Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Hi Angelia,

Most of the rectification has been done. Still left with re-polishing of vanity top because some chipping off, one M.bed room lighting, some kitchen accessories. Supreme laminte need some touch up too.

Remember the time you came to our unit, there is a electrician from Telecom, he mentioned that the telephone plug/point for our M.bed room is not functioning. Chances of hacking away the wall to reinstall the whole line and point is high, This means that it will affect my TV console and cabinet at the M.Bed Room. Will be checking it this coming Sat. Hope nothing happen or else faint.

Hmmm I only saw them install the heater after Airon piping. Maybe I did not take note that they install the heater wiring first. You may be right.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
huh? like that ah?! if 2 mths later then i decide to apply for residential line then how?? aiyo, why Telecom dun check the units when they flats r done?! then we hv to bear all consequences izzit?!!

our contractor will be doing the cleaning tmr...

hi Angelia,

I think that goes the same for HDB.

They appears not to do quality control check at thier end before they relese the flats for sales to members of the public.

It a waste of time to check the defects and feedback to them and they have to go down to check before they get their contractors to rectify.

Anyone here applies for a reno loan from a commercial bank?

How long does it takes for them to process and get back to you?

Hi Angelia,

Urrrr maybe you could immediately apply for the tele line first and than test it out... it takes 4 working days to do it.

I have checked with Joey that we could request HDB to pay for any hacking work. Hope there is not a need to hack anything because very troublesome lor... Time wasted and many cleaning to do…

not only the hacking work.. if need to remove the cabinet then put back, will they pay for the extra cost incurred?

hmmmm.. cos we hvn't decide whether to apply for residential line or not leh.. not worth it leh.. since we most of the time not at home.. &amp; seldom on the phone!

Hi Angelia,

Not quite sure about this becuase we need to ask HDB contractor to check and let us know. Will keep you update.

Oh.. both of you don't have intention to apply for a residential line. Maybe serving internet through mobile phone connection?

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">alex</FONT>

sure, will take photos and show u when done...or maybe if u like...can drop in lor...hehe

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">netsnob</FONT>

i took loan from bank lor....very fast one...for citibank...abt 2 days max.

oh, ya hor.. thx for reminding we need the line to surf net... but then, won't be getting PC until sometime next yr leh... hiaz.. maybe will see how then lor.. dun wanna waste 2-3 mths rental fee leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adamteo,</FONT>
wah, citibank!! i tot their interest rates 1 of the highest?!

anyone can recommend what type of instant water heater that value for money?

How many instant water heater can we install in a unit? It is one or two?

hi netsnob,

My water heater brand is Cornell. Abt $190 each.

Both bathrooms have one each. Shdn't be a problem.

Hey Alex,

Enjoying ur stay huh...good good...

Hi Ann,

Sure I will... Everynite afterwork looking forward to go back leh...

Hi Netsnob,

I am using 707 Protek (instant) for both toilet. Each at $218 after discount. Before is $228. Able to have high temperature at original water pressure of your house.

My previous house also using Cornell, same as Ann. But forgotten how much and model...

hi Alex, Ann

Thanks for the feedback.

The forum seems so quite today...

As a side note, for those seeking reno loan, my expereince is to apply two to three bank at one time.

We could not pay our reno firm as our bank we applied take ages to process our application!

They took more than one week to inform us that they got our application even we went down to submit personally one week ago!

quiet....very quiet...

hehe

guess all too busy liao...

At long last, my hse can hand over end of this week or early next week liao....

Time to do cleaning...so far, I have not managed to see <FONT COLOR="ff0000">kirin</FONT>. only their hse gate....:P

Adam,

Happy cleaning

Alex and I have had the experience recently
get as much help as you can. It wld really be good.

Alex,

Relaxing ah?!

