CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Pink!! whahaha.. ya ya.. must try mah.. so not too bad too.. keke..

my ah lao & me love cheese!! kekeke..

me gg for my blood test soon, wish me luck!!

levynn - what happened? he got into fight with a croc? he's very funny. i quite like him

sch - not sure about porcelein bowls... i always use oven friendly kind. the think white ones

schnauzie... oven friendly?? when the bowl smiles at the oven, n the oven smiles back lor... wahahahahah.... ok la... super lame.

anyway, i dun dare to use other plates for the oven except the baking tray only. but i got a box of microwavable pots... dunno can use or not ah??

oven friendly - ask shopkeeper if you're buying from neighbourhood shops, or at departmental stores, look out for label. it should say

Wahahaha... Lina.. okok! ur pt taken!!

Actually i did that toritos for supper one lah.. its for my ah lao.... so i only eat abit of the chicken only..

Pink, for ur info.. all the portion is for my ah lao lor... not for my ah bu or me ok? keekeke..

tdy i think my brain went on strike. got so much to do and i don't know what should i start working on first. in the back of my mind, i know there is something urgent that i need to attend to but i simply can't remb.. arghhh...

skylar, u feeding your ah lao on a weight gaining project ar??? all your supper damn heavy leh.. wow!!

btw, anyone happens to know how to do salmon baked rice like wat we get from swensen's??? suddenly got craving for tat!!

levynnnnnnnnn larling, since u're so freeeeeeeeee, maybe the jie jies here can think of more projects 4 u 2 do hor?? *SCRAM*

ah lian lina... like that hor, then u treat me Imperial Treasures ah?? wahahahahaa. but hor, fish really difficult to find leh... got pictures n names, but dunno the dialect leh...

ok. here r some types of fish i know. but i'm not sure of the dialect names...

402786.jpg

402787.jpg

402788.jpg

402789.jpg

402790.jpg

402791.jpg

wah piang, i buay tahan u charbors, play until got nothing 2 play ah
red snapper = ang go li??
butter fish = gu you he
hahahahaha

ant - i know!

ingredient:
i can cream of mushroom
1 piece salmon
salt and pepper
cooked rice

step 1: slice salmon into thick pieces and season with salt and pepper
step 2: put rice in microwave safe dish
step 3: mix cream of mushroom in rice
step 4: pan fry salmon till almost cooked
step 5: place salmon in between rice
step 6: bake in microwave oven for about 5 min

TA DA!!!

wah liew...we r all confused. jialat..LEVV - u v free, u print out the pic then tomoro u go market ask the fishmonger lah!! *SCRAM*

pink, swensen's salmon baked rice is tomato based leh.. if use pasta sauce instead, will be weird???? n hor, i got no microwave oven, use oven need how long huh??

there is also the famous soon hock fish which is wat fish in eng?????

i only know mackerel fish is also called saba in jap. very nice when grilled n squeeze some lemon on top before eating...

ahaha good one sch:

red snapper: ang go li!
mackerel:
butter fish
sea bass: kim Muack lor? shi ban?
garoupa:
trout:
milk fish: batang
ikan bilis: gang herr

sorry ant, i don't know about tomato base. guess you replace cream of mushroom with tomato base lor

for those who want to use the cream of mushroom recipe, don't forget to sprinkle cheese on top before baking! i've used normal cheese slices before, and it's worked as well

pink... usually the fish at wedding dinner is more or less the same. so far, majority use garoupa leh, i think. sea bass is the cheaper one.

ok la... skylar go home n ask her ah bu. tmr we will know the answers liao.

schnuazie... u think me so free ah! ask pink to ask lor... she's establishing her "name" in the market... veg stall already "conquered"... can go to the fishmonger liao... wahahahahha...

chope ah. pink only conquered the dried goods stall auntie la. fishmonger was already quite fed up when i asked him what fish is good for porridge and frying etc.

how about we go coldstorage and take photos of fish with the angmoh names, then go to market to take photo and ask for hokkien names then play "match the fish" when we next meet? keke

I want to contribute abit...

Mackerel : Ma3 Jiao1 Yu2 (Chinese) Bur-a (horse in teochew) Ka1
Garoupa : Shi2 ban1
Sea Bass : Jing1 Mu4 Lu2 (chinese) kim bak lou (teochew)

ok as updated, and i added somemore:
red snapper: ang go li!
mackerel: Ma3 Jiao1 Yu2 (Chinese) Bur-a (horse in teochew) Ka1
butter fish
sea bass: Jing1 Mu4 Lu2 (chinese) kim bak lou (teochew)
garoupa: Shi2 ban1
trout:
soon hock:
catfish:
song3 he1:

anymore?

wau lao pink, i pull your long bunny ears! i wrote big big i'm back in sg alr n u still think me in australia!

i so helpful help to hunt for pic of fish n gana suan.. boo hoo.... HUMPHHHHH

is it sch that wanted to cook kepong fish? can put tamarind powder in the slits then fry. very nice also

and the list goes on:
red snapper:
butter fish
trout:
soon hock:
catfish:
song3 he1:
ikan kurau:

i removed ang go li... cos i'm the one who added it and now i'm not so sure... hehe

more additions to the list:
red snapper:
butter fish
trout:
soon hock:
catfish:
song3 he1:
ikan kurau:
ngor herr:
cod fish: