CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Pink!!!
keeeeekekek... i more or less know where ur pre-loved unit is liao!!! Lovely place indeed!! btw, there are alot of those units at ur side that is those "tiao dang" ones.. usually on the 1st flr...

seeeeeee...... ur neighbours so nice also mah.. no worries lah..

PAISEH!! I NOT WANT THE WHOLE WORLD to know lor.. but missing for a while is ok de.. like I missed my current one for like close to 2 weeks leh.. was just telling Lina last nite.. whahaha..

We all waiting for AFTER LUNCH REPORT!!

skylar, ALOT of tiao dang flats in that area? hmm. guess it's cos it's a very old neighbourhood ba? BUT honestly, it's not "dangerous" right? and it's not everyday kind right? don't scare me leh.

but very lovely place indeed
my dream location. since even before i got married and before i had to look for a house, i've liked that area

wah skylar, you got preggie scare last night ah? keke

ok o after lunch i will come back and BAO GAO XING WEN!

Pink...
no lah.. dun think its dangerous lah.. its ok one mah.. just that alot of pple will recommend ur area there i guess, seems to have quite a few on the 1st flr when my bus used to pass by there..

not preggie scare lah.. but used stuck lor.. kekeke..

Sch.. no nid to test lah.. joker u..

ok ok leaving soon liao! happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! keep fingers crossed for me ok? i'm so excited that my fingers are cold now. like before exam kind haha

pink... glad u found some place u like. we'll b waiting for your report!
but those 4 floor flat got no lift, rite? then how u carry up furniture?

levynn..
those gotta use the stairs liao lor .. its liddat one lah.. heng its only 4 flrs lor.. whahaha...

Pink!!
Jiayou!!

wo hui lai liao!!!!

update: my papa said it's ok, fantastic location. i loved that it was so bright and yet not hot. know what i mean? like got sunlight but not sun heat. it's a bit noisy but i guess it's also cos the house is empty (ie no furniture to absorb the noise). breezy, which is nice too.

papa ask me to stand in the middle of the house and close my eyes if i could feel comfortable. i didn't feel UNcomfortable lor. but i could definitely see myself cooking in the kitchen muahahahahha

papa only reacted when he found out downstairs could be a temple medium. they have a statue of a tiger outside their house - anyone knows what that means?

levynn, ya no lift one those stairs. carry furniture? we'll have movers for the big items. the smaller ones (like ah huat) i can manage hehe.

that's it la. think tonight have final discussion with ah lao then ACTION liao!!!

ah pink, looks like there's no issue wif the hse itself, but juz the unit downstairs. tiger statue outside the hse, hmmmm, not sure what that means. if u really dun feel comfortable abt the tiger statue, maybe u can try asking the older generation? pantry auntie maybe? or would ur papa b able 2 find out 4u, thru his frens?

guess we'll hv another update after ur final discussion, i, for one, will stay tuned =)

yup no issue with the house. with the tiger also no issue (but my ah lao is tiger... hmmm..) actually. just curious. but maybe better not to know. the more you know, the more restricted you are. hor?

stay tuned!! keke

ah pink - i think its those pple who operate a mini praying hall in their home is it? no sure if pple pray to the white tiger deity at home..but i do see it in temples.

how much's the owner asking?
glaD tt u found a place u like!! can imagine us potlucking there already *SCRAM*

Pink!!
Good good! so location is fixed liao ah! that is great!! kekeke..

Sch.. good idea hor..
btw during CNY me apply for long leave so those interested to pop by my hse also can ya.. kekek.. coz my ah bu in the hse..

As for the Tiger ah.. wat do u mean by she got tiger statue at the staircase?? then u will be passing that everyday?? hmmm......