Angelia,

Shd be your turn to clean soon and move your stuff over

Netsnob,

Need any more advice? Just ask ahead

Think most can give liao since most of our houses are either complete or almost done up

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Ann</FONT>

have already taken 3 days leave just to cater to my hse liao....from the moving of furniture and the cleaning...will go there after work to clean most of the days liao.....jiat liat...hehe

Hi Ann,

Don't think very relax leh. Still got some minor defect work to be done this coming Sat. Got to install curtains and wait for the rest for the furnitures lor...

Everyday go back home got to clean the house... Hmmm... high floor have a disadavantage which is very dusty lor...

Is your house dusty too after cleaning? Maybe due to the dusty environment contributed by going reno there.

I received a message from Angelia that she is on 2 days MC from yesterday.

I don't think Angelia will be cleaning. heee...
last Sat met up with her and her friend. She mentioned her hubby will be shifting in first. So her hubby will be cleaning lor... heee....

Hi Angelia,

How are you feeling? Do take care hor...

Hi Adam,

So "Kua Zheng" Take 3 days leave for cleaning and shifting. Wah you clean the entire block? Heee......
Just kidding... Me do the cleaning by "installment" method. This means everyday try to pack and clean certain potion. Those obvious one will definetly clean it. The moment you clean this area, it will get dusty after a few hours. Unless like my MIL proposed to close all window and install aircon even for kitchen and living lor... haa haaa haaa

Hi Netsnob,

Just found out from colleagues that Bank loan from Standard Chartered is one of the cheapest 6.99% and fastest in application.

Hi Alex &amp; Adam,

Haha...I took 2 days leave in Sep (Thu &amp; Fri). So had the weekend to con't with the cleaning &amp; unpacking. On that Thu, hubby &amp; I did a thorough cleaning of the house. That's why pengsan that nite :P

Our furniture came in on Fri. Had to clean up after the workers as well as clean the new furniture. Another pengsan session

On Sat &amp; Sun, con't with more cleaning and unpacking.

Well, wldn't say that the house is dust free. Once a week, I wld vacuum &amp; mop the entire place. Other days, I just sweep &amp; clean the smaller areas. As such it's not as dusty as earlier on. Besides, we do not open the windows till we are back in the evenings.

However with the hazy weather, my windows are rather dirty on the outside.

Angelia,

Get well soon

Does anyone of you encounter a man who goes from unit to unit selling curtains in the estate? If so, could you pls post his contact no. and name here. Thanks.

hi Alex,

Thanks for the update.

I do checked with StandChar however, a single applicant need a monthly income of $2.5k to qualify for the 6.99% interest rate...

But I am glad that my reno loan was approved when I check with them this morning.

Hope we can sign the agreement asap so I could pay my reno firm who is kind and understanding enough to go ahead with the project even we pay a mere $500

Anyone keep a pet in the house such as dog?

How you manage the pet when everyone is not at home (i.e.when we go to work the whole day)?

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">netsnob</FONT>

me have a dog, 2 lovebirds and 1 tortoise in my current hse which I will move them with me when I move....hehehehe

now i also headache abt the pet as my current hse, I can leave the dog running ard in the garden....now no more garden liao....die...

need suggestions also..

Hi Netsnob and Adam,

I have seen my friend putting a very nice pcs of plywood on the floor and than surround it with a cage. During the day when there are nobody around, his dog will be inside that big cage. This cage only surround the side.

In the evening, they let the dog out to play with them lor. This way in the day that dog won't dirty the house or damage the furniture lor.

Don't know whether if this works for you...

Anyone here perform any traditional ritual before you move in?

What are the basic thing to do? Does it varies from dialect group to another?

btw anyone here install alarm ? how much it costs? what are the features?

Hi netsnob,

Cisco dropped by my place yesterday. Door to door sales.

Thru speed reading, installation is free. &amp; monthly subscription wld costs $55 a month.

If u wish to install a CC TV, it wld be an additional $55 monthly as well.

Let me go look it thru thoroughly and give you more details.

Hi Ann,

Me also very interested in CISCO alarm system leh... Once you got more infor, please share with us. Thanks in advance.

