CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

sky - y don u reply..
yes i need further assistance..will your hotel be a dear and help my fren to customise a 4 yolkie mooncake coz she realli like the idea of consuming 1000 calories at a go. *SCRAM*

KA me miss you but me keep me feelings in me's heart... cannot disclose our secret relationship ma kekeke

sky - got chance what? next generation ah? no la. just stress la. pineapple, pineapple juice, liang teh... everything i try already.

Lina..
kekeke.. coz I email her mah.. whahaha.. emails are the fastest man!!

Sch..
kns u!! whahaha... then sekali she say.. ya .. i will be an absolute dear to even dial in the hospital for u ya.. whahaha... pengz...

ok girls. back to the ORIGINAL name of this thread.... anyone got any chinese soup recipes? i feel like making

Wahh i really buay lunz man!! my recep just told me that she knew a chef from Australia & she is so happy coz that guy ask her to go over to find him?? PUKE!!!!

XIA SWAY MAN!!!

then i told her that do u know that our company can check watever u are doing? even ur MSN chat log etc?? then she quickly turn over & tell me ohh.. no lah.. I NV chat on msn one!! CBCBCBCB.. really a farking good damn LIAR man!!

anyways, i also tell her liao.. aiyah... these kinda things dun hv to lie one lah... coz our IT dept got everything log down one .. then she lan lan... CBCBCBCBCB.. CANNOT STAND HER MAN!! SHE CAN PRACTICALLY LIE WITH HER EYES OPEN!! FARK!!

ka.. come back.. of course miss you.. but me shy shy.. dun declare openly one lah.. :p

sch's comments is funny.. but i oso like alot of yolk in mooncake.. coz too sweet, so the yolk neutralize the effect..

why don't u gers try black chicken soup??? sometimes it helps to make your da yi ma's plane to land in the next few days' time..

for those of you searching for mooncakes, ikea got sell:

plain lotus paste: $5.20/piece, $19.50/box
lotus paste with single yolk: $5.70/piece, $21.50/box
lotus paste with double yolk: $6.2/piece, $23.50/box

sorry lina, no 4 yolk. i think ikea doesn't want to give people cholestrol probs also. i'm not sure if it's nice or not cos i'm not a mooncake fan...

skylar, go tell ur recep lah "ohhhhhhh is it? then wat r u gg 2 do when u're at his place? ask him 2 fry an egg in ur h***?? cos u're so cheappppppp, wet & warm there & ever so ready 2b f by him"

very funny hor, sch & skylar. the 4 yolk mooncakes 4 my niang jia lah, me no mooncake fan myself, eat a bit ok lah, too much then jerlat liao.

thks pink, guess i'll go chk out the taka mooncake fair. wat soup u thinking of making? there r some below. last time i copied from THIS thread one:

CHICKEN, DRIED SCALLOP & PEANUT SOUP
Serving: 2 persons

Ingredients:
500g chicken
2 tbsp kei chi
5 dried scallops
½ cup groundnuts, washed and drained
1 tbsp white peppercorns
1 litre hot water

Seasoning:
½ tbsp salt
Method
Skin and chop chicken into large chunky pieces. Combine all ingredients together and double-boil for 1½–2 hours. Just before serving, add seasoning to taste.

note: Chicken can be replaced with lean pork or pig’s stomach

LOTUS ROOT SOUP (lian ou)

U need:
pork ribs
lotus roots peeled & thinly sliced
dried red dates (to make the soup sweeter)

Method:
1. Scald the pork ribs with boiling water to get rid of excess scum. (In fact, all pork ribs must be scalded with boiling water b4 cooking in soup)
2. Put the pork ribs, red dates & lotus roots in a pot of water.
3. Put on low fire & boil for about 3-4 hrs. Season with salt & a little light soy sauce to taste.

when i cook lotus roots soup,i will always add red dates and wolfberry as well...I will boil the pork ribs,big bones,red dates and wolfberry to boil for ard 2 hours first...Utill u can smell the aroma,then add in the lotus roots and boil for another 1/2 hours and turn off the fire...

WINTER MELON SOUP

1 cup winter melon (1/2 pound)
Water to boil winter melon
2 cups chicken broth
4 Chinese dried black mushrooms
2 - 3 slices ginger
1/4 cup cooked ham, diced
Salt and pepper to taste
1 green onion, green part only, washed and cut on the diagonal into 1-inch pieces

PREPARATION:

Wash the winter melon, remove the green skin, seeds, and the pulp. Cut into 2-inch pieces.
Place the winter melon in a pot of water, bring to a boil, and simmer for approximately 20 minutes or until the winter melon is tender.
Add the chicken broth, mushrooms, ginger and cooked ham.Add seasonings as desired. Simmer for about 20 minutes. Add green onion for garnish. Serve hot.

