Christian Brides

hi ashley,

Yupz, my invites are uploaded in my Multiply site. Do check it out & see if tt's what u're referring to. The name of my printer is also mentioned, i paid $0.70/card for 365 cards printed. So i figure the price wld be abit higher for 100 cards only..

Hi Ashlady,

Oh hmm.. Coming fr the grandma ah.. Thankfully u've secured a banquet venue yet. So u & WB have to sit down & source for another date which wld be significant to u two i guess.. Maybe a couple & let his grandma pick?? At least u get what u want & satisfies them at the same time

Of coz u need to get the furniture in abt 1 mth before the AD, but HM is going to keep the set for u till then? tt's interesting...

Hi Ericia,

No probs abt not being able to find time to reply.. U take ur time yah?

Decision-making is tough, but it's thru such processes where u learn more abt each other too.. One day u might just look back & laugh!

Eh, i'm not the most sure of what the roast pig is for. Generally it's meant only for the bride who's Cantonese to receive fr the groom's, but these days most dialect groups practise tt.. I'm not a Cantonese, but since my mum & I like roast pigs, we had one given by my ILs! hahah

ooo ... I know what the roast pig is for. It's like a symbol for the bride's virginity. I can't remember the actual way to do it, but it has to do with the bride being recognised as a virgin thro the act of the groom bringing a roast pig back to the bride's parents' house three days later. If the pig is cut off somewhere (can't remember where - the ears I think), then it suggests that the bride is not a virgin.
It's a cantonese custom.

I just realised I'm very behind time. I haven't printed my invites yet and my AD is less than 5 weeks away.

yup it's a cantonese custom...

btw girls... here's a nice photo to remind you girls of God's goodness!

not one... but 2 rainbows! =) taken at melbourne on yarra valley during my honeymoon...

may the Lord bless you girls with lotsa favour as you prepare your dream weddings!

323446.jpg

hi SL,
WOW! you are so blessed to have seen this with your naked eyes! Beautiful...

hi mehmeh,
Haiz..there are no other significant dates liao
..just let his dad decide loh. Whichever is the date will be significant in itself. keke..trying to brainwash myself. ya loh..luckily we havent book the church & banquet venue yet!

Oh, we told HN that we need it a few mths before the AD...the furniture can come in earlier than the mattress i guess. Frankly, I cannot imagine tearing down his current furniture. It's going to be a disaster! Man-made disaster..keke.

hi mehmeh,

finally i saw your pic....your AD pic....nice man....howz life now as Mrs? I am going thru the PMC class and completed the Bruce's book talking about the HEAD of family, roles of wife and husband....etc real tough ......only by forcusing on HIM then things will be good......

Seek ye first

*sigh*

about less than 6 months to my wedding, my FH wanted to do up the Church invitation card (in a form of inserts with my Banquet Invitation) ....wondering if you have a copy of the wordings and layout for the invitation card for both Church and Banquet....have been trying to look for something but cannot find leh.....*sigh*

oso have been cracking my head of the tasks my sisters and brother' team suppose to do...can enlighten me??

my email [email protected]

struggling now for my wedding and feel a bit scare to get marry....

hi ashlady,

wow, HN is willing to hold onto the sets for u huh? Then u & WB have certainly got urselves a gd deal..

In the meantime u shd keep a lookout for drapes, bedsheet sets.. Must buy during GSS or EOY sales, usually the discounts are very gd.

Looking fwd to u announcing when u're able to finalise the big day's date
323559.gif

Hi YY,

323560.gif
for the lovely compliments.. Mrs life is quite blessed, my HB's very patient & understanding.. He's also very supportive in everyway, though at times I feel knocking his head for listening to what i was saying to him!! Life as a DIL is more tricky, but shan't comment too much, submit tt i wld learn patience

Yupzyupz, seek Ye first the kingdom of God.. Often during the wedding preps, we really focus too much on the wedding rather than the life ahead, so got to make sure we are on the right track for the right thing

Check out my multiply site again, i posted my church invites there.. If not check out this website: http://www.verseit.com/ for ideas on wording the invites.

Layout for the banquet invites is quite standard, LHS is English & RHS is Chinese.. If u can't find the words, just tell ur printer the necessary details (banquet venue, date, address, time for cocktail & to be seated) & then ur printer will amend their existing templates. I dun have the layout for the Banquet invites, coz i amended what my printer offered & let her do the job, coz she knows the stuff better

hihi mehmeh,
yup, waiting for the day when we can confirm our wedding date, book church & banquet venue! i think i'll feel less stress when these 3 are settled!
hey, how do u put those cute icons up?

hi ashlady,

heheh.. How ah? Experiment! Look to the bottom of the page, u see "Emoticons"? Right-click & open a new window, shd see the various sorts of emoticons which are hosted by the fourm.. Those which u see I've posted & not in the list were downloaded as images & then uploaded as attachments..

D says i spend way too much time here! But i dun like watching TV, so i surf here alot!

Hi YY,

I did my banquet & church invites separately, if you would like to see the wordings done i can email you the jpeg of the banquet & church invites. My church invites fit nicely into the envelopes of the banquet invites, though they're quite separate. Also coz there are some ppl whom we invited to the church wedding but not the banquet.

As for the jiemeis & brothers roles...
these are what my jiemeis are helping me with:
- Coordination (one of my jiemeis is in charge of coordinating the church wedding from the program, to the photo multimedia, slides etc)
- Ushering
- One of my jiemeis follow me everywhere i go, ie help me with my dress, personal stuff etc
- Time Keeper (so that the morning tea ceremony is kept to the timing)
- Morning gatecrash sabo-ing!

the brothers are helping us with:
- gatecrashing!
- Coordination (he helps my other jiemei with the coordination of the church wedding but mainly the catering, logistics, parking, ushering etc)
- Clearing up etc

hope this helps!

thanks mehmeh & skyeskye....

i shall chk out and do up wif something...thanks for your help....will keep u updated.

Hi Skye Skye,
Can i see ur invites too? Doing preliminary research on church invites. Saw Mehmeh's on her website already and foudn them pretty! Thinking of doing church invites postcard style. Which printer did u use and how did u pick them? Quite lost abt these things... Hee
My email addie is [email protected]

SL,
ur photo is so pretty! marvellous to see the rainbows! sure u ennjoyed ur honeymoon lots! =)

hi YY,

U're welcome, though i wasn't of much help.. Sorry! If u happened to have kept any invites u received or just keep a lookout on the invites u might receive for the wedding dinners to come, refer to them & use them as a guide. I was blessed to have 2-3 weddings earlier than mine, so i used those as reference..

U've got 6mths ahead, so quite abit of time to play ard with

hihi! just wondering if there's going to be free flow of beer, how many bottles of wine is enough?
supposing i have 25 tables...

hihi ashlady,

Which venue are u referring to? U can always negotiate with whichever banquet coordinator on this..

D just received an email publicity fr Citibank tt Crown Hotel at Orchard has perks to offer to CB customers who intend to hold their wedding there. Think there's a $1k discount & some other perks

hihi mehmeh..referring to Chijmes. WB & I realised that we are very bad at negotiating! Cant bring ourselves...think i need to make my skin thicker! How to negotiate ah?

hi mehmeh,
havent see the pricing yet.. just pop by whenever we go for dinner there.. will go to jalan basar too.. but we are just getting 2 or 3 lights.. a bit foolish to run all over the place.. haha.. anyway, do u know which paint is good?

i remembered u shared with me abt elsie kitchen.. i now getting a caterer for a lunch reception after the tea ceremony.. but elsie kitchen min no of pax is 30 pax.. think that can serve abt 50 ppl right.. that is a bit too much food.. any idea whether i can cater less than 30 pax.. with other caterer also can

where u got ur roast pig from? i checking for my friend who is getting married on the same day too.. he say he was quoted 500 bucks for a pig.. which is so ridiculous ex..

