CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Good morning man!!!

It's Friday!!! so happy ah.. finally man!! kekeke..

Wahh... nice dinner ah Ant..how come ur gravy on ur rice dark color one.. i thot it was curry at the 1st glance man...

kekekeke....

yawn.... good morning. yesterday i had a cactus in my throat. today my nose is a leaky tap :S

ant - no leh, i bought from the streets opposite meiji shrine station. not ex at all
my jaw almost drop when i saw it. i also bought quite cheap autumn coat (about SGD20). can show you guys when you come over on sat.

btw about address and map, wasn't it already included in the powerpoint (that i so painstakingly put together)?

last night my feet were so killing me so i went home first to change to slippers then lazy to go down to buy stuff liao hehe. so in the end i fried tang hoon. but never post up cos lazy to set up comp bla bla. just nua in front of tv.

so anyway. fried tanghoon consisted of CRAB STICK (everybody say welcome back to my crabstick!), carrot slices, cabbage, garlic, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil, chicken (first marinated with five-spice, soy sauce and pepper), fish cake and chilli.

speaking of curry - i like jap curry! can be bought almost ready made from supermarkets like cold storage and bigger NTUCs. just have to add chicken, onion and potato. mmm mmm!

skylar, i think you still have to add your own chilli padi :D

pink, where is meiji shrine station? what is the name? maybe i will go check it out the nxt time i go tokyo.

there is a place in tokyo where mainly uncles n aunties visit. that place sells tons of snacks, jap sauces, foodstuff, etc. my colleagues and i always go there to stock up our snacks. i got alot of my jap sauces, miso paste, somen, snacks from there. we usually go tokyo with 1/4 of our luggage fulled n bring 1 extra bag. then we will stock up and lug watever we can grab back. besides snacks, we always end up buying gap clothes back.. heheh...

skylar, i think u need to add alot of chilli padi coz jap curry not spicy at all... the curry eat with rice n fried tempura or fried chicken/ pork is very nice.. yum yum..

pink, i remind everyone not to waste paper n print the full powerpoint lah. only last few slides is applicable for directions to ur lovenest mah!! heheh...

the meiji shrine station i remember it's like an interchange like that. alot of lines go there one. i'll check my travel diary tonight then tell you. but the area to shop is takeshi-dori. alot of streets and it will lead to TOGO shrine (i think)

near the asakusa area, there is this fantastic shop in the 'basement' level. the 'logo' is 3 smiley faces. shiok shiok shiok. here's what i ate (curry rice and udon) and it cost only 499 yen.
390791.jpg
390792.jpg

about directions to me house: so don't need to re-give hor?

btw if any of you are super clean freaks, if you mention anything about dust or messiness in my house, i will throw you out the window ok? 12 floor leh. think about it hor. hehe

tis is 4 pink bunny: yo pink, ask u qns didn't answer, basket:
ya, wat's a tengkat? is tt a malay or hokkien word? i remember seeing tt word b4 but i thot it was some ta bao meal 4 confinement women? u got pix 2 show or not?

r u on mc today?

oh sorry. tengkat, i'm not sure leh if it's a hokkien or malay word. it's a metal container, got handle one, then you usually bring to tze char stall or chicken rice stall to ta pao soup. the top layer usually put chilli one.

sometimes got many layers one, then each layer can put 1 dish. that's why the confinement meal service call it 'tengkat dinner' i guess

me on mc? where got such good life? no la. at work. yesterday all day email not working so today got double dosage

thks pink =)
so tt is tengkat. i always call it the ti gong (hokkien). ya, used it quite often last time to ta bao fishhead beehoon. food tastes nicer in tt, much beta than the foam boxes used these days.

sch, when are you going to japan? here's my guide to tokyo..

