CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

pink... i bought a packet of chai por fr NTUC b4... but it's not very nice. maybe u can ask fr those dried goods stalls. they may sell nicer ones there. but those direct fr china r the best!

skylar... we need your ah bu's expertise in telling us wat r the dialect names of the different kinds of fish...

Pink..
chai por u can buy from those wet mkt stores that sell spices one.. then u must fry the char poh with oil then nicer ah...

yes yes.. something like those tong cai plastic bag!

for shoppers:
John Little Mega Expo Sale
Public - Free admission
S'pore Expo Hall 3
05-Sep-06 to 10-Sep-06
Start Time: 10:30; End Time : 22:00

for FOOD!!! lovers:
World Food Fair
Public - Free Admission
S'pore Expo Hall 5
06-Sep-06 to 10-Sep-06
Start Time: 11:00; End Time : 22:00

tis one for Levynn:
The Books Warehouse Sale
Public - Free Admission
S'pore Expo Hall 4A
07-Sep-06 to 10-Sep-06
Start Time: 10:00; End Time : 21:00

bunny - for chai bor egg, must fry the chai bor in oil first then add to egg, mix then fry it together

sky - so how how? ur test results how?

Pink...
I just went today only, results will be out only on Fri.. tmr gotta go Mt E for my scan lor.. wish me luck!

Chai por egg is nice yes!! with porridge...

lina... u know me best la!
kao_kiss.gif
was juz deciding whether to take leave on thur or not... keke... looks like have to liao...

usually for chai bor egg, i dun fry the chai bor 1st. but must beat the eggs till got big big bubbles, then i add in the chai bor to the egg, then pour into the pan to fry. but must make sure the pan n oil hot hot then the egg will b nice...

dun worry skylar, u'll b fine.

but of course lah levynn, u're MY angelic twin, remember *wink wink* no nid 2 take leave lah, after work can mah. tis one not so dua zhong as the NLB one ...

Levynn..
wahh.. take leave?? u sibeh onz ah.. ya ya.. follow Levynn's instructions for chai por egg, when i say must fried the chai por is more for the zui kway kinda char por on top one..

Lina..
I will know the final tmr lor.. after the scan.

Pink..
huh? ur boss so mean one ah.. give out ur mobile to others? whah.. bad lor.. heng mine dun do tat man or else think i will die ah?

wah suddenly all the chai por neng experts come out. ok i will try both ways to please everyone... fry chai por first vs beat chai por with egg then fry altogether

skylar - by right the nature of my job makes it so that i'm supposed to be contactable within reasonable timings la. so logically it makes sense for my boss to give out my number. i'm fine with that BUT i don't have a HP allowance, and it's my personal number so i think he should chao chao still at least ask me out of courtesy first lor

wah lau bunny, then ur boss is working by left ... rightfully, if ur job nature is so, then u shld b given a hp allowance (up 2 a certain limit at least). since it is ur personal no., then not very right of him 2 anyhow give pple ur no. hng, inconsiderate MAN!!

Pink..
actually hor,.. if u r supposed to be within reach ah. then really lor the least is that the com shd pay for ur hp allowance lor.. basket!! kekeke...dun be angreeee ya!!

Levynn..
wahhh.. u plan to take leave liao ah.. now me planning for next year Lunar New year leave liao... whaha..

levv - i tot this week is school holiday? y u need to apply leave?

bunny - ok, we nominate u to experiment the chai bor egg. try the different method, ask ur ah lao to be judge then feedback!!!*SCRAM*

that's wat i feel too. i mean, i like the job, i like the company, but sometimes we have to draw a line.... and for me, that line is being reached on my personal line. it's like telling reporters they can call my house at any time to check on company facts you know?

schnauzie...
i still need to come back to work mah. aiyah... my position is very complicated one. next time then explain to u when we meet up.

skylar... so, when is next yr's CNY?? mid Feb ah?

sighz... i also want to take leave. feeling feverish now but can't take mc. now counting down to 2.5 hrs more before i can knock off..

think my body telling me it cant take any more flying already.

public holidays for 2007. say thank you...

New Year's Day
Monday*
1 January 2007

Chinese New Year
Sunday**
18 February 2007
Monday
19 February 2007

Good Friday (HO BAI GOR!keke)
Friday
6 April 2007

Labour Day
Tuesday
1 May 2007

Vesak Day
Thursday
31 May 2007

National Day
Thursday
9 August 2007

Hari Raya Puasa
Saturday
13 October 2007

Deepavali
Thursday
8 November 2007

Hari Raya Haji
Thursday
20 December 2007

Christmas Day
Tuesday
25 December 2007

* The following Tuesday, 2 Jan 2007, will be a public holiday in view of the Hari Raya Haji on 31 Dec 2006 falling on a Sunday.
** The following Tuesday, 20 February 2007, will be a public holiday.

