CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

welcome, mei mei!
yep yep, this thread started with lots of soup recipes, check out the very first page of this thread...

pink,
yay, ah huat is ok!!!

sch,
thanks for the choc chip cookie recipe, let us know whether it's good or not after u try it okie!

re: cooking
I more than 1 month never cook, sunday picked up cooking again, cooked cabbage rice but put too much water, the rice soggy and soft, eeks...

then this morning I never checked the HL milk, just anyhow pour into my curry chicken, aiyoyo, the milk got BANANA flavour one leh!!! my curry stinks! so wasted to throw but so er xin to eat... yucks...

Good morning babes!

Ah Huat now ok liao lah.. i still thot u dirty parent nv bath Ah Huat,... whahah.. u got buy those self-bathe sand for him to wash himself bor? My boy used to love doing that ... kekek..

Sch..
u really sibeh onz leh.. good good.. so got consider making how many "tins" for CNY liao bor? whahaha....

hey not sure if i told you girls but i decided to make mee goreng for my relatives' christmas gathering. already bought the fish cake, my fav crab stick, prawns and MEE. if got time (and energy on the morning of a public holiday), i might make the muffins also. chances are, i will just make the mee goreng la! hehe

eh hamster cannot bathe one right? yup he got bathsand. he likes to roll in it. hamsters are so amazing... they can really occupy themselves and entertain themselves in that small space.

sp, aiyer next time see properly hor!

yay lunch time soon! hehe. told you i super no mood tow ork...

Pink..
yaya.. they cannot touch water mah.. so bathsand is good lor.. u got buy those shorten teeth stick for him bor? so Ah Huat can bite & shape his teeth at the same time.. I miss my boy & ger man! sob... sob...

so when our next potluck ah?

what is shorten teeth stick? i buy the wood block but he dun like leh.

go adopt new hamsters la, skylar! i think pets are very therapeutic. he really make my stress level go down

potluck after christmas la... or maybe the weekend after? like so many days off? 30, 31 dec, 1 and 2 jan?

HOW, BABES? EH SAI BO?

30th i got housewarmin for my family so the other days are all OK!

pink - u use premix or wat for mee goreng? i got housewarmin next week and crackin head on wat to cook.,.my ah bu don dare to eat wat i cook! this happens when ur mum has cooked all her life for the whole famili ;(

Pink...
dun want lah.. after my boy & ger passed ah.. I soooo sad ok!! sob.. sob... there is a kinda like honeycomb stick with oats one.. Ah Huat can eat & polish his teeth at the same time lor.. I still remember the milk yogurt which my ah boy loves!! while my ger like the cheese ones.. ekekeke...u no take pix of ur Ah Huat ah.. I see if I can show u my ger & boy....

Sch..
u must be gone liao lah.. go where? shopping ah?

premix? me? NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! i try not to la. but this mee goreng i got post the recipe here before what. go check archives! quite easy

hmmm why not you cook what your ah bu has not cooked before? then got no benchmark to follow?
ha cheong gai la, easy!

oh ya the honeycomb stick! i think i tried that one before but ah huat didn't like. he just play with it haha. but maybe i will buy another flavour for him. my milo and bandung last time liked it alot too!

pics of ah huat, got but all very blur cos he's very fast! haha.

sch must be go attack mango again haha

Pink..
take pix when Ah Huat is sleeping lah.. kekeke.,, I love to take those pixs or when he is eating .. whahhaa...

Milo & Bandung? pengz... Ice kacang wu bor? whahaha...

Sch.. attack Mango again... so onz ah! whahah..

i think yesterday he toko the medicine then he drowsy, sleep until the mouth open. so cute :D when he's eating, it's one of the few times he will let me pet him so of course i pet him instead of take photo! keke. ok ok try soon. but he's camera shy la. every time he see got camera, he try to siam.

haha milo and bandung, ya... may they rest in peace *sniff sniff*

pink... ya ya.. the time to pat them is when feeding time.. waaahh... i once tried to touch him while he is sleeping then he tio chua! whahaha.. I nv did that again!!

how u feed him medicine ah? btw how much did u spend on his medical bill?

heyo...

me tdy on mc at work... good thing i seen the doc yest.. it jus rained non stop the whole day and i really slept til very late then wake up..

juz took medicine n most prob will zonk off again..

wah biang, the hamster talk still hasn't fin ... eh babes, tis topic buay gam wa leh

yo ant, finally u took time off work, good 4 u. somemore weather so shiok 2 sleep today, i envy u. take care ya. take another day off if u still dun feel too good tmr. u deserve the break.