Sch..
those tiger deity in the temple is to fang xiao ren one leh.. but no one at home will pray that lor..

from the look of it, I will think that Pink papa is right, her downstairs is a medium lor..

eh don't scare me leh. ya it's like a tiger on all fours. not huge but not very small either.

even if it's a medium's house, it won't be 'bad' for me in any way right? curious...

skylar, the statue is like perpendicular to the door of that owner's house, so when i make the U-turn at the staircase, i will face it.

if there are any silent readers in our thread who can shed some light about tigers and mediums, can please say? gam xia

errrrrrr.. if your downstair neighbour is medium, you better check on how sound proof is your unit you are buying. i don't know much but whenever they do those rituals, sure will be very noisy.

ok la. asked around liao, colleagues, including pantry auntie. they say it's prob ok. so now my issue is noise right? i can hear the roads pretty clearly, but i think it just takes getting used to. my current house now i can hear the choo choo train (not mrt) occasionally, and birds chirping every night and it doesn't bother me anymore.

anyone knows how often the mediums will conduct their tiao dang activities? or does it depend on how 'popular' the medium is? disclaimer: i'm just asking out of curiousity cos i really like the house and this would probably affect my decision to buy. i don't mean any disrespect to any religion

when i was younger and lived at redhill area, the unit upstairs - but not directly upstairs (we were on the 5th flr) lived a medium as well. no issue 4 us, in fact, both families got off very well. and there were no statues outside tt medium's hse, there were a lot inside though. yes, ant's point abt the noise is a valid one.

the frequency of tiao dang, yes, if i'm not wrong, is v much dependent on the popularity of the medium. if it's those da ri zi, think it's juz burning of incense. if ah pink you're already used 2 the noise, then it shld b ok.

in fact, tt time hor, now & then i always kaypoh & went upstairs 2 c the tiao dang activities. thot it was v interesting.

Pink..
for those tang ki ah.. basically I know for sure every 1st & 15th of the mth & also on special dates of the Gods birthday etc, they will open up meaning letting pple go in & "ask god" that kinda thing.. so meaning those are the more major ones, meaning alot of pple will gather there..

then also as u all know "tang ki" hse alot of Gods inside one.. so basically every God's birthday etc will have a ritual lor be it big or small. Noise is a valid reason that Ant brought up ..

as for the tiger thingy, I am still skeptical abt it, it may be that maybe coz they are the "tang ki" so they put the tiger up for "sha qi" but then as u r passing by there daily, hopefully the sha qi won't be too strong for you, or maybe next time when u walk the stairs, just softly say.. "JIE GOU" (meaning sorry, let me pass)
another pt, not tat i am "mi xing" ah! take heed of the tiger if ur preggie as the sha qi might "chong" ur BB aka tai qi..

most of the time, those medium households know the din they create are inconveniencing the neighbours, so they are quite nice and easy to talk to. tiao dang is dependent on popularity of the medium and da ri zi. it can be some deity's bday lah, or those negative thing will be spirits possession on human lah. or happy ones are people shifting house and having those altar at home, so must 'qing shen hui jia'.

then, there will be the burning of joss papers. if the medium is super popular, then there may be alot of burning of joss papers. this is something i don't really like coz the smell can attack your house and especially affect laundry and curtains. i live on #14 and everytime when got auntie burn joss papers on ground floor, i can still smell it strongly and must close all windows and doors to minimize the smell from entering my house.

pink, try to find out how 'popular' tat medium family is. if this medium is very popular, i will suggest you not to consider this unit. it means all sorts of people will visit the family and sometimes can be late at night. it will means your neighbourhood very complicated. all of pai kia are very into dang ki and stuff. n coz your ah lao is ang mo, if those mean ones, will ti xiao u.

pink... glad u found the place liao. as for those rituals, i'm not very sure, so can't comment. but i think not all rituals r noisy. can b juz simple offering ceremony...

on a seperate note,

any of u here got good stationery supplier to intro? I wanna kick off my recep using that old one.. good for nothing!

ant, what is TI XIAO? jee siao is it? but i guess you're right, they know they are noisy so they are nice about it. lucky they are not noisy and still think they are in the right kind.

one of my colleagues said 'it's ok one. trust me, no problem'. he say until like very confident like that. dunno why leh. maybe HE is into this? hmm.

whenever i pass funeral, i will say jie guo and 'excuse me'. guess it will take a bit of getting used to, to have to do that every day when i go pass the 3rd floor. hope ah lao won't laugh at me if i tell him to do the same.

