It wasn't a slip of tongue. He was really giving advice on songs selection. He even started to tell us his life story, on how he postponed his own wedding four times. Then he told us about this couple who threw temper at each other at the counter becos they were too stressed up over the songs selection and disagreed on the songs they want. He said,"You can disagree, but don't make a scene." That I thought is good advice. My bf tend to speak very loudly in public when we don't agree on things. I looked at my bf and repeated what the uncle said,"Do you hear that? Don't make a scene." Sometimes, we do make a scene without realising it.

I'm still sourcing for my chairs with seat covers. Realised those caterers don't rent them out unless you order catering service from them. I've more or less set on the florist I want, but quite expensive. I wanted to do it myself initially, but worried that I might not do a good job. I tell myself that if the money has to be spent, it has to be spent. That's the only way to console myself.

Ask you gals, do you decorate your unity candle - the big fat round one? How do you go about doing that?

Ladies

Pardon me, but i made a mistake for the calculation for TTC (with In-House Caterer)

Venue Charge + *Florist + *In-House Caterer = Approx. $5,300

* Florist - $1,000 (Budget); Caterer - (250x$12)=$3,000 (Budget)

TTC (with external caterer)

Venue Charge + *Florist + Add. Charge for ext. Caterer + *Ext. Caterer = Approx. $5,600

* Same as above

Trueway

Venue Charge + *Florist + *Ext. Caterer = Approx. $7,200

* Florist - $1,000 (Budget); Caterer - (400x$12)=$4,800 (Budget)

Ashley, as i mentioned, i've done wedding decor for pple, so i've done unity candles with a little floral arrangement around them (dont make it too big if not your audience can only see 3 flickering lights from the arrangement.. Will look like the roses are on fire), or you can go get glass candle stands (for the small candles), just put the 3 candles on the table and decorate the candles lor, with ribbons/ artificial flowers. Decor also depends on how the candles are going to be used.
Did once for my friend, thank God my arrangement can be changed man. I initially put on the middle of the candle, but when we were about to start, coordinator told me that pastor wants to let the two outer candles contonue burning.. So i moved the decor to the base of the candles.. That is for two outer ones lah, big candle no prob, go ahead and decor all you want.. hope this helps

Sogo & Meh & Ash:
Sunday din too ex and I dun wanna lose. Tryig sunday lunch but most taken. the 5 star hotels lunch v cheap one. Mariott, 4 seasons 588nett etc. I praying wan let God decide for me. Truth is abit funee cos my 1st day is a full Hm plus sit down reception. My wed in 3/5 mths time so must hurry liao.

Hey sisters...anyone not confirm ur din may wanna consider Mariott. promotiton from Jan to May all tables at 688NETT!!.

Ash: Where ue banquet? Get seat covers from Malay Caterers. They r much cheaper. My fren did up ACM, excluding table cloth and chairs, all florals in plus candles ect is $500.U v on task ur wed in spet and u more ready than me man...

Hey anyone knows any freelance who do fotos, casual shots, cheap cheap one...I dun have PS so wan soemthing simple and cheap.

hey Ivy,

thanks so much, you can email to me at [email protected]

will contact them and arrange to take a look at th venue.

Btw, how much should we budget for a church wedding, incl. catering, venue and decoration?

hi ebell,

Lunch sounds gd... Moreover it's Marriot leh! Hmm, better hurry & decide too, but as said earlier, lunch may lugi.. U cld specify tt lunch is a 8/9 course meal, tt shd give a gd hint. Even if they dun ask u, they might ask others & then get a gd gauge rite? just a thot

I ask my colleague if he wld like to take on ur prewedding PS.. He's a photography person, rem him wanting to develop a portfolio & earn a little fr side-lines

hi Ebell,

i think depends on how close i am to the person? Prob between $80-100? giving more as a form of blessing too.. If i know the banquet is at Ritz Carlton or Fullerton, then i try to give abit more, help even out APs which are under-given

hey patek

realised that i only have the trueway package in my inbox. the TTC one is in the inbox of my previous company email.

But I would suggest that you set aside about:
-$1500 for church venue (of cos, there are those that charges as low as $500 flat rate)
-$1000 for florist (try getting the church florist. External florist can be quite expensive)
-$12/pax for food (and always order 20% less for those of your guest list)

hi mehmeh and sister in Christ....

HELP....

do you gals have any standard speech for FH....

out of idea of what to talk maybe i can do some amendment if able to find the standard.

hi YY,

So sorry... Can't be of help here. I didn't have a template to make our Thank You speech.
But i guess the regular stuff included are:
1) Parents
2) Siblings
3) Aunts & Uncles, if very close
4) Helpers
5) All guests

Try a Google search??

Thank You speech where got template one!!?!??

Should be your heart-felt words mah. Template or standards so unsincere...

hi wavey....

i oso feel so but i feel is better to have some standard things for FH to modify better than he got too stress and become touge tight. My FH...*shake head*....sigh.....

