CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

hello, lao niang is not body is it? basket you sch

Pink, what I usually do is:

1) put abit of oil in pan, fry some minced garlic till fragrant.
2) Put in minced pork, some mixed vegetable (those 1 pack with carrots, peas etc)and fry.
3) Put some oyster sauce, abit of hua tiao, sesame oil and chicken stock.
4) Crack an egg into the sauce and mix. Then put the deep fried egg toufu in and bring it to boil.

Sorry ah, I don't have tie ban so I can't do the zi char style and put the egg on the tie ban.
And hor, I don't have the exact measurement for how much sauce to put as I usually cook based on 'agarythem'.

The gravy from this dish is nice and goes well with rice.

yeah, hot plate tao hu (kinda) recipe! thanks bear bear.

btw, i saw tie ban at taka. $14 for small one. i'm sure provision shop also got sell but it's one of those things that's nice to have but we'll only use once a year maybe haha

curious - you know the kind of metal plate we use at home, can that come into direct contact with fire? if can then why not we just use that as the 'tie ban' to put the egg in? can or not ah?

(who's going to hantum me for being GONG?)

Pink, my mum ever used the metal plate (like those 555 metal)to heat up directly on the stove. So the answer to your question is yes.
Hey, I think the egg will be stuck onto the metal plate and get burnt leh. Then you will have a hard time scrapping the metal plate ah.

I agree with you that we will hardly use the tie ban that is why I never consider buying one.

O-KAYYYYYYYYYYY.... gim meh, lao niang will attempt to make HOT PLATE DAO HU!!!! so far lao niang only got tao hu and egg at home. jialat. hahahha.

bear, welcome to the thread. made up of people who all deny they have reached auntie-dom but are really auntie at heart

pb - u r a bunny mah..bu shi ren,,,

wahh i also like hot plate dao hu!!

welcome bear, i am a recent auntie convert. im even discussing the merits and cons of using a coconut brush with my colleagues over meals...im so pai say...but anyway i am full of nonsense today so don expect anyone to understand wat i am tokin abt

Pink, my hubby likes that dish too but I don't have a deep fryer so I don't like to deep fry. Very oily and after that must clean like xiao.

Eh...how do you all define auntie ah? Can cook then auntie ah????

bear - you missed it. there was a time we were all going on and on about the simply her deep fryer. i think most of us got.

auntie-ness to me is preferring to cook at home as opposed to eating out, finding many things too expensive, preferring to go grocery shopping than movie watching... home centered i guess. but it's just funny to classify oneself as 'auntie'.

modern auntie

bunny - human got body, bunny got.....carcass.

u know hor..its not easy to be an auntie leh..i everytime go and buy house thing all the sales assistant only like to serve those auntie auntie..everytime bohiu me..maybe think i play toy or wat..

i everytime go taka see tanyu pot the promoter always never promote to me leh...qi si ah...i want to buy leh!! yesterdae i go n buy kitchen towel also like tt..dunno shld feel happie tt they don think im auntie enuf to buy or angry tt they r obstracising me! discrimination! make me have to act 38 ask them ..er...ur towel will eat water or not ah? *^$)%)%

my mum used to make sth like tie ban dou fu. but without the hot plate. she will deep fry the egg tau hu, then fry minced meat. after that she'll fry one whole big piece of egg, put on the plate, then the tau hu, then the minced meat on top. she very very long never cook that dish liao... coz she said must b free then can cook as the frying takes some time...

bear... how to define auntie??

when u realise u r excited over sales of pots n pans, or any other kitchen stuff.
when u find yourself wondering if there's anything (besides food n ice-cream) to buy fr the supermarket.
when u find yourself complaining abt how expensive that stupid fishmonger charge u for that fish.
when u realise that u know the names of the fish n veg that is being displayed in NTUC without looking at the tags.
when u realise that ONLY by smelling, u'll know whether the meat or fish is spoilt liao.
when u realise that u spend more time in the kitchenware section than at the clothes section.

most of all, when little kids taking the same lift as u start to call u "auntie" instead of "jie jie"...