hi ericia,
think ur wedding is in mid next yr right.. so there should not be anything much to do.. apart from reno and confirmation of vendors.. so dont be so stress.. u can still take it easy.. though u may want to book early for videographer, photographer, and band (if required)

hi ashley,
i target to send out my invites 25 days before ad.. so u should be fine.. mine still in the printing process.. can only collect 1 mth before ad

hi sl,
thanks for sharing the pics.. it is beautiful

Hi mehmeh,

You wouldn't believe it. The wording you have on your invite - it's what I have on mine!!! I found some on a website and got my fiance to choose from three. He chose the one you fancied. These few days are public hols and I haven't been able to get hold of printers other than T-dragon. They quoted $160 and need two weeks to print after confirmation. I find that very slow. I'm trying to contact your printer, Axxa, in the meantime becos you were saying they could get it done within 1 week.

hi ladies, wanna ask opinion: are false ceiling with lightholders mainly for aesthetic purpose? is it practical to have these things? will it cause prob like hard to clean etc? i know most pple do that nowadays but i wonder what are the actual purpose for doing this.
ggjj, thanks, i have booked AD PG too. by bands u mean wedding bands? those we found , we shopped too early for wedding bands, few mths ago we happened to walk into goldheart and found sth nice and ordered liao.

hi ashlady,

how to negotiate ah? Hmm, just ask assertively, mentioning tt u were quoted by some other hotels. According to Jen, she says a conservative estimate of wine required is abt 1.5 bottles per table

hihi ggjj,

I didn't get paint! Hahah, no idea yet what paint is gd. Think my mum recommended the "washable" type, ie when dirtied, u can wipe with some mild detergent sort?? *clueless*

I ordered the roast pig fr Tiong Bahru's famous stall.. U can place an order online. HB's family paid for it, he says abt $388.. Apparently the price fluctuates, it cost tt price during Sept (8th lunar mth) & prob cheaper during the non-peak period (no pun intended). Prob during Dec, many more weddings? So the demands pushes the price up??

Actually most caterers would cater if u've a min of 30 pax.. I engaged Neo Garden for lunch at my place after the tea ceremony, food's gd & u're right, we placed orders for 30 but it cld feed approx 40

hi ashley,

Yupz, Axxa can do up the invites real fast if u got ur format done up in Photoshop or Freehand. But u're doing inserts huh??

hi ericia,

i think ggjj refers to a live band.. heehee
Hmm, u'r right, many ppl do go for false ceilings & the concealed wiring.. Prob it does serve some aesthetic purpose, but on the other hand, u prob wun have to clean much rite? coz majority of it is concealed

hihi ggjj,

U are only able to get ur invites 1 mth before the AD? Hmm.. think u had better call up the ppl u intend to invite, confirm their attendance then follow up with the card. At least u can guarantee their attendance, coz sending the invites 25 days ahead of the AD is quite tight in catering for both the HM & banquet

Moreover, dec is a particular mth where many ppl do get married, so if they have oredi RSVPed with another couple, at least u know in advance to prepare accordingly. Saves u time & effort in addressing, as well as having more time closer the AD to focus on other preps

hi ericia,
i mean live band cos these are quite limited and are usually booked in advance.. do confirm early if u are getting it.. as for wedding bands, u can get it like one month before ur photoshoot.. cos it may need abt one month to deliver for some brands.. dec period and valentine period got very good disc.. u can watch out for that

hi mehmeh,
how much is neo garden per pax..

i had already sent out the "save the date" card to all my friends and colleagues.. our parents have also dropped hints to their guests.. so it should be alright.. cos my hotel only needs confirmation 7 days before my wedding

talking abt dec, my wedding is on 17, and i got to attend weddings on 3 and 10 dec.. these i knew quite some time already.. it is only when i sent out my save the date card.. i was informed yesterday that one of my friend is getting married on my day too.. i actually tot he is pulling my leg and he tot i am pulling his..
luckily his dinner is on 19.. otherwise i wonder who will attend which one of our wedding.. but i got to postpone my honeymoon by one day..

hi mehmeh

ya, i know abt heartfelt sppech but my FH will be the one to blah blah blah... hee

thot if i can find some sample of tks-giving speech as reference

hi hi!

ashlady... we had 70 tables and we bought 50 bottles of wine coz we had free flow of beer as well. =)

ggjj... my MIL bought the pig from tiong bahru area too. could be the same as mehmeh's! =)

as for the false ceiling and lightholders.. my parents house has that and for the last 15 years i stayed there, my mom has never cleaned it. they look pretty alright... maybe i never bothered to look up and scrutinize it ba? hee.