Thanks Mehmeh,
i did find some standard from google to modify....think can help FH a bit this way.

wavey.. I'm sure YY's not asking for a speech that they can read from word for word lah... but at least have a guage of what needs to be included. Wait in their kan cheong-ness, they leave out some pple how?
A template can be followed, its just how sincere you are in expressing it..

WYY, just have to get him to prepare or write down what he wants to say before that day loh.

I wrote so much but didn't say whatever I wrote cos I was too emotional. Left out almost everybody.

wavey...

Christian Guys (in my thoughts) are those who are wise, gentle, thoughtful and God seeker....

My FH is not 100% of everything mentioned. He is a bit MCP and as stubbon. dun worry....FH is good in English.....

(seek forgiveness first).......actually i wanted him to go thru this speech paraption so that he can really think thru the people he want to thanks not so much if he can say the exact words he wrote...(kinda of torturing him).....

I know him, if you dun push him, he will stay aside and be lazy. To me if he cannot read out at least he put his heart and soul to think thru.

However, it will be wonderful if he can read out.

I had a friend who prepared his speech after he proposed to his wife.SO prepared hor? what he didnt count on was that On the wedding day it self, he was so kan cheong and so emotional, when it came to thanking the brides father, he went blank and he said "uhh.. uhh... uncle, your daughter very pretty. THank you."
The audience couldnt help but break out in laughter and claps of encouragement for him man.. hee..

I guess you can chooose to personally thank all your helpers and familiy, or u might wanna catergorizw them and thank them in groups.

I intend to thank them in groups, cos we dont wanna make our church wedding to long. (Scared pple think too draggy.) So we'll thank in groups, but there will be a power point showing the names of the people who helped. I feel, that pple like to see their names.
Think about it, what would u prefer: A ang bao? Or to have your name mentioned to all the guests? Most pple would prefer to have their names made known... Boosts their pride..
Just my sharing..

hihi YY,

All the best in helping ur FH with his speech.. I think while u can always prepare for 1, heheh, when it comes to the real thing just always be prepared for to react accordingly

I thanked my helpers & guests first, it's easier to thank them before thanking my parents. Coz it was quite emotional when it came to thanking them, so the light-heartedness prior to thanking my parents helped to ease the mood. I figure the reverse wld work too, coz no one wants to take pix teary eyed yah

Jia You!

wavey....i am not hard on him (oops forgot abt the submit part of a wife).....but is really telling him to wake up and work....

but i can say, guys and gals work differently and think differently....so for me to provide him the tamplate is already making things easier for him .....( cannot believe myslef i oso so stubbon)....

haha WYY u so cute. no lah. I guess it's good to make him think through 1st loh.

The thing abt Thank You Speeches at Christian weddings (at least the ones I've attended) is that they are more sincere. SOME (not all) non-Christian weddings I have attended, I find the speech very ... hmm... what's the word........ very diplomatic or v "political" loh. don't like.

so I think Thank You speeches should be your own heart-felt words

Haven't dropped by here for a while, glad to see that this thread is going strong!

wyy
Hubby and I both gave thank you speeches. His was in English while I gave mine in Chinese. This was the list of people that we felt we ought to thank:
- God
- Both our parents
- All our helpers (if time permits, do name them)
- Our guests

We also thanked each other and I personally felt this was one of the sweetest part of our speech.

hi yy,

U're most welcome!

Hihi Cookie's Gal..

Haven't heard fr u in a longlong time! How's everything? Getting on with Proj B?
I totally forgot to thank my HB! *oops* My HB did thank me though.. *blush*

WYY: Think as gals we all hope our men to be strong in their walk in God so that we can depend on them but hor many of us, including me jus goto keep praying and entrusting them in God's hands...kkekke and meanwhile we oso try to walk rt with God

BY the way hor...who havent confirm wed and getting married b/w Jan and May? Mariott got special promotion.

hihi Carelinwen
331196.gif

All the best for the last leg u gotta run! Just 2 more days to the finale! God bless u with wonderful weather & smooth-sailing schedules

I'm bac frm my honeymoon le
had a great time in melbourne!

have not been catching up with the forum for a week plus and there's so much to catch up! I wanted to update after my wedding but had too much to do to even check my emails properly.