okachimachi (accessible by JR Yamanote line) - place to stock up snacks. once you exit the train station, you should see a traffic light crossing. do not cross and turn to your right and walk. walk all the way down n u will see another traffic light crossing. in front of there is a big purple building called takeya. that is 1 place to get the stuff. i usually get my milk tea from there. next, still remb tat traffic light crossing at the train station? cross that and walk straight into the lane. you can slowly shop there. some stalls even sell fresh seafood like salmon. looks damn fresh. at the first turn on your left, turn left. then you will see a few shops down the road is the snacks shop. next to it is a tiny shrine which is barely noticable. that is shop no 2 you can get your snacks n sauces. i even bgt instant noodles back coz it is so much cheaper.. in sg, it cost more than double the price i think. in okachimachi, you will see a few shops whereby it has a vending machine for food. quite cheap n nice. there is one shop i always patronize but very difficult to describe to you.

i think there is no need to introduce shibuya, shinjuku and harajuku to you right?

there is this ramen chain store that is very famous and yummy. Jangara ramen. you can even request for english menu. they have branches in ginza, harajuku, akihabara. go to the one at harajuku coz it is easier to find. i tried at ginza and harajuku. ginza branch really takes time and effort to locate the shop.
http://www.kyusyujangara.co.jp/

in shibuya, there is this sushi conveyor shop whereby everything cost 100 yen per plate. however, min requirement is must eat 7 plates within 20-30mins. n you must order in japanese with the chefs. n if you feel rich, do check out one of those more authentic sushi restaurants. the cut of the fish, texture, freshness is very different from what you get from 100yen sushi shop.

n do try the onigiri at convenience stores. it taste much better than what you get in SG.

then there is this fish market called tsukiji fish market. must go damn early like 7am. you will get to see the auction of fishes. this is only available til end of this yr. something to do with their govt regulations. but the sushi sold there is bagus! oishiii.. yummy..

sch - tsukiji fish market i think it opens even earlier! like 5am. i'm sure it will be an experience but i gio bueh kee ah. 430 my alarm ring, then i just turn off haha. apparently got trains that will go there so early!

after 9pm the supermarkets slash their prices on food like bento sets. GRAB!!!!!! still good stuff.

my tokyo guidebook is quite good, you want to borrow?

skylar - no need to choose wrapper la, but i just think styrofoam box like not shiok leh.

ant - i goin there next march for honeymoon...u sure cannot go tsukiji fish market anymore? tt is one of my must go leh..then i can still go there to eat or not if cannot see tuna auction.

okachimachi - is it far? i plannin to stay at shinjuku area.

bunny - if it is so early think need to take a cab to the fish market leh

i March next yr then go leh..u use simi guidebook sunday lemme see. i got ur lego invite lah.luff until bengz.

taxi very expensive :S less than 5 min almost 700 yen liao :S

ya remind me to lend you the guidebook on sunday. i bought when transit in KL, on the way to japan. but it's only for tokyo leh

btw whoever is coming on sunday - all know how to come or not ah? need to take my dian oei ho beh or not?

actually i want to charter bus from your house (more steady right?) but the uncle say, sorry, need at least 10 people, so, not that i didn't try hor....

sch, go in early april better leh.. coz will get to see sakura in bloom.. when in full bloom, very nice.. you can picnic at ueno park, alot of jap do tat... den also good time to go onsen (hotspring). expensive but nice for the experience k.. i think tsukiji will still be operation in march for the eating of sushi but not the auction lah.. cab is super exp in japan, it jumps by per sec k..

shinjuku has alot of izakaya (ju jiu wu) which is nice.. but must find the more affordable ones lah..

in shinagawa, there is one izakaya at certain times, it will have lights that look like fireworks.. n all the jap will wow wow nonstop even though it could have beent their hundredth time in that restaurant..

n if you are a burberry fan, do get burberry blue label in tokyo. most dept stores in shinjuku carry it. it is much cheaper.. but u don't blur blur lah.. got burberry london and burberry blue label.. burberry london will be super exp coz of import taxes.. blue label is much cheaper...

from shinjuku to okachimachi probably takes about 30mins..

actually hor, mini bus can only take 9 pax but got empty seat, i dun think rental company will mind lor.. whahahah..

i went to ueno park! but by the time i went it was end april and i saw like TEN cherry blossom trees around tokyo :S

there's a website you can check to see exactly where and when the trees will be in full bloom!