ashley... Tdragons can negotiate wan... let them know when you need them by they will be wiling to rush them out for you. =) i used them for my cards and are very very pleased with their service. =)

hihi ggjj,

I think the lunch cost abt $10-12 per head. My mum did the catering on this, coz she wanted to be involved in this way & make sure she ordered the right food tt has always been so gd

oh u sent out save-the-date huh? I did too, but it was an e-card nonetheless. Phews, if not i wld get so anxious for you.. But isn't tt gd tt u can now attend ur fren's wedding too??

hihi esiuol,

Ohh, so sorry.. Maybe u want to try google??

hi sl,
thanks abt the pig.. will let my friend know

hi mehmeh,
thanks for ur concern.. mine was also ecard too.. i diy it.. cos if i get my planner will cost money again.. as what my bf say.. anything u touch is money.. of course i will like to attend his wedding.. if he is not a close friend.. i will not even bother to reschedule my honeymoon.. haha..

btw, i am feeling less stressful now.. now only left helper list, caterer, car deco and those minor stuff to settle..

hi mehmeh,
it is me again.. looks like u are my personal consultant.. check with u.. what songs u use in ur processional and recessional segments.. i am thinking of some instrumental songs that are grand yet have a christian theme in it.. not sure u know what i mean.. already got my banquet songs and worship songs, just not the church walkin songs..

btw i got my worship team liao.. remember i say we dont know who to ask for to help us to do worship.. cos my cell has only one person who is confident to lead worship but no one to play instruments.. we appoint him to help us form a team.. in the end he got 2 friends.. 1 of them was previously in my bf cell and the other one was from my campus cell.. it is so wonderful that everything just work out so nicely..

can i have ur email add again.. got something to ask u.. not convenient here..

thanks ! thot u mean wedding band.

i dun have any lobangs for live bands though. anyone got any lobangs to recommend? how much they cost? i still dun have anyone to do the worship for my wedding.sob.
hmmm seems like most pple do false ceiling nowadays. is partial false ceiling cheaper (those that dun cover whole ceiling like eg L shaped kinda thing) got any pros and cons? this is the headache i have now. to do or not to do false ceiling and to have or not ceiling fan.

processional i think i heard someone say 'the prayer' by celine dion is gd and with christian theme too...but i dunno what the song is never hear b4. i think canon is good too for processional. recessional...most pple use the std wedding thingy song.

hi ericia,
u want live bands? i got mine thr my planner.. saw their performance in harry's at holland v.. quite good.. and i find it quite affordable.. if u want the contact.. i got to ask my planner though.. cos i dont even have their contact..

i think prayer is not bad.. but not sure whether it is over used.. i just came back from my cellgroup and we decide to have the vocalist for the processional and recessional too.. so canon is out..

hi mehmeh,
sure take ur time.. i will email u shortly.. u know what i am addicted to this forum already.. i will just switch on my com and whenever i got email prompts from forum i will log on to forum.. been sleeping past 1 everynight just waiting for msgs.. so silly...

hi ericia,
forgot to add.. as for ur worship team.. dont worry just pray.. i also so worry abt my church mc and worship team.. but my bf and i prayed and now got my prayers answered..

hihi ggjj,

managed to get the PC back! hahah..
Processional: Rem my HB composed & sang the song, while his gd fren played the guitar. U can hear it fr my Multiply site, under "Video"

Recessional: Instrumental contemporary piano piece by Jim Brickman - "Partners in Crime" (not the best title though)

March-in as Husband & Wife: Instrumental from "That Thing You Do Soundtrack" - "Shrimp Shack"

Check out this URL (http://rockhay.tripod.com/wedding/music.htm) for suggested titles to be used in a wedding & each window opened to each song has a Midi version of how the song is like, to give u a feel

Otherwise check out Life Bookshop &amp; listen to a couple of CDs which are compiled with wedding songs. I like "Answered Prayer"; "Till the end of time" fr this particular album (sorry, can't rem the title, but the CD cover is in <font color="119911">Green</font>), both have a really grand feeling to their intro &amp; there's a climax in the song too.. So it makes a "Wow" impact!