Anyway I super thank God for all that went during my wedding (church & banquet on the next day)..my hubby & I felt it was went perfectly! and we enjoyed every moment thoroughly! not much anxieties except the night before & prior to walking down the aisle. Hard to elaborate so much here..i would be posting up photos somewhere to tell the whole story but haven't got the pics yet tho. i tried bloggin it on my wedding blog but i accidently closed the window & i couldn't recover it..

anyways we really thank God for the perfect weather coz it was cloudy and cool on the 2 days and only started pouring after the wedding, so timely!
our tea ceremony in the morning went really smoothly with lotsa time for us to hang around and rest cos my church wedding only starts at 4pm.
our caterer, Harvest catering was really great with their service and food.
we loved the church deco my friends did for the wedding...they 'pinkerized' the cross in the front of the church and there was every pew had flowers and ribbons which lotsa ppl took home after the wedding.

so much to give thanks for! one of which was the issue with having my parents in the wedding (they're divorced and are not in gd terms with each other at all). I chose to walk in on my own instead of having my dad or my mum walk me in. really thank God that there were no bad issues that cropped up b/w them and i'm glad that both of them could enjoy the wedding too.

all in all, God really watches over us into every detail even those we miss out. really experienced the love of God & His guidance thru it all.

Juz to all to-be-brides, con't to trust in Him...preparation to get married is a process of growing in the Lord & getting to know our families & to-be-husband even better. ;)

hi SkyeSkye

Congrats on ur wedding & how God was present & had blessed the entire 2 days! Praise God for He is good!

Oh yeah, do let us in on the excitement at ur wedding when ur blog & pix are ready yah?

331377.gif
Hope to hear tt u & HB wld grow to know each other & the Lord more each day as u 2 begin this new chapter! Do come in & encourage the rest of the sis-in-Christ k? Cheers!

Hi mehmeh,
Thanks for remembering! I am half excited, panicky and half tired and boh chap already. Must learn to lean more on Christ and quit worrying.

With God's grace I got my flat last Wed liao. All the best in your ballot selection too!

Thanks for all the help from all the sis-in-christ here!

hi Carelinwen,

Heheh, i sure will rem & rem to check the table. U gers have also rem when mine was approaching & gave all ur best wishes & blessings!

What's up for today? U shd actually be going for u mani & pedi, tying up many loose ends rite? heheh.. Rem dun drink water after 8pm k?

Yupz, heard u got ur flat in TPY! I'm hanging in there, wait & see the situation & evaluate if i really want to pay tt sort of money for a small flat leh.

Jia You!

Hi mehmeh,

found from the search that you are doing postcards invite. could you kindly share your printer/designer with me pls? I'm sourcing for printers that do postcards designs and would like to give urs a call to ask for quotation too.

can you send ur contact to [email protected]

tks very much in advance!

hi all, i am now looking into the church programme and printing of church wedding bulletin (not sure if its the right name to call it but its the programme printed for church wedding with songs lyrics) as well as church wedding invites. anyone got any template to recommend? btw do pple usu print in 2 languages for church invites and programme? or can partial (ie like 10 cards only with chinese words for elderly pple)

I had a great wedding, the weather was good; not hot and breezy. Everything was relaxed and kept simple. I was not very stressed but events flew past in a daze, did not even see the flowers deco along the alsie until I view the raw video footage.

There were small minor hiccups in the church though but by then I had decided not to let anything affect me. I had prayed with my hubby in the morning to let God handle everything. We stop to pray together cos he misplaced his cufflinks and I was frantically searching for it high and low. It was affecting my mood so we stopped, prayed and after that I decided to stop searching and improvised with thin ivory ribbons tying his cuffs together instead. It complemented the row of ribbons down my back of the gown so we managed to pull it off.

We certainly had many laughs, the best was that one of my cousins who was my bridesmaid got separated from the other two and sat chating with her boyfriend at the front of the church not realising that she was supposed to standby at the door to march in with me. We were outside the door and could not reach her on her hp and was preparing to go on without her. Until the church bells started to ring then she suddenly remembered and did a 100m dash down the alsie and slipped out thru the door before the bells stopped. It was all caught on video and it is hilarious!!!

Thanks to all for your well wishes! My dinner banquet is on Mon, so have to start the preps for it today.

Hi Erica,

I did the booklets all in MS word and printed them myself using a laser printer. I order one toner cartridge to replace and bought my own paper after getting permission from my boss to use the office laser printer. I just had a colour paper as the cover and tied thin ribbon to hold everything together. So the format, layout and language can be anything you like if you DIY. Just make sure the words and order of service is right.

Carelinwen,
Ur AD sounds really fun! Thank God it went really well! Very very blessed of u to get a flat in TPY. When will it be ready? Hope u're enjoying marital bliss ;)

Wow, u actually did DIY job for ur booklets! I tot must get a printer. Looks like I shd think abt it too when the time is closer. Enjoy ur banquet k?

Mehmeh,
Which flats did u ballot for? How was it? Realised tt God has been wonderful to many of us in flat selection. Carelinwen and i got our flats, and my uni CGL managed to get an ideal unit at Tiong Bahru on his first try! Let us know how the balloting goes k? ;)

hi careliwen, thats a good idea, do you think you can email me the templates for these? [email protected]

I suppose DIY is cheaper? Or anyone know of any cheaper and good printer for these? I can consider these 2 options..