CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

sch - yup. chicken stall sell chicken bones. it makes sense mah - they sell breast meat and thigh meat... they have to do something to the bones mah. sell lor! keke. $1 only. ask the uncle to TOK it for you.

usually for soup for 2 people i use half of the chicken bones, and $2 worth of pork bones. can make enough for 2 meals. try la

so now my question is: any 2 types of bones can mix, or only chicken+pork?

good morning babes
me 2 had corn (aka abc) soup (last nite dinner).
corn + carrot + pork ribs - cooked by MIL
last time my mummy would cooked it wif potato as well, shiok!

ant, hw long wld u stay in s'pore tis time? r u gg 2 cook/bake anytime soon?

pink, i think pple normally use these 2 types of bones only lah. the other norm soup bone is fish bones but i doubt tt cld b used to mix wif anything else. eh, any other bone i think difficult 2 find in the wet mart

btw pink, i'm curious. when do u usually visit the wet mart? b4 u start work on weekdays?

lina - you siao ah? visit wet market before work on weekdays? lao niang need beauty sleep leh.

saturday or sun morning when wake up then go market la. sometimes 10plus, sometimes 11plus? keke

Good morning BABES!!

Punch card system in.. keke...

huh? nv add Ant meh? thot i add all in liao?? okok.. i go check ya. .. paiseh Ant...

hello pink, basket, i thot u "hardworking" wat! last time the aunties in my opic all visit wet mart b4 work, early early go then can get fresh stuff mah. wah liao, 10 plus, 11 plus, get all the "leftovers" pple dun wan wan leh, tsk tsk tsk

SKYLAR, u no understand Eng sibo? tell u already scan iris/thumb lah. go 2 the door & do again, bo not counted hor ...

later i go airport & eat at sakae sushi, lalalalala

think normally is mix chicken and pig bone leh. coz fish bone will have fishy taste u need to add in ginger but at the cooking class the other aunties told me can add pig bone too. but i tot its weird.

ask u all hor, what time does wet market open ah?

walau eh lina.... hardworking la but i draw the line at wet market before work man...

you know what, i think going to the market is 'my' time. it's my quiet time. i like to take my time there. my whole week is rush rush rush but market time is slow slow, talk to uncles and aunties who call me XIAO MEI... if i go before work, it will be detrimental to my health! keke

i know - fish bone can mix with prawn head! prawn head and pork bone also. then very sweet

sch - i think market open about 5 plus or 6 ba? i dunno. i still in dreamland that time

lina - my grandma also always cook that soup. we call it gantang tng so yeah, gantang is a fixture in it. can also add a bit of onion.

lina - u work where how come can go airport for lunch

*small voice* i ask ask only..coz i got a market 5 mins away from my new place..see got the time to go b4 work or not mah..but i always oversleep for work

skylar, so bad, forgot about me.. boo hoo.. *hiding 1 corner crying*

lina, cooking, prob not. no food in fridge at all! baking, yes, my gf wana come over on sun to bake. tat day, my FIL fished alot of big fishes n bring back home and were v fresh. MIL initially packed some for me to bring home, den hubby say dun wan. say me no time to cook at all.. ahahah..

lina, sakae sushi in airport nice meh?? me gg to airport too, but late at nite.. u come n send me off huh?? heheh..

sch, some wet mkt are open as early as 4am i think..

btw, anyone know of wat food tat is good for eyesight n reduce white hair??

sch - if you can do it, you will be the first one in here to say good morning babes! keke. i would rather sleep in.... cos if buy food back then still must clean... aiyah forget it la! keke

ant - i think gou qi zi is good for eyesight!

eyesight should be add gou qi zi right?

white hair - remember there are some herbs to add for food to maintain black hair..but cant remember

ant - u flyin to dubai tonight? ur hubby sad or not?

bunny - sometimes i feel abit intimidated to go market coz I am quite slow ..like i need to see what they got and dun realli know what i wqant..think some hawkers r quite nice and wont scold me hor?