PTL for u being able to find ur worship team... So ur fren's going to worship lead, how abt the 2 others, on instrument? God truly answers prayes! I think during ur Thanksgiving speech, u can share God's goodness in ur wedding preps, can be a gd platform to do subtle evangelism

hi mehmeh,
haha.. i can forget abt my bf singing to me.. unless i pray very very hard.. it will really be a miracle..

i got the cd from life bookshop.. now looking at the lyrics and see whether it is suitable.. actually i tot of using "this is the day"..

dont think will do another march in.. think will end at recessional cos everyone will be going to banquet.. will give my thank u speech there.. my chapel no aircon.. so want to min time spent there

yup my friend going to lead worship.. he got one pianist and one guitarist.. now he trying to get another female vocalist.. he is very good one.. so detailed for a guy..

thanks for ur advice.. look forward to hear from u.. night

I hope I don't sound ridiculous here, but could anyone tell me where I could get some nice chairs with white seat covers? My caterer only provides a very small table with ordinary chair. I've always wanted to decorate my solemnisation chairs with ribbons and flowers.

Hi ericia,
False ceiling is nice, I think. My no-good contractor charged me the same rate for L-shaped and almost-fully covered one, citing lame reason like L-shaped takes alot of workmanship. An ID at IMM quoted me much less on L-shaped - she said those uncle IDs quote you fully covered one to earn more from you. I'm not sure how true this is tho. At first I wanted L-shaped one, but feel that it may not stand the test of time in terms of its aesthetical value down the road. So I did almost-fully covered one in the living area and L-shaped one in my bedroom.

hihi ggjj,

Oh gd tt u got the CD oredi... Spend some time to listen &amp; pick out the right song. But hey, u might never know if ur FH wld sing at the banquet u know??

So u're not going to take pix in the chapel with the beautiful stained glass as the backdrop? Hmm, i never knew tt tt part of SJI wasn't air-condiitioned

Praise God tt u got a worship leader who knows of ppl to help! I think the worship leader wld know who he is comfortable working with, so it's really best tt the sourcing had been left to him.. Now u can relax a little more

hi Ashley,

nono, u're def not sounding any ridiculous.. Maybe u can ask ur banquet coordinator if they cld lend u 2x white seat covers??
U shd actually ask ur caterer to provide the skirting &amp; table linen, as well as seat covers. These days most caterers wld be able to supply seat covers, but mainly if ur recep is a sit-down affair or an expensive buffet.. But supplying 2 seat covers shdn't be too much of a problem fr their side

hihi!
Just to check, for those having the church wedding &amp; banquet dinner on 2 days, do you use the same car deco for 2 days? What if it rains or the flowers turn bad? i forgot to ask my BS regarding this...also forgot to get corsages for the dinner..i only got enough for the church wedding. Haiz..the more i think abt the wedding preps, the more qns i can think of!

Skye Skye
Can pls resend cos I didn't receive ur mail? My addie is [email protected]

Ashlady,
U shd check with ur BS if they use fresh or silk flowers. As far as i know, Silhouette is giving me silk flowers so they shd last over 2 days. Hope this helps =)

hi ashley

you might wanna negotiate with your caterer again. like what mehmeh says, they normally do provide things like extra chairs and decors. =)

ashlady

i had my wedding on 2 separate days. on the 2nd day, i didnt use the bridal car. Hubby and I went down to the hotel earlier to check in so there wasnt a need for the car. =)

my florist provided silk flowers too. i think it will be better coz when you drive around, it might be damaged by the wind if it is fresh flowers. and what if it rains?

hee... and like you, i only got enough for the church wedding. i think no one noticed. =)

but do ask your florist. my florist initially only gave 6 i think. and i asked for 9. by then, i was too pai seh to ask for more. coz i'm very bad at negotiation... thin skin la. =P

hi ggjj!

congrats on forming the wedding worship team! =) btw have you got the polaroid camera? do let me know if you need mine. =) "this is a day" is a very nice march in song. i used a secular one by david foster "the best of me" and for march out, i used shrek II's theme song "accidentally in love". for the dinner i used the canon by pachebel and "fly me to the moon".

my sister-in-law knows a jazz band. if anyone is interested, maybe i can ask her for the contact?

i was also very addicted to this forum before my wedding. hee. even at work i couldnt stop myself from visitng this webstie! now once in a while i will still come in to take a peek!

have a great weekend friends!

hihi ashlady,

I checked into the hotel after the church recep, so the car deco wasn't necessary for the 2nd day, ie banquet. If u're not using hotels, u might just want to whisk urself to the venue. Generally, apart fr hotels &amp; country clubs providing some space at the foyer to 'display' the bridal car', other venues dun provide such a privilege

In addition, it might look kinda weird tt u &amp; ur FH who wun be in ur wedding attire in the 2nd day, to be seated in the bridal car rite?