CORN SOUP W SPARE RIBS

1-2 corn (cut into smaller pcs)
5-6 pcs of spareribs (soup bones)
1-2 carrots (cut into smaller pcs)

Put everything into pot and boil. For normal cooking pot, boil for 1-2hrs. If you are using pressure cooker, probably 1/2hr will do.

TOUFU & MINCED PORK SOUP
Ingredients
- 3-4 bowls of soup stock (if you haven't got homemake stock, can use canned stock or stock cubes. mix with water if canned stock is too salty)
- 1-2 slabs of toufu (cut into cubes. not too small in case it disintegrates to even smaller bits)
- 300-400g minced pork (add some soy sauce/pepper/wine to season)
- 2-3stalks of spring onion (chopped)
- 2-3stalks of chinese parsley (chopped)
- some dried scallops if available (washed and soaked) or carrots
- salt(according to taste)

*can vary all quantity of ingredients according to personal taste and serving size

Method
- boil soup stock & dried scallops (or carrots)
- spoon minced pork into little balls and drop into boiling soup (don't overcook)
- add toufu (don't stir too hard 'cos tofu might disintegrate)
- when almost cooked, add chopped spring onions & parsley and boil for very short while
- taste and add salt/sesame oil/fried shallots if necessary and we're done!

kaoz pink, XIAO MEI MEIs

ok ok
disclaimer: those under 18 pls seek parental approval b4 reading any of username Lina Chew's (ckw1011) postings. offenders would hv their eyeballs gorged out!!!!!!!!!!

hehehe lina anger liao...

hmmm you know some chai png stalls sell herbal soup kind... it's just called chicken soup, but got that long branch thing one. i dunno what's that herb called. dangshen si bo? ...

Wahaha... Linaa!!! buay tahan u man!! whahaa..
I cannot stand her leh.. really ah..

I got eat before 4 yolk one... actually quite shiok leh.. every knife u cut down sure got yolk.. whahaha...

Ant..
actually ah.. black chicken soup hor.. will make us nose bleed bor? whahaha...

wow.. lina damn powerful when come to scolding ppl..

xiao mei mei??? where?? how can b xiao mei mei when u call urself lao niang?????? :p

skylar, u tink u man argh??? nose bleed??? once, i took black chicken 1 wk plus b4 it is due.. den it came 1 wk in advance lor..

n for those who have cramps.. can try taking it 2 days b4 'plane's arrival'.. help alot to ease the pain leh.. coz tat's wat happen last mth for me..

but PLEASE DONT TAKE black chicken during the visit coz it will make it heavier than usual...

KA...
siao ah u!! whahaha....

Ant..
wahaha... coz i always think that black chicken soup ah.. cannot drink too much coz very heaty leh.. whahhaa...

Sky - yah lor...think i too busy till i kee siao oredi......hahahahaha.....

Gals - please forgive my "siaoness" hah......

wahhh alot of soup recipe liao! linascold pple v qiat, if got those chance need to find kaki to take broom stick to wack hu li jin can jio lina!

pink - thinking of tryin ur chilli crab recipe this saturday..ask u hor..i just follow exactly the same or shld i make any changes here and there?

skylar,
life changed already lor, now got 1 kid but still don't know how to cook

BOTH! I'd like to have levynn's recipes AND...

as for the recipes I copied from this thread, I anyhow copy into Word, now VERY messy, need to tidy up first before I can email to whoever who wants lah.

I think u got compile also hor, maybe u send me yours lah, sure SWEE SWEE like yourself and your snack table...

Pink!! whahaa.. u hit the nail on KA head ah! whahaha..

Sch.. must add a dash of salt to taste lah.. pepper too! yummy!!