SKYLAR, skivving again??????? actually talking abt hot plate tau hu recipe, u can scroll up 2 read when u hv the time lah, oink oink u PIG

hey, we hv new member, welcome bear =)

excuse me, auntie calling who huh? we r a bunch of babelicious, modern & noble tai tais who dun mind getting a little bit hot & sweaty for the sake of our own & loved ones' stomachs hor =)

pink, hot plate egg tau hu & baked bean eggs, u wan 2 do all egg meal si bo? got bitter guard egg soup?? *scram*

Ohh.. wat skiving.. i meet my frd mah.. ekkee..

as for the hot plate tau hu hor.. not easy lor.. that is all i know.. coz i tried but the tau hu broke into pcs leh..

my aunties love my ah bu's that dish.. she just fried liddat ah.. then my auntie eat with chili padi... okok..

tonite i go home ask ah bu how to coat till nice nice.,

I have some of the auntie pattern you mentioned. Hahaha...but I will still go watch movie when I want to watch certain movie.

Thank you ladies for the warm welcome.

I have been reading the thread to find some idea to cook. Sometime feel like cooking but really cannot think of what to cook.

nabz sch! carcess is the body of a DEAD ANIMAL ok!!!! choy choy choy choy!

levynn - haha well said

i buy from a particular provision shop because the lady calls me XIAO MEI MEI instead of xiao jie.

IT department (aka public enemy #1) told me i can only send out emails at midnight tonight. they think i security guard is it? midnight i still here? i might as well go home if cannot send out emails.

Pink.. not ours lor.. its Yours lor!! keekekekek.. whahhaa.a.a. ...

Xiao mei mei?? that fellow must be blind in both eyes lor.. whaahaha..

now OD on the set lunch that i had!! burps!

Pink..
lame leh u... but me also... whahaa.. i call all cha bor xiao jie one.. whahah.. like the other day.. go my frd wedding then the folks ask the kids to call me auntie, then i quickly say.. no no.. call me jie jie..

then the little boy so cute.. call me ke ai jie jie! whahahaa.. i immediately flash my mega-watt smile man! whahaha...

sky - i tell u ah..tt provision shop pple either blind or they simply got no scruples..can earn monie call u mummy also can. But hor, this kind of shop ...I LIKE!! beri long no body call me xiao mei mei liao leh..i hate it when the hawker call me "ah ze, ai simi"

HELLO, he is like turning 50? and he call me ah ze???

lev - tell u hor, any kids who try to call me Auntie will be 'gently' corrected by me to call "jiejie". I'm super sensitive to anything associated with OLD.

walau skylar - bluff the kids....

with my friends' kids no choice, must be called the A word. but if meet in semi work environment, the parents usually ask their kids to call me jie-jie. phew. lucky still look 18.

i told the provision shop lady before, 'i almost 30 leh, then you call me xiao mei mei, i very pai say'. then she said, 'i'm almost 60, so you are still xiao mei mei to me'. biang eh. so when i'm 50 and she's 80, i still xiao mei mei?!

hahahahah sch, funny leh you. you kena called AH ZHE!!! chai png stall ah bengs still calling me xiao jie, thank goodness. then they'll follow up with 'ta pao again ah? eat here la!'

*puke puke puke*
skylar ke ai *puke again* basket, tt kid either eyesight damn bad & haven't made specs or his eyes gunna stamped!
pink look 18, ya right, maybe tonite, in ur dreams =)
mine more believable, pple always call me mei nu, ni yao mai simi? whahaha

wah bunny, chai png stall ah beng flirtin with u leh, maybe they will give u a free piece of pork.

fed up, sunday i go back market there with 2 pigtails and a mickey mouse tshirt, make sure he call me xiao mei mei hahahahahah

basket sch, you try la, then you tell us in the afternoon ok? basket you gers don't all come to my house in pigtails and mickey mouse t-shirt hor. i will tor at the corridor one.