U can always request for more corsages, my BS provided 1 set for day &amp; another set for night. Do make sure ur FH also has 2 corsages..

hi mehmeh,
saw the lyrics.. think answered prayer is very meaningful and romantic.. but hor my worship leader say very hard to sing cos the key very high.. and i want live music.. so that is out... my bf has explicitly say he will not sing to me already.. sob sob

i think we will not have posed pic taking in the chapel.. cos we want journalistic photos on our ad.. that's why we got kuang.. anyway, we already took so many chapel pics in our ps..

talking abt photo taking, check with u do u think i should get another photographer and videographer as a back up even though we already have a prof videographer and photographer.. if really need to get back up.. i can only get friends.. cos no money already.. but if gettting friends, how do they get to enjoy in my wedding.. i want them to be entertain as guests..

hi sl,
i need 2 cam right.. my guest list is abt 300.. but u only got 1.. jen from the other thread offer to lend hers to me.. she can lend 2.. still pending confirmation.. if she really lend me hers then i dont need to borrow from u.. can i confirm nearer to dec..

i try not to use a secular one.. cos we want a christian theme for church wedding and jazz theme for dinner.. my worship leader is quite stressed out.. cos he need to have a total of 7 christian songs to source.. haha..

hi ashlady,
i got 2 sets of corsages for the parents, best man and groom.. think ur bs should be able to accommodate cos it doesnt cost much

Thanks mehmeh, for the suggestion. I'll see if my banquet coordinator could lend me some seat covers and see if the chapel got any decent-looking chairs. You'll be surprised at the fact that my caterer doesn't have any seat covers - I've checked with her and she seems to find my request strange and farfetched - my fiance asked if they have table cloths with skirting for the reception and she said so far, nobody has asked for such thing. I'd much prefer to have another caterer so I could get some decent-looking table linen, but it'll cost another $500 to get an external caterer.

I'm so glad that you gals are talking abt songs bcos I'm wrecking my brains over songs too. I thought I'll definitely have to settle for the two typical processional and recessional songs - the bridal march and canon in d. Looks like I have more options now. Thanks gals.

Could any of you gals send me the songs if you have them so that I could listen to them?

By the way, I'm also extremely addicted to this forum. There was this period of time my bf was so upset with me bcos of my addiction. I had to highlight to him some of the benefits I got from this forum - like the contacts for various vendors, and reviews on the things we buy. Now, I got suggested songs to add to the list.

Whoever thought of creating this forum is truly a genius.

hi ashley,
i think u can consider some of these songs too..
1) "How Beautiful"
2) "Just Let Me Say"
3) "In Moments Like These"
4) "The Power of Your Love"
5) "Till the End of Time"
6) "Cherish the Treasure"
7) "Answered Prayer"
8) "This is the Day"

Think the lyrics are very beautiful.. btw, i have selected the following worship songs:
1) "Faithful God"
2) "Through It All"
3) "My First Love"

Which songs have you selected for worship?

Thanks ggjj,

My vocalist friend will choose the songs for me. I told her specifically I want something simple for the benefit of non-believers. She got one English and one Chinese song for me. And becos we're going to different churches, I don't know the songs she's singing. I want her to be comfortable with the songs instead bcos she's the vocalist.

yes..i think i need the car deco for the 2 days..that reminds me to use silk flowers. heh..guess i need 2 sets of corsages for groom, parents &amp; parents-in-law for both sat &amp; sun. hopefully my BS will be nice &amp; understanding &amp; i dont have to push too hard for such simple stuffs!

By the way, anyone attend banquet dinners at Chijmes before? Can share with me your experience &amp; any comments? thanks!