sch - actually initially i also very scared to go market. cos like very blur, everything don't know kind. now i'm still quite blur with most things but it helps that the stallowners are mostly helpful. i always ask for their advice. like 'uncle, what kind of fish is good for frying?'. try to find a stall that you like and keep going back. it's very nice to go back week after week and ask how they are. i find that i usually like going to stalls run by ladies.

aiya pink, admit lah we won't laugh at u. u so like 2 go wet mart 2 tok 2 the uncles aunties bcos they call u XIAOMEI si bo =)

sch, if u always oversleep 4 work hor + u like 2 take ur time at the wet mart, pls 4get abt gg wet mart b4 work. basket, go b4 work hv 2 do things chop chop FAST! me work at Expo lah, airpot veri near. if u r gg 2 keep visiting the wet mart and if the hawkers scold u, then gan them back, serious. some mart hawkers can b very mean, so dun gif face 2 them if not they think u easy 2 bully.

ant, if i can eat at airport from lunch until late late tonite, then on lah, i send u off. wat r frens 4 =) so, to dubai tonite, si bo? gal, muz b careful ok. bao tight tight from head 2 toe, if not the pple there kidnap u 2 becum their ah tao's wife ah.

oh yes the term xiao mei or its variations (xiao mei mei / ah mei) .... music to my ears man! :D

oh... wait go market before work the smell like fish how? keke.

LINA!!!
basket... maciam lor.. scan iris.. got scan ka chng anot? whahaha..

Ant..
thot i got add u leh.. i resend ok.. sorri sorri....

AIYAAAAAAA skylar, 4 u only can scan ka chng lah
(i go ask the IT pple 2 modify the system 2 accept ur scanned ka chng & all ur ka chng's nearby neighbours)

walau if scan ka chng then the machine must come in many sizes wor....

last time i change plane in new york then kena scan the iris... quite scary leh. i thought about 'the 6th day' (arnold schwanager)

Pink!! whahaha.... think ah.. now i see u, I will think of glass sticking all over ur body with 1 slipper (but when u mentioned 1 slipper ah.. i keep thinking the slipper is on ur head rather than ur feet leh) whahahah......

Lina..
scan ka chng abit er xin lor.. hwahhaha...

scan iris, good security measure.
dunno who suggested scan ka chng wan hor, skylar?

question: other than mei zhen xiang, anyone noe of any other place tt sells 4 yolk white lotus paste mooncakes?? sos

hmmm.. i noe gou qi zi is good.. but was thinking got any other type of food oso good for eyes or not...

go wet mkt b4 gg to wk.. wau kao.. i rather sleep more siahz.. sch, u sure u can do tat if u always go work late????

yes, gg dubai tonite.. v v v NOT keen to go coz gota take night flight there n is damn long flight hours..

lina, wait i bao too much den gana laugh at when the locals dun even bao tao lor.. dubai got alot of indians lor, n i dun see them bao til like ba zhang k.. well.. if got sim, u can always go airport after work n send me off.. whahah..

wau.. skylar special treatment.. scan ka chng.. cool.. wait IT ppl see til got ba jiam or the system crash how??? they system got so te kong boh?

my hubby was just joking to his frens during wkend tat he is my wkend lover.. i only go home to spend on wkends.. ahahah..

after this wk, got 3 more biz trips n i finally can rest... new zealand, south africa and tokyo.. den rest for 1 mth plus n may go korea, india, nepal n pacific islands.. sianz siahz..

ant, sim i got lah. but hor, the spirit & sim r willing but the flesh is weak. NID MY BEAUTY SLEEP lah, hahahaha
S. Africa, beautiful plaae. but seriously, got 2b very careful. try 2 go EVERYWHERE in pairs, i heard tt place is really really not safe, esp 4 ladies.

Wahaha... scan ka chng... scan li ki si ah...
wanna scan sai bor? whahaha.. siao lang!

Ant..
wahh... the way u r flying ard ah... really jialatz man... think even if ask u go hols u also scared scared liao ah hor.. whahaha.. too much liao lah.. ur ah lao poor thing ah.. kena demoted to wkend lovers ah.. whahaha...

Lina..
die die must 4 yolk ah? dunno leh.. very jerlat leh.. but if got tell me ah. ekke.. can buy for my ah bu.. the other day went to Marriott to try their mooncakes.. simi sai Museli.. yucks!! but their durians rockz man!! *drooling*

btw.. we are mtg on Fri si bor? the Taka mooncake feast start liao leh.. we can go there bio bio also... whahah...

ant - carrots also good for eyesight

speaking of flight.... i think i'm booked next to my boss to copenhagen. thanks lor 12 hours next to my boss.... i mean he's nice but 12 hours is a long time for small talk!!!!!!!!! i think i will check in early and ask for change of seat.

sorry lina, me not mooncake lover so can't help you there. we always get free from companies that want to por us :D

btw, when is lantern carrying festival ah? i want to go with my ah lao

Pink.. whahaa... ya man!! 12 hrs next to ur boss?? eh tor leh... u on SQ or wat? do internet check-in to change ur seat lor.. whahaha...

huh? lantern?? u go chinese garden webby to check lor... my hse downstairs this sun got lantern carrying festival organized by the CC .. whaha..

Ant..
why the sudden u asking abt good eyesight? carrots also good too..

no not SQ. SAS. can do internet check-in to change seat? only SQ ah?

i think my ah lao never carry lantern before. want to introduce him to it. i think it's fun
i remember my first lantern is a red chicken. keke

pink, actual ba yue shi wu is on 6 oct
carry rabbit lantern, eat mooncakes & drink chinese tea wif ur ah lao under the moonlight, so lomantic

lantern festival at chinese gdns
23 sep to 15 oct
Mid-Autumn Latern Carnival
http://www.lanterncarnival.com/

Venue :
Singapore Chinese Garden
No. 1 Chinese Garden Road Singapore 619795
(there got mrt stn hor)

Time :
5pm - 1130pm on Weekdays
5pm - 1230am on Saturday & Sunday

Tickets :
Weekdays - Adult $8.00 / Child $5.00
Weekends - Adult $10.00 / Child $6.00

last time dbs/posb card holders think got 10% disc, tis time dunno hv or not

hi hi all ladies...... this is such a great thread! love yr pics and recipes!!!

SKYLAR... remember me bo? long lost clubber wanna be aka yoshi... lol

I spent last 3 weeks going thru the entire archives and copying recipes into Word, who wants let me know k... 90+ pages 2.7MB, err, must be the pics make it so big.

welcome sp
i wan i wan
email address: [email protected]

tks ya, u're so sweet

& yes skylar, got 4 yolk mooncake (u get more yoke than lotus paste in the mooncake lor, not jerlat)
but so far, i only found it at mei zhen xiang,
1 for $9.50. juz tried shangri-la's 2 yolk mooncake, not too bad

wah ant - think i travel as much as u i will be bankrupt...think every city i will be shopping ah!

lina - i think crystal jade got leh..can go and see this friday. fri b4 i meet u all i am goin to gdwood to collect boxes of mooncakes tt i order...yummmmy!!!!

Pink...
other airlines me not too sure lah.. coz me do more into SQ lor.. can print out boarding passes too.. save time..

hi sp..
hmm.. if u say sp then i abit blur liao lor.. dun really remember.. Yoshi.. ya.. that does ring alittle bell.. hows life eh??

u r saying that u got recipes to email us or u want Levynn to send u? blur... kekek....

