CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

sky - ur fish looks delicious leh..how u cook ah?

oh ya, tt day i also bought a pack of white rice and a pack of brown rice..ended up my ah lao like to eat brown rice..he is tryin to diet so he say brown rice is good coz cannot eat much...so next time my rice also got 2 color liao

Levynn...
huh? got meh? so tat one is u nor.. i still thot which fellow keep smiling at the camera.. i saw at the last bit, I saw someone pull u away from the camera leh.. coz u keep "qiang jing toh" ah? whahaha.a.......

Pink!!!
Welcome back!!!!!!!!!!! ho seh bor???????????????

Sch,
the fish ah.. very easy lor.. i just open the pkt then marinate with teriyaki sauce then just put it on top of my rice.. while cooking to make it hot.

skylar... u mean the camera only capture until that part?? never show me hantam that guy who pulled me away?? wahahahaha...

been so busy tdy tat wana go crazy..

pink, how's krabi? ur hubby okie???

btw, i tried your salmon with wong bok recipe.. but turns out damn saltish! but nice.. nxt time i shld add less miso...

sch, must see wat fish u buy lor.. some fish must deep fried den nice lor but some fish only can steam..

levynn, u bgt alot of books? my coll went ard 10plus n he said it was really long queue. he bgt 16 books!

good morning!!! lazy tuesday morning... *yawn*

ant... i only bought 6 books. wanted to look for some recipe books but cannot find...

lev - good morning! just got the sept issue of simply her (my very first issue!) ..dunno does tt mean i am on my way to auntiehood..but they did feature on irons, towels and gave some pretty gd recipe!! woohoo

do u all buy it every mth? other than those who subscribe~

sleepy....

tonight planning to cook. keke. miss cooking leh muahahhaha.

ant, my hubby's ok. only during the boat ride he felt woozy, then after that we took the van and he sat sideways so also felt yucky. and after that i drank too much alcohol in too short a time (if you all remember, i have low alcoholic tolerance), so it was my turn to feel terrible. when can we have a honeymoon that we both feel good?! haha.

sch - i don't buy, and i don't subscribe. part of my job to flip magazines so i get them free :P

good morning babes

so now u hv every reason 2 plan 4 another honeymoon, pink. hahaha, so recipe mama, wat do u feel like cooking tonite?

babes, anyone noe hw 2 cook ma po dou foo? recipe pls.

levynn, r the books really tt cheap? the Q was really quite scary ... & mdm, the next time u saw or talked to ur mama, remember 2 ask 4 recipe hor.

sch, hw much is simply her? is it really useful?

oh, i watched prime time morning on channelnews asia on the bus earlier, the dish the chef cooked, mushroom + paper corn i think pple who like spicy stuff wld like. recipe can b found on www.channelnewsasia.com/ptm/chefs

Good morning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Levynn....
ya lor... wasted ah the camera only captured until that part man! whaha..

Lina..
ur ma po duo foo izzit with the roasted pork that kind ah?

PINK!!!!!!!!!!

Sch..
i got send something to ur email but got bounced back leh .. why ah?

Ant..
u also soooooooooo busy ah.. kekek.. we also lah.. maciam only..

When is KA back ah?

tonight's dinner - fried fish with tamarind, five-spice chicken with mixed veg, cabbage soup maybe with fish balls. :D

i have pak kuat wong recipe leh! seems easy to make. tonight i can post

sky - i got ur email leh...the p**** jacket right? keke

Simply Her is $3.50. this mth got recipe for red braised tofu, sweet potato soup recipes and peranankan pork stew Babi Pongtay.

bunny - u cook so much can finish? i plannin to cook fry fish and stir fried baby kailan with beef i already tot is alot of food for 2 pax already.

sch - ya, can la. it's 2 skinny fish, chicken is like 2 nehneh strips only, with the mix veg that's the frozen kind, and 1 bowl of soup for 2 people. ok what.

skylar - aiyah no time to downside the pics la. maybe weekend i do that then upload for you girls ok?

Sch.. not that one.. its another one is the earn extra $$ one.. kekeke... that one got bounced back.. hmm..

Lina.. yaya..this mth got the red braised tofu.. is that the hou su tao hu that u want bor?

Pink!!
u come back only think about neh neh.. sibeh jialatz leh u!!!

skylar, yup, the ma po dou fu is the one with the roasted pork (a bit spicy one). can ask if ur ah bu noe hw 2 cook, then post the recipe here? thx ya

KA back tonight i think. i remember she saying tt she'll start "talking" 2 us again on wed

hmmm, think red braised tofu is another dish lah. but hor, dun mind having the recipe also p sch, u now wat 2 do hor??

pink, enjoy ur cooking & dinner tonight =) ur hubby is lucky to hv u, also got good food 2 eat ... eh, i praise u, so next time our potluck gathering u cook ur sibeh happening roast chicken eh sai bo huh?? haha

Lina - OK, lucky today my boss go for mgmt retreat. so here it goes:

Red Braised Tofu (Recipe first pulished on Sept 06 issue of Simply her Magazine)

Serves 3 - 4
Ingredient:
600g soft tofu - cut into 2cm - thick squares
Vegetable oil for pan frying
4 cloves garlic, chopped
4 slices ginger
100g roast pork, cut into 1cm-thick pieces
6 dried Chinese mushrooms, soaked, stemmed and halved (wat does stemmed mean? thrown away the stem is it?)
1 large carrot, peeled and chopped in 0.5ch rounds
300g cabbage, cut in bite-sized pieces
2 tbsp cornflour, mixed with 2 tbsp water
Coriander, for garnish (wang sui, i think)

For Sauce:
3 cups water
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp oyster sauce
Pinch salt
Dash of pepper and sesame oil

Method:
1) Heat oil in non-stick pan and fry tofu, in batches, until golden brown.(Can deep fry too for more crisp) Drain tofu on kitchen paper.

2) In a claypot or wok, heat 3 tbsp oil and stir fry garlic, ginger and roast pork until fragrant.

3) Add sauce ingredients and bring to boil

4) Add mushrooms, carrot and cabbage. Mix well and bring back to boil.

5) After 3 mins of boiling, add fried tofu. Mix gently, taking care not to break the tofu. Simmer for 15 mins.

6) Stir in the cornflour mixture. Garnish with coriander and serve!

Sky - u send again lah. i clear some space liao

Wahhh... steady ah!!! Sch.. u really so free to type all out ah!!!

Lina!! u better go gam xia Sch man! or cook liao then treat her!!

Pink..
u provide fruit platter ah? then i want durian, jackfruit, lychee, long gans & mangosteens..
*scram.. hahaha*

Lina..
u also leaving tmr liao mah.. so ur colleage got check ur mailbox bor? keke.. send u one classic one before u go!

Sch.. hmm.. ok.ok..

sky- *high-5*

Lina - u can cook the tofu dish for our next potluck!! and since i sweat to type the long recipe for u..i don have to pay for ingredient cost *scram*

gam xia gam xia sch *tearing liao* but hor, simi cornflour mixture the recipe didn't say leh. juz add cornflour to the sauce, si bo??

steady! i go try at home 1st. if i succeed, ok, our next potluck i cook the tofu dish.

nabz skylar, wah lan, classic ur head ah & basket, dun encourage pink 2 bring fruit platter hor ...

Sch! whaahha..

Pink... u scold me ah.. sob.. sob.. wo bu xiang hou le!!! sob... Sob..
*fling hair in the wind directions... now gam gam raining, half run half cry.. run away & try to siam the rain*

Lina..
think any cornflour also can one lah.. but the tofu dish must eat hot one leh.. if potluck u bring cold liao not nice one leh..

Lina!!
*punch ur eyes let u ORH BAK KAK ah* whahaa... okok.. think i also must go learn something from my ah bu liao... then next time i cook ok?

Pink..
glad u like it ah.. kekeke....

skylar my fren, set lah *hook skylar's little finger" next time U cook!!

siao charbor u, the poster was referring to "powderful" and not "powder" lah, u blur. powderful already clarified that he and powder r 2 different pple liao.

anyone interested to volunteer their services in World Vision programme ah? to help out the poor children??

I have always wanted to go overseas to those 3rd world country to help & experience life leh.. anyone keen?

skylar, my sis started supporting world vision a few years back, ie. donating a fixed sum of $$ on a monthly basis to "adopt" a kid, think from Cambodia. the kid by now should b ard 9 years old already.

gg overseas to help is a great idea but unless u're willing 2 quit, take unpaid leave or ur coy has a very "charitable" culture, it's quite tough 2 juz take time off work liddat.

4 myself, i feel charity begins at home. no nid 2 go 2 3rd country country 2 help the needy when there r so many at home who need our help. yo, go wif me on 3 sep lah, sell tulips on the streets 2 raise funds for children cancer foundation, ai mai??

i think a small part of me has always wanted to go help build a school or something. but like lina mentioned, taking long leave is tough.

Lina..
kns lor u.. kekeke... me also got sponsor a child from World Vision before, she is from Mongolia.. tell u more seperately..

as for the gg overseas to help out ah.. its for permenantly one leh.. kaoz.. its like about 5 days to a week time lor.. basket.. take it as take leave to go for hols lah.. but instead u r helping out in those needy countries lor..

coz its only when u go there to experience their lives that u will know how lucky u r.. open ur sight to a new persepective lor..

they also have those 30hrs famine programme where u go w/o food for 30hrs.. i used to join that once too.. nearly fainted.. its not easy lor.. keke...

wat tulips? thot i say i buy from u liao? keke.. remind me to transfer the $ to u ah..

Website sala lah.. tree... its
http://www.worldvision.org.sg

they have alot of programmes, u go see ya!

basket skylar, buy from me i noe lah. i'm asking if u're interested 2 SELL tog wif me ... mai kay kay asked "wat tulips" hor =)

eh, u sure bo? 5 days to a week, i always thot it's longer than that. nabz, u forgot u apply 2 days leave also tai chi liao liao, still thinking of applying long leave ...

website correct leh, i typed in www.worldvision.com also can go in wat!!!

building a school is a noble thot, pink, good 4 u =) perhaps tt thot cld b materialise in future mah, u wun noe now wan wat

well i could prob do it if i'm between jobs but i don't foresee that happening anytime soon. maybe when i'm 40plus and my kids have grown up? but i'm very xiao jie leh. if cannot shower, i will die leh.... sorry but it's true.

Building a school!!! PINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I salute u ah.. u mean chu $$ or build as in brick by brick! whaaha...

come lah. we go lah..

LINA!!!! PINK!!!!!!!!
its not a long period thingy ah.. unless u volunteer to them if ur a nurse or doctor lah.. then u will be posted there longer.. but for the rest ..

like go there help them build a simple house, toilet.. study area etc.. most to most is 1 week to 8 days only.. i GOT CHECK ok!!! kekeke.. but u pay for ur own tkt lah.. + its gonna be a tough trip lor.. that kind lah..

Lina...
sell Tulips? cannot lah.. sekali u see me put the tulips all on my head, sit on the floor & start singing song ah.. but then again who KNOWS!! I might be the best salesperson man!! all buy my tulips ah liddat!! kekeke...

hmmmmm pink, i think can shower lah, maybe cannot use so much water only lor, cos precious mah ... hey, when there's a will, there's a way!

skylar, ok ok, short period. next time when i got spare cash & lots of spare leave i go tog wif u ok. meanwhile, u go 1st, cum bk tell me abt the experience =)

best salesperson?? ahem ... my fren, action speaks louder than words leh, kns lor u.

basket la skylar - you think lao niang's face is on singapore dollar note si bo? there are school building projects la, we just go and offer our muscles only. but of course we pay for own transport.

last time when i was schooling, i also sponsor 2 children before, from dominic republic..but after a while i got no monie then nv sponsor them already