hey ant you better take care ah. hope you got more than 1 day MC! when your medicine wear off, can you tell me what chilli paste it is? hehe. buy from dried goods shop kind at market is it? hehe

walau eh lina you jealous si bo. your maternal instinct haven't tick tock yet la keke.

skylar, ya sometimes i touch him when he's not expecting it then he also tio chua haha. cos first instinct is to BITE!!! survival of the pet cage! haha. medicine is with a syringe. at vet, the nurse hold him, the vet feed him. like very fu za. but lucky he guai guai this morning. i put the syringe in the cage then he automatically go to it. i think he like the strawberry taste

ok enough about ah huat. wait lina beat me up.

ah pink, simi maternal instinct? for hamsters? of course i dun have. seriously, i am quite afraid of them, dun dare to hold too, scared they bite, eeek.

basket, i trying 2 send an e-greeting card thru yahoo! & the freakin page is taking 4ever 2 load - it's been 0.5 hr liao still haven't fin loading, kaoz!!!

haha guess i'm not the only one who is eng eng cheng cheng in the office ah!

i also scared of ah huat :S

yay later i leave office early to go for exhibition! woohoo!!! it's at suntec so of course will shop abit keke.

Lina..
u so big scared Ah Huat bite meh? pls lor u.. whahaha...

y ur yahoo e-card so long meh? usually shd be pretty fast leh...

Pink..
Wat exhibition u gg ltr?

pink, the chilli paste is from market.. i bought it from the bean sprouts stall.. here's the pic.
438242.jpg

Sp, errrr.. i don't think you can use HL milk in the first place for curry leh.. must use evaporated milk, those can type..

sch, here's the pic of the mushroom mix for rice.
438243.jpg

n here's something unique, a supplier courier this to me as xmas greetings yest.. there were suppose to be hersleys choc inside but all finished up by my colleagues..

438244.jpg

438245.jpg

438246.jpg

damn shiok to nap tdy... weather very cold esp my area coz is top floor and near the sea.

i gave up on the yahoo greeting liao. dunno y it took so long, the last time was very fast =(
in the end, i juz sent out an email with a pix of x'mas tree, clever hor, hehe =)

& hor skylar, which law says i so big cannot b afraid of hamsters bite? basket, got man afraid of cockroaches also lor, duh

ant, the chocs were meant 4u, but ur cols fin all? w or w/o ur permission leh?? & very cute the choc "containers". ur supplier is thoughtful.

nowadays, yahoo quite terok... sometimes oso got problem checking emails..

lina, ya, my colls fin all the choc.. i opened it n they saw. so all crowd round me n chit and shun shou attack the chocs lor.. only left 1 piece for me...

very paiseh towards tis supplier, meet them once when we were considering doing some promo thingy. but end up never get from them but they still keep sending me stuff.. the mooncakes a few months back were also by them!

Lina.. whahaha.a..
tokking abt the man!! reminds me of someone classic which I can never forget that scene! whahahaha....

why dun u try 123greetings then..

Ant..
nice leh... yummy choco!! so shiok u can sleep in..

buy from dao gay stall? ok!

i think i spoke too soon about ah huat being guai about the medicine. this morning he lapped it up and i was so surprised. this evening want to give him and he ngeh ngeh mai. i think he knows it will make him drowsy that's why he refuse. so notti. in the end i used a towel and tried to force him. i know it sounds mean .... but it's for his own good!!!!!!!!! in the end he took a bit la. better than nothing. sigh... hard to be a parent hor? :D

good morning babes

tis morning i waited & waited, & no bus! think it's probably delayed due to the wet weather (alot of places flooded). end up took a cab 2 work =( then reached opic, pc hung!! heng now ok liao. wat a great start of the day ...

morning babes!!
yesterdae took half day leave to walk walk with my mum n sis..then my sis bought my housewarming gift for me! yay! tell u all something very huai dan..coz we all kena suspect (ah lao, me, my family) ah lao's sisters and plus one are only comin over to bai chi bai he so we plan tt my sis will bring the nicely gift wrapped housewarmin gift to my house tt day n make them feel paisay coz my sis just grad and not even workin yet,,hahhahahahaha. *EVIL*

sianz...y is it only wednesday
?? goin to fry bee hoon tonight..need to test test whether good enuf to serve for housewarmin next week or not! any tips anyone? my ah bu tell me to add more garlic, remember ant's dad say must use chopstick to stir so beehoon wont cui cui..wat else? add soy sauce for taste can liao right?? cooking those white white kind

ohaiyoooo...