Wahh... u trying the crab recipe ah.. yummy!! hmm... wat shd i be cooking leh?

sch - remember we were saying how the older generation always cook things only add salt and pepper? i always add a dash of both in my soups... i think it makes very big diff

welcome, SP, you must be our biggest fan sia, got the patience to scroll through all the pages and copy the recipe some more? pei fu pei fu....

unrelated question: anyone knows where we can go for SHOOTING? like air rifle kind? i'm thinking of bringing him for an amazing race trail one of the weekends, and one of the stops will be a shooting range that we can shoot at targets

i've checked safra yishun and they require you to be a member and have gone through a course, and the singapore gun club needs you to be a member too (like $1000 for membership. siao)

Pink... basically for shooting outdoor ah.... mostly in those country clubs one lor.... then usually hv to be member one lah..

or u bring him go marina sq there lor.. think they have an indoor shooting one.. those colorful water bags kinds.. quite fun..

excuse me ah babes, for the record: lina is a REFINED lady ok. my bitchiness only reserved 4 those who EXCLUSIVELY deserved it!

sch, wat got those chance need to find kaki to take broom stick to wack hu li jin can jio lina? bo eng ah, sorlee.

skylar, mai kay kay hor. ur ah bu or u cook?? kns! & sp, skylar didn't compile lah, or rather, she wanted 2 compile but got NO TIME 2 do it yet (skylar, am i right?)

pink, black chicken soup recipe when u buy herbs from the chinese herb shop that time can ask the auntie there. if not, u can go 2 ntuc & find. i ever see recipes printed on the plastic packet herbs. good luck!

bunny - talkin abt air rifle...you got watch this show "Earl" showing on channel 5?..just this week, Earl went to find a childhood crush whom he actually shot with an air rifle with. So this poor gal grew up with a air rifle ball bearing in her ka chng and the metal detector will always be activated when she walks through it..muahahahahaha...show nv say y it wasnt removed or y it cant be removed...so...BE CAREFUL OKIE?

ahahaha sch that's funny! the show is 'my name is earl' is it? i watched once only. ok i will be careful not to get any ball bearings shot at me!

Notti Bunny!! I shoot you!!!!! *Bang* *Bang* *Bang*
Wahahahahahahaaa.............

KAREN GOING BONKERS LIAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

aiyah pink.. go arcade and play virtual cop or house of dead lah.. also shooting.. heehee..

orh gway teng.. i use those herbs which i upload pics donkey months ago n add black chicken lor. blanch the black chicken first thou. put in slow cooker to cook. when it is ready to makan, add abit of salt for taste can alr lor..

yup, orh gway teng very heaty, so must drink gallons of water after taking tat to prevent sore throat lor..

SCH!!!!
Wahahahaha... buay tahan man!! whaha...

Lina..
yap ur soooooooooooooo rite lah.. kekeke.. i neber say i cook mah.. its ah bu man.. btw did u rec'd ur dear frd sms? think scare we forget ah.. whahaha...

Pink..
huh? no more ah.. then dunno liao.. goggle it lah..

fackadoodledoo! i've been trying to book my hotel in sweden for the longest time. since like 10pm until NOW leh. first it took very long to find a suitable one (cos i'm extending my stay that's why the company is not booking for me... and company one is more highclass so i also dun want). then find already, realised it's fully book. and the same for second choice. then find out ok first choice does have vacancy but must share room....

and now i finally found another one BUT the booking system is down. fackety fack fack!

good morning babes!!!

sorry... haven't been dutifully coming in n chatting. been really busy these days. n some more last evening got meeting until 845pm... biangz... today eyes cannot open ah....

morning ladies! wah pink so happening u r extending ur stay at stockolm!! hope u will be able to book ur hotel soon. if u r alone try not to share room lah, if not at night must wear 2 underwear for protection ah wahahahah

lev - y u so poor thing got meeting until so late? tell ur principal or HOD..student all go home alreadi no need act act..i got a hungry ah lao waiting for me at home!

Good Morning Babes.....

Levynn - dun worry...you are not the only one not coming in to post...me too. This week is also super busy week for me as well. Im trying to finish all hopefully by Fri than I can leave on the dot to meet you gals.

Pink - nevermind...try your sourcing today again.

wah biang wah biang wah biang... the hotel system is still not working and i'm not getting any replies from them. basket.....

if share room, it's usually singer gender room. but i'm still not comfortable la.

good morning babes
not a very good start of the day for me, good thing boss is leaving off in one hr, so i at least hv some time later 2 clear my stuff *phew*

nabz... i still got no hotel to stay at. ah lao ask me to sleep under a bridge. i told him i will freeze to death. he said buy a bottle of whiskey. walau... love me so much sia...

Pink..
whahaa.. ur ah lao joking with u lah.. whahah.. so cute sia he..

Sch..
3 days to learn powerpoint? sure bor? wait u sleep 3 days straight in class ah.. whaha..

ya..dunno how come need 3 days to teach powerpoint..maybe they r teaching me how to create a movie using powerpoint. think i will be surfing the net more if there is access.

eloooo where is all the chio bus? y today only got me n skyyyyy?