Sch.. ya ya.. then we can go see ya... i know of birdnest mooncake.. i used to buy once for my ah bu.. then long she say i beri long no buy gif her liao.. sob..sob.. thot of buying 1 pc for her.. whahaha...

where sell good baked yam ones ah?

bcoz i realised my eyesight seems to be deteriorating lor.. n seems to have more white hair.. so trying to bu jiu..

crown prince hotel has nice baked pastry type of mooncakes.. raffles hotel has very nice champagne mooncakes n i like mandarin hotel's.. got another place but i just can't remb the name. waiting for suppliers to provide with us again.. hiak hiak..

Ant..
did u over strain ur eyes? I know the Eu Yang Sang gou ki ah... can just take out from the bottle & eat liddat one leh.. heard its better for the eyes lor.. u can try ya!!

Yes, Raffles champagne mooncake very nice.. i still remember I bot 1 box last yr then keep inside my fridge when go home time.. nabz.. gu niang !! I found 1 mini mooncake MISSING!!!! CBCBCBCCB... heng is for our own consumption man! imagine if as a gift? paiseh man!!

I just used my ah lao M1 points to redeem a box of durian mooncake from Marriott for only $10!!! whahha... I did tried the other day.. heavenly man!!

Pink!!!
Wahh.. hard work ah u.. kekeke.. okok.. bu kuai si our recipe mama!! Gam xia gam xia!!
but me not really into green curry lor.. keke..
see who try out liao.. take the pix ya!! kekek..
mai angreee.. ok

sp - welcome!

sky - where wu birdnest mooncake? i hun the taka mooncake fair for the past 3 yrs i nv try b4 leh. tot the yam mooncake is deep fried one? i tried one at taka fair last yr by a teochew restaurant..the yam one..SHIOK ah!!

bake one i not sure but this yr goodwood got a new mooncake is yam with red date mooncake in snowskin. got order 1 pc to try try. maybe if the fair is on can go n try try this fri!

good work recipe mama.. but hor, me not a fan of green curry so will not try.. ahahah..

i think nowadays, i'm too tired so i see new recipe oso not keen to try.. lazy.. hiak hiak.. but like to see all the cooking pics n drool over the pics.. :p

skylar, do u noe anyone from shang f&b?
if u do, do me a favour & help me ask if they sell 4 yolk mooncakes can? can't get them on the fone.

ant, cld it b becoz u're too tired? last time i also thot my eyesight deteriorated, but optician said ok. as 4 white hair, hmmmm, maybe now u think alot ...

since all can remember our mtg TIS FRI, tmr i no send out reminder liao hor. hey, it's on the 5th flr ya, mai ki sala lao

honestly, the travelling is slowly driving me nuts coz not enough time to rest.. n keep over spend coz of shopping in overseas..

lina, i dun dare to go n c optician coz dun wana face the fact i need new glasses.. hahah.. i noe staring at greenery in the am is good lor but no time only on wkends.. n wkends, i'm too busy sleeping.. white hair is realy a killer, so hoping to find a remedy beside dying hair.. thank god mostly are hidden behind the black hair..

fri wat time huh??

Sch..
I will always remember the birdnest mooncake man!! okok.. will try to source out the hotel for u.. as for the yam one.. its not deep fried lah.. sounds jerlat leh.. its oven baked lor.. whahaha.. I heard crown prince not bad..

Lina..
yes, I do know the f&b mgr, will check out then tell u ya..

Ant...
ur memory is failing you....

wahh.. i very jialatz leh.. my da yi ma really go on strike liao.. until now her plane still haben arrive leh.. how??? pengz...

ant, fri 7.30 pm. if u nid new glasses then go do it fast b4 ur eyesight deteriorate further, be good lah ...

da yi ma is late? eat pineapple??

KAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA>...............
Wa Miss Liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii...........
kekeke...

Pink..
urs got chance ah? mine I dun think so lor.. guess its coz of the stress that I am having ah..

Lina...
reply from Shang.

Hi R...
Greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore!
My.. You really love the yolks eh?
We have the double yolk and not 4 yolk ones. Let me know if you need further assistance. Just tell me what other favours would you like.

Many thanks and best regards,