when is the next 1 or 15, anyone? maybe we should just hang out around the area on those days and monitor the house's activites.

btw i got a media visit and they brought gifts for us. now my whole department is eating cheesecake from concorde hotel (shiok!) and chocolate brownie from bakerzin (ironically, not so shiok)

Pink.. whahaha..
ur rite.. its jee siao hor.. u really hokkien lian leh.. wahaha.. basically shd be ok de lah.. no worries lor...

so that ur yun cheng better be higher so that u won't clash with those spirits ba.. kekeke..

the next 1st is on 18 Feb.. the 1st day of New year.. so u can watch out for it on the day itself or on the eve, the 17 Feb as they shd be pray till the next day one.. as for the 15th is 4 March.. u can also go see..

another big day u can look out for is the Ti Kong Day.. aka the Heaven Day which is on the 26 Feb, major praying day too..

si mi si "yun cheng"

the next 1st is 1st day of CNY? wah biang. i also need to go bai nian leh. cannot spend the whole day standing across the road watching a house. keke.

i think if i wait for so long hor, the flat will be snapped up liao

Pink..
yun cheng is like ur luck lv ba.. u know.. like in 7th mth ur yun cheng must be good so that u will not "see those things" that kinda thing lah..

I know last time there was a guy here in this forum who seems to know alot abt such things leh.. u can try find.. paiseh i forgot the name liao.. kekek..

ah pink - then u better go n see see better..but then difficult to kiv until so long right? think def will have noise issue but it seems tt they know they are creating inconvenience for others so i think they will know how to zuo ren lah

pink, ya lah, it is jee siao. "yun cheng" means ur luck lor. if your luck stronger, then tiger's sha qi will not affect u. but hor, better check carefully.

my coll's babysitter went to a funeral and the next day, the baby fell sick for 2 wks. doc oso duno why. den the babysitter bring baby to pray to guan yin and den give baby drink so amulet water and miraclously, baby immediately recover. old folks believe such things will 'chong' the baby.

during one of my visits to some museum in taipei, the guide showed us alot of china traditional ornaments. got one meant to 'guard dead people's wealth' such as those lion status in front of banks. it's kinda of means money comes in but prevent $$$ go out.

if you don't feel good, better get some shifu to check it out for u esp on the tiger status or something. but if u feel okie (assuming you are christian or catholic) den go for it lor.

sch, your sentence very funny: "then u better go n see see better"

i really think it's ok. i'm ok with noise. i just scared of 'that kind of thing'.

umm both ah lao and i are catholics but not the super staunch kind. maybe i'm really thinking too much into the tiger. maybe it guards against something and that something is not 'the upstairs neighbour'.

ant, what you mean by 'guard dead people's wealth'? how? as in the hell money that their relatives burn ah? just curious. wow the lion status in front of banks, i didn't know that was the significance

ok, here's my two cents:
sometimes it's not good 2 noe 2 much, cos the more u noe, the more uneasy u get. there r so many so many beliefs, taboos & customs, different religions & all, sometimes hear liao already blur, hw 2 follow? v difficult.

hmmm, as 4 tt kind of things. r u talking abt ghosts, ah pink? so long as u dun provoke them, they won't provoke u lor. always got tis saying ghosts scared of humans 7 points, humans scared of ghosts only 3 points mah.

i think the most impt thing, ah pink, is tt u & ur ah lao muz feel comfy.

lion status? wah, so if u want 2 take $$$ out, the lions will bite u, si bo? make sense leh

so it is better to find out the true significance of the tiger lor. n whether it will affect you esp during pregnancy.

i forgot most of the stuff the guide say alr lah. only the lion statue i remb coz always see it esp in hk. olden days, some ppl like to bury dead ppl with tons of $$$, jewellery for some supersititous thingy lor. then got those grave diggers who steal the $$$. so the diggers will suffer bad fates if they steal lor esp got such lion statue guarding.

anyway, it depends on how superstitious u are lah. like old folks will say got certain rituals to do before official move in, roll in the pineapple, cook duno wat rice with charcoal, etc. we did none of those. alot of aunts kinda of scold us for not doing such stuff n we were like, duno wat to do, so nv do lor. den my dad say, aiyah no need lah. alr shift in, lament oso no use. just ignore and let everything pass n be heng heng lor.

as long as u like the place n feel at ease with it, just go with your heart.

hey i rolled pineapple when i moved into this house! and drank sweet drink on the day i moved in. and i officially moved in at 7am hor. keke.

totally agree with following my heart. my pink bunny heart says go for it. tiger or no tiger, i didn't feel scared when i went past their house, and i think they are nice people so friendly neighbours are friendly neighbours, regardless of language, race or religion right?

lina, YES! the more we know, the more 'troublesome' it is, and the more restricted we will be. like wedding hor?

good morning!!

pink... i also rolled pineapple when i first opened the door to my place. heh. anyway, abt the tiger, if u r ok wif it, then no problem la. as long as u all can live together in harmony... they dun disturb u , u dun disturb them, that kind of theory, u know...

anyway, last time for my old place, whenever it is the lunar 1st or 15th of the mth, my grandma juz make some offerings, burn some incense papers, that's all. Ti Gong day is "bigger" la, like skylar mentioned... but not those rituals wif chanting or wat la... juz also offerings to the gods only...

ok, pink... to put your mind more at ease... n to make your agent happy. i asked my ah lao to confirm... his reply :
"1 floor down but not directly facing her door or directly against her can le.. its okie de..
unless its a real live tiger.. then can be eaten up.."

ello...

me on mc for 2 days. got food poisoning. keep LS since tues man.. doc say all my intestines v badly affected. sighzz..

last nite, i had a weird dream. i dreamt tat i was preggie n gave birth to a bb ger. this is quite scary man, coz i had similar dreams before. think hear too much baby talk already!

ant - think u r just hearin too much of it. seeing alot of babies and hearing alot of baby talk this week too..day before just saw my colleague's newborn in hosp..don be scare lah

btw, i just bought CNY plants for my house! waiting for delivery!! keke... will take photo when it is delivered ;p

aiyo ant, LS until all ur intestines v badly affected sounds serious. u beta take care ya, muz b a good gal & follow whatever the doc said ok

these few days alot of pple fall sick. yday i spoke 2 my mum over the fone, her voice was coarse as well, down wif throat infectn & bad cough. she told me there was good biz at the clinic, really jialat.

eh ant, u call being preggie & giving birth scary? =) actually, i was juz telling my col over lunch tt if i get preggie now, it's bad news. my principle, never ever ever have a child unless me & hubby r damn sure tt we want one & willing 2 make sacrifices when the child comes along. otherwise ...

hi babes. update: buy liao
earlier this evening we signed the papers. brought my parents and they also like the place. very happy until we realise sh*t my CPF not enough money, and ah lao got no CPF. so now panic, scrambling to dig out all our secret stashes of money

ant, since you are the most recent house buyer, can you remember - when do we need to pay the 20% thru CPF? is it at first appointment?

PS get well soon by the way

lina, get preggie is scary when you are not mentally and financially prepared lor..

alot of ppl are sick coz of the climate changes i think..

pink, HDB will wipe out all your CPF during/ after 2nd appointment. 1st appt is to confirm sales transaction and HDB will check everything is proper and can proceed. that's when you go for 2nd appt. before 2nd appt, you can request to seller for 1 last view of the house to make sure during tat time lapse, they din do anything funny to the house. by 2nd appt, seller must pass you all the keys.

did you check if it is same estate as your parents? If yes, there is 40k grant. otherwise, it is 30k grant. you can check if the grant can be considered as part of 20%? u know how to calculate the 20% right? it is at valuation price, not selling price. anything above valuation, must be paid in cash/ cheque to seller during 2nd appt.

good morning babes! FRIDAY!!!! yeah!!! but woke up wif my stoopid sinus... now nose feeling so stuffy.

pink... congrats!

ant... take care... n get well soon...