The date, 8 Nov 2007, for Deepavali needs to be checked against the Indian Almanacs when they become available towards the end of 2006. Should there be a change in date, the Ministry of Manpower will announce it towards the end of 2006.

levynn, holiday planning so fast???
mai gong bo lah, ta da:

2007 Public Hols
New Year's Day, Mon 1 January 2007
Chinese New Year, Sun, Mon, 18 & 19 February 2007
Good Friday, Fri 6 April 2007
Labour Day, Tue 1 May 2007
Vesak Day, Thu 31 May 2007

National Day, Thu 9 August 2007
Hari Raya Puasa, Sat 13 October 2007
Deepavali, Thu 8 November 2007
Hari Raya Haji, Thu 20 December 2007
Christmas Day, Tue 25 December 2007

hm...y no one answer my qn again huh? which types of fish can use to make fish porridge?

anyway, my lunch tdy:

403113.jpg

e egg was a mistake...dreaming...forgot to beat egg wif onion so ended up scrambled onion egg...haha

Wahahah.. Lina.. u & Pink come out with 2007 leave at the same time ah! keke.. great minds? ka..pui..... whahahaa..

Levynn.. ur position so hard to understand ah.. must explain ok!?!?

tea tree, shen yu pian or xue yu. the porridge is nice nice, but the fish can b expensive. if not, those leftover deep fried fish (ie. tougher flesh type, take out the flesh & use without the skin) can b used as well. marinate the rice, then the porridge will b tastier.

red snapper = hong2 ban1?? (chinese)

red snapper:
mackerel: Ma3 Jiao1 Yu2 (Chinese) Bur-a (horse in teochew) Ka1
butter fish
sea bass: Jing1 Mu4 Lu2 (chinese) kim bak lou (teochew)
garoupa: Shi2 ban1
trout:
milk fish: batang <<<<<<< tea tree, now we know...
ikan bilis: gang herr
soon hock:
catfish:
song3 he1:
ikan kurau:
ngor herr:
cod fish: xue3 yu2 (chinese)

lina: gam sia! ya...shen yu ex man...saw batang at NTUC ydy thn din noe if suitable so din buy. can or not huh?

pink: u super observant hor! yes, my rice cooker is e smallest size...at e most for 2 pax...

Hi all beautiful ladies... last night i 'bao' wantan to serve family. I bought minced pork, add seasonings incl: flour, salt, light sauce, pepper, cooking oil. Then i wrapped all and cook in stock. However the taste of the wantan isnt as good. I feel very 'meaty'. How can i improve on that?

recipe 4 veggie (any type u wan lah)

1) chop garlic
2) heat up wok
3) add oil
4) fry garlic till fragrant (then scoop up &amp; put aside, pour some oyster sauce on fried garlic)

5) boil water (add little bit of oil + salt)
6) when water boils, put veg into it, boil the veg till it is cooked, then scoop up
7) arrange veg nicely on plate 2b exhibited later
8) pour oyster sauce &amp; fried garlic on cooked veg
9) display the final product on table &amp; stare at it
10) eat when it is cold (cos if it is hot, will scald ur tongue, ouch!!)

sch: v easy. juz add slightly more water then throw into rice cooker as per white rice. its quite nice actually..thn again...some may find it an acquired taste

irene, try adding some prawns and water chestnut

tea tree, my mum last time used overnight deep friend nasi lemak fish + lai mang yu (cantonese) b4. ur tt simi batang, i dunno wat fish is that, so sorry can't help u there.

skylar, sour grapes!!! boooooooooooooooooooooooo

irene... i'm also looking for recipe for filling of wantan... i'm very scared of the "pig" smell on cooked meat...

wah... seems like a lot of PH next yr is on Thur... hmmm...

irene - wat kind of flour u put? orh tiap hoon is it? don think u need to add salt(optional)..got soya sauce good enuf. think if u want to get rid of the PORky taste, can add abit of hua tiao, and i would put sesame oil instead of cookin oil,

ladies, any other pointers?

lina - you sibeh nonsense la!

sch - actually i don't taste any difference leh having brown rice mixed with white rice. quite cute some more keke.

irene - i think perhaps your wantan was in the soup for too long. the trick is to cook the stock then throw in the wantan just before eating. cos if you put the wantan in at the beginning and cook together with the stock, the soup will taste good cos it absorb all the taste from the wantan, and the wantan will be tasteless.

like taohu. throw in last or else it will absorb all the taste from the soup

also, perhaps you could marinate with sesame oil instead of cooking oil. more fragrant. i usually add chopped onion also, and no flour. if you already have soy sauce, then don't need salt liao.

(cheh i sound like expert bo?!)

hahahaha levynn, the nasi lemak fish + lai mang yu have very deep friendship, they're not "shallow" friends cos both hv 2 stay INSIDE water 2 keep themselves alive =)

nabz, lim bu here got work but no mood 2 do cum in here &amp; talk nonsense. siao liao... HELP!!

lina... u win liao lor... then the 2 fish will say "ä¸èƒ½åŒå¹´åŒæœˆåŒæ—¥ç”Ÿï¼Œå¯æ˜¯èƒ½åŒå¹´åŒæœˆåŒæ—¥æ­»ã€‚"

levynn, u cannot put chinese characters here, lao niang's lao ya pc cannot read wan... ya ya,
they'll say 2 each other "my larling, though u &amp; i r not born on the same year, same mth, same day, but nvr mind, we can mati together on the same year, same mth, same day, muack, so lomantic. bye bye larling, u go die 1st since u luff me so much"