Din slept well last night.. think slept too much in the day so can't sleep well at night.

ya, i saw on tv news alot of places flood..

hmmm.. sch, u noe, my in laws n family never give us ang bao for both wedding dinner and house warming leh.. i always thot immediate family no need to give!! wahaha.. seems like ganna con alr..

sch, wau.. house warming and you going to display your good culinary skills!! *whistle* adds tons of garlic and shallots, make it smell very fragant. and if you cooking with those canned pig trotters, remb to remove the top layer of oil or else your beehoon damn oily. good luck.

good morning girls!!!

sch, is it that SIL that dui ni you chou one? so pai kuan!!!! your sister is very sweet
yup i heard that beehoon must use chopstick. can add carrots and prawns and fish cake. mmmm mmmm! or if you really scared no taste, then buy the instant beehoon goreng from provision shops.

actually housewarming, in the invitation, we tried to state very clearly that we don't need any more things cos we already have everything we need... so people were more zi dong and gave AP

ant, housewarming my parents didn't give i think. but wedding i think they did but i don't remember how much and i don't remmeber the AP itself leh. but they claimed they gave. maybe they bluff me haha. MIL gave, and ah laos relatives (who didn't attend our wedding) tompang with her. so sweet

lina, so all OK in PC land liao? if not then tell IT your PC spoil so you cannot work then go home! keke

i yeow kwee then go and buy char siu soh. damn nice!!!

ant,
is it, cannot use HL milk ah? what is evaporated milk? I very blur abt those canned types of milk...

pink,
awww, hamsters are so cute! pics of ah huat pls...
kao_love.gif

ant, you back at work liao ah?

sch, i see that you and your mum quite close hor? always take leave to go gia gia with her. so nice

sp, evaporated milk comes in tins one. the size is like the milkmaid condensed milk kind. it will say evaporated milk la, look closer!

yay my boss not around today!
438394.gif

sp, huay brand carnation milk is good (carnation brand lah)

babes, yday i had curry chk at Qsway shopping ctr. there's tis small eatery on the 1st flr. quite happening leh, & crowded. they also sell ipoh hor fun, fishball noodles etc, milo dino too.

ya pink, pc ok liao. too bad no chance to go home =) eh, u go where 2 buy char siu soh? btw, i was at ikea alexandra yday & it was kinda quiet leh. the pple all go tampines liao si bo?

Good morning!!!

Wahhh... Lina... really wat a start man! kekee... at least its finally not raining today for a change lor.. finally can see the sun ah..

Pink,
hard to be a parent? pengz.. wahaha... u so mean ah.. use towel to force Ah Huat!! whahaha... then he got kena suffocate by ur towel bor?

Sch..
wahh.. if liddat plan hor.. then u all must say loud loud.. "Wahh... u so nice!!! Haven't work yet where got $ to buy me hsewarming gift... thanks so much" then ur sis must return.. "Of coz must buy at least something mah... How can come empty handed one?? Buay paiseh ah!"
whahahaha.... *Evil*

Ant..
so u recover from ur cough liao bor? Feeling better?

pink - wat is char siu soh? my SILs? hmm last time i ask my ah lao then he say his sisters are just very possessive of him like as though every gal is out to cheat or take advantage of him. haha so i told my ah lao tt well now we r married, u r mine so i shld learn from them to be possessive and ask them to hands off!!! haha we all had a good luff coz ah lao knows tt i just dunno how to be possessive ;( but step on my tail and they get it

ya me close to my mum, sis..go shopping etc then they go holiday help me buy clothes, accessories etc.

ant - maybe my ILs think the same way as ur family..mm for my family..our thinkin is tt since we r family the more we must know how to 'zuo ren'..my parents gave me and ah lao a 40inch sony lcd tv. ;p

skylar - of course i never squeeze him la! just to have a better 'grip' on him so that he won't slide all over the place! but this morning he more guai. think he knows i will be late for work if he show me his patter haha. very cute, his in the towel, then only can see his face peeping out. then give him the medicine lor. he thinks the towel is a new toy. keep trying to bite it. hamsters are such innocent creatures hor?

lina - i bought from ikea restaurant :D got local breakfast. $1.50 for 2 char siu soh. nice nice. oh i know that curry chicken place! very limited seating ah. the other items not so fantastic. the curry chicken is not bad but i kena once it was damn lousy... i think the chicken never defrost properly. so i give up liao :S

Pink..
no doubt abt it.. i love their innocent looks...haiz.. .dun make me keep another one can?? hng!!

