CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

good morning babes
oh boy, i miss my bed so much ..........
kao_sleep.gif

red snapper = hong2 ban1?? (chinese)

red snapper:
mackerel: Ma3 Jiao1 Yu2 (Chinese) Bur-a (horse in teochew) Ka1
butter fish
sea bass: Jing1 Mu4 Lu2 (chinese) kim bak lou (teochew)
garoupa: Shi2 ban1
trout:
milk fish: batang
ikan bilis: gang herr
soon hock:
catfish:
song3 he1:
ikan kurau:
ngor herr:
cod fish: xue3 yu2 (chinese)

morning ladies!
my dinner for yesterdae:
402966.jpg

Fried Kuning fish (added pinch salt and tamarind powder), sambal sotong (hey bi hiam), and a plate of ikan billis (not in pic)
Paisay, took 2 fish liao then remember to take pic

yawn... good morning babes. set alarm for 7am but woke up at 8am!

wah sch, your sotong looks good! and i'm a non sotong lover some more!

last night went home after aqua then realised alamak i hadn't had dinner! no wonder so hungry. so used leftover soup to make meesua. yum yum

question: what's the diff between white snapper and red snapper? white's skin is more silvery, the flesh seems darker and red's skin is red, and the flesh seems whiter.... but the taste in meat and the kinds of cooking style to use leh? got diff?

Good Morning Babes....

Dun feel like waking up this morning man! Weather so shiok~!

Sch - like your sambal sotong!

ohaiyoooooooo... *yawns*

weather is damn shiok to zzzzzzz.. so tempted to take MC esp coz now having cramps.. got alot of work to do n force myself to wake up and go for work.. sighzz...

sch, your dinner looks good!! so u now cook dinner every night?

Good morningggggggggggg.............

Wahh... Schh..
ur dinner looks good... kekek. wei.. why only 2 fishes nia... so chun ah. so cannot eat more lah.. whaha.. ur sotong looks nice.. red red.. i like!!

everyone here like wanna sleep man!!!!!!

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Hey Sch, ive been wanting to ask you something but always forget. I was previously scrolling the this SB forum and happen to see your posting in "Home & Decor". You staying in AMK is it? I think im very near you leh....kekekeke....
( I boh liao hor? )

sky - i cooked 4 fish, took 2 on the rice plate liao then remember to take photo.

ant - i will cook whenever i meet hubby..so abt 2 - 3 times a week we go back to holiday chalet. havent move in yet. but fridge got alot of food.

KA - yaya i stay AMK where u live?

hey so sch, when you going to dum dum a dum? btw tonight i will try to steam with tomyum, thanks for your list of how to cook fish!

skylar - you never ask your ah bu to help us with our fish project?

hey skylar, i keep forgetting 2 tell u,
do u remember geraldine, the hockey player in our class? she probably works very near me now, cos i bumped into her twice at expo mrt stn. but we didn't talk hor (in case u wan 2 ask me more qns p) & i dunno whether she recognised me cos she had tt blur look when she caught me smiling at her (both times!)

bunny - it will be next march so now just using it more as a chalet..and can take our own sweet time to do up the house. lucky me and hubby stay quite near our new place.

bunny - ur tom yam is a pre-mix or wat?

KA - me too!!! simi block? u don stalk me leh wahah

bunny - no lah, coz i also got pre-mix..u try liao tell me good or not *guinea pig* wahahahah

Pink.. whaha.. oops.. i forgot about asking my ah bu lah..coz we both were busying frying chicken wings last nite.. whahaha...
paiseh paiseh...

ok.. tonite i will print out a list of the fishy biz we have here to ask her ya! wat are the qns again??

Lina..
Geraldine? dun say u ah.. me also forgot leh.. tok about hockey ah.. i also dunno where i put my hockey stick ah.. or else can lend u so u can wack her if she dun smile back at u ya! whahaha..

KA & Sch.. very near ah.
wahh... so good!! wat chalet wat chalet??