A colleague of mind recommend ADT to me. She called them once at 1am in the morning to test them. She was impressed.

It $36.00 per month. Free installation. Period of committment is 2 year

call ADT @ 1800 8811111 or visit them at http://www.adt.com.sg/

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi all,</FONT>
me back liao.. 2 days stay at home, so bored! but doctor advise me to stay indoor else my running/blocked nose difficult to recover.. then gave me 4 types of pills + 1 cough syrup!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann, alex,</FONT>
hehehe... guess i can't be so bad, leave "ALL" cleaning to my hubby lah.. maybe will help "a bit" here &amp; there lor.. but my nose super sensitive. the minute i try to do cleaning, will sneeze like mad, then running nose liao.. so, he prob won't let me do much oso lah.. (crossing my fingers!!)

nice meeting you last Sat... ur hse also nicely done up leh.. can also register for the <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Open Sesame</FONT> show leh.. then we go "jia you" for you..

wah, maybe we'll be like u lor.. move in already still got some minor stuff to "touch up" here &amp; there.. but nvm lah.. since <FONT COLOR="ff6000">kuek</FONT> will be the one there &amp; not me.. kekeke..

last Sun went to fix our lightings liao.. left with the 2 downlights &amp; 2nd bdrm light not installed. bdrm light will hv to wait till Dec then got stock.. as for downlights, got slight problem cos the L-box wasn't width enuff.. anyway, will leave this problem to our contractor..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam,</FONT>
hmmm.. we oso "estimated" that the handover will be next week.. arrange a "joint-inspection" this coming Sat evening.. guess hubby &amp; i will hv to go &amp; do some inspection this couple of days.. the last trip we went (Monday nite after they washed the place), realised a tile has some "chipped" portions.. my dad says gotta get them to change everything b4 my "guan yin" moves in on 26 Oct.. dad keeps pressing us to go "check" the hse, but i so sick how to go!!

anyway, will try to do so either 2day or tmr lor.. no choice.. else will be Sat morning lor.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">netsnob,</FONT>
if u did a sliding door for ur kitchen, maybe can leave ur doggy in the kitchen when u go to work? but remember to close ur bathroom door, in case it "jump" into the toilet bowl!

<FONT COLOR="119911">maybe will drop by CCKC this evening.. was told the solid surface will be up yesterday, but dunno on schedule or not.. will get hubby to check later..

btw, after acid wash, was ur unit still dirty?? for our case, the "joints" for living &amp; dining room still black black, but kitchen very clean leh.. then the living &amp; dining, some tiles still got dirts (or looks like super glue) here &amp; there.. is this normal?!?!</FONT>

Hi Angelia,

Glad that you have recovering.
I also got sensitive nose, that’s why each time doing cleaning will sneeze too… Maybe you might want to wear a mask when you are there especially this few days very dusty due to many ongoing reno from neighbors… ha haaa haaaa…

No Intention to take part leh… my reno, this kind of standard also can take part meh… Later all neighbors in CCK “Ban” me hor… heee…

After acid washing, my unit is also a bit dirty here and there. I checked with friends and them mentioned quite normal. But could request them to clean those obvious and difficult areas. However after cleaning, dust/dirt sure have one… That super clue area can ask them to clean. For those joints that are “black black” can ask them to do pointing. In future for Ceramic and Homo tiles after many mobbing, because of water it will turn black in some areas. Same goes to my kitchen and toilet too. In future we can do the pointing by ourselves. You could buy the tiles pointing glue at hardware shop.

Hi Ann and Netsnob,

Any idea why there is a huge different in price between CISCO and ADT. I know of ADT from my old house because they are very aggressive in marketing but I did not invite them for a presentation. Should have done so. If the basic function is almost similar, I might consider ADT.

Hi Netsnob and Adam,

Maybe train the dogs to use toilet bowl than they will know how to flush it lor… haa haa hhaaa
ooppps just kidding…

Does anyone know if there is any problem keeping fishes in a mini water feature (fountain)? I am afraid that if the water gets dirty it might damage the water pump? Need your advices.

aiya, won't one lah.. CCKC neighbours very supportive one..

for the fish in water feature.. maybe u can get a filter lor.. check with the fish shop or the water feature shop, they sure hv one..

hmmm... pointing.. maybe i check wif the contractor this wkend

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">checking,</FONT>
i dunno i still hv the leaflet at home or not.. let me check then get back to u.. i got them last Sun..

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">angelia</FONT>

I had my joint inspection with my contractor liao...hehehe

What I did was to stick masking tape near the area with defects and ask him to take note...will only remove the masking tape when the defect is fixed.

All the defects shd be done by this weekend and he will be doing another acid wash for me on monday....

i only went thru the feature wall oready got a lot of "talisman" liao... maybe i too ngeow lor.. hmm.. that means prob i can get my flat earliest end of next wk?!

aiya, a lot of things lah.. the edges not painted/trimmed nicely, some lobangs here &amp; there, etc...

Anyone knows where to buy those transparent mats for the top of the dinner table?

Me dun want to use table cloth leh....

i think u can find them in provision shops selling those pails, brooms, etc... it's one whole big roll.. then cut according to the size u want.. they usually display it outside the shop..

Cisco Securitec Wireless Alarm (Promotion Pacakge):

a. 3 years Central Alarm Monitoring Services (Dial up for police response)

b. 12 mth warranty against manufacturer's defects

c. 1 standard set of of the system includes:
- Cisco Securitec Wireless Alarm Panel
- Cisco Auto Dialer
- Cisco Wireless Contact Sensor
- Cisco Key Tag (Remote device)
- Cisco Siren with Strobe Light (Standard)
- Back up battery
- Standard installation &amp; wiring

$55 a month for 36 months!

Hi Adam,

How about a table runner? Adn add in nice table mats. Can get nice and reasonably priced ones at Holland Village Shopping Centre
Just a suggestion.

Hi Adam,

It's a long rectangular cloth that you can place in the middle of your dining table. Since you do not want a table cloth, was thinking that may be nice for your dining table then

Lim's Art or Jim's Art at HV Shopping centre sells nice and cheap ones. ABout $16-18 a piece

HI everyone!

Looks like most of you here are renovating as well. Hope that some of you may be able to enlighten me

Suppose I am not satisfied with the laminate colour of my cabinets. Is there any way the carpenters can re-laminate or overlay with another piece of laminate?

As an anxious new home owner, anything that looks out of sync with whatever I expected really freaks me out. Will appreciate if anyone has a similar experience, willing to share, and give advice. Thanks.

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Anxious</FONT>

one qn, in the first place, was the color of the laminate chosen by yourself?

if it was, then to redo would cost u.

if u really want to redo, get them to re-laminate instead of overlay....overlay looks ugly...trust me..

recently, my renovator or the woodwork guy made the mistake of making only 2 glass shelving instead of 3 as requested in my masterbdrm wc, i made a big fuss and guess what, they did a overlay and it looks extremely ugly. I was so mad that I tore out the whole piece of laminate...called my renovator guy and ask him to get the woodwork boss to come and see me....

met him yesterday and he promised to redo the whole thing....

guess he was quite shock as I has been quite "soft-spoken"....hehe

so now the handover will push back a bit...to this midweek....but dun care lor...

Hi Anxious,

If you look carefully at the laminates, you could see black lining at the corners, which happened to be the joining. If there is any overlay, it will create double layer of linings. Laminate itself is smooth in suraface. Overlay laminate will not last.

As what Adam have mentioned if the color is selected by you, there will be cost incurrs from yourself. If not, you can demand your contractor to change for you FOC.

Other than overlay directly, there is another menthod. Take out all the laminate, do sanding of surface of ply wood, and than re-laminate. This will be extra work on site and take times and cost.