390862.jpg

i THINK it's around ueno park that i bought my autumn coat. small small shop

if you go hot spring, try to go the outdoor natural one. that time i got no time to go so only went to the hotel one. still nice la, on the rooftop, but not the same as natural one. i want to try bathhouse next time i go!

ello ka.. your hello is very bright today!!

wau, pink, so lovey dovey arhg.. good lah.. slowly creates the mood for your baby development in krabi.. wahahah..

i can't remb how to go to ueno park actually.. hehe..

hakone has alot of nice hotsprings inns.. the one i stayed is quite expensive but nice.. got both indoor and outdoor onsen.. the dinner provided is damn huge.. i stayed there for 1 nite so it comes with wide spread of dinner plus simple breakfast.. but bear in mind, most inns do not allow males and females to share the same onsen.. only very few inns allow you to do tat.. n before you go to the onsen pool, you must shower yourself which is provided otherwise, ppl will scold you! after soaking in onsen, you will shower again! ahaha...

view of hakone
390877.jpg

hakone looks quite like china! ueno park got train station one. it's the station with the statue of the blind man who has a dog, then one day he got sent to hospital for i dunno what, then the dog keep waiting and waiting for him until the dog also die. then the japs built a statue of the dog and his man :S

i remember the cloth they give me at the hotspring is like damn small. if cover on top, cannot cover bottom and vice versa kind. then very self conscious when rinsing at the side, cos paisay mah. everybody already shiok shiok soaking in the spring then me one jakoon down there rinsing myself. then want to go in the spring quick quick also cannot cos damn hot. but very shiok

sch - must remind me to pass the book to you hor.

fen hong xiao jie, the station that got the dog statue is called shibuya, hachiko exit lah.. ueno station is 1 stop after okachimachi if travel by JR Yamanote line leh...

u can bring your own towel to onsen lah.. n the tiny piece of cloth is for u to put on your head. suppose to help to prevent some ailments.. cant remb if it is feng si or wat lah...

korea oso have parts that look like china.. here's one pic, they even have men shen (god of door) like chinese k...

390893.jpg

i think i walked from ueno station, past the dog statue, then to shibuya perhaps. cos i remmeber seeing the dog statue last then to a train station quite nearby. i think their train lines are damn confusing

yeah the piece of cloth - they told me it's used for everything - to rinse before you go in, after you come out, and to use while in the hot sprign itself

i goin mid march so i think would be a perfect time to see sakura. goin to hakone too and being very KS, i have already booked a very shiok ryokan liao..super EXP but i stay there for one night,,next night move to a cheaper one. the one i book hor..need 1 yr advance bookin one ah..so popular...got outdoor onsen in your own room so no need to pao tou lu mian. think i will bring a bigger towel there.

PB - ur house is it near the ghim moh famous duck rice?

busy busy busy busy busy ........................

sibeh busy today ah... flyday liao stil so much work to do... supposed to knock off at 4pm!!!! aaarggghhh!!! lucky finishing liao...

sch - ghim moh got famous duck rice? is it called 'mr duck'? if so, then close down liao. and no, i don't live so far in.

or is it the 'gao-chap gao kuan' (99 turns) duck rice? that one is south buona vista... quite far away liao. but I LIKE!!!!

heng finish work liaoz... if not, weekend cannot enjoy. keke. sollie ah... scared u all juz now... wanted to scream n shout, but cannot do that in opit la...

so, see u babes on sunday. i may b a little late coz got tuition b4 that. will bring my camera along...

Sch..
the busy only type 1 line mah.. then the rest all copy one lah.. u think i really type meh?

Makan time? u mean got arrival time & makan time one ah.. whahahaha.....