Sch
Char siu soh is something like those baked pastry but with char siu inside lor.. quite yummy I would say.. there is a tim sum shop here that sells that too.. great teatime snack

Wahh.. not bad man! really happening leh! kekeke.. for a change its local rather than hotdogs & meatballs .. whahaha...

pink - looks yummy!!! nnv know ikea does local bfast..goin to try it one day given the chance!! char siu soh i nv eat b4 but looks GOOD!

yup goin to show the MU LAO HU instinct hehe

anyway wat did all of u plan for xmas? me got no plans yet

ya, he always give me that innocent look hehe.

actually (not advertising, but just matter-of-fact), ikea has had local meals for some time now. just go and kua kua at the menu, you'll see more than meatballs and salmon. there's a daily local (sometimes nasi goreng, sometimes braised rice, sometimes fish and chives... and today it's curry chicken i think), and a vegetarian set. alot of people always say 'aiyah always meatballs only' but never open eyes big big to see.

wise words of my papa: 'always open your eyes before you open your mouth'

sch, must practice your fierce look in front of mirror every night! haha. hey when will you get to choose your photos from your bridal shop? don't let them con you hor! can always bargain and cham siong for better price one when you pick more pics! :D

xmas lunch at auntie's house, pot luck, bringing mee goreng. xmas dinner at colleague's house. boxing day evening, another xmas dinner at another collaegue's house.

me just done with mtg with boss.. damn siong.. start from the moment i entered into office. discuss on many issues which equate to more biz trips.. darn!

then tok about my workload and i keep saying i need assistant to off load. he wants me to pass some to new coll but still never give me the empowerment to be his boss.. like tat how to work???? si beh pek chek..

sch.. for me, i rather in laws n family dun give me any $$ or gifts.. or else, they will start interferring wif all the decision making. rather not man.. FIL wanted to give us some $$ to foot the wedding costs but b4 we even seen the $$ in our bank a/c, his whole family incl his kapoh bro starts interferring with all decisions. they think that since their dad is paying for parts of it, they can make decisions on our behalf! then i told hubby not to take the $$$.. i rather b poorer den to let someone lord over my life.

pre xmas eve - in laws whole family clan plus their neighbours r gg to cramm into my small hse
xmas eve - hubby frens r coming over..

so i'm gg to be maid for 2 days in a row to clean, wash, cook and serve food!!!

skylar, me not having cough. it is fever plus throat infection. throat still pain n got not much appetite lor.

keke. last year it was at my house mah. so we take turns la. ah lao not in so this year i never open house. last year was so fun. did i tell you all, we forced everyone to come in their old school uniforms keke

about assistants: we have one in the department, like a shared resource. but my 'favourite' colleague immediately took the poor girl to be her personal assistant

just went to check bank account. bonus is in! woohoo! :D

wah biang ant!! fever u still go back 2 work, u notti gal! eh babe, u beta take care & drink lots of water ya. nothing is more important than good health. ask ur boss 2 go fly kite.

ya, ikea local meals r quite good, i muz say. though i didn't noe local bfast r also available, thot only 4 lunch & dinner.

big fat bonus for pink!!! woohoo!

gg 2 spend a lomantic x'mas wif hubby, =) though nothing concrete planned yet. hope no last min distractions/family obligations 2 fulfill ...

alamak. thought boss not around, can shake leg. scarley got called into last minute meeting.

bonus... ok la. not that fat la. dun wanna be fat bunny hehe.

lina, i can;t take any more mc lah.. bo bian.. coz cant take all 14 days of mc or else my bonus will suffer next year.

my all time ikea fav food: chicken wings.. totally love it!!!

menu for inlaws n family:
Grilled pork ribs
baked cheesy potatoes
French fries (for the kids)
Salad
Mango pudding
log cake

things my MIL will cook:
fried bee hoon
curry chicken (remb tat weird curry chicken story? yep, tat will be the one which i absolutely will not touch!)

menu for hubby's frens:
roast stuffed chicken
crab au gratin
salad
apple crumble

things his frens will bring:
pizza
cocktail sauages and ham
drinks

tonight suppose to have dinner with SG office but i'm thinking of not going.. damn sianzzz...

now hubby thinking of new yr's eve who to invite over and i was like.. OMG.. another round? better not unless it is really potluck style n i only prepare 1 dish!!!

aiyo ant, u poor thing.

ikea chicken wings, bogus!!!

wow, that's alot of things 2 prepare 4 ur x'mas bash. looks like other than the logcake, u'll b doing all the other stuff urself, right? yaya, the NY thingie beta make it a potluck, dun tire urself out. dun forget there's still cleaning & washing up to do & that sucks.