Previous time I have wood staining problem and my ID did suggest this back up method to me. But luckily re-staining of color turns out ok and this plan back up plan have not been executed.

so, ur handover wil be sometime this midweek?! think ours will hv to push to next week liao..

<FONT COLOR="119911">solid surface(SS) is up, but the gap like not even. beginning (near fridge base), the gap btw SS &amp; wall is bigger, then as it runs towards the end of the kitchen, the gap gets smaller! asked the contractor, he said cos the kitchen not aligned. but he will check with the SS guy again to see if can fix or not.

last Sat went to "check" &amp; guess the carpenter will hv a lot of touching up to do. even the contractor says after our job, the carpenter will prob need to go on a holiday! anyway, our contractor pretty accomodating.. says will try to fix up or change whatever we want for us. but hope he not juz "fu yan" us lah.

wardrobe also got problem.. asked them to remove a cabinet. after which they re-laminate, but din do properly, so one area like "popped up".

then there's last round of plastering(for lightings area) &amp; painting touch up to do. contractor says prob will be a 1-day job lor.

then needs to change some tiles which are hollow. also asked him to change a wall tile for me cos got some holes on it.

the last thing to be done will be to fix some scratches on the MBR parquet flooring. hiaz.. dun think can get them to hv everything done b4 this Sat... guess gotta postpone my "an shen" date to 03 Nov liao.. but then hor, my new bedroom set coming on 02 Nov.. hiaz..

asked hubby to get the schedule from contractor.. hope can try to get him to do up everything (except touching up the parquet scratches) &amp; handover b4 Fri. then i can "an shen" as per planned on Sat. then get my mum to go down open door for them when they want to do the parquet scratches, cos my dad dun wan them to anyhow enter the hse after we "an shen" lor.

</FONT>

angelia

yep...mine shd be sometime end of this week latest. I told my contractor that die die...all must be done and handover on Friday latest.

so today, they are fixing my cornices at one corner...not straight mah...and to fix my wc shelving.

also, they will be doing a second cleaning of the whole hse today.....(my water bills....hai~~) so will be popping in tonite to see....if still not done well, then time to "wake" my contractor up liao...hehe

hahaha... sama sama, me oso kind of want it "die die oso this Fri" but guess gotta be "reasonable" a bit after all the "unreasonable fault finding" session last Sat..

latest update from hubby is, this Friday the painter will come, then we'll be at CCKC in the afternoon so that if there's anything else for the painter to touch up, we let him noe &amp; he can do on the spot. the parquet scratches will leave to next wk.

so Fri around noon will go buy my "guan yin", then Sat can "an shen" liao.. hurray!!!!!

talking abt water bills... last Sat the plumber came to install the sink.. then put so much water into the sink to show us it's okie.. wah, i so heart pain.. somemore our sink is those 1 big one, not those 2 small or 1 small, 1 drying recess area type.. then they "release" the water &amp; told ur "release water liao is like that lor.. the sound will be like that" *pengz* my heart bleeding man!!!! even my mum (who's oso there) says so wasteful leh.. so much water!!

let's keep our fingers crossed &amp; pray hard by this Fri both of us can get our flat!!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">angelia</FONT>

good luck to u and me lor...

my water seems to flow out slow then fast after a while...dunno whether is it because I am on the most top floor....so the pressure is there....hmmm..

I just called my contractor, ask him if this wednesday can handover or not, since today, a lot of stuff been done, according to him...

will go and check later this evening....

most of my stuff fixed liao....so happy..

just now did some manual work such as touch up some areas of the paint and stuff...too lazy to ask the painter to come down liao....so diy lor..

last part now is getting the tiler to fix one piece of the bathroom tile that cracked....aarrrrrgghh..but other than that all is okie...hehe

so <FONT COLOR="ff0000">kirin</FONT>, when u start renovation?

my reno have been delayed
hope it can finish in time
work starts for 3 weeks liao
now only done, flooring, re-wiring, kitchen base