Pink..
tao yan you?? hong you ai mai! whahaha...

wah skylar ... chicken wings recipe please! gam sia! but don't want hong you kind ok? or is it just dust with the famous orh tiap hoon? keke. i buy already but haven't kai zhang yet

Pink...
whahaha... yaya... must marinate with pepper, salt, sugar, abit of oyster sauce, add the orh tiap hoon only if u want the wings to be extra crispy otherwise dun hv to add oredi very tasty liao ah.. kekeke..

hong you hong you.. kekkeke...

sch - hahahaha...me Blk 325. You?
yah lor...next time gathering can go back together....kekekekee.....

Nowadays cant share any dishes or recipe with you gals...coz me no cook....argh!!!!!!

joniel - that is a real mouthful of fishy. so all kinds of fish can use for all types of cooking is it? e.g. snapper can steam, deep fry etc is it?

joniel, the website is it all in chinese? cos again, lao niang comp cannot read chinese font so i only see square square square, box box box...

but very interesting leh. so many types of fish! i always see tipala in cold storage like very cheap like that for such a big fish. always less than $2 nia. anyone tried cooking it before?

Pink - I tan very long liao lor....and yah...Levynn muah yew gueh also very long lor.......and somemore Sky's tom yum soup recipe???????? Where hah?????
Wahahahahahaa..................

Sch - i think quite near. Where is your blk exactly? Coz i only know my blk nia...the rest abit blur lor....kekekeeke....mine is opp the AMK central (Big Mac Ctr)

ya! tom yum recipe promise until the cows come home. where ah, miss sky?

btw sky, can we make your ah bu honorary advisor of this thread? keke

honorary advisor sia, dun pray pray
er, i ask a very silly question, promise

promise

promise

promise

not 2 laugh

when u marinate food, say chicken wing ... how do u noe when it is "tasty" enuf (enuf sugar, salt etc)? by licking the raw chicken wing??? yucks!!! & babes, tis is not a joke, i really wan 2 noe, cos my last few attempts 2 fry wings failed miserably =(

aiyah lina, this thread where got such thing as silly question one? like me asking about wearing goggles when frying belachan - where got silly, right?

chicken wings - i think it's dependant on the length of time it's being marinated, and the things you use to marinate. maybe if you use 'weaker' ingredients like salt and sugar, you should leave it longer? like 2 hours over? and occasionally keep moving the wings around to make sure they all get the marinate. when i use 'stronger' ingredients like ha cheong, half an hour enough liao

lina - normally when marinate chicken wing i try to avoid sugar and honey coz hor the wing will burn easily or turn v black. TT time i marinate with oyster/ abalone sauce and pepper...also v good. if u want crispy u just coat it with rice flour or tempura powder before deep frying

Lina - i agree with Pink. Coz salt & sugar are very mild. you got to marinate with stronger ingredients. But hor...can i laugh hah? Wahahahahahahahaaa......(juz kidding)

ok la... pai seh... i keep forgetting to ask my mama abt the muah yew gueh. but if i'm not wrong, i remember her using muah yew to stir-fry the chicken instead of normal cooking oil, then put in pot to stew. but dunno wat else she put in the pot. i'll remember very hard to ask her the next time i see her.

as for the marinating, sollie... cannot help coz i also dunno how to decide if the chicken wings r tasty enough liao. my mum dun deep-fry at all.

anyway, abt the goggles thingy, maybe good to wear sth protective, depending on wat u r doing. my mum's fren has a chap chai png stall... n when she was frying fish one day, dunno how the oil splashed up n landed near her eye... luckily nothing serious coz never go directly into the eye.

i usually will glaze the marinated chix wings before coating it with flour. it can help to give it a golden color.

pink, i use tat for your ha cheong gai receipe too. before coating with flour, i glaze with beaten egg. it helps to make it less saltish n less orh lu lu leh..

wanna ask batang fish can use to cook porridge or not huh? wat other types of fish apart fr ang go li?

ant: tried e chkn wing in oven n miraculously, it din splish n splash! was worried cz it did whn i baked salmon in e oven. anyone hs any bright ideas how to deal with e latter prob? tks!

Me just back from my blood test!!

wahh u all move so fast?? wat is happening??

KA,
sorry ah.. alot of things happen lately so i nv take the pix.. tonite i go ok.. sorry!!

wat do u all want to ask my ah bu ah?