the chai png ah beng always smile at me. maybe he an lian me
390609.gif
. and maybe he give me discount leh. 1 veg, 1 meat, and 1 egg/tao hu usually $2.50 nia. bueh pai leh

basket leh. wa eh ah lao said 'you know sometimes maybe we could eat out at coffee shops or hawker centres... cos you cook, i will have alot of washing up to do'. basket. don't appreciate si bo? maybe i should tell him 'i'm sure chai png ah beng will appreciate if i cook for him!'

eh i ask u gers something, might sound stupid:
if i wan 2 do minced meat myself, which type of meat shld i buy, the lean type or ......? & is it a muz 2 use food processor, can juz cut cut cut cut the meat into yi tiao yi tiao?

hai, maybe i'm paranoid. cos i always thot tt the type of ready-made minced meat from the pork sellers like got one smell leh

lina - i've never done it before but when i buy from market, i always ask the uncle to wash the meat first before mincing. he told me before some sellers don't wash then still got the pig's JIO.

i got some "auntie" fr kids a few times liao. really super pek chek when the kid automatically call u "auntie"... alamak... i dun even bother to correct la... can b a chio n hot auntie also mah... wahahahaha....

lina... usually i buy minced meat fr the market fr my old place. i only buy fr the uncle. the uncle will wash the meat b4 mincing. usually a mixture of lean n a bit fatty meat. i find those fr supermarkets got smell...

if ask me everyday eat outside food i think i will tor.

eh, i nv know must tell uncle to watch the meat leh...but if he use dirty water then doesnt it come back to the same thing?

schnauzie... dirty water?? hmmm. i dunno abt others. but the one i bought fr, he washed straight fr the tap. so confirm clean water.

390642.gif
Gals!!! So wat did I missed? Me lazy to scroll up the archive so please update me...but i manage to see our bunny's sharp sharp shoe....

Pink - nice shoe!

pink, nice shoes.. buy from japan, exp rite??

btw, what is a tengkat???

here's my dinner for tonite.. mui fan and kiam cai tng with sliced fish...

390664.jpg

good morning babes. tgif!
eh pink, ur last nite's egg dinner hw, pix pix quick. ya, wat's a tengkat? is tt a malay or hokkien word? i remember seeing tt word b4 but i thot it was some ta bao meal 4 confinement women?
u got pix 2 show or not?
yup, nice shoes.

ant, the clr of ur mui fan is different from the zi cha stalls. theirs is white and urs is brown? why is tt so? recipe pls.

ohaiyoooooo...

TGIF! yeahhhhhhhhhh... this week really xiong for me at work.. can't wait for weekend siahzzzz...

ya, pink, how's your ji dan da can??? pic pic please..

for sunday gathering, don;t forget to print the map n address in advance k.. but don;t waste paper, just print last page hor.. heheh..

lina, my mui fan orh orh coz i add dark soya sauce n oyster sauce.. i like orh orh sauce... hehe...

recipe for mui fan

ingredients:

for frying rice:
rice
garlic (chopped)
onion (chopped)

gravy for mui fan:
fish
prawns
sliced pork
veg (i used cai xin)
some corn flour mixed with water
oyster sauce
some water
dark soya sauce
egg (number is dependent on the no of pax u r cooking for)

For frying the rice (can skip this step if you are lazy)
heat some oil in wok. fry the garlic, onion and rice together til rice is not lumpy.. remove rice from work n put on a nice plate.

Next, shall be the gravy.
1. marinate the fish, prawns n pork with some light soya sauce, hua tiao jiu and sesame oil. slice your veg.
2. heat the wok. pour some water and add the stems of your veg.
3. when water boils, then add the leafy of your veg. add a pinch of salt to the water.
4. add fish, prawns and pork into the wok.
5. if you want orh orh gravy, add dark soya sauce n oyster sauce. if not, just add some light soya sauce or more salt.
6. when almost done, add cornflour solution. then add the eggs. stir to break the eggs up.
7. pour the gravy on the rice and can start eating